Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How do you choose your pub?

• 08-06-2015 1:32pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44

Here' s a question that has baffled me for some time - "How do you chose your pub?"

I'll be honest, I am 30 now and nights our with friends are not as frequent as they were five years ago. When a night is happening I want all the stars to align so that it is the best craic that has ever been had in Dublin. PRESS-URE!!!

So,I am not asking you what your preference on a night out is, but rather how do you decide on your pub? Do you go for a location that's close? Do you check out twitter or check some internet friend in the know? Do you stay away from young/old crowd? Do you randomly roam the street till all your criteria are met (No, just me?)?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Depends on what kind of pub you want

For me it's pretty simple

1) no loud shouty music - I want to chat with mates

2) - decent pint

3) good barman with manners and 'varied' closing times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

check out twitter? Like what... #bestpub ?

Entirely depends on the size of the group and the kind of night we are out for. If I am with a group of lads interested in girls only - that might be a different kind of bar than a mixed group interested in chat. Or a small group would likely lead me to a more intimate smaller place. And so forth. So yea - entirely contextual which will not be of much use to the OP.

These days I tend to gravitate towards bars that have live music on for part of the night - but not the whole night. Gives a nice mix of atmospheres.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 251 ✭✭Your Superior

No food, no children, wide selection of beers, spirits and wines, plenty of seating, music that's not too loud, polite and efficient bar staff.

Will settle for 5 out of 6 of them at a pinch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 Hills30

But, how do you know if the pub will deliver on what you want?
    Do you check their twitter page? Ask people on here what the craic is with the place?

I've had waking fantasies of a live pubcam that you could check in on before you go... dream stuff!!

Hills30 wrote: »
    Do you check their twitter page? Ask people on here what the craic is with the place?

I've had waking fantasies of a live pubcam that you could check in on before you go... dream stuff!!

Trial and error.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 Hills30

It the "error" part that scares the beJesus out of me....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,051 ✭✭✭keysersoze0330

If in a strange town, go into a pub and enquiry which pubs to avoid in the town. Go to these pubs for the best crack.

Hills30 wrote: »

Yeah, always check Twitter, really handy for all those pubs that post honest critiques of their establishment "Bit crap really, and full of scumbags", "One old bloke at the end of the bar, and he stinks of piss"

Just go and try them out for goodness sake. It takes a while to find the right one, but then stick with it. Stop panicking like a child and just go out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Go drinking during the day, enjoy sunshine if available. Be at home in bed by 8pm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,992 ✭✭✭DavyD_83

Kinda impossible to answer without taking into account my preferences.
    Basicly I would go for the pub I knopw taht best fits my preferences.
    The fact that one of my preferences is to avoid new and/or trendy places means using twitter or the interweb in general would probably end badly. I don't get out much these days, so when I do it's about catching up with people over pints. To a certain extent, the quiter the pub the better.
    Some of the greatest banter ever had has been in quiet pubs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

People using Twitter to evaluate pubs for nights out?

*draws revolver*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Choosing a pub is highly subjective. My only location indicator is that it has to be within walking distance.
    I have a few that doesn't have loud music nor loud people so you can have a bit of a chat and then move a late bar if we feel like turning the craic up a bit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

The three Gs.

Good company
    Gleaming glasses
    Great Tennent's

• Closed Accounts Posts: 243 ✭✭316

Good beer, no children, no pool table, no music, no television and no donkeys.

DavyD_83 wrote: »
    Kinda impossible to answer without taking into account my preferences.
    Basicly I would go for the pub I knopw taht best fits my preferences.
    The fact that one of my preferences is to avoid new and/or trendy places means using twitter or the interweb in general would probably end badly. I don't get out much these days, so when I do it's about catching up with people over pints. To a certain extent, the quiter the pub the better.
    Some of the greatest banter ever had has been in quiet pubs

I bet you're the Archbishop of Banterbury...

The three Gs.

Good company
    Gleaming glasses
    Great Tennent's

Surely by the end of your night, the entire place is gleaming.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,193 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

I'm a tea-time drinker. I like a few nice creamy pints of stout with a few middle-aged 10-year-old dorks much like myself, and we're all outta there by 8pm. Quiet, deceptively down-at-heel suburban local. There's the city centre, about a ten-minute bus trip, for all the wilder skies, chungwans and incorrectly-spelt Crack for thems as wants such truck.

I bet you're the Archbishop of Banterbury...

:pac::pac::pac: Oh well-hoofed, chief! :D

jimgoose wrote: »
    :pac::pac::pac: Oh well-hoofed, chief! :D

I'm the Bantersaurus Rex!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,885 ✭✭✭Tzardine

Do you remember in Men Behaving Badly they were looking for a new pub. They had some great criteria. I will try and find it.

I'm the Bantersaurus Rex!

Introducing the greatest Star Wars character that never quite was, Boba Fett's uncle, Bants Blindo! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

no natural light

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

When I'm out for a good evening with some friends, I like to retire to a nice bar or beer garden until 5 or 6 in the morning. Somewhere nice and cosy where you can have a normal conversation, the barman brings down the drinks when given the nod and where you can pay the tab upon departure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭uch

I only have one criteria

1. Do they sell Beer

21/25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,468 ✭✭✭CruelCoin

I choose pubs by a couple of criteria.

1 - That i can have a conversation with my partner/friends without having to shout.

2 - (this one not always available in the sticks where i live) Preferably a pub with something IPA in bottle.

3 - Sterile sardine cans like Fitzsimons i hate. All the wood in a place like Stags Head/Sweetmans i enjoy.

4 - When in the sticks, a pub not showing horse racing. When in town, a pub not showing football.

1+3 are non-negotiable. I put up with the rest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Racing and football on the box, no loud music, no students!

• Administrators Posts: 54,417 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Depends what you're after doesn't it.

Aren't always looking for the exact same thing every time you visit a pub.

I think I must be one of the few people who hate my local.

The exterior is as grim as a 1980's social welfare office, or the visitors' entrance to Long Kesh, with its dirty grey aluminium door and its bleak little frosted window.
    Inside the carpeted grotto of the bar, red-faced bachelor farmers in top-boots and peak caps huddle together in little groups. Even on Summer days, the fire is roaring and the door is shut. It always smells of piss.

When the door opens, the regulars blink and glower in the flood of sunlight. They fix their eyes on you and any outsider you've brought along, registering each petty detail or perceived offence for later criticism.

Anytime I've taken Dublin friends to this pub, they goggle in enthusiasm at the absence of Sky TV, or listen in awe to the rancorous old bitch singing rebel songs and pissing herself beside the fire. The Sunday World's pub reviewer once called it "the real deal", which if there were any justice in this world, would have dealt this hovel a death-blow.

Still, it's the only pub left in our pretty little hamlet, the landlords that dealt in food, music and basic hygiene having been squeezed to the brink of bankruptcy long ago.

I run a mile from attempts to recreate the traditional Irish pub in modern hipster venues. There's nothing wrong with svelte modern interiors, music, sports and dartboards while you sip on a wide variety of beers. It's called progress.

...The exterior is as grim as a 1980's social welfare office, or the visitors' entrance to Long Kesh, with its dirty grey aluminium door and its bleak little frosted window.
    Inside the carpeted grotto of the bar, red-faced bachelor farmers in top-boots and peak caps huddle together in little groups. Even on Summer days, the fire is roaring and the door is shut. It always smells of piss.

When the door opens, the regulars blink and glower in the flood of sunlight. They fix their eyes on you and any outsider you've brought along, registering each petty detail or perceived offence for later criticism.

Anytime I've taken Dublin friends to this pub, they goggle in enthusiasm at the absence of Sky TV, or listen in awe to the rancorous old bitch singing rebel songs and pissing herself beside the fire. The Sunday World's pub reviewer once called it "the real deal", which if there were any justice in this world, would have dealt this hovel a death-blow...

Valhalla. I love it! :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

That it wll serve me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,844 ✭✭✭✭somesoldiers

Will there be horse racing or soccer on ( if so then no thanks, though sadly I often have to put up with both, I don't mind darts)

Will I get refreshed without having to ask ( my glass is empty if I didn't want another one I wouldn't be still here)

Do they have Bulmers on tap ( I am not paying e4.60 for a can with "not for individual resale" on it, not essential I may drink Guiness or Smithwicks but never lager)

Can I do my crossword in peace without being asked "give's a clue"?

• Administrators Posts: 54,417 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

I think I must be one of the few people who hate my local.

The exterior is as grim as a 1980's social welfare office, or the visitors' entrance to Long Kesh, with its dirty grey aluminium door and its bleak little frosted window.

Anytime I've taken Dublin friends to this pub, they goggle in enthusiasm at the absence of Sky TV, or listen in awe to the rancorous old bitch singing rebel songs and pissing herself beside the fire. The Sunday World's pub reviewer once called it "the real deal", which if there were any justice in this world, would have dealt this hovel a death-blow.

Still, it's the only pub left in our pretty little hamlet, the landlords that dealt in food, music and basic hygiene having been squeezed to the brink of bankruptcy long ago.

I run a mile from attempts to recreate the traditional Irish pub in modern hipster venues. There's nothing wrong with svelte modern interiors, music, sports and dartboards while you sip on a wide variety of beers. It's called progress.

Aluminium door is always an interesting sign! :D

No buzzer beside the door to get permission to enter or a secret knock required?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,642 ✭✭✭Deco99

Does it have WIFI?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 883 ✭✭✭anto9

Depends .Sometimes i like to go where everybody knows your name .Other times where i am not know and can be quiet and observe.The beer must be good and the prices reasonable also .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,161 ✭✭✭frag420

Is it open and does it have swinging doors..........if so then in I go!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,729 ✭✭✭Balmed Out

Decent BACKGROUND music, busy without being jointed, a bit of character and while not a complete dive you wont feel too bad if you spilled or dropped something on the floor as the place isnt immaculate in the first place.
    Oh and random crap on the walls not just old Guinness signs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

I don't really mind where I go, within reason, if it's meeting a group of friends.

I have a few friends that haggle endlessly about what pub to go to because of everything from not being in a particular postcode to it not offering some mystical state of craic and it's fcuking tedious.

If the place is reasonably convenient, not life-threatening and not obviously a wrong choice like being full of kids or a meat market, just get pints into you and enjoy each other's company.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 106 ✭✭vertmann

One that has no music. Background music I can put up with but once some moron turns the volume up to 11 that's the end of it being a pub for holding actual conversations in. If I wanted to have me eardrums blasted off and have to shout at the person beside me I'd go to the nightclub and be done with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

No loud music.
    Comfortable seats.
    A real fire in the winter.
    Plenty of parking.
    Inexpensive soft drinks.
    Serves toasted cheese and ham sandwiches.
    A total absence of 'craic'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,465 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

Don't go anymore with their Rip off prices.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

A Guinness and/or Smithwicks tap is all I look for but I will always look to see if there are people ordering Guinness before I order one myself in a place I havent been in before

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

Depends on the night.big group of friends a quiet pub with basic drinks hardly any music loads of space and somewhere to sit.out with one or two folk I'll take anywhere that'll have me.loud is okay wide variety of drinks to try and lots of people to interact with.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Preferably it'll have rock/metal music blaring, hot bar girls and a large biker crowd.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,730 ✭✭✭Sheep Lover

One that doesn't ask me to put my pants on and to stop dancing on the table.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭Shenshen

Going out somewhere unfamiliar, I'd usually check out the websites. See what beers they have and what foods they do. And then hope they don't have loud music, but they never tell you that online.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭blinding

I don't like shooting in my Pubs especially in my direction ! ! !

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 374 ✭✭Jjiipp79

I didn't choose the pub life, the pub life chose me!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,428 ✭✭✭Talib Fiasco

Biggest tell if a pub is decent...if they do a good pint of Guinness and if so, said claim is known widely that they do indeed do a good pint of Guinness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

c_man wrote: »
    People using Twitter to evaluate pubs for nights out?

*draws revolver*
    http://27.media.tumblr.com/tumblr_ldefdphwum1qa3yoco1_500.png