Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Person complains about standing on train for 3 hours

• 05-06-2015 3:07pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,514 ✭✭✭TheChizler

Uh oh. The last time something like this happened we went around in circles for months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,047 ✭✭✭Hilly Bill

exactly, a non story.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

Hilly Bill wrote: »
    exactly, a non story.

Its a non-story because it happens all the time and its not going to change and no-one cares.

Now, whats Kim Kardashian up to?

syklops wrote: »
    Its a non-story because it happens all the time and its not going to change and no-one cares.

Now, whats Kim Kardashian up to?

I care :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

He could have got his gran on first if he was there on time and asked nicely.

Haven't a clue about the siren.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 803 ✭✭✭jungleman

In fairness, as a 26 year old guy who is healthy and with a bit of decency, if I saw an old woman standing on a bus, train or whatever, I'd always give up my seat. If it's a 3 hour train journey, so be it.

She was an old woman for god's sake. It's easy to pretend to look at the ground and not notice old or pregnant women who would obviously appreciate the seat. I'd be disgusted with myself if I was one of those people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

One thing nobody has mentioned that the grandmother would have a free travel pass and didn't actually pay for travel.

The only person that paid was the 13 year old teenager.
    How did he know the woman was pregnant?

Plenty of pregnant women going around as normal and doing normal things.

It's like any mode of transport worldwide they are quiet at times and busy at other times too.

At least he wasn't paying to travel on a UK train that could cost 3 or 4 times the price and maybe more and still have to stand.

How is this rubbish news?
    Must be no more important issues such as people been murdered and houses been robbed and people being attacked etc etc....

The teenager would have no problem sitting on the floor many of us did years ago when we were younger and it wouldn't affect us.

Yes it is unfortunate that the train was full but that is life the company is p1ssing money away and can't and never will make a profit with the huge running costs of a train service so best to keep trains to a size that doesn't cost them even more and so on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Talk about fcuking drama he used his confirmation money they should have said all his confirmation money and that his grandmother had a hip op recently and was in crutches. Just to make an even bigger mountain out of a mole hill :rolleyes:

One thing nobody has mentioned that the grandmother would have a free travel pass and didn't actually pay for travel.

The only person that paid was the 13 year old teenager.
    How did he know the woman was pregnant?

Plenty of pregnant women going around as normal and doing normal things.

It's like any mode of transport worldwide they are quiet at times and busy at other times too.

At least he wasn't paying to travel on a UK train that could cost 3 or 4 times the price and maybe more and still have to stand.

How is this rubbish news?
    Must be no more important issues such as people been murdered and houses been robbed and people being attacked etc etc....

The teenager would have no problem sitting on the floor many of us did years ago when we were younger and it wouldn't affect us.

Yes it is unfortunate that the train was full but that is life the company is p1ssing money away and can't and never will make a profit with the huge running costs of a train service so best to keep trains to a size that doesn't cost them even more and so on.
    No way could they mention that she had a free travel pass and kill the drama ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,743 ✭✭✭blatantrereg

Shocking lack of manners. Would you not feel like a massive nob holding onto your seat while an elderly person stands for that long.

Sam Kade wrote: »
    No way could they mention that she had a free travel pass and kill the drama ;)

And before anyone attacks me I should have mentioned I have absolutely no problem with her having free travel as it's a very good thing to have.

It has to be the stupidest news story of the last while.

Shocking lack of manners. Would you not feel like a massive nob holding onto your seat while an elderly person stands for that long.

Well 1st on 1st seated and also they may have reserved the seat.

Honestly you will never please eveyone.

I have given seat up on bus and that but what happens if a group of pensioners get on should 30 people give up their seats????

Everyone wants and has equal rights and want equality so big deal if someone has to stand for a while till a seat becomes available.

How do you know the full story maybe the young fella was acting the knob towards passengers with seats just like he was giving cheek to the ticket man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,156 ✭✭✭Iwannahurl

Fair play to that boy for standing up for his 76-year-old grandmother and the other people treated shabbily by Irish Rail, including a pregnant woman and other elderly passengers. He has more balls than most of the passengers and IR crew, by the look of it.
    He said every carriage was "packed full of standing passengers" including elderly people and a pregnant woman.

"We walked through every single carriage on the train. There were people everywhere lying on the ground. There was an elderly lady left forced to lie on the ground and there was a pregnant lady as well. She was holding her tummy and looked really frightened," Zach told the Irish Independent.

"At one point, they announced the food trolley wouldn't be able to come around. I think it was because there were so many people on the ground. People were saying it was like a Third World country. It was awful and not a pleasant experience."

A spokesperson for the company apologised for the experience and said Zach would be offered a refund.

"While standing can be the norm in some commuter areas, we fully accept customers have a right to expect a seat. We will get in contact with him to address the complaint," the spokesperson said.

Where possible passengers should buy tickets online and reserve seats that way, he added.

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/boy-13-shames-irish-rail-into-apology-after-gran-forced-to-stand-on-train-for-three-hours-31279526.html

Ha ha, good one, Mr Anonymous Spokesperson: http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057397786

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,743 ✭✭✭blatantrereg

Well 1st on 1st seated and also they may have reserved the seat.

Honestly you will never please eveyone.

I have given seat up on bus and that but what happens if a group of pensioners get on should 30 people give up their seats????

Everyone wants and has equal rights and want equality so big deal if someone has to stand for a while till a seat becomes available.

Because a younger person can stand that long a lot more comfortably than an elderly person.

Yes it should just be the done thing. I thought it was the done thing :confused: Don't think I've ever seen the like - leaving an elderly person wobbling on their feet. They should be ashamed of themselves.

"Sorry old people, we need these seat more than you because we're massive wusses who can't handle standing."

People slag off Limerick but you wouldn't see that sort of thing around here - speaking as someone not originally from Limerick.

Because a younger person can stand that long a lot more comfortably than an elderly person.

Yes it should just be the done thing. I thought it was the done thing :confused: Don't think I've ever seen the like - leaving an elderly person wobbling on their feet. They should be ashamed of themselves.

"Sorry old people, we need these seat more than you because we're massive wusses who can't handle standing."

People slag off Limerick but you wouldn't see that sort of thing around here - speaking as someone not originally from Limerick.

He could have sat on the floor or a bag of theirs or got on an earlier train there are so many different scenarios it's endless and not really much point in knit picking either.

There are specific seats for elderly or disabled to be given up if needed and most people if they did see someone struggle there are still good people out there that would give up a seat.

I think we should p1ss more millions into Irish rail so that they have at least an extra 4 carriages on all lines so that everyone has a seat and and a seat to put their feet up on them.

How would a 13 year old notice a pregnant woman as most if not all 13 year olds would have their face in a phone or tablet.
    Back in my day it was a gameboy I am afraid to say but still.

The woman could be fat and likes stroking her belly that doesn't mean she was pregnant???????

I don't get these sort of trying to be news stories.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,286 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

jungleman wrote: »
    In fairness, as a 26 year old guy who is healthy and with a bit of decency, if I saw an old woman standing on a bus, train or whatever, I'd always give up my seat. If it's a 3 hour train journey, so be it.

She was an old woman for god's sake. It's easy to pretend to look at the ground and not notice old or pregnant women who would obviously appreciate the seat. I'd be disgusted with myself if I was one of those people.

I'm in my late 40s. Childless, so I look younger. Even so, I occasionally have people offering me a seat. At this stage in my life, politely declined every time, except when I was on crutches for a month - then it was appreciated. I may not may not be more appreciative once I'm 70, it will depend on my health status.

On the other hand, I know some people in their 50s who cannot stand for more than an hour at a time.

Just because someone is older doesn't mean they're necessarily infirm. And just because they're young doesn't mean they're fit and healthy.

I'm in my late 40s. Childless, so I look younger. Even so, I occasionally have people offering me a seat. At this stage in my life, politely declined every time, except when I was on crutches for a month - then it was appreciated. I may not may not be more appreciative once I'm 70, it will depend on my health status.

On the other hand, I know some people in their 50s who cannot stand for more than an hour at a time.

Just because someone is older doesn't mean they're necessarily infirm. And just because they're young doesn't mean they're fit and healthy.

True that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Tangatagamadda Chaddabinga Bonga Bungo

I think the fact that 780,000 (about 1 in 4?) people in this country can travel without having to pay anything through the free travel scheme has some part to play in this.

Why should a 13 year old have to stand with his elderly grandparent for a 3 hour journey after he paid €34 for a ticket ? It just doesn't seem right to me.

I think the fact that 780,000 (about 1 in 4?) people in this country can travel without having to pay anything through the free travel scheme has some part to play in this.

Why should a 13 year old have to stand with his elderly grandparent for a 3 hour journey after he paid €34 for a ticket ? It just doesn't seem right to me.

He is only 13 it isn't the end of the world.

Older people do it all the time it's part of commuting life.

He must have never got out of the mothers lexus or something to be so shocked at having no seat.

Why didn't they book a seat?
    Get an earlier train or a later one?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 803 ✭✭✭jungleman

I'd always offer, at least. If my offer of a seat is politely declined, then that's grand. I wouldn't be able to just sit there if an elderly/pregnant person was standing in front of me, perhaps too polite or embarrassed to ask for the seat outright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,033 ✭✭✭Slippin Jimmy

I am quite surprised with peoples reaction on here. Where has common decency gone? If I see an elderly person, disabled person, a pregnant woman or even anyone that needs a seat more than I do then they are more than welcome to take mine. This whole attitude of I have paid for my ticket so **** you for being entitled to free travel is rather upsetting. Don't forget that one day you will be elderly yourself. Hopefully the next generation will have a bit more decency than some posters on here.

No one has posted on here not to give their seat up for old or pregnant persons.

Show 1 post.

Most people would give up their seat if they saw someone thatwould really need it.

How do we know they are telling the full acurate story as a lot of teenagers like to exagerate big time.

If you don't get a seat improvise like everyone else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,126 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

I totally agree with the free travel pass, its a joke IMO, during the recession (when they could have got away with it, the government should have done something about it). But the even bigger joke is the chronic underfunding that government choose to give public transport here....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Tangatagamadda Chaddabinga Bonga Bungo

He is only 13 it isn't the end of the world.

He must have never got out of the mothers lexus or something to be so shocked at having no seat.

Why didn't they book a seat?
    Get an earlier train or a later one?

I know it's not the end of the world. It just annoys me that a 13 year old had to pay €34 for a ticket when (presumably) many adults on board that train paid absolutely nothing and got a seat.
    This whole attitude of I have paid for my ticket so **** you for being entitled to free travel is rather upsetting. Don't forget that one day you will be elderly yourself. Hopefully the next generation will have a bit more decency than some posters on here.

Firstly, any fit and able-bodied person who can give up their seat to an elderly and infirm or disabled person should, on more than a 'moral' basis too, it should be an absolute requirement no question.
    Secondly though, I'm still not 30, there isn't a hope in hell that the free travel scheme will be around in its current guise in 40+ years time. The sooner we turn to a sustainable model of public transport provision for the vulnerable in society the better. We're quickly heading towards a situation where both private and public transport companies are going to pull out of the scheme entirely.

I'd like if we could start to shift our focus in this country to doing things with a medium to long term view, and not always the short term.

(I know you didn't quote me just to say)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,371 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

the company is p1ssing money away and can't and never will make a profit with the huge running costs of a train service

and their treatment of customers and parts of the network they don't wish to operate. thats probably more of a reason why they don't get near to making a proffit rather then the costs of running a train service.
    best to keep trains to a size that doesn't cost them even more and so on.

well, not when doing so drives away customers (which it does) making the companies problems worse. we need to grow the business and run longer trains, that way the network might get more investment and it can be operated to its full potential. doing the bare minimum might be fine for parts of the railway of our nearest neighbour but for ireland which has lots of competition via other methods people need an incentive to take the train. relying mostly on long distance commuting may not be sustainable long term. new markets need to be looked for and a genuine effort to cater to them made within existing resources

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

I think we should p1ss more millions into Irish rail so that they have at least an extra 4 carriages on all lines so that everyone has a seat and and a seat to put their feet up on them.

and that is why our railway is the way it is . nobody wants to pay for it or invest in it for the future. people seeing investment as pissing away money, and the company actually pissing away money by buying stock and storing it when they get board of it. of course those extra 4 carriges you speak of could be used for extra seats and guess what, to try grow the business which is what any other company would do. try grow its business.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

on trains that can't be extended which run where the infrastructure is completely maxed out either indefinitely, or just for the forseeable. apart from within the dublin area where for now at least the infrastructure needs extending but can't be, that is not the rest of the network. anyone know how many carriges were on this service? it was an intercity train so it will have a mix of traffic types

End of the road don't get me wrong I fully agree they can improve all companies can but not getting a seat is part and parcel of commuting its exactly the same in any country and buses to.

The only reason you never hear this sort of thing on the likes of Bus Eireann or any other coach operator is that they only carry what is permitted seating wise.

But you hear them giving out about been left behind.

You are never going to win. Not you but you know what I mean....

Idbatterim wrote: »
    the even bigger joke is the chronic underfunding that government choose to give public transport here....

completely agree.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,171 ✭✭✭✭billyhead

Talk about fcuking drama he used his confirmation money they should have said all his confirmation money and that his grandmother had a hip op recently and was in crutches. Just to make an even bigger mountain out of a mole hill :rolleyes:

He may be acting like a drama queen by sending in the complaint but I have seen this countless times on the Dart where ignorant young able bodied pricks dont bother offering their seat to OAPs. I always do it when I see OAPs or pregnant women (if it looks obvious they are) on the dart. its a bit of common courtesy and decency. And with regards to 3 hours standing I wouldn't give a ****. I would rather see this 76 year old have her seat.

billyhead wrote: »
    He may be acting like a drama queen by sending in the complaint but I have seen this countless times on the Dart where ignorant young able bodied pricks dont bother offering their seat to OAPs. I always do it when I see OAPs or pregnant women (if it looks obvious they are) on the dart. its a bit of common courtesy and decency. And with regards to 3 hours standing I wouldn't give a ****. I would rather see this 76 year old have her seat.
    But the trouble with people nowadays is that they must always find some one else to blame. How many people stand on trains yet don't make a song and dance about it?

most standing is for short distances though, as in within the dublin area. there might be some for long distances but that can be avoided unlike standing within the dublin area. most likely it was a short formed train on this service but i can't seem to find out what was running it and how many carriges.

So this is the first time ever that someone had to stand on a train from Dublin to Cork.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,795 ✭✭✭✭Jamie2k9

Standing for over 3 hours my backside, don't for one second believe that nobody departed the train at Thurles, Limerick J or Mallow and that the train was delayed by up to 30 minutes.

Irish Rail should of been clever and responded by checking passenger counters/CCTV on board to make a point instead of an apology. Outrageous they also offered the boy a refund.

Jamie2k9 wrote: »
    Standing for over 3 hours my backside, don't for one second believe that nobody departed the train at Thurles, Limerick J or Mallow and that the train was delayed by up to 30 minutes.

Irish Rail should of been clever and responded by checking passenger counters/CCTV on board to make a point instead of an apology. Outrageous they also offered the boy a refund.
    He'll probably take granny on another rail trip

don't count your chickens

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭jaymcg91

Does one pay for a seat on the train, or do they pay for travel from a to b?

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 12,514 Mod ✭✭✭✭byhookorbycrook

/QUOTE]
    I am a reasonably "younger person" but do have MS, over a short period of time , say ten minutes, I may appear ok, but take it from me, your average granny will outpace me walking or even standing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33 VWD8

While I have serious misgivings about the Free Travel Pass, regardless of ticket type elderly people should NOT be left standing on a train like that. How could any able bodied person keep their seat in a situation like this and not be ashamed of themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 596 ✭✭✭bigar

You pay for the travel not a seat so for me there is one rule: first come, first served. I have never and will never give up my seat when I am lucky enough to have a seat like I would never expect someone to give up theirs for me.

I never understood why someone's age or being pregnant would give them more right to a seat than me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

bigar wrote: »
    You pay for the travel not a seat so for me there is one rule: first come, first served. I have never and will never give up my seat when I am lucky enough to have a seat like I would never expect someone to give up theirs for me.

I never understood why someone's age or being pregnant would give them more right to a seat than me.

Because age and pregnancy take a toll on the body that makes a long commute more uncomfortable. I would always give my seat up no bother. I think it's a shame so many people are all about themselves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

One easy solution for the lad and his granny is to get the bus next time and the saving he makes on the cheaper fares will probably pay for his granny's ticket!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Pah! When I was 13 we got the castoffs from Bus Eireann for our rural school run. Dirty yellow rust buckets they were. Holes in the floor, windows that would not close, breaking down 4 miles from town so we walked now & again, leaking roof and we were overcrowded & wedged 3 to a double seat. Seatbelts lol?? Standing on a train would have been luxury :p

Am I wrong in saying an OAP can pay 5 euro online to reserve a seat? Doesn't seem to have happened here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,235 ✭✭✭lucernarian

How do we know they are telling the full acurate story as a lot of teenagers like to exagerate big time.
    That is bad form, when you go beyond like 10 years of age, one's propensity to lie varies little to do with age. That the story comes from a teenager should have no bearing on its veracity! It could well be bull all the same, but being young doesn't make them a liar, or guaranteed to need a seat less than anybody else either. I once fainted from standing too long at a religious ceremony when I was 13 - after maybe an hour's standing or so. Big difference between someone who's barely a teenager and someone physically developed.

mikemac1 wrote:
    Pah! When I was 13 we got the castoffs from Bus Eireann for our rural school run. Dirty yellow rust buckets they were. Holes in the floor, windows that would not close, breaking down 4 miles from town so we walked now & again, leaking roof and we were overcrowded & wedged 3 to a double seat. Seatbelts lol?? Standing on a train would have been luxury:p
    Yeah, people made do with those situations and Bus Eireann and many parents alike thought it was grand until a certain tragedy in Co. Meath...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 137 ✭✭qwerty1991

I personally think oaps and disabled people should be entitled to free travel passes but no one else!

Not to sound harsh though, it costs 5 Euro to reserve a seat, and although I wouldnt want to see someone in pain or elderly standing, it seems quite unfair that I have reserved a seat in let's say 2 weeks in advance and let's say this guy and his granny hop on with no seat reserved, just last minute ticket for him.

I don't want to see his granny standing but it is their lack of organisation in not reserving a seat which means they are. Now I am morally expected to give up my seat for the journey (whish I would obviously) to this old woman.

It hardly seems fair!? Irishrail need to introduce mandatory seat reservations. Leave a carriage or 2 that is unavailable online for people to book a seat in when they arrived at the station or something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭savagethegoat

3 hours to Cork? Which train is that? Did noone get off en route? that's unusual except on the non-stop of course, but that isn't this one is it!

foggy_lad wrote: »
    One easy solution for the lad and his granny is to get the bus next time and the saving he makes on the cheaper fares will probably pay for his granny's ticket!

what ticket would the granny pay for?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,235 ✭✭✭lucernarian

qwerty1991 wrote: »
    I personally think oaps and disabled people should be entitled to free travel passes but no one else!
    Just to be clear, isn't that the status quo?
    It hardly seems fair!? Irishrail need to introduce mandatory seat reservations. Leave a carriage or 2 that is unavailable online for people to book a seat in when they arrived at the station or something.
    Indeed, it works perfectly on the Shinkansen (Bullet trains) of Japan. Seat reservations in normal circumstances are roughly around the 500 Yen mark. The majority of carriages are for reserved ticket holders and if you show up with no reservation, you have to hope there are seats available in the remaining couple of carriages.

I saw something similar in effect last weekend on the Enterprise. Irish Rail staff directed passengers with seat reservations into one carriage of a 6-piece ICR set and simply didn't let passengers without a reservation to board that car. There was space for everybody on the train, but it was carrying passengers to the Munster v Glasgow rugby game in Belfast so perhaps they anticipated greater crowds.