If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Fallout 4 [PC:G]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,476 ✭✭✭MOH

Companions are doing my head in a bit. Both in terms of the interface - can't interact with them other than go/stay unless you're not to far and not too close, which is daft - and some of their actions.
    - Dogmeat kept finding stuff and running off barking into areas I was trying to patiently clear bit by bit, aggroing enemies
    - Strong's likes and dislikes are confusing - at the end of the
    main Vault 81
    quest, I saved the conversation midway. If I gave the item, Strong liked that. If I split it, Strong didn't like that. If I kept it for myself, Strong liked that. Huh?
    - Curie is brilliant at stopping bullets. Unfortunately, they're mine. At least once a fight she'll wander in front of me as I'm taking a shot, epecially as I'm about to snipe someone in the head for an instakill and I end up sneak attacking her instead, incapacitating her, and alerting the enemy. Even happens with VATS shots.

The interface in general is still just so horrible. Inventory management is painful. Settlements are a awful. Crafting is annoying - why do I need to go to separate crafting stations to craft weapons/armour/meals, etc.? Sure, make me build them, and restrict what I can make depending on which are available. But don't make me tab out of your awful menu system, turn to the other crafting station right beside me, and navigate an identical menu there.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,278 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

I'm only using the companions until I unlock their perk then I ditch them. They're a complete waste of time and just get in the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,292 ✭✭✭✭Thargor

How long does it take to gain affinity? Ive been with Codsworth since the start and haven't done anything evil and no sign of his perk, do I talk to him or something?

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,278 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Thargor wrote: »
    How long does it take to gain affinity? Ive been with Codsworth since the start and haven't done anything evil and no sign of his perk, do I talk to him or something?

You can check it with the console. Open the console and click on the companion then type getav CA_Affinity and it'll show you their Affinity level. Once it his 1000 you get the perk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭Lone Stone

Good god im lvl 44 and came across a legendary mr gutsy took me 10 reloads to kill him he also kept taking down a bos chopper tough mother f**er. Then i found this amazing location made of boats was massive full of raiders the terminals had a cool back story for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,581 ✭✭✭Dave_The_Sheep

Lone Stone wrote: »
    Good god im lvl 44 and came across a legendary mr gutsy took me 10 reloads to kill him he also kept taking down a bos chopper tough mother f**er. Then i found this amazing location made of boats was massive full of raiders the terminals had a cool back story for it.

Just did that there yesterday myself. Quite the Waterworld feel to it, and as you say, nice little story once you figure it all out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭rolexeagle1

Anybody currently using any mods? I have the Enhanced Wasteland Preset loaded up and I must say it does make the game look a bit better

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,923 ✭✭✭kearneybobs

I'm trying to make the most of my companions and maxing them out and swapping them out for another one. Already maxed Piper and romanced her. tried to max Danse but it turns out
    you can't max him out until a quest later on
    . Maxed Preston(i think) and am currently maxing out Valentine. Strong is possibly my least likely to max out since he hates power armour, which I kind of like. Anyone else out there really easy to max with a stealth/hacking/lockpicking approach?

I made a crazy mistake last night.

Major midgame spoilers!!!

I went into the Institute
    and Father started to talk to me over the intercom. Saw my son in the box and got introduced to Father. Shot him in the face and my mission updated to "Leave the Institute". Thought there was something up with it so I decided to reload the save right before it and then realised I made a huge mistake the first time round having shot my son in the face. Whoops!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Ive played over 19 hours and have yet to find a vendor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

Just did that there yesterday myself. Quite the Waterworld feel to it, and as you say, nice little story once you figure it all out.

Institute end game spoilerish.
    The guy running the place is a synth who was formatted and if you killed him and follow the insitute, you will kill him again. He is why synths cant be let out of the insitute

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

My PC Setup at the moment :p

9yn8y47.jpg

2YYTEBx.jpg

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 28,633 Mod ✭✭✭✭Shiminay

lol, Halo, what kind of filthy XBox faeg casual are you? :P :P

What are you using to display that Pipboy loadout?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,769 ✭✭✭✭degrassinoel

think i've finally made sanctuary an actual sanctuary - got attacked by a swarm of feral ghouls this evening and my walls held, poor ghoulies got minced at the front gates :D

Might make a quick video of the site for lols, it's deadly :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,084 ✭✭✭✭Kirby

Anyone else out there really easy to max with a stealth/hacking/lockpicking approach?

Deacon. He's a stealthy type, loves hacking. If you like stealth, he's a great companion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,292 ✭✭✭✭Thargor

RopeDrink wrote: »
    Despite a relatively bug free experience (except the common 'req auto-load' ones like getting stuck on terminals), I've finally been officially blocked by one @
    Memory Lounger
    . As soon as I enter it and it cuts to white screen, game hangs with sound. Clicking gives the "Fallout 4 is not responding" rubbish. Steam forums are useless as they are literally being spammed so hard that once I made my thread it was instantly put to page 2 while kids whine over not having companion sex scenes or some drivel. Google search came up empty - just generic fixes, nothing specific.

Anyone else had this problem, or maybe noticed something out there related to said issue? If this keeps me blocked, my weekend just won't be as fun.
    Did you do the FPS fix to stop yourself getting stuck on terminals and lockpicking? Instant fix for me and a friend.

My PC Setup at the moment :p

Is that the Pip-Boy app on a tablet hanging on the wall?!

OSI wrote: »

Ah, that makes more sense :o

Although, that has given me an idea ...

Here's my gaff in Fallout 4 :)

The video resolution is fairly crap, no idea why, but there it is, fairly proud of it, even has an upstairs pool hall for smokers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,912 ✭✭✭SeantheMan

Lads, what am I doing wrong here.
    1st pic is from Sanctuary Hill
    2nd pic is from Red Rocket
    3rd is to show my supply routes

As you can see, everything is linked but the Inventory and Workbench materials are still different. Shouldn't they be sharing them ?

369157.jpg
    369158.jpg
    369159.jpg

Sean, Supply lines work a bit odd

If you stash say ammo or armour and weapons in sanctuary, your supply lines wont send those items or any aid items to any other supply line route. It only works for junk.

Afaik the supply lines only use raw materials - or the equivalent in whatever junk you've collected eg: tin cans, aluminium cans, glass etc.. whatever their base raw material is Tin cans being Steel, the supply line says, k, i have 1000 Steel for all settlements linked to this one. Some settlements that ye unlock cant immediately be linked to sanctuary so be careful when you set one up.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 23,561 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kiith

They should really have an option to break down all junk into their base materials.

First thing i'm doing tonight is installing the craftable ammo mod and the new dialogue mod (shows you exactly what your character will say, rather then a general idea).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,859 ✭✭✭MiskyBoyy

I just use Sanctuary hills as my central hub and have supply lines coming straight from there to every other settlement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭Lone Stone

im kinda disappointed with the lack of towns and non combat stuff around the map most of the locations i have found are just raider hold outs etc It's definitely less than fallout 3 and vegas. I think the settlement locations are over kill so many all over the place and the repeating quests and kidnapings are just bloody anoying, i think two or 3 would have been enough.

I can see that being modded or DLC'd to assign a follower to do it for you instead. Would be nice actually, the higher your rep with whatever follower, the better chance they have of not failing and bringing home some phat lewts

Kiith wrote: »
    They should really have an option to break down all junk into their base materials

First thing i'm doing tonight is installing the craftable ammo mod and the new dialogue mod (shows you exactly what your character will say, rather then a general idea).

Ah, thanks for that. I've already turned one quest down because I took "No time" to mean "I'll be back in no time". Not "I have no time to do this". UI FTL :mad:

Ha. In a fit of boredom I just started massacring the ten-strong population of sanctuary. Was lobbing grenades at a couple of settlers in a house when I realised one of them was wearing power armour. Went to the armour stand to get my own (I'd left it behind as I was running low on fusion cores), turned out a settler had nicked it when the fighting started! And as soon as I managed to kill him another guy got into it. :)

Wonder if I could equip a set on a companion?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,912 ✭✭✭SeantheMan

Sean, Supply lines work a bit odd

If you stash say ammo or armour and weapons in sanctuary, your supply lines wont send those items or any aid items to any other supply line route. It only works for junk.

Afaik the supply lines only use raw materials - or the equivalent in whatever junk you've collected eg: tin cans, aluminium cans, glass etc.. whatever their base raw material is Tin cans being Steel, the supply line says, k, i have 1000 Steel for all settlements linked to this one. Some settlements that ye unlock cant immediately be linked to sanctuary so be careful when you set one up.

But in the pic you can see my Aluminium isn't the same between settlements.
    It's the same for Steel and Wood etc, none of it matches. :confused:

Also...red Flame design power armor is amazing ! (you can find the book to unlock it a bit north East of Sanctuary at some junk yard)

SeantheMan wrote: »

Also...red Flame design power armor is amazing ! (you can find the book to unlock it a bit north East of Sanctuary at some junk yard)

Supply chains only affect when you are in building mode. In building mode you can use all the junk pooled from every settlement in the supply chain. However, it won't show all your junk in the various workstations. You can only use the junk stored in that settlement for the workstation/crafting stations.

SeantheMan wrote: »

i think that's the actual settlements own stock of aluminium?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,816 ✭✭✭TheChrisD

Think that was bad? I had to spend half an hour reloading trying to kill a Legendary Bloatfly... On Survival difficulty, he could two-shot me; and it being so small made it almost impossible to hit.

The bloody fecker even ate two missiles and still lived :mad:

At least it dropped a somewhat nice burning 10mm.