Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Are ppl taking the p*ss with their offers on my ad?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 643 ✭✭✭Geniass

This is new. An OP answering their own question.

We're dooooomed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Well a seller reacting on his/her own ad like you did would instantly make me skip to the next one.
    It's not worth that anyway!

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

It looks like it's in bits!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,601 ✭✭✭cerastes

So you want €1000 for a car with an engine that isnt running, and that went off the road and you cant be sure of the mileage, basically not much can be confirmed about it.
    and you complain that someone rang you? if its not donedeal, why did you put your number up? or how else did they get it?

Its worth less than the worst offer I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,245 ✭✭✭myshirt

Take the 500, and take it quick. It is definitely not worth more than 350. Definitely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,903 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

says full service at 233k on 7/11/2013 on the engine cover..?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 9,808 CMod ✭✭✭✭Shield

You'd probably make more money if you sold it off in parts. A door here, a headlight casing there. Let's be honest, whoever buys it is buying a repair bill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,129 ✭✭✭coolbeans

Crap pics, rude seller's comment on thread, lack of info re mileage, car is in bits. Question is OP, are you the one taking the piss?

:pac::D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,070 ✭✭✭ScouseMouse

I kind of agree with some of the sentiments here. I understand you are wound up, but your comments will only scare people off. Your comments seem to have been toned down a bit.

Just bite your tongue and hope you get a good price. Good Luck with your sale.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,063 ✭✭✭Greenmachine

Really ambiguous information from the seller. Highlight the bad point of the car really well. Now what are the good points.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,977 ✭✭✭euser1984

Really ambiguous information from the seller. Highlight the bad point of the car really well. Now what are the good points.

Thanks for this useful post....I got annoyed because I got a phone call from somebody really rude.

I've updated the ad now - hopefully it's better.....

http://www.adverts.ie/car/ford/fiesta/2005-ford-fiesta/8108150

Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 388 ✭✭Rob32

Now it says 100,000km and theres no engine pic. OPs pulling a fast one i think.

Cars worth nothing far as im concerned diesel injectors can be very expensive and thats assuming theres no underlying issue

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,674 ✭✭✭Faith+1

Rob32 wrote: »
    Now it says 100,000km and theres no engine pic. OPs pulling a fast one i think.

Cars worth nothing far as im concerned diesel injectors can be very expensive and thats assuming theres no underlying issue

She'll go 300 hectres on a single tank of kerosene!

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

euser1984 wrote: »
    Thanks for this useful post....I got annoyed because I got a phone call from somebody really rude.

I've updated the ad now - hopefully it's better.....

http://www.adverts.ie/car/ford/fiesta/2005-ford-fiesta/8108150

Thanks.

The car cannot be described as mint lol

OP has clocked the car so? We saw the picture with at least 233k on it and now its listed at 100k miles?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

10 year old car with bogey mileage. Needs an injector( parts and labour) damaged front? Did a mechanic look at it and tell you that's all it needs?
    It's far from being mint for a start. Take the 600 offer an be done with it. You won't get more for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,525 ✭✭✭kona

Mint , well kept?

It's a heap of ****.

A contender for dreamer of the year.

kona wrote: »
    Mint , well kept?

It's a heap of ****.

A contender for dreamer of the year.

The first ad was more honest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

There aren't any.

This place is full of idiots (this forum)....get a life ....I enjoy life and in real life see people like ye and laugh at the scowl on your faces because ye can't even get a promotion in a s*it job....and the fact that you need to take your anger out on your computer....no wonder half of ye wonder what's wrong with your computer when a pop-up comes up....the likes of me then goes to fix your computer, and has to explain things to ye like a child in junior infants is taught.

Glad to be getting out of that game....

800 to any of ye anyway - why? Cos I don't want you anywhere near me....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭Penny Tration

This place is full of idiots (this forum)....get a life ....I enjoy life and in real life see people like ye and laugh at the scowl on your faces because ye can't even get a promotion in a s*it job....and the fact that you need to take your anger out on your computer....no wonder half of ye wonder what's wrong with your computer when a pop-up comes up....the likes of me then goes to fix your computer, and has to explain things to ye like a child in junior infants is taught.

I fix my own computer :)

Erm, you give a list of faults, then say it's mint. It's in bits.

Take the 600 offered and run.

bitter at being caught out much?

i enjoy my job very much too, even make a decent living from it

I used have to manage pc repair guys, it sucked

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,353 ✭✭✭Heckler

Comedy gold.

Yeah well I dunno what to put down but I explain everything clearly when they ring.....easier that way....

Anyway someone is coming to look at it today and he knows everything about it....it's good to know from here at least the value.

How could I pull a fast one when they will want to look at the engine anyway? I don't know the mileage because it's at the mechanics....easily explained on the phone....the guy that sold it to me is a wan*er and I lost money; yes, I'm annoyed.

I don't like writing about it anyway cos I don't know what to put down exactly to reflect what it is....so I'm not going to say anything about mileage when the clock will be different seeing as the engine was changed. phhhhhhheeewwwwww - it's just a pain and I want to get rid of it but not to get ripped off by someone that knows how to smooth talk when I have little experience selling cars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,734 ✭✭✭zarquon

Clearly you have a well paid job with promotions galore - that why you were driving a piece of sh1t falling apart ford fiesta that worths less than a ps4. :rolleyes:

Stheno wrote: »
    bitter at being caught out much?

i enjoy my job very much too, even make a decent living from it

I used have to manage pc repair guys, it sucked

That's grand - your not one of the people being rude....I assumed people would understand that I was only referring to some people here. (again I'm guilty of not being clear).

I'm glad you enjoy your job....
    Regarding managing technies - yup, that sounds like a job that sucks alright. I'm sure you know the way it is with typical users aswell.

Bitter - Yup, I suppose if were talking about the same thing as being pissed off. Natural human reaction to something like this....

Look, mechanic said about 900 - because there are loads of good parts if broken....Sounds like the photos might be misleading....anyway, I'm accepting the advice regarding about 600 - it's all I was asking in the heading of my post. Not those type of people I was referring to in my last post.

I think it's probably fair to say they might be bitter about something much bigger than a car....I'll get over the car.....

That's grand - your not one of the people being rude....I assumed people would understand that I was only referring to some people here. (again I'm guilty of not being clear).

I'm glad you enjoy your job....
    Regarding managing technies - yup, that sounds like a job that sucks alright.

Bitter - Yup, I suppose if were talking about the same thing as being pissed off. Natural human reaction to something like this....

Look, mechanic said about 900 - because there are loads of good parts if broken....Sounds like the photos might be misleading....anyway, I'm accepting the advice regarding about 600 - it's all I was asking in the heading of my post. Not those type of people I was referring to in my last post.

I think it's probably fair to say they might be bitter about something much bigger than a car....I'll get over the car.....

Most people on here tend to be quite helpful

zarquon wrote: »
    Clearly you have a well paid job with promotions galore - that why you were driving a piece of sh1t falling apart ford fiesta that worths less than a ps4. :rolleyes:

It was bought for carrying a dog around....

Most people on here tend to be quite helpful

I've found that to be the case alright; although, in my opinion there is more of the other type lurking around this place....maybe I'm just unlucky somehow and attract them....

Well there is no way online to know you have aspergers which can affect how you communicate and you do seem to fly off the handle for no reason.

Perhaps read back over your posts before hitting the post button?

Are ye happy with this update now and price? http://www.adverts.ie/car/ford/fiesta/2005-ford-fiesta/8108150

zarquon wrote: »

Nice comparison....you wouldn't swap for a ps4 then I suppose?

Are ye happy with this update now and price? http://www.adverts.ie/car/ford/fiesta/2005-ford-fiesta/8108150

The very first ad you had was probably the best of the three if you took out the spelling mistakes

Well there is no way online to know you have aspergers which can affect how you communicate and you do seem to fly off the handle for no reason.

Perhaps read back over your posts before hitting the post button?

Well, I think if you look back it's actually others here that have instigated this anger issue. I do get quite angry easily alright. Selling this yoke is a serious pain in ho*e for me....especially seeing as I have adhd too.....and then you have these spanners trying to have a go at ya for no reason other to have a go. If they didn't want to have a go then they could just refrain from posting or write/talk in a different tone.

Now that's quite a pot/kettle you have there!

The very first ad you had was probably the best of the three if you took out the spelling mistakes

I can't even remember it anymore - not a clue what to write about it....it's a piece of sh*ite according to everyone here.

I don't want to get another phone call from an ignorant *****er again like yesterday....I really don't care about the money that that much!

Hence the reason I've taken so long to actually put the thing up for sale..

7eELY.gif
    I have a Sony vaio, initially I replaced the ram (and held the power button down for 1min) and it booted up and ran for a day or two with multiple reboots.

It's stopped now again - I removed and reinstalled the ram and used compressed air to clean it out first - no joy. I tried without memory - the power LED comes on (and stays on) but there are no beeps and nothing appears on the screen. I cleared the capacitors again and no joy.

Is the motherboard fooked? Is there anyway to get this going or can I assume the motherboard is dead?

Thanks.

WNSBa.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,401 ✭✭✭Royal Irish

Nice comparison....you wouldn't swap for a ps4 then I suppose?

Maybe a PS3 not a 4.

Now that's quite a pot/kettle you have there!

How would you react if you were somewhat sensitive to blatant rudeness....I don't find myself around these kind of people in my normal day to day life at all, so I'm not used to it....I usually find a lot of people on boards to talk to others like this....I don't think it was always like this either....I'm a member of other boards that either, don't attract such people or don't tolerate it...

Leading me to believe that many people take out their anger when they get home on the computer....sure, we all do it to some extent.

Like important political issues perhaps - this I would consider normal because you may not get the opportunity to discuss away from the computer. If you did meet someone in the "real world" then perhaps you would get all this anger out....This thread is a whole different ball game....

What does it matter to those people at the end of the day anyway....do they work for the dept. of consumer-ship or something?

Maybe a PS3 not a 4.

Ah, sure a SNES would do me so? Or maybe it's only worth a NES.

7eELY.gif

WNSBa.gif

I've learnt that asking in a certain way for advice in that forum gets the best results!! Will I post up about the happiest day of your life?

I think I replaced the power jack on that to get it working in the end....awkward enough to remove the bloody thing (and put the new one in) At least it wasn't soldered on though - that was a c*unt of a job (wasn't a sony)....Never likes those Sonys anyway. It's a mac for poor folk.

Spending time working with drupal more these days - getting a site setup targeting an untapped area! Ireland has many I'll tell ya that ;) I keep that information for me and my friends though.

It should easily sell for €250. Perhaps ring some breakers. They might come and take it away for you for €250.

Geniass wrote: »
    It should easily sell for €250. Perhaps ring some breakers. They might come and take it away for you for €250.

I just turned the whole ad into a joke! :) Anyway, they have withdrew it so I won't have to pay 3 euro when it's bought today....

Did you sell it on adverts?

Haven't sold it yet at all.

The moderator is actually aware of this thread and it was taken down because the mileage specified isn't accurate....I'm not sure what mileage it shows in the van on the clock....but yeah the engine does show that amount and I'm not sure when the belt was done....

Anyway; if anyone is looking at buying this I'm sure they would know that....why did I take the picture down? So as not to confuse people maybe....tbh, I haven't got a bloody clue!

Why don't you just relist it on adverts, with a straight, honest description, dont be a wise ass, and put a reasonable price on it but open to offers.

I can see you got wound up, but you didn't help yourself.

If you get an acceptable offer, happy days!, if not, you have lost nothing. Otherwise it could be sitting in your mechanics yard for god knows how long.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,299 ✭✭✭paulmclaughlin

It's a mac for poor folk.

This tells me all I need to know about your knowledge of computers.

Maybe you don't have much of an imagination then