Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cremation or Burial?

• 27-05-2015 6:22pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,127 ✭✭✭✭

When you die do you want to be buried or cremated?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 Mike Tobacco

Fire up that furnace baby!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

Couldnt give a shite to be honest, whatevers cheapest

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

Is this an offer or what?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,169 ✭✭✭Wang King

Would rather someone strung me up on a cross in the church to freak a few people out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭Crunchienut

Seeing the upset that visiting a grave can cause to some members of my family, even though the person is dead for many years, has made me decide that cremation and ashes scattered is the way to go - the last thing I want is anybody sobbing over my grave when I'm gone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,572 ✭✭✭Colser

Surprise me OP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Buried. I feel that it is my duty to "give back" to the environment by allowing maggots, worms and, like, caterpillars to feast upon my rotting corpse.

It's the circle of life, friends. There's no need to fear it. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,127 ✭✭✭✭Gael23

Couldnt give a shite to be honest, whatevers cheapest

Into a wheelie bin and off to landfill would be cheapest!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,089 ✭✭✭✭LizT

Buried. I feel that it is my duty to "give back" to the environment by allowing maggots, worms and, like, caterpillars to feast upon my rotting corpse.

Simba? Is that you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Gael23 wrote: »
    When you die do you want to be buried or cremated?

Ideally an open air cremation with flagons, cans, and "herbal cigarettes" for the attendees, few sounds and bit of food as well.

Nodin wrote: »
    Ideally an open air cremation with flagons, cans, and "herbal cigarettes" for the attendees, few sounds and bit of food as well.
    A barbeque, then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

Off Dun Laoghaire pier would do me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

I love graveyards, so I like the idea of having my own wee gaff in one. But I don't mind really, whatever's handier.

I don't like the idea of cremation myself. Today I was at one of the few cremation funerals I have ever been to and I just found it a strange experience.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

Apparently in traditional Shinto funerals the body is cremated and then the bone fragments are filtered out and the family breaks them up with hammers. They have to go into the urn right way up (foot bones at bottom, skull at the top). I don't know what that's got to do with anything I just remembered it

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 5,840 Mod ✭✭✭✭irish_goat

Landfill is quite expensive these days, compost bin is where the savings are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 386 ✭✭scouttio

I want to be cremated and I want my ashes to be thrown into the faces of my enemies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,665 ✭✭✭Tin Foil Hat

I have no desire to take up a small rectangle of land indefinitely after my death.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,628 ✭✭✭Señor Fancy Pants

A friend of mines father died 2 years ago. They didn't get on too well.

His fathers wish, was for his cremated remains to be launched around the Aran Islands.

Instead, yer man has been driving around with the ashes in a zip lock bag in the glove box in his car. He protests that he just hasn't got around to doing it yet.

I really, really, really wish I was making that up. Still, I chuckle when I think about it.

Me? I want to be exploded. Just chunks of me and red mist flying through the air.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭ElleEm

Cremated. I don't like the idea of rotting in the ground. Burning me as I was is nicer in some way. It also means I am no longer taking up any space in the world.

I want to be cremated and my ashes made into a diamond:

http://www.lifegem.com/

Because I'm worth it.

Really though, just burn me and let the wind have me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 936 ✭✭✭JaseBelleVie

Joe's Crematorium. You kill 'em, we grill 'em!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

Burial....but in a shared grave with the family. Just in case science can bring me back to life in the future like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭MistyCheese

I want to be cremated and have the ashes buried. At sea. After they've been mummified.

Just to be super sure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,353 ✭✭✭Cold War Kid

'Twon't make any odds to me but I suppose buried, with a gravestone saying a few words.
    Ashes all look the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 884 ✭✭✭thejuggler

I favour above ground mausoleum. Nice and dry. Don't know if any cemetery in Ireland offers it

'Twon't make any odds to me but I suppose buried, with a gravestone saying a few words.
    Ashes all look the same.

We could make an hourglass with your ashes, and whenever we flip it over, we could call it Happy Hour.

Not because anyone is happy you're gone though. :P

With cremation, when you come out of the furnace, most of your bones are still intact and then they grind you up to make a powdered ash.

Whisky Mac wrote: »
    Burial....but in a shared grave with the family.

Hopefully your whole family will be slaughtered on the same day or it'll be a bit of an inconvenience to bury you all together.

Candie wrote: »
    We could make an hourglass with your ashes, and whenever we flip it over, we could call it Happy Hour.

Not because anyone is happy you're gone though. :P
    It'd be fun to funky. :)

And you'd be strung out on Heaven's High. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,417 ✭✭✭Archeron

With cremation, when you come out of the furnace, most of your bones are still intact and then they grind you up to make a powdered ash.

I think the machine they use to do that is called the Bone Tumbler

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,728 ✭✭✭dilallio

I want to be thrown out of an airplane dressed in a Superman costume.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Send me to the 'Roaster' please and cremate me like me Ma's steak when I was a kid!

She was a great cook but steak she just cooked well done all the time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,741 ✭✭✭✭Ally Dick

I want a large sarcophagus in Pere La Chaise cemetery. I don't ask for much

• Closed Accounts Posts: 97 ✭✭Merces

Burial. After watching Kill Bill the thought of being buried alive freaks me out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I want to be cremated on a pyre fired by good black sausage machine turf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 210 ✭✭Emsloe

Cremated and the ashes sneaked into the family plot. I can't stand those mailbox type housings they have for ashes in cemeteries - really give me the creeps.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

I want to be stuffed and mounted on the couch as a constant reminder to my future wife.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,444 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

I want to be stuffed and mounted on the couch as a constant reminder to my future wife.

We have laws against that kind of behaviour! :eek:

I carry a donor card so whatever proves useful upon my demise they're welcome to it if it could prove useful to someone else.

Then I'd like to be buried with a nokia 3310 (just in case :pac: )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Donate me to science

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭Rumpy Pumpy

My Father was buried in the family plot. My Mother told me recently that she'd rather be burned in a barrel out on the back lawn than be buried alongside him. I was slightly shocked, but soon recovered with a quip about considering cremation as satisfying for both his dying wish, and her living one.

I don't really care either way. As long as what remains of me is buried under the Oak tree at the corner of the lake where I felt true happiness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 devwa

Cremated and ashes dispersed.

Merces wrote: »
    Burial. After watching Kill Bill the thought of being buried alive freaks me out.

The thought of being burned alive is a much more frightening thought for me

dilallio wrote: »
    I want to be thrown out of an airplane dressed in a Superman costume.
    Ooh, away with my talk of burial plots - the above plz.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,444 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

asshole.

I don't think the maggots, worms and caterpillars are that fussy about what they're eating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,734 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Hang me from a tree like the Navajo do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 742 ✭✭✭WildWater

Donate me to science
    They keep you for up to three years and then you have to be interred. So I guess you still need to make a decision re burial vs cremation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,705 ✭✭✭Mountainsandh

I'd like to be cremated so a little bit of my ashes could travel back to native France, but then I'd like the ashes buried or kept in an urn, or dispersed on the family plots on both sides.

When my father died he was cremated as per his wishes, we dispersed his ashes in the little mountain stream he loved and had designated himself (
    like the idea, but it was a little gross tbh, as the ashes don't really disperse immediately
    ), and kept a little bit that went to the family plot in Provence.

My Mum visits both the stream and the family plot often.