Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Stopped for speeding by plain-clothed Garda

• 22-05-2015 3:53pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4

I was driving on the M1 yesterday and was pulled over by an unmarked car with flashing blue lights. I was travelling above the speed limit so I was aware that my offence was speeding.

A man got out and approached my driver window. I rolled it down and he straight away began to lecture me about my speed. I had my licence ready and gave it to him when he asked for it. He returned to his car and remained there for 5 mins. He came back, asked me my address, looked at my discs on the windscreen. Then he just handed me back my licence and said "Thank you. Goodbye". He walked back to his car and drive off.

I am not disputing that I was speeding. I know I was and if I receive a fine and points then I'll have to take it on the chin.

However I found the whole encounter very strange. He was on his own, plain clothed, in an unmarked silver ford mondeo or focus (not sure which). He used blue lights to pull me over. But he did not say he was a member of the Gardaí, did not show me any ID and did not give me a name.

He walked off after the encounter without telling me what his intentions were or what the outcome would be. Is he not supposed to explain to me what he intends to do about my offence?? He walked off so quickly and drove off so quickly I didn't even have a chance to clarify anything.

Any clarification would be greatly appreciated

• Closed Accounts Posts: 241 ✭✭KTR1C

How'd you know he was a Garda then ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

You should have asked to see his ID.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 littlecurlybee

I guess I just assumed because of the blue lights and his manner of authority when speaking to me. I guess I can't be sure he actually was a Garda. But if not, why would he stop someone as if he was a garda?

• Site Banned Posts: 1,765 ✭✭✭Pugzilla

Maybe he was pretending to be a Garda for the craic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 241 ✭✭KTR1C

I guess I just assumed because of the blue lights and his manner of authority when speaking to me. I guess I can't be sure he actually was a Garda. But if not, why would he stop someone as if he was a garda?

The manner of authority comes with the blue light's ;)

You can easily get a hold of them either for motorbikes or cars. The only way youll know if it was legit is wait it out for a fine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭Bongalongherb

I was driving on the M1 yesterday and was pulled over by an unmarked car with flashing blue lights. I was travelling above the speed limit so I was aware that my offence was speeding.

A man got out and approached my driver window. I rolled it down and he straight away began to lecture me about my speed. I had my licence ready and gave it to him when he asked for it. He returned to his car and remained there for 5 mins. He came back, asked me my address, looked at my discs on the windscreen. Then he just handed me back my licence and said "Thank you. Goodbye". He walked back to his car and drive off.

I am not disputing that I was speeding. I know I was and if I receive a fine and points then I'll have to take it on the chin.

However I found the whole encounter very strange. He was on his own, plain clothed, in an unmarked silver ford mondeo or focus (not sure which). He used blue lights to pull me over. But he did not say he was a member of the Gardaí, did not show me any ID and did not give me a name.

He walked off after the encounter without telling me what his intentions were or what the outcome would be
    . Is he not supposed to explain to me what he intends to do about my offence?? He walked off so quickly and drove off so quickly I didn't even have a chance to clarify anything.

Any clarification would be greatly appreciated

I reckon that the fake garda was taking a chance in ripping you off for the car or other, but when he saw you face to face he chickened out. You must be a tough looking guy, and this frightened him so much he left quickly.

Maybe! Was a guy in his 50's though. Would a man of that age bother with impersonating a garda?! Maybe I'm just naive!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,315 ✭✭✭ballooba

I was stopped in similar circumstances by a Garda Subaru Forester about 8 years ago on the M1. I got told off for tailgating, my licence checked and sent on my way. I never got points or fine. Do they need to issue documentation or tell you they are charging you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭fergus1001

Maybe! Was a guy in his 50's though. Would a man of that age bother with impersonating a garda?! Maybe I'm just naive!

Be aware people have had cars robbed on them by people pretending to be guards on the m1 in particular

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

It won't be one on their own if going to steal your car there would be at least 2.

If he didn't say you will recieve fine in the post he may have checked your history and let you off with the lecture.

I only wish they let me off the last 2 times:(:(

OP it's actually quite easy to tell if its a real cop car by reg and type of lights on the car also if older it may have arials where as now the newer ones don't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,236 ✭✭✭Patser

Just guessing.

Maybe he was a plain clothes Garda on way to or from home, or to ir from court, or to it from some other case but not tasked with traffic control. Your speeding was of a high enough level to annoy him into action, but your cooperative nature and the fact there were no other issues (tax, insurance several months out of date) made him figure a stern talking to was enough.

You'll know in a month if nothing comes in the post, maybe you'll be lucky and he had enough other things to deal with. Sometimes Gardai figure giving you the sweats and a nervous few weeks watching the postman us enough warning.

Lesson in all this - have the hattrick of discs in the window and be friendly/cooperative. If you act the maggot expect mail.

It won't be one on their own if going to steal your car there would be at least 2.

If he didn't say you will recieve fine in the post he may have checked your history and let you off with the lecture.

I only wish they let me off the last 2 times:(:(

OP it's actually quite easy to tell if its a real cop car by reg and type of lights on the car also if older it may have arials where as now the newer ones don't.

I hope you are right. I would imagine they are obliged to explain to you what they intend to do but he didn't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭Pov06

Well if he didn't show you a speed gun then he cannot do anything about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

If you are going to get a fine, they usually tell you at the time, I think. Happened to me anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭Bongalongherb

The main thing to do when a blue flashing light comes upon you in an unmarked car of which pulls you over, is to ask for Identification first and foremost.

If they don't produce it, drive off to the nearest garda station.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,287 ✭✭✭slinky2000

Any time I've been pulled over by a garda and been fined I've received a ticket there and then with the fine. Other times not for speeding I've been told "See you in court" but it never happened.

I wouldn't worry about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 ray.g

Id say you will never hear about it again. He could have been a detective and was not bothered about putting all the paperwork through.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 189 ✭✭Chijj

I'm of the understanding that two cops need to be present if no device (speed camera) was used.

He probably assumed a talking to would stop you speeding and from the sounds of your post it would seem it worked.

The saying better 5 minutes late in this life rather than 20/30/40 years early in the next should be everyone's mantra.

Chijj wrote: »
    I'm of the understanding that two cops need to be present if no device (speed camera) was used.

He probably assumed a talking to would stop you speeding and from the sounds of your post it would seem it worked.

The saying better 5 minutes late in this life rather than 20/30/40 years early in the next should be everyone's mantra.

But but but but but but but but but but but but........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,028 ✭✭✭anthony4335

The don't need to show you the reading on the handset to fine you, they don't even need one, once the observe you using there own cars speedometer travelling at speed usually over a certain distance to issue you with a on the spot fine, or post one out. But I would imagine that they would at least have to tell you there they are considering the action of issuing the notice. One thing I would have thought is that he would have identified himself as a member before giving the lecture.
    I would imagine that you have gotten off with a warning but if you do get a summons or fine you would be well within you right to go to court with it and contest it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

The don't need to show you the reading on the handset to fine you, they don't even need one, once the observe you using there own cars speedometer travelling at speed usually over a certain distance to issue you with a on the spot fine, or post one out. But I would imagine that they would at least have to tell you there they are considering the action of issuing the notice. One thing I would have thought is that he would have identified himself as a member before giving the lecture.
    I would imagine that you have gotten off with a warning but if you do get a summons or fine you would be well within you right to go to court with it and contest it.

Where your fine and points will be increased.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,940 ✭✭✭dingding

Other than speeding, there are other offences they could use, driving without due care and attention, dangerous driving, careless driving etc.....

If he was on traffic duty he would be uniformed.

Can you give more details, were you much over the speed limit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭Pov06

Rubbish. Their own car speedometer over-reads the speed as standard. Not a chance they would get away with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭mhackett102

Should've taken the reg of the car he was driving and report it to your local Garda station to check if it was an unmarked garda car or not.

Also a guard once pulled over my friend for speeding on the motorway before. He had no speed-gun but he followed him for some time and pulled him over after about 20 minutes of following him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,922 ✭✭✭dashcamdanny

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,069 ✭✭✭ebbsy

He was a JIMP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 600 ✭✭✭SMJSF

This is more plain clothed gardai on the roads and streets.
    Maybe it's a tactic to blend in and catch people easier.

There was an incident / fire vandalism at the apartments I live in a few weeks ago, and the gardai (2) who were in the area were on normal bikes, plain clothed who were just down the road. But shown the badge and ID when introducing themselves.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,224 ✭✭✭Going Forward

Chijj wrote: »

It's good PR, lesson learned, without the fine.
    Possibly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,326 ✭✭✭Farmer Pudsey

If it was a unmarked car that is used by plainclother Gardai then it is unlikly to have certified speeding camera/ equipment installed. The gardai do not use such cars for traffic control. More than likly he just gave you a telling off and as rest of your documents(tax, insurance etc) were in order it was not worth the hassle of taking you to court.

Strictly speaking a Guard must notify you at the time if he intends to prosecute you and under what legislation he intends to do so with. However he can log the incident on pulse and if you are caught for speeding or traffic voilation in future then this incident can be mentioned in court at that time and the judge vcan take it into consideration at time of sentanceing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 378 ✭✭catastrophy

Strictly speaking a Guard must notify you at the time if he intends to prosecute you and under what legislation he intends to do so with. However he can log the incident on pulse and if you are caught for speeding or traffic voilation in future then this incident can be mentioned in court at that time and the judge vcan take it into consideration at time of sentanceing.

I'm not sure where you got your information but that's wrong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,585 ✭✭✭jca

If it was a unmarked car that is used by plainclother Gardai then it is unlikly to have certified speeding camera/ equipment installed. The gardai do not use such cars for traffic control. More than likly he just gave you a telling off and as rest of your documents(tax, insurance etc) were in order it was not worth the hassle of taking you to court.

None of that spiel is true.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,856 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

Surprised you didn't mention the non wearing of his hat. When the hat is on they morph into Super Gardai, and become invincible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,543 ✭✭✭Pataman

Pov06 wrote: »
    Well if he didn't show you a speed gun then he cannot do anything about it.

usual Bull....

I think they should tazer anyone that even attempts to ask a question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,710 ✭✭✭Corvo

Surprised you didn't mention the non wearing of his hat. When the hat is on they morph into Super Gardai, and become invincible.

A pregnant woman can poo into a Garda's hat...or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭ironclaw

In a very polite way, you can ask a Garda to identify themselves. Even when some plain clothes were at the business premises, they showed their badges as they walked in without being prompted and we were expecting them.