Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Not sure what to do :(

• 19-05-2015 9:44pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 96 ✭✭

What would you do if you found out someone made a bogus revenue claim using your personal details, now you are being chased down for repayment by revenue.

But if you tell the truth regarding the fraud this person loses everything, job, home, kids??

At my wits end

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,383 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Rat them the fcuk out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,554 ✭✭✭bjork

They didn't think twice about fecking you over.

I'd return the favour

• Closed Accounts Posts: 803 ✭✭✭jungleman

I would follow through with the ruse and have revenue hound me for the rest of my life. But that's just me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Never knew revenue could take your kids for payment

that could be quite handy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,317 ✭✭✭Frankie5Angels

Family? Think about it, depends on circumstances.

Anyone else? Fcuk them, they didn't think about you when scamming.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

Ulnar wrote: »
    What would you do if you found out someone made a bogus revenue claim using your personal details, now you are being chased down for repayment by revenue.

But if you tell the truth regarding the fraud this person loses everything, job, home, kids??

At my wits end

You simply get on to revenue and query as to what claim they are referring to. You didn't get the money, you didn't make any claim, it won't have been lodged to your account.
    If this person had created accounts etc in your name, well it's time to get onto Gardai also.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Arsemageddon

Perhaps you could discuss the issue in a rational and sensible manner on the Jeremy Kyle Show?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭MRnotlob606

I would strangle them with my shoelaces, then I would waterboard those cúnts in a bucket of my own piss. Then I would let them listen to a full justin bieber album while simultaneously banging their GF in front of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,042 ✭✭✭zl1whqvjs75cdy

Rat them out for sure.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 127 ✭✭Buzz Meeks

You seem to be the ringleader. It was your tax details. You're henchman
    should be punished also but Revenue should take your kids first.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,881 ✭✭✭JohnMarston

At my wits end

No brainer, tell the truth. You owe the scammer nothing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,022 ✭✭✭jamesbere

This fella is obviously desperate but that still doesn't make what he's doing to you alright. Approach him first, if he won't own up then go to revenue. You shouldn't be paying for his mistakes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

Talk to the sly dog. Tell them it's been rumbled and they have two choices. They pay you so you can pay them. Or you turn them over to the tax gestapo and let them sick the dogs on them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

A man who loses everything is a dangerous beast

be very carefull

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 96 ✭✭Ulnar

mickdw wrote: »
    You simply get on to revenue and query as to what claim they are referring to. You didn't get the money, you didn't make any claim, it won't have been lodged to your account.
    If this person had created accounts etc in your name, well it's time to get onto Gardai also.

Was due a revenue refund, filled in some forms and it subsuquently came to light that claims had been made, money paid out etc. They've held onto the legit refund. This person works for Revenue too that's how they did the swindle.

Just to add they've admitted to it but putting pressure on us that we're gonna be responsible for their family breaking up etc etc.
    Yes they are 'family'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

You're a rabbit, right? Well then dress up in sexy feminine clothes, put on a bit of lipstick, seduce the ruffian and, when he's not expecting it, whack him upside his head with a heavy bottomed frying pan.

• Subscribers Posts: 19,425 ✭✭✭✭Oryx

If youre not willing to pay someone else's debt then you have no choice but to rat them out. After all, you didn't create the mess. They did. Why should you suffer?

Or confront them and get your money from them.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Was due a revenue refund, filled in some forms and it subsuquently came to light that claims had been made, money paid out etc. They've held onto the legit refund. This person works for Revenue too that's how they did the swindle.

Yes they are 'family'.

Coming to AH for advice on this is possibly not the best choice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

jamesbere wrote: »
    This fella is obviously desperate but that still doesn't make what he's doing to you alright. Approach him first, if he won't own up then go to revenue. You shouldn't be paying for his mistakes
    We have established its a bloke yeah?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

They work for revenue???

hang them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84 ✭✭Buck Melanoma

At my wits end

How did this person get your personal details in the first place? If it was illegally, well you know what to do. However, if you gave them these details you presumably know them well, so confront them !!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

Don't listen to him OP. Blast her with piss!

They work for revenue???

hang them

Probably will be denied their increment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,479 ✭✭✭Notorious97

Yes they are 'family'.

So you are also telling us there are corrupt people working in the revenue? For that alone you should be reporting it, all joking aside if we cannot have trust worthy people working in revenue god help us all.

As for you, this persons crime is costing you, not only in money but your reputation is on the line here. They didnt consider their own familys future when they pulled this stunt, so why should you? You definitely need to report this!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,331 ✭✭✭deise08

They deserve to be found out!

I know, but I've literally no-one else to talk to. The person is on holiday at the minute, so probably best time for me to sort this out the legit way. Thanks again everyone

On holiday on your dime!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Bambi wrote: »
    Never knew revenue could take your kids for payment

that could be quite handy

Same.

Time for a new car.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭Adamantium

Take them to the cleaners.

How much for? Well that's a tough one......but i'll give it a shot...how about three-fiddy?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,793 ✭✭✭Red Kev

The person who is shafting you is possibly/probably shafting others, most likely in your family as well.

They are corrupt and dishonest and have no place in Revenue, also they can screw you over again in the future, next time potentially for a lot more.

I'd report them, the 'family breaking up' crap is them trying to put pressure on you with moral blackmail . They obviously don't give a damn about you either way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,023 ✭✭✭Satriale

I wonder what else they've been using your name for. My crystal ball says to expect a large credit card bill in the post.

Niall Boylan would absolutely love this but ya rat the cùnt out

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

I would not nor could not give less of a f*ck about this person in that scenario OP. Like if f*cks were atoms and you split it down to quazers and then through some jiggery pokery you ended up inside out in the inbetween space of anti-matter....basically what i'm trying to say is if the metaphorical f*ck i'm speaking of here was reduced to a dimension which existed outside and I mean outside when I say outside....outside of time and space itself. As in like it existed now in negative space only...it wasn't just a non existant f*ck but the f*ck was actually a minus f*ck. That then is how many f*cks I would give about this person. Minus f*cks. In fact for every minus f*cks I gave by it's very nature another f*ck would be sucked from existence until all the f*cks in the universe collapsed into oblivion sucking this person inside out and poof they're gone :)

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 1,495 ✭✭✭pajero12

Has this person offered to rectify the situation or pay you off?

Either way I'd still hang the cnuts out to dry!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,980 ✭✭✭Lucy8080

Just deal with the revenue guys. Easily proved you "personally" didn't make the claim.

Leave the rest up to them...not your job.

Be outraged also! Why not?

Solves all problems...clears your name ....if they track down the fraudster...not your fault. You are the injured party either way.

Fraudster can't blame you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭Topper Harley

Other than attempting to deflect and somehow shift blame on to you, in how much detail did you discuss this with the person?

They obviously acknowledged it but did they explain why they did it, apologise or say they'd attempt to make amends? Their attitude and circumstances would play a factor in how I'd go forward.

Also, if I understand correctly, you said you were legitimately due a refund from the revenue and this person fraudulently took it instead. Why are revenue now chasing you down for repayment?

At my wits end

I think the fact that he is off on his hols why you are "at your wits end" on an anonymous site looking for help should colour your decision.

In fairness, he could have at least skipped the hols, sent the family off if it was already booked and said there was a problem at work or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

I would strangle them with my shoelaces, then I would waterboard those cúnts in a bucket of my own piss. Then I would let them listen to a full justin bieber album while simultaneously banging their GF in front of them.

Dude… You can't start off a torture spree by killing the victim. Rookie mistake. Never do the strangulation until the end.

I thought this was common knowledge?

Other than attempting to deflect and somehow shift blame on to you, in how much detail did you discuss this with the person?

They obviously acknowledged it but did they explain why they did it, apologise or say they'd attempt to make amends? Their attitude and circumstances would play a factor in how I'd go forward.

Also, if I understand correctly, you said you were legitimately due a refund from the revenue and this person fraudulently took it instead. Why are revenue now chasing you down for repayment?

This person has serious issues when it comes to money, they stole money from other family member that was meant to pay off a siblings recent funeral, and used it for the holiday.

They made a claim a few years back hoping it wouldn't be noticed. Fast forward this year and I was granted a credit that would be backdated four years and result in a hefty refund, the guy in revenue spotted the dodgy claim and put a hold on the refund due €3k and offset it against the dodgy claim of €5k leaving me with underpayment of €2k which they want back.

• Subscribers Posts: 19,425 ✭✭✭✭Oryx

Hang them out to dry. They get away with it like last time, theyll do it again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,793 ✭✭✭Red Kev

Sounds like he needs help, or he's just a thief who doesn't give a toss about you or his family. The fact that when he's in financial difficulty he heads off on holiday would be a worry for me .

Things like this tend to escalate, he will need to fund his lifestyle in the future, one that he obviously can't afford. Sounds like he'll probably target you again in the future.

He needs saving from himself and the best thing you can do is report him to Revenue. The story that he'll lose the family is crap, he doesn't care about his family, that much is obvious.

Report him and spare yourself and your family a load of grief in the future.

Didn't get much sleep lastnight but did have the opportunity to write up some letters and attached proof of admission. One copy for solicitor, one for Revenue, let them sort this out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,000 ✭✭✭fizzypish

You can burn him/her or....
    Pay his/her revenue bill when you receive it & give him/her your OH for sexual/sadistic usage twice a week & give him/her your first born child & "Insert some demeaning comment".

But (I know grammar people, **** off) really though, they didn't give a tuppenny **** about you and the trouble it will cause you when they used your details. Maybe give them a heads up or a chance to fix this **** before turning the heat up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,862 ✭✭✭✭inforfun

Didn't get much sleep lastnight but did have the opportunity to write up some letters and attached proof of admission. One copy for solicitor, one for Revenue, let them sort this out

Dont forget the Gardai.

**** them. Get everyone that can do damage to them in a legal way involved, sit back and enjoy the show.

They tried to **** you over, and then emotionally black mail you. Time to get even

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭UCDVet

Use their name to get money back from Revenue....pay off the debts in your name with the money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 803 ✭✭✭jungleman

I wouldn't even tell him you're taking it this far. He probably thinks you're going to fall for his emotional blackmail trick. Keep quiet, and just try to imagine the look on his face on his first day of work after his holiday when he's confronted with all the evidence of his little scam.

I think I'd give them to him first, and a time period to sort everything out.

It's all very well to say screw him, and he doesn't deserve anything from you.

But if things went off the rails for him, you may wonder was it worth the 2k.

He's placed you in an awful situation, I feel sorry for you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 626 ✭✭✭Massimo Cassagrande

Gather several Detectives, some Revenue folk, a solicitor and a Gard in an old fashioned uniform, together in the perps study - lights out and curtains drawn - then when he comes back from his holiday and walks in, suddenly flick on the lights and confront him with the damning evidence of his dastardly scheme - make a long rambling speech as to how you discovered his crime, deffo lean on the mantle-piece a few times, then when you're done, go "Arrest him Gard" while twirling your shapely moustache...and have the villain taken away in handcuffs..to a smattering of oohs and aahs from the admiring group...

That or tell the Revenue yer man pulled a fast one and let them sort it and feck the sly gimp from a height..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,207 ✭✭✭EazyD

The fact he emotionally blackmailed you to cover up his antics would compel me anyway to sink him. If he had the sack to actually take responsibility for his actions and fix the situation then he might warrant a chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,479 ✭✭✭Notorious97

Dont be feelng guilty, none of this is your fault or problem. You have now done your part, send those letters and sit back and wait for them to start resolving this stuff.

If that person asks you why you done it, ask him why they put the false claim in first in your name and then tell them to go fu*k themselves and cut them out.