Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Which European city for the 'craic'?

• 19-05-2015 8:14pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭

me and another guy plan on going away for a long weekend for pubs and clubs..not a very cultural trip away but we want to have fun.

places like prague and tallinn immediatly spring to mind but are they all the live up to be? would like some cheaper options if possible. price will be a big factor on where we choose to go.

i have once been to amsterdam when i was 18 6 years ago. it was so much but but one negative...the price for alcohol literally everywhere was mind boggling. but i wouldnt rule it out!

i will be searching myself about the topic on google but i would love some irish personal experiences in such cities. we are headed to vegas in june so we would like to go around october.

which city? 48 votes

dusseldorf
    0%
    krakow
    12%
    gustafosugarmanirish_goatjt69erLingua FrancaJjiipp79 6 votes
    budapest
    50%
    whiskeymanheraldokeithclancyzac8suds1984uli84thokerjonny_bKevinKBobPrestoDamienOBsticksmanLouche LadnocoverartCWFwhomitconcernsCiencianoRichardoKhansebcitySimplyBlue 24 votes
    bratislava
    33%
    Lia_liaGrumPynicholiallthedoylesthebigladFerris_BuellerPatL23watwagYamanotoLucas HoodJumpShiversthe dark phantomjaymcg91Darrenon91grey_areaPaddy Dreadful 16 votes
    other
    4%
    bangkokKeplar240B 2 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭MarkY91

Krakow seems like a decent option. cheap too for hotel/flights from the prices ive seen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,899 ✭✭✭grimm2005

If you're looking for cheap and good nightlife then Krakow, Prague & Budapest are good options. Lisbon is also very cheap and they have a great hostel scene. Just stay in a good hostel with a fun atmosphere and you won't go wrong really.

grimm2005 wrote: »
    If you're looking for cheap and good nightlife then Krakow, Prague & Budapest are good options. Lisbon is also very cheap and they have a great hostel scene. Just stay in a good hostel with a fun atmosphere and you won't go wrong really.

Cheers, they all seem like good options. We would prefare a hotel with privacy etc. I think sone hostels do have private rooms though?

Krakow is close to auschwitz which is a good bonus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,605 ✭✭✭OakeyDokey

Krakow and Munich spring to mind, I absolutely adored them and they are grand for a long weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,412 ✭✭✭✭endacl

MarkY91 wrote: »
    me and another guy plan on going away for a long weekend for pubs and clubs..not a very cultural trip away but we want to have fun.

:eek::eek::eek:

Cheers, they all seem like good options. We would prefare a hotel with privacy etc. I think sone hostels do have private rooms though?

A lot of hostels will have private double and twin rooms, it'll just be more expensive. Personally if you're looking to just go out on the lash and meet people etc, then you can't beat a good hostel. I stayed in one by myself in Krakow before and it was brilliant craic, had such a good time. It was small and they encouraged people to buy drink across the road and get together for drinking games etc and then took everyone out on a free pub crawl every night.
    They also did very reasonably priced tours to Auschwitz at about €30 a head, all transport to and from hostel/between sites as well as guides.
    They have a couple of twin rooms, about €25 a night for one without a bathroom, €30 for one with a bathroom.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 374 ✭✭Jjiipp79

krakow
    Simple....Berlin...boom your welcome

endacl wrote: »
    :eek::eek::eek:

i know, the irony! i didnt know krakow was so close to auschwitz. history and nazi history in particular fascinate me and it was always a place i wanted to visit :D
    A lot of hostels will have private double and twin rooms, it'll just be more expensive. Personally if you're looking to just go out on the lash and meet people etc, then you can't beat a good hostel. I stayed in one by myself in Krakow before and it was brilliant craic, had such a good time. It was small and they encouraged people to buy drink across the road and get together for drinking games etc and then took everyone out on a free pub crawl every night.
    They also did very reasonably priced tours to Auschwitz at about €30 a head, all transport to and from hostel/between sites as well as guides.
    They have a couple of twin rooms, about €25 a night for one without a bathroom, €30 for one with a bathroom.

that sounds like an amazing hostel! could you remember the name? ive never considered a hostel before in my life but i will now!
    sugarman wrote: »
    Dusseldorf / Cologne, 24/7 craic... Pubs only close for an hour, which is usually 6am-7am to be cleaned.

We went out all night, had breaky between 6-7am and went back on the beer.

Dusseldorfs main street is nicknamed the longest bar in the world as its literally just door to door of pubs/clubs with a street running parallel to it the exact same.

It does be hopping every night of the week, never seen a place like it for mid week pints.

Liver hurts thinking of it.

jesus, that street sounds amazing, do you know its name? dusseldorf is definetly on the shortlist now!

Krakow, Dusseldorf, Budapest << in no particular order all interest me. wont be booking nothing until after vegas so ill have lots of time to decide

Dusseldorf Altstadt.

There's over 300 bars / pubs.

Its also legal to drink in public, there's an offo on every corner selling pint bottles for a euro. The students meet every night down at the steps of the Rhine also with their sterios and have a big session which is also mad craic and how everyone seems to start their night.

I'd also recommend a hostel. We met some students from the university and went out with them a bit, they invited us to a big college party too.

Did you share a room? Id get a private room if we choose a hostel but they do sound like a laugh. And cheaper than hotels!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,921 ✭✭✭munchkin_utd

Did you share a room? Id get a private room if we choose a hostel but they do sound like a laugh. And cheaper than hotels!
    not necessarily. When looking for a private room in a hostel youre looking at 25 to 40 per Person per night.
    Just for a random Weekend in June I'm seeing Ibis Hotels by Düsseldorf Station for €61 for a room, or €53 for a 4* Mercure at the Harbour area (thats a room Price, not per person)
    Cologne would have similar prices .
    www.accorhotels.com

Getting there. Ryanair go to cologne so are cheap. Cologne Airport to cologne is only a few minutes and Train is €2.50 each or something.
    Aer Lingus flies to Düsseldorf and the Train is similarily Handy to town. The s-bahn from the Airport stops outside that Mercure, and obviously also at the main Station
    Weeze (where ryanair flies to) is nowhere near Düsseldorf and in my opinion is one of the biggest wastes of time when theres flights to the 2 proper Airports in the Region already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭DamienOB

budapest
    Krakow. My favourite city to date. Couldn't throw my money away over there, and the people are lovely. Great City, Great Beers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,800 ✭✭✭Lingua Franca

krakow
    i have once been to amsterdam when i was 18 6 years ago. it was so much but but one negative...the price for alcohol literally everywhere was mind boggling. but i wouldnt rule it out!

You were drinking in the tourist bars. You can have fun over here at a reasonable price if you avoid the tourist areas. I know some guys who come over every 3 months to go clubbing, usually for specific dance events, and they've figured out which places to avoid. Red light district, Damrak, squares like Leidseplein and Rembrandtplein are not places you want to be drinking. I can't help much with recommending "fun" places though, I'm a quiet pint kind of person.

Berlin is where it's at in Europe right now, my partner goes clubbing there with his friends, one of whom lives there as an artist and DJ.

Croatia is cheap and lively.

not necessarily. When looking for a private room in a hostel youre looking at 25 to 40 per Person per night.
    Just for a random Weekend in June I'm seeing Ibis Hotels by Düsseldorf Station for €61 for a room, or €53 for a 4* Mercure at the Harbour area (thats a room Price, not per person)
    Cologne would have similar prices .
    www.accorhotels.com

Getting there. Ryanair go to cologne so are cheap. Cologne Airport to cologne is only a few minutes and Train is €2.50 each or something.
    Aer Lingus flies to Düsseldorf and the Train is similarily Handy to town. The s-bahn from the Airport stops outside that Mercure, and obviously also at the main Station
    Weeze (where ryanair flies to) is nowhere near Düsseldorf and in my opinion is one of the biggest wastes of time when theres flights to the 2 proper Airports in the Region already.

ibis hotel and A&O hostel seem like good options, only theyre not so close to altstradt where we would spend most our time by the looks of things.

i see the ibis hotel is close to dusseldorfs RLD :pac:

thanks to others who chipped in too! i like the sound of krakow..im torn between krakow and dusseldorf atm. or would you recommend cologne over dusseldorf?

krakow has auschwitz close by. dusseldorf has a possible borussia dortmund game close by..

You were drinking in the tourist bars. You can have fun over here at a reasonable price if you avoid the tourist areas. I know some guys who come over every 3 months to go clubbing, usually for specific dance events, and they've figured out which places to avoid. Red light district, Damrak, squares like Leidseplein and Rembrandtplein are not places you want to be drinking. I can't help much with recommending "fun" places though, I'm a quiet pint kind of person.

Berlin is where it's at in Europe right now, my partner goes clubbing there with his friends, one of whom lives there as an artist and DJ.

Croatia is cheap and lively.

thats right, we didnt venture much from the RLD, dam square and another square with clubs and a bar called smokeys iirc? we did no planning and i was only 18. still had a ball :)

Bratislava seems interesting too. cheap beer and supposed to be crazy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

The Dam is good for weed, but only weed. Weed and excess drink is most ofthen not a good combination, and thus the pubs there don't tend to be "good craic". The cafes there are full of chilled individuals. I stayed in a place in the middle of the RLD called the White Tulip, which is above an Irish bar which I only visited once in the entire weekend.

The touristy pubs in the RLD were fairly crap, and seemed to be full of drunken people. I was with a large group of metallers, so didn't go looking for any nightclubs, although I found that if you are in the RLD, once the place closes up that you don't talk to random strangers, as the majority of "friendly" people will be trying to sell you what they claim to be coke, and tell you what you want to hear to get your money!

Look at the Flying Pig hostels, as both seem to be for lone/small groups of backpackers, and are meant to have consoles and activities to include everyone (I'm told) as they are often.
    I think when someone said Auschwitz is gas, that they didn't mean it was fun... :pac:

the_syco wrote: »
    The Dam is good for weed, but only weed. Weed and excess drink is most ofthen not a good combination, and thus the pubs there don't tend to be "good craic". The cafes there are full of chilled individuals. I stayed in a place in the middle of the RLD called the White Tulip, which is above an Irish bar which I only visited once in the entire weekend.

The touristy pubs in the RLD were fairly crap, and seemed to be full of drunken people. I was with a large group of metallers, so didn't go looking for any nightclubs, although I found that if you are in the RLD, once the place closes up that you don't talk to random strangers, as the majority of "friendly" people will be trying to sell you what they claim to be coke, and tell you what you want to hear to get your money!

Look at the Flying Pig hostels, as both seem to be for lone/small groups of backpackers, and are meant to have consoles and activities to include everyone (I'm told) as they are often.

I think when someone said Auschwitz is gas, that they didn't mean it was fun... :pac:

i know what you mean. there were some very dodgey feckers about all over amsterdam. a homeless man said hes going to stab us if we see him again..delightfull! and we got asked if we wanted some "blue" more times than i can think of lol.

Absolute hole with nothing in it, dodgy and corrupt as ****!

Its cheap alright, but nothing would get me back there.

Bars are owned by mobsters and will try to get every penny out of you, including feeding you with stuff you never asked for and charging for stuff you never got! They also close mad early and theres not that many to begin with either.

Any taxi we hopped into had the buttons on the seatbelts removed and the taxi drivers would wave knifes in your face threatening you to make sure ye dont run off or whatever. They wouldnt bother turning their meter on either, and would charge a random number each time. Usually a tenner, which is 3 times what it should.

People there are horrible too, most unfriendly lot I ever came across.

Best day I had there was climbing the castle with a slab of cans between us and then drinking in the hostel with a load of backpackers we met, then getting the train to Vienna which was great city, really nice spot with nice bars/clubs and plenty to see/do

Jaysus mmaye ill exclude bratislava from the shortlist :L. Kinda the vibe i got from bratislava from the hostel movies lol.

It seems that dusseldorf for 3 nights in A&O private room and flights can be gotten for €400~ BETWEEN us two!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

Has to be Berlin. Kreuzberg/Neukolln/Friedrichshain.

If you go to berlin on a piss up, don't go to Mitte (city centre), the boroughs essentially never close especially on the weekend.

Safe.
    Cheap.
    Fun.
    Easy transport.
    Everything catered for.
    German women are actually fairly alright too.

that sounds like an amazing hostel! could you remember the name? ive never considered a hostel before in my life but i will now!

Yeah, it was called Mosquito Hostel (don't let the name put you off). It's currently rated the 3rd best small hostel in the world by Hostelworld and once you spend a bit of time there it's not hard to see why. They also do a package tour to the salt mines as well, again about €30 for pickup/return and tickets/guided tour, well worth checking out also. The girls who work there will also sometimes take folks out for a walking tour if there's a few interested (there's also properly set up walking tours around the square).

I'd certainly consider staying in a dorm tbh. I stayed here on my first trip away by myself and in a dorm in a hostel and felt a bit uneasy about it but figured it was cheap and high rated so gave it a shot and now I always stay in dorms. You can make some great friends (although you'll get that in the common room in the evening anyway) and it's a good bit cheaper. You get huge lockers for security and 99% of the time the people in there will be people just like yourself, folks looking to stay and see a city on a budget and I can honestly say I've never had a really bad experience with anyone in dorms. People are either very friendly and up for chatting/hanging out or they keep to themselves and you just get a polite "hello" and you figure out who to leave alone and who you can have some craic with straight away.

In the end though, it's up to you and what you feel comfortable with!

Yeah, it was called Mosquito Hostel (don't let the name put you off). It's currently rated the 3rd best small hostel in the world by Hostelworld and once you spend a bit of time there it's not hard to see why. They also do a package tour to the salt mines as well, again about €30 for pickup/return and tickets/guided tour, well worth checking out also. The girls who work there will also sometimes take folks out for a walking tour if there's a few interested (there's also properly set up walking tours around the square).

I'd certainly consider staying in a dorm tbh. I stayed here on my first trip away by myself and in a dorm in a hostel and felt a bit uneasy about it but figured it was cheap and high rated so gave it a shot and now I always stay in dorms. You can make some great friends (although you'll get that in the common room in the evening anyway) and it's a good bit cheaper. You get huge lockers for security and 99% of the time the people in there will be people just like yourself, folks looking to stay and see a city on a budget and I can honestly say I've never had a really bad experience with anyone in dorms. People are either very friendly and up for chatting/hanging out or they keep to themselves and you just get a polite "hello" and you figure out who to leave alone and who you can have some craic with straight away.

In the end though, it's up to you and what you feel comfortable with!

We will get a privatw twin room. Just wouldnt feel right stumbling in at 5am from a club into a full dorm lol. Thanks for the tips, sone hostels in krakow say they bring you on pub crawls for free..sounds amazing

I think dusseldorf seems like a relaxed beer drinking place with little to no clubs to be found anywhere on google by myself while krakow seems more crazy..it may very well have to be krakow :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,052 ✭✭✭Matt_Trakker

Been to them all bar Dusseldorf.

Agree with the poster on Bratislava, it's a horrible kip full of douchebags.
    Avoid like the plague.

For me the best of the options is Budapest.
    Hands down, way better than the others.
    Why?
    Less tourists.
    In the other places you're just another group or Irish/British lads on the lash.
    Our reputation doesn't precede us in Budapest yet.
    And also 'Ruin Pubs' those places are mad, really really cool. Have a google of them, really cool pubs/clubs.

I live close to Krakow and for me it's a bit boring, most pubs are small, one toilet, over-priced. Most locals avoid the city centre coz there's too many tourists and while it's cheap for yous coming over Krakow, the city centre is a complete ripoff for locals. Have a look for pubs/clubs in the Kazimierz area, it's only a few mins walk away from the square, but it won't be full of English stag/hen parties & dodgy strip clubs.

Which reminds me, if you are thinking of going to a strip club in Krakow do your research. Loads of scandals here. Lads getting stuck with bills for a few grand (bottles of champagne & steaks added to bills, stuff like that) and being forced to go to an ATM a knife point to withdraw the money. Cops here won't help you, they're as bent as be fcuked too. They also have a really bad reputation for skimming credit/debit cards. But, look, there's loads of strip clubs in Krakow, just do your research and avoid the dodgy ones.

Someone mentioned Berlin too. Berlin is one of the coolest cities in Europe.
    Great nights out in Berlin, awesome music scene.

Been to them all bar Dusseldorf.

Agree with the poster on Bratislava, it's a horrible kip full of douchebags.
    Avoid like the plague.

For me the best of the options is Budapest.
    Hands down, way better than the others.
    Why?
    Less tourists.
    In the other places you're just another group or Irish/British lads on the lash.
    Our reputation doesn't precede us in Budapest yet.
    And also 'Ruin Pubs' those places are mad, really really cool. Have a google of them, really cool pubs/clubs.

I live close to Krakow and for me it's a bit boring, most pubs are small, one toilet, over-priced. Most locals avoid the city centre coz there's too many tourists and while it's cheap for yous coming over Krakow, the city centre is a complete ripoff for locals. Have a look for pubs/clubs in the Kazimierz area, it's only a few mins walk away from the square, but it won't be full of English stag/hen parties & dodgy strip clubs.

Which reminds me, if you are thinking of going to a strip club in Krakow do your research. Loads of scandals here. Lads getting stuck with bills for a few grand (bottles of champagne & steaks added to bills, stuff like that) and being forced to go to an ATM a knife point to withdraw the money. Cops here won't help you, they're as bent as be fcuked too. They also have a really bad reputation for skimming credit/debit cards. But, look, there's loads of strip clubs in Krakow, just do your research and avoid the dodgy ones.

Someone mentioned Berlin too. Berlin is one of the coolest cities in Europe.
    Great nights out in Berlin, awesome music scene.

thanks matt. my friend did say budapest was amazing but i seen on forums that some people thought it was crap. too many places to choose from = a very tough decision. i guess i cant go wrong wherever we go though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,921 ✭✭✭munchkin_utd

thanks matt. my friend did say budapest was amazing but i seen on forums that some people thought it was crap. too many places to choose from = a very tough decision. i guess i cant go wrong wherever we go though
    Budapest is a funny place.

Just like the Strip Clubs in Kracow, Budapest needs a bit of research done first.
    On my first time in Budapest (only a day trip) we could barely find a single Pub. Crazy but true. Only a few Restaurants. Oh, and the car Radio got robbed opposite the Station, beside a 24hour security guarded entrance, which made for a long spin back to Germany!
    Next time, by chance the Hotel had a few wee bars in basements nearby, which was grand as we were there on business anyhow, so only needed a few quiet ones later in the evening.
    Next time, someone knew what they were at when booking accomodation, and we were next to a street with no end of bars and pubs!

So every time completely different, which explains the varying opinions on the place.

For a random guaranteed good time Prague or Düsseldorf or Cologne (or others with proper compact old towns) are the business.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,316 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

Be aware also that for some places, craic that gets a bit loud or out of hand is dealt with much quicker, harder and more effectively than it would be here.

Budapest is a funny place.

Just like the Strip Clubs in Kracow, Budapest needs a bit of research done first.
    On my first time in Budapest (only a day trip) we could barely find a single Pub. Crazy but true. Only a few Restaurants. Oh, and the car Radio got robbed opposite the Station, beside a 24hour security guarded entrance, which made for a long spin back to Germany!
    Next time, by chance the Hotel had a few wee bars in basements nearby, which was grand as we were there on business anyhow, so only needed a few quiet ones later in the evening.
    Next time, someone knew what they were at when booking accomodation, and we were next to a street with no end of bars and pubs!

So every time completely different, which explains the varying opinions on the place.

For a random guaranteed good time Prague or Düsseldorf or Cologne (or others with proper compact old towns) are the business.

i do like the sound of dusseldorfs alstadt area..everything on one street. but i couldnt find much info of nightclubs or disco bars..you know, places that play dance, hip hop, top 40.

im really swaying toward krakow. budapest is in my mind too. ill do some research into krakow and budapest before i make a final decision.

youve all been major help as a boozing weekend away equaled amsterdam to me but now i know of all the cities. i had no idea berlin was so famous for EDM clubs :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 194 ✭✭Anonymou

Anyone have experience of what Cologne is like in terms of nightlife?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

Anonymou wrote: »
    Anyone have experience of what Cologne is like in terms of nightlife?

It's good if you prefer the more pubs and traditional kind of nightclubs instead if the (as much as i hate this term) underground type scene. It wouldn't be as cheap as some other cities out east but its a good city all the same. Fairly compact for pub crawls and the like but it wouldn't be the first place i'd go for nightlife in germany,though everybody's preference is different.

Good news guys

The 3 days weekend is back on. Mid October to be precise. We are basically set on krakow staying at the mosquito hostel (thanks to a poster in this thread)

Private 2x single bed room from Friday til Monday + flights is working out at around €235 each.

The hostel sounds so good. Free breakfast and bar crawls etc. I need to find out how close it is to the bars and clubs though.

How much would a night out cost? Drinking either a random beer or a vodka and dash. Bars then hitting a club around 11:30 pm.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,316 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

Good news guys

The 3 days weekend is back on. Mid October to be precise. We are basically set on krakow staying at the mosquito hostel (thanks to a poster in this thread)
    <snip>I need to find out how close it is to the bars and clubs though.

It's right off the main square. It's away from the clubs of Kazimierz (about a 20 minute walk) but there are plenty bars and clubs on and around the Rynek.
    You won't be stuck. Better prices will be got away from the main square.
    How much would a night out cost? Drinking either a random beer or a vodka and dash. Bars then hitting a club around 11:30 pm.

Seems to me every bar does promotions in Krakow. Be careful with the vodka (mammy mode). It is very VERY easy get yourself into a bit of bother alcoholic poisoning style with the shot drinking that goes on.

Don't judge a bar by how it looks outside. The Poles seem to do a neat line in 'looks like an awful run down kip from the outside but is a pretty cool place inside'.

Beer - about 7-10 zl depending on where you go. Cocktails 17zl upwards. Tourist traps dearer. Ask in the hostel. They will know where all the tourists go, but they will also know where the Poles go. Go there.

spurious wrote: »
    It's right off the main square. It's away from the clubs of Kazimierz (about a 20 minute walk) but there are plenty bars and clubs on and around the Rynek.
    You won't be stuck. Better prices will be got away from the main square.

Seems to me every bar does promotions in Krakow. Be careful with the vodka (mammy mode). It is very VERY easy get yourself into a bit of bother alcoholic poisoning style with the shot drinking that goes on.

Don't judge a bar by how it looks outside. The Poles seem to do a neat line in 'looks like an awful run down kip from the outside but is a pretty cool place inside'.

Beer - about 7-10 zl depending on where you go. Cocktails 17zl upwards. Tourist traps dearer. Ask in the hostel. They will know where all the tourists go, but they will also know where the Poles go. Go there.

Thanks for the info. Will be looking to get a short taxi to the main square then. Will also check out the local bars like you said.

So 10zl = about €2.50? As my brief googling seems to show that the euro is about 25% of the zloty.

Can't wait to pull some polish birds*

*never going to happen. Lol

No taxi - the main square is surrounded by a strip of park called the Planty - your hostel is the far side of that. You'd walk it easily.

Be careful with taxis in Poland - they are not all proper taxis and the conmen will charge you Dublin prices. Some are obvious with signs like 'Taxxi' or 'Tuxi'. The hostel guys will let you know how to spot them.

If you are in a group, it might be worth booking a group transfer to and from the airport, so you won't get ripped off within minutes of arriving.
    A company I use a lot is http://www.auschwitz-krakow.com/ They also do tours, but are very good for transfers and they have some buses if you are a bigger group.

Yes it's about 4 zlotych to the euro. Good luck with the ladies.

No taxi - the main square is surrounded by a strip of park called the Planty - your hostel is the far side of that. You'd walk it easily.

Be careful with taxis in Poland - they are not all proper taxis and the conmen will charge you Dublin prices. Some are obvious with signs like 'Taxxi' or 'Tuxi'. The hostel guys will let you know how to spot them.

If you are in a group, it might be worth booking a group transfer to and from the airport, so you won't get ripped off within minutes of arriving.
    A company I use a lot is http://www.auschwitz-krakow.com/ They also do tours, but are very good for transfers and they have some buses if you are a bigger group.

Yes it's about 4 zlotych to the euro. Good luck with the ladies.

Its just the two of us. I'll look into that link you sent. Our hostel does auschwitz tours, I think I'll book with them

That's alot spurious

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 2,036 Mod ✭✭✭✭The Mig

Been to both Krakow and Dusseldorf in the past 18 months on stags.

Both great cities but one poster mentioned about the Alstadt in Dusseldorf. It's mental. We were there from a Thursday-Sunday. During the day it isn't that packed but the 3 nights it was rammed. Rammed but still very easy to get a beer due to the amount of bars. Great buzz about the place too. If i had to choose between Krakow or Dusseldorf to go back too it would be Dusseldorf

The Mig wrote: »
    Been to both Krakow and Dusseldorf in the past 18 months on stags.

Both great cities but one poster mentioned about the Alstadt in Dusseldorf. It's mental. We were there from a Thursday-Sunday. During the day it isn't that packed but the 3 nights it was rammed. Rammed but still very easy to get a beer due to the amount of bars. Great buzz about the place too. If i had to choose between Krakow or Dusseldorf to go back too it would be Dusseldorf

Did you find krakow to have its bars all close by? I read that it has more bars per capita than anywhere in the world or Europe and there seems to be 2 main club/bar areas which leads me to believe everywhere is close.

Alstadt does sound great but I found feck all info about nightclubs

Everything is close by in Krakow. Have a look on Google streetview.

Yeah we will stick with krakow. Looks as beautiful as any Italian city or Paris...what a beautiful city to live in.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 400 ✭✭ruskin

Not much nightlife there.

ruskin wrote: »
    Not much nightlife there.

No but lots of fascinating history is located there.

Make sure at least one night to go down to Plac Nowy in Kazimierz.
    It's about 25 minutes of a walk. https://goo.gl/maps/ZNmp5
    Variety of clubs, bars and restaurants. You will recognise the area if you have seen 'Schindler's List'.

Make sure at least one night to go down to Plac Nowy in Kazimierz.
    It's about 25 minutes of a walk. https://goo.gl/maps/ZNmp5
    Variety of clubs, bars and restaurants. You will recognise the area if you have seen 'Schindler's List'.

Is it where the factory was? I read about tours there. I love history so it's a must do for me. My brother sadly has no interest so I may have to go solo to it and auschwitz.

Great help thanks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 Chris_Thompson

Prague is an amazing city. I prefer it to Krakow but both were great places to party and just stroll around.

Is it where the factory was? I read about tours there. I love history so it's a must do for me. My brother sadly has no interest so I may have to go solo to it and auschwitz.

Great help thanks!

The factory is a bit further down and is now a museum/interactive experience.
    http://www.mhk.pl/branches/oskar-schindlers-factory
    The site of Schindler's workers camp, Plaszow, is another bit of a walk or taxi ride away. There is a monument there and the villa from which Goeth allegedly shot at the camp inmates is still there.

Plac Nowy in the film is where (I think) they set out the desks and got them all to give their names.

Plenty of tours you can take on your own. There are a number of travel offices around the city - again, the hostel guys will know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,621 ✭✭✭Ferris_Bueller

bratislava

I was in Krakow a few weeks ago, absolutely beautiful city, feels completely safe, very cheap and everybody is nice and friendly. However, I wasn't impressed with the night life. There are plenty of places to go for a cheap pint and there are a lot of young people out but everywhere we went seemed really cheesy, no good music playing anywhere that we came across either. It depends what you're looking for I suppose, I would have more so thought it seemed like a place you would go for a weekend with your girlfriend rather than a lads weekend. Having said that, when pints are roughly the equivalent of €1 it's hard not to enjoy yourself...

What do you consider good music? I'm fine with chart music and house music.

I've heard good things about the nightlife. Ah we will have fun wither way. Thanks for the review man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,621 ✭✭✭Ferris_Bueller

bratislava
    What do you consider good music? I'm fine with chart music and house music.

I've heard good things about the nightlife. Ah we will have fun wither way. Thanks for the review man

We would have settled for anything other than chart music really but it was all we could find. We only went out twice though so I'm sure there are loads more places we haven't discovered! Enjoy your trip.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,203 ✭✭✭Parchment

Its a different country with a different culture. Thats possibly why you didnt find the nightlife to your tastes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,554 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

I searched Boards.ie for some info on the above as I will probably be heading there for a stag in September. Any and all information on what to look out for would be really appreciated if you can :)
    Thanks in advance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 Victoria21

budapest
    Krakow. My favourite city to date.