Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Feeling a bit creeped out..

• 17-05-2015 7:42pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

Hi. Don't really know what to do here..
    Last year, I broke up with my ex. It wasn't amicable. A few months later, I got texts from unknown numbers saying my name and stuff about me. I deleted and ignored them until they start ringing when I replied saying I'm going to the police. They stopped then and I blocked them. Yesterday, I received messages on facebook from an unknown person asking about my family; they a similar name to my sister's friend (it's not him, I asked my sister) and I had a look on the facebook profile and I found one of the people who text me by the profile picture in the friends as they used the same pic on whatsapp (that's where I received the unknown senders' texts).

I know it's probably not police worthy, and I know a lot of you will say just ignore them but I'm getting paranoid. I don't really know what to do?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,382 ✭✭✭JillyQ

Id report it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,707 ✭✭✭whatismyname

Me too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

I agree that you should report it. I'm at my wits end with my ex. Its nearly 3 years since we seperated after 16 yrs, he's living with someone else but still harasses me. I've two kids with him and have tried to keep things amicable and although the texts aren't as frequent, they are always when he's drunk and I'm so worn down by it. I try not to get drawn into it but its so difficult. Am dealing with it tonight and all I want to do is burst into tears. I can't be rid of him yet because of my kids but you do not need to, nor do you deserve to put up with this idiot. Report it to the guards and let him know you have.he might just need a scare to cop on. Hope it works out for you, try not to let it get you down

you should also report it to you network provider and to facebook. Let them know you are going to go the Gardai

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,154 ✭✭✭silverfeather

JillyQ wrote: »
    you should also report it to you network provider and to facebook. Let them know you are going to go the Gardai
    I hate to tell you this but there is very very little chance that this will help.

Hi. Don't really know what to do here..
    Last year, I broke up with my ex. It wasn't amicable. A few months later, I got texts from unknown numbers saying my name and stuff about me. I deleted and ignored them until they start ringing when I replied saying I'm going to the police. They stopped then and I blocked them. Yesterday, I received messages on facebook from an unknown person asking about my family; they a similar name to my sister's friend (it's not him, I asked my sister) and I had a look on the facebook profile and I found one of the people who text me by the profile picture in the friends as they used the same pic on whatsapp (that's where I received the unknown senders' texts).

I know it's probably not police worthy, and I know a lot of you will say just ignore them but I'm getting paranoid. I don't really know what to do?
    In my experience nothing will be done. I would get off FB etc for a while. Close anything where you are being harassed. If the guards do something that's great. But it's likely nothing will be done.

I hate to tell you this but there is very very little chance that this will help.

I know that but at least they have it on record.

JillyQ wrote: »
    I know that but at least they have it on record.
    I have gone to the guards about stuff like this. A record makes no difference her best bet is to simply get off the net. Get all info about her off the net.

Lock down your Facebook settings. Set all the privacy settings to the absolute maximum. Unfortunately there's not else you can do, I don't think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,555 ✭✭✭Augme

You can report it to the Garda but they won't do anything. Nothing illegal has taken place. So far all that is happened is someone has sent you texts and now someone has sent you a few Facebook messages.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,152 ✭✭✭noway12345

The guards wont do anything but it might scare the **** out of this loser. He stopped before when the threat was made so it's worth a go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 332 ✭✭IlmoNT4

Change your number, lock down FB and dont accept new friend requests or else create a new FB account, Or you can keep your FB profile but change the name and change the profile picture so its not a picture of you.