Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Considering an Altezza, any experience here?

• 16-05-2015 8:58pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 304 ✭✭

I haven't driven one yet, just my summer goal atm to save up and get one. Good idea or bad idea? Looking for something fun, RWD with a bit of power and I just love the style of the Altezza. Also, any info on the best insurers for young male drivers? I'm 21 with a couple years no claims bonus. Thanks in advance for any input!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

The Gardai love the look of them too. So much so they'll stop you for a chat every so often.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

I can't see insurers fighting for your business tbh. You'll pay a lot whoever you go with.
    Insurance is funny. I paid less on a 240bhp jaguar than I do on a 140bhp civic. Go figure.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

colm_mcm wrote: »
    I can't see insurers fighting for your business tbh. You'll pay a lot whoever you go with.
    Insurance is funny. I paid less on a 240bhp jaguar than I do on a 140bhp civic. Go figure.

Was just thinking the same insurance for a twenty one year old on an altezza will be horrific

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 304 ✭✭PonchoTron

Mycroft H wrote: »
    The Gardai love the look of them too. So much so they'll stop you for a chat every so often.
    Doesn't bother me. I'm not an eejit, and the only messing I'd be doing would be as far away from any other car as possible haha.
    colm_mcm wrote: »

I know insurance is going to be higher than my Almera lol. Just wondering if there are any particular companies who are known for being a few bob cheaper to younger lads.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

PonchoTron wrote: »

I know insurance is going to be higher than my Almera lol. Just wondering if there are any particular companies who are known for being a few bob cheaper to younger lads.

No. Not on an altezza

Stheno wrote: »
    No. Not on an altezza

Might have to wait a couple years I guess. Reckon an is200 would be much better?

Possibly but not much why not go get some quotes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 ghosts love halloween

PonchoTron wrote:

I had a an IS200 Sport for a few years and loved it. Brilliant to drive, comfortable, fast, reliable and great looking. Got compliments from mechanics about the sound of the engine, (which to a non-car person like me meant a lot!)
    Insurance wasn't affected by its reputation either, as when I switched to a Mondeo (boring family/business exec. car) which is also 2 litre petrol my premiums didn't change.

Miss my lexus :(

Possibly but not much why not go get some quotes?
    Well I tried a few places online and only one actually gave me a quite and that was 3300. I'm not worried about running round calling in to places yet as it's just an idea at the mo.
    I had a an IS200 Sport for a few years and loved it. Brilliant to drive, comfortable, fast, reliable and great looking. Got compliments from mechanics about the sound of the engine, (which to a non-car person like me meant a lot!)
    Insurance wasn't affected by its reputation either, as when I switched to a Mondeo (boring family/business exec. car) which is also 2 litre petrol my premiums didn't change.

Miss my lexus :(

If you don't mind me asking what age were you when you got the insurance? And roughly what price?

That quote for the Lexus?

No that was for an 01 Altezza.

That's not that bad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 ghosts love halloween

PonchoTron wrote:
    If you don't mind me asking what age were you when you got the insurance? And roughly what price?

I was 26 when I got the lexus I think. I had only 1 year no claims bonus, as had been a named driver up until a year before getting it. I think my insurance was about €800 - €1000 at the time (2010/2011) but I know it was working out cheaper than it should because back then, insurance for women was cheaper, so I added my girlfriend as a named driver and that actually dropped the price.
    I know insurance in general has increased in the last 5 years though,and I think because I was over 23 helped.

That's not that bad
    I know but it's still practically the price of the car lol. I'm currently paying 700 so tis a bit too much of a hike. I'd probably be willing to pay about 2000.
    I was 26 when I got the lexus I think. I had only 1 year no claims bonus, as had been a named driver up until a year before getting it. I think my insurance was about €800 - €1000 at the time (2010/2011) but I know it was working out cheaper than it should because back then, insurance for women was cheaper, so I added my girlfriend as a named driver and that actually dropped the price.
    I know insurance in general has increased in the last 5 years though,and I think because I was over 23 helped.

Thanks for the info bud!

I know but it's still practically the price of the car lol. I'm currently paying 700 so tis a bit too much of a hike. I'd probably be willing to pay about 2000.

Thanks for the info bud!

A recent survey showed car insurance has gone up sixty per cent compared to a year ago

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 621 ✭✭✭weekaizer

I've owned an altezza and currently own an is200 sport.
    Love both of them, only had the altezza for a few weeks cause could not get insurance but then again I have a few penalty points going against me, but it was a beast of a machine, 220bhp whereas the Lexus only has 155bhp both very thirsty machines... Smiles to the gallon make up for it though!:)
    Currently paying around 950 insurance for the Lexus, 7 years no claims.

You could try Dowd and Donnelly brokers in donegal for a quote.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 67 ✭✭Pa994

Give First Ireland a ring I've only had small enough cars with them but a buddy got a good quote on an is200 sport a few weeks ago and was reasonable here's number 018820801

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 691 ✭✭✭richardsheil

A recent survey showed car insurance has gone up sixty per cent compared to a year ago

Sixteen percent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,273 ✭✭✭racso1975

Sixteen percent.

Any idea why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,363 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

racso1975 wrote: »
    Any idea why?

Take your pick:

Not making as much money as they would like.
    Their investments went south.
    Compensation culture meaning increase in claims and payouts.
    Under pricing the market to increase their customer base.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,288 ✭✭✭millington

I was insured on mine from when I was 19 until I was 21 no problems. It was 1600 on an IS200 Sport when I was 19, swapped to the Tez for an extra 400 but by 21 it was around 1500. Wasn't too bad but then I insured an S14 Silvia turbo for 1100 :pac:

Expect 28mpg from a Tez and less from a Lexus. Altezzas have a nice balance between fun, reliability & practicality but don't expect a fast car or an economical one :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

Aviva or Liberty would sort you I'd say. Mind you they're still not too big on Japs, my brother who's a year older with a year more experience was paying more/the same on his Civic than I am on my 525.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

millington wrote: »
    I was insured on mine from when I was 19 until I was 21 no problems. It was 1600 on an IS200 Sport when I was 19, swapped to the Tez for an extra 400 but by 21 it was around 1500. Wasn't too bad but then I insured an S14 Silvia turbo for 1100 :pac:

Expect 28mpg from a Tez and less from a Lexus. Altezzas have a nice balance between fun, reliability & practicality but don't expect a fast car or an economical one :D

what's that, they say about the is200? 1.0 performance, 2.0 tax, 3.0 fuel economy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,288 ✭✭✭millington

what's that, they say about the is200? 1.0 performance, 2.0 tax, 3.0 fuel economy.

Haha sounds about right. The engines are even lazier revving than the dead 3SGE Altezza engine. 155bhp or so, about as quick as a standard Glanza, nice note though. If you're into messing, plenty fit for a few skids and better handbrake than any hydro.