Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Electronic gates on the house

• 15-05-2015 7:24pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,414 ✭✭✭✭

I live in an area where some residents have installed those big gates with bright keypads and speaker at the entrance.

In, say, Kiliney or Foxrock one might expect the peasantry to be unsurprised by this on some houses - indeed one might expect it.

In my area though the thing is these are pretty much normal everyday houses and it all seems a bit pretentious. On some houses they have the electronic gate, speaker, keypad and all and yet a small wall so it's actually pointless from a security point of view. It's a normal middle of the road location.

And it's getting more common too. I thought it was a legacy of the celtic tiger and a bit of a fad but they seem to be becoming more regular.

Who would live in a house like this?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Yes, Yes I would. A house with a lazy mans gate!! Buzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz.

I live in an area where some residents have installed those big gates with bright keypads and speaker at the entrance.

In, say, Kiliney or Foxrock one might expect the peasantry to be unsurprised by this on some houses - indeed one might expect it.

In my area though the thing is these are pretty much normal everyday houses and it all seems a bit pretentious. On some houses they have the electronic gate, speaker, keypad and all and yet a small wall so it's actually pointless from a security point of view. It's a normal middle of the road location.

And it's getting more common too. I thought it was a legacy of the celtic tiger and a bit of a fad but they seem to be becoming more regular.

I would. The more obstacles between people and my front door the better

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

Erm...... The people you just described live in them houses. Kinda answered your own question there mr de frog

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

If there's a reasonable distance between the house and the gate there probably not a bad idea.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

kneemos wrote: »
    If there's a reasonable distance between the house and the gate there probably not a bad idea.

Yeah, once there's not like, guard towers, spot lights and lads with machine guns on the way in, your pretty alright.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 781 ✭✭✭Not a NSA agent

I would have thought you would have been all for that sort of thing.

A door to door salesperson wont jump the wall. Put a pit behind the wall for the TV licence inspectors and your sorted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,554 ✭✭✭bjork

It's to keep the banks and the drug dealers out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,299 ✭✭✭hairyprincess

Round these parts they are used to keep cattle out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,250 ✭✭✭Steven81

I have these gates, dont get door to door callers, nothing at election time its great, wife feels we have more security as being a commoner i have to work nights every so often.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,761 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

When all the traffic has to wait for some idiots electronic gates to open to let them in off the public road that drives me mad, they had enough money for the gates but not enough sense to get them the fook out of the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭Aongus Von Bismarck

It does seem rather insular. Hiding behind a gate from many perceived threats, and also from the local community.

That said, my Father was complaining to me about the amount of chuggers, Energia salespersons' and Sinn Fein canvassers calling to his door. Pests the lot of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,554 ✭✭✭bjork

It does seem rather insular. Hiding behind a gate from many perceived threats, and also from the local community.

That said, my Father was complaining to me about the amount of chuggers, Energia salespersons' and Sinn Fein canvassers calling to his door. Pests the lot of them.

Does the drawbridge not keep them out? :)

Every single day we get a sales person to the door. Sometimes for a service we already have and have done for years (Sky). I miss having front gates

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Arsemageddon

Ye're from the wesht, why not get a life size cut out of Padraig Nally to put the fear of god into them?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,844 ✭✭✭keano25

I dnt have them but would love them. Round here there called **** off gates. The message is clear anyone with them doesn't want callers end of.

It clears up the old Irish perception that everyone is welcome here!

I think they're great. Approach gate, buzz it open and drive straight in.

The alternative: 1) Stop car 2) Exit car 3) Open gate 4) Re-enter car 5) Drive through newly opened gate 6) Close gates after parking car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,184 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Candie wrote: »

The alternative: 1) Stop car 2) Exit car 3) Open gate 4) Re-enter car 5) Drive through newly opened gate 6) Close gates after parking car.

Or drive directly in, no gates. Works easier.

L1011 wrote: »

NO gates? I'm not an animal. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,414 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

...or leave your gate open for when you come home from work?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,063 ✭✭✭Hitchens

Electronic gates on the house
    ah scutter, I thought you were giving them away for free :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,184 ✭✭✭✭L1011

NO gates? I'm not an animal. :(

Back home we use gates to keep animals in, not much else...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

OP, they've deffo got notions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,730 ✭✭✭Balmed Out

Or approach gate, buzz it open with recently bought key fob costing 80 euros. Wonder why it doesn't open.
    Turn off engine repeatedly pressing fob.
    Get out of car stand closer to gate continuously pressing fob.
    Gate opens, stops half way, closes and repeats.
    Curse loudly park car on roadside and climb over wall.

Rented a house with a very annoying gate before.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 969 ✭✭✭JacquesDeLad

On some houses they have the electronic gate, speaker, keypad and all and yet a small wall so it's actually pointless from a security point of view.

Like any security or theft prevention system if someone wants in bad enough there's not much you can do to stop them but unless they're after something specific they'll choose an easier target than the house with the security gates. Have you ever tried to lift a car over a small wall?:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,719 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

There called the **** Off gates round here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,012 ✭✭✭eamonnq

Have you ever tried to lift a car over a small wall?:p

No, but I told a donkey to feck off once.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,337 ✭✭✭lazeedaisy

In my area though the thing is these are pretty much normal everyday house

when is a house not an EVERYDAY HOUSE?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,154 ✭✭✭silverfeather

People who don't want visitors and would prefer if you left their house alone?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,337 ✭✭✭lazeedaisy

L1011 wrote: »

We have to keep in the dogs.

On really wet days I dream about getting a gate lodge and employing someone to open the gate.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭Summer wind

I'm getting a huge set of **** off gates complete with intercom for my new gaff cos I'm a rich bitch:cool:

The sign bitch might be enough... :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭Summer wind

What can I say babe, Im territorial:)

I like possessive people at least they're loyal! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Hate electronic gates, watching them open is like watching an elephant on ice skates, and then they stop half way. Head off to the pub without the fob and you come back and kill yourself climbing the wall. Have an accident in the house and you have the wherewithal to ring 999 but not open the gates for the ambulance before you pass out.

Electronic gates, worse than Hitler.

Hate electronic gates, watching them open is like watching an elephant on ice skates, and then they stop half way. Head off to the pub without the fob and you come back and kill yourself climbing the wall. Have an accident in the house and you have the wherewithal to ring 999 but not open the gates for the ambulance before you pass out.

Tony Curtis moment?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,769 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

I live in a bog standard semi-d and one of our neighbours house we call the 'chateau', well it's actually "chateau de xxxx" where xxxx is the generic sounding name of our estate.

Lady of the manor decided a wall and gate was needed - they're explicitly prohibited by the council around here for planning reasons. Anyway, they had great craic opening and closing it in the weeks before they got a letter from the council requesting it be removed as illegal development. That gave a few of us a chuckle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 174 ✭✭mudstack

They're handier than opening and closing manual gates.

Also people with manual gates often tend to only close them when they are away from home for a relatively significant period of time (eg. a day or more). This can be useful to unscrupulous characters who might be looking out for unoccupied houses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

I have a moat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 931 ✭✭✭homewardbound11

Round these parts they are used to keep cattle out.

That was our reason . A lawn that cost almost twice the cost of the gates is financial reason enough . One animal could ruin a lawn and would cause a lot of conflict with neighbours .

Second reason it will help prevent opportunistic theft rather than organised
    Burgurely.
    Third .You do feel safer in your home.

Lastly the laziness of not having to close the gates in rain wind hail and snow . How many homes with gates are never closed . I guess you could ask why did they buy a gate in the first place .

Certainly didn't do it for show .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,519 ✭✭✭Oafley Jones

Head off to the pub without the fob and you come back and kill yourself climbing the wall.

Or you could just enter the code.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭cloud493

I don't need gates. I got my rifle and my sense of aim.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 373 ✭✭Aska

We have them here too. Granted the walls aren't too high (approx 4ft) but the main reason for the gates is to stop unwanted people driving in around the house when nobody is there, like some houses here in the country you can drive in around the back so from the road nobody can tell if there is anyone there or not. The gates cut out all that crap and salesmen, for Halloween etc. Just lock them open and all is fine again.

There is a little safety for the child too that she can be out kicking a ball or on the bike etc. in the knowledge that no one is going to come speeding up the driveway

Just yesterday I got the sim card thingy installed so now the gates have their own phone number which we can ring while coming up the road and they are opened when arrive. (Yes we are that lazy, that we can't sit and watch them open no longer!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,667 ✭✭✭Frynge

We have the gate but they are broken since last Monday. 4 uninvited callers since then. Couple of years ago I disconnected the intercom because of airtricity specifically. If we knew he was in the estate we just wouldn't answer it but he would keep on ringing. The gates save he life the day I went out to clatter him without the fob.

Also I recently rigged up a raspberry pie to the gate and the garage with a camera so that I can still take in delivery's when not there.

Frynge wrote: »

Also I recently rigged up a raspberry pie to the gate and the garage with a camera so that I can still take in delivery's when not there.

You pie people who come up to your gate and record it? Admit it, you're flogging footage on to you've been framed and make a fortune!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Never thought of fire and ambulance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 331 ✭✭The Masculinist

Round my parts, electric gates keep the tin smiths out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,969 ✭✭✭Mesrine65

I live in a shít-hole estate in Tallafornia & I have them.

Keeps the world out, keeps the dog in & discourages thieving bastards from having a go at my motorcycles.

I like the privacy & security they afford me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,089 ✭✭✭✭P. Breathnach

biko wrote: »
    I have a moat
    I hope that you have registered for your water charges.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

There's a a guy on my street that got a porch put in recently. Insular, pretentious bourgeois twat. I can't stop thinking about it.