Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

farmers phone

• 10-05-2015 8:07am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,217 ✭✭✭✭

due an upgrade on my phone, what phone do ye have ? Want one thats not too expensive in case i damage it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,358 ✭✭✭Into The Blue

whelan2 wrote: »
    due an upgrade on my phone, what phone do ye have ? Want one thats not too expensive in case i damage it

I've an otterbox on a galaxy s4. Been driven over, dropped in concrete, and thrown at the dog when she was going at a lamb..

Id say an s4 is free on upgrade by now..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

iPhone 4 with a good case, it's wrecked now though after going for a swim in the wYer trough and plenty falls but it still works after 2 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,217 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

I've an otterbox on a galaxy s4. Been driven over, dropped in concrete, and thrown at the dog when she was going at a lamb..

Id say an s4 is free on upgrade by now..
    i got the otter box cover in the post the day after i drove over mine:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,891 ✭✭✭Bullocks

I've an S4 aswell and I don't use the cover . It's lasting well in fairness except the young lad downloaded something that had a virus in it a couple of weeks ago and I lost all the numbers after

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,847 ✭✭✭✭Shannon757

Bullocks wrote: »
    I've an S4 aswell and I don't use the cover . It's lasting well in fairness except the young lad downloaded something that had a virus in it a couple of weeks ago and I lost all the numbers after
    :(

Shannon757 wrote: »
    :(

To make it worse the wife gave my old phone to some charity thing in the school and I could have got most of them back off that !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,358 ✭✭✭kollegeknight

I have an iPhone 5s with an otterbox. One thing about that otterbox, it has a hole for the home button to allow for fingerprint recognition and it allows dust get in. Apart from that, it is great for protecting the phone. I've dropped it from every height numerous of times.

As for the phone- I find it great for logging data and just looking up stuff or even taking photo of a tag to bring to vet for a prescription. There is a battery life issue and the home button needs to be replaced after 14 months.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,358 ✭✭✭Into The Blue

if you sync from your gmail account they should be there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 470 ✭✭joejobrien

Samsung s4 here, with otter box. brillant bit of kit. like a poster said it must be free and should be able to move up a notch without too much money.

if you sync from your gmail account they should be there

Nope , I got a lad to do that and it was wiped from there aswell , he couldn't figure it but he said they are deffo gone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,329 ✭✭✭emaherx

I use HTC M8 with Otter Box cover. Previous phone was Galaxy S3 with an Otter Box cover.

Think from the previous posts, there are a few here using high end phones with the Otter Box covers.

Get a decent phone and a good cover, if you want a cheaper phone go for one of older flag ship phones rather than a newer budget model

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,875 ✭✭✭ShoulderChip

If you are buying sim free this phone is better and half the price of an iPhone
    https://oneplus.net/ie
    I am a software developer, if you have any techie questions on the specs let me know, if you just want something top end this is reliable this is the job, if you want to spend less look at a Moto G. Bear in mind if you buy sim free you should pick a contract with all you can eat everything for a max of 20 a month and are free to switch providers whenever u want.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭fergus1001

Depends on how technologically literate you are, smart phones are a waste of time unless you use them, (my father bought an s4 and got a no data plan and never turns on the wifi)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,828 ✭✭✭yellow50HX

Nokia 515 for me, I used have a couple of the builder ruggedised phones and they are great. Was very annoyed with nokia when they stopped making them. Once calved a cow using the light from one with the phone in my mouth.

Push button phones are far better when your out in the rain trying to call the vet with hands covered in sh1te.

I don't use app, email or internet on my phone as I don't need to. Touch screen phones are a curse on the farm. Have used my dad's one and the missus gave me her old iPhone (I gave back after a few days).

If your using farm apps then I can a use for them but if not then they are just a pain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,088 ✭✭✭sean1141

The Sony z series are pretty good to being water and dust proof

yellow50HX wrote: »
    Nokia 515 for me, I used have a couple of the builder ruggedised phones and they are great. Was very annoyed with nokia when they stopped making them. Once calved a cow using the light from one with the phone in my mouth.

Push button phones are far better when your out in the rain trying to call the vet with hands covered in sh1te.

I don't use app, email or internet on my phone as I don't need to. Touch screen phones are a curse on the farm. Have used my dad's one and the missus gave me her old iPhone (I gave back after a few days).

If your using farm apps then I can a use for them but if not then they are just a pain.
    I'd have to disagree Yellow , when I had button phones the dust at work used to get in and kill them fairly fast whereas with the touch screen dust has never been a problem since
    There is a mighty torch on the smart phones aswell , it won't fit in my mouth though so I just leave it on the ground !
    In fairness the buttons are handier in the wet as the touchscreen doesn't like droplets claiming to be your fingers but a quick wipe on the tshirt sorts that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,828 ✭✭✭yellow50HX

I'd have to disagree Yellow , when I had button phones the dust at work used to get in and kill them fairly fast whereas with the touch screen dust has never been a problem since
    There is a mighty torch on the smart phones aswell , it won't fit in my mouth though so I just leave it on the ground !
    In fairness the buttons are handier in the wet as the touchscreen doesn't like droplets claiming to be your fingers but a quick wipe on the tshirt sorts that

Well my current nokia is a bit of a dust collector but the older ones weren't. It's the touch screen that really annoys me when I'm out the field as I have to try and dry my hand to answer or use it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 472 ✭✭Cow Porter

sean1141 wrote: »

Have z1 here, going grand up to lately when people can't hear me on the phone, tried blowing it out etc but no good, due an upgrade next month and probably go s4 or s4 mini.

Re giving old phones to charity, I'd rather smash it up, there's a whole load of info on peoples phones now and a wipe isn't going to clear it all in the wrong hands.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

Cow Porter wrote: »
    Re giving old phones to charity, I'd rather smash it up, there's a whole load of info on peoples phones now and a wipe isn't going to clear it all in the wrong hands.

I'd hope the ones given to charitys would be wiped before going further but always better to be careful

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

I find a large phone (4 inch or bigger) with a case is just too big to be able to use it with one hand. I've had a moto g last 2yrs, one small crack on the screen despite dropping it countless times. I don't even bother with a cover on it anymore. Also whelan don't forget to put it in your books, it's a perfectly value expense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,975 ✭✭✭Connemara Farmer

Samsung Galaxy S5 in an Otterbox with peel off screen protectors to stop coins etc scuffing touch screen. Use loads of apps, Gmail, etc. I find it a great yoke, would go bigger again except I have no way of carrying say a tablet.

It is impossible to use when wet that's true. I think they're working on a screen that gets over that problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭fergus1001

Did anyone into tillage use the gps app for spraying (it's on android) looks very promising

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,297 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

Griffin Survivor.....

http://griffintechnology.com/survivor/all-terrain

As rugged as anything - I got one after smashing two phones. It was recommended to me by a friend in the military. Harvey Norman usually carry them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,555 ✭✭✭visatorro

sean1141 wrote: »

have same here. find it good enough thou would agree with yellow when the hands are dirty I find touch screen very hard to use. don't use apps on farm as my reception is brutal. meteor waste of time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭A cow called Daisy

Have Samsung 3 mini here (:mad: × 1000) Worst phone ever. Was going to say about the screen 'freezing' from time to time and it goes and does it when typing this. Also it switches itself off and then switches itself back on again. Have complaned in phone shop and lad said it shouldn't do that. Top of class for that genius. Think his name was trainee:) Due upgrade soon so following this with interest.

On similar lines anyone think coverage is far worse since 3 took over O2? Calls lost regular and coverage can go from 3 bars to 0 bars without moving. My favourite website seems to be 'Webpage unavailable'
    Now press submit reply and cross my fingers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 160 ✭✭Midfield9

If you want high end Sony z2/z3 or Samsung s4/s5. All dust and water resistant.Z2/S4 should be free on upgrade by now. I went for the z3 because of the battery. 66% left since 7 this morning and I did a fair bit of time wasting on it today.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Same phone as me Daisy :) I installed a thingy that cleans up the running apps instantly and it sped it up a lot.
    Do you hold in the menu button every so often and clear down the running apps? I think my record was 23.....:pac: And on Meteor so can't help you there.
    Have Samsung 3 mini here (:mad: × 1000) Worst phone ever. Was going to say about the screen 'freezing' from time to time and it goes and does it when typing this. Also it switches itself off and then switches itself back on again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 535 ✭✭✭Chloris

This is a great thread, as a certified townie who loves farming I'm laughing at all the advice about what your phone will have to endure.
    That's just brilliant. Also Otterbox covers are the way to go; they'll withstand apocalyptic-scale destruction.
    sean1141 wrote:
    I can vouch for this. I have a Sony Xperia Z1. It's gone through rakeloads of pints being spilled on it, flour damage while I was baking, muck from my garden and sand in school. They're great to use if you're doing dirty work a lot.

Chloris wrote: »
    they'll withstand apocalyptic-scale destruction.

They've never met Whelan though :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 594 ✭✭✭fanadman1

Samsung Galaxy S5 in an Otterbox with peel off screen protectors to stop coins etc scuffing touch screen. Use loads of apps, Gmail, etc. I find it a great yoke, would go bigger again except I have no way of carrying say a tablet.

It is impossible to use when wet that's true. I think they're working on a screen that gets over that problem.

Any bother with people not being able to hear you on the phone ? I have the same phone and cover combo but alot of people cant here me on the phone im conviced that my speaker is full of maize meal haha

fanadman1 wrote: »
    Any bother with people not being able to hear you on the phone ? I have the same phone and cover combo but alot of people cant here me on the phone im conviced that my speaker is full of maize meal haha

Actually now you mention it yes I have had that said. I think the mic is on the back of the phone? I usually stick it on speaker and speak at the bottom or back of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,158 ✭✭✭jimmy G M

Apple ip4. After 3 screen replacements @ €50 each :(, I got an otterbox. No bother since. :D.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

Bought an new samsung solid extreme the other day but ill be crying when it dies as they dont make them anymore.they couldnt understand in the phone shop why I didnt want a smart phone

Actually now you mention it yes I have had that said. I think the mic is on the back of the phone? I usually stick it on speaker and speak at the bottom or back of it.

Might try that then i find myself useing the bluetooth more and more any good apps for farming i should have

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,754 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Still using a 'builder's' nokia here. If it's not broke don't fix it etc.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭restive

I have a samung note 3. 5.7 inch screen. Might be to big for some but doubles as a small tablet. Google "Trident" phone case. I have one and it makes my phone virtually bullet proof.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 483 ✭✭pms7

wrote:
    On similar lines anyone think coverage is far worse since 3 took over O2? Calls lost regular and coverage can go from 3 bars to 0 bars without moving. My favourite website seems to be 'Webpage unavailable'
    Now press submit reply and cross my fingers.

Heard a friend of mine on 3 complaining last week also

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭Tail painter

I have a Samsung S5 since last sept. Its in an otterbox with screen protector. I have cracked the screen twice already and I have NEVER dropped it. It must happen when milking with phone in my pocket. The worst thing is that even a hairline crack causes S% to stop working, unlike other phones. The first break was fixed by dealer. €165 paid and it took 2 weeks and all data wiped. The second time, I got a local man to do it - €195, but done in 30 mins and no data lost. Make sure you have it insured under farm insurance!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

Alcatel here, had a iphone4 great tough phone but got nicked in galway on a stag

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭jfh

Agree the onoplusone is a great phone, got one few months back. Only downside is the size. Too big

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,761 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

I got the iphone 6 plus - with a case of course. My first iphone was the 4S, brought it home, was winter, put it in a breast pocket, didn't see it fall out, only had it home about an hour and it was missing.
    Got a different phone to ring it, it rang, found it covered in muck pressed into the ground as I had driven the tractor over it, luckily it was a softish spot.
    Scratches on the case, a bit of muck on the sides of the phone. Cleaned it up and it worked fine.
    I felt so relieved... :pac:

I have a Samsung S5 since last sept. Its in an otterbox with screen protector. I have cracked the screen twice already and I have NEVER dropped it. It must happen when milking with phone in my pocket. The worst thing is that even a hairline crack causes S% to stop working, unlike other phones. The first break was fixed by dealer. €165 paid and it took 2 weeks and all data wiped. The second time, I got a local man to do it - €195, but done in 30 mins and no data lost. Make sure you have it insured under farm insurance!!

causes S% to stop working
    What does that mean?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

pms7 wrote: »
    causes S% to stop working
    What does that mean?

I think he meant S5, the 5 button is also used for %.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 968 ✭✭✭Count Mondego

jimmy G M wrote: »
    Apple ip4. After 3 screen replacements @ €50 each :(, I got an otterbox. No bother since. :D.

That's cheap for a screen replacement, Nokia are over 100 quid to replace.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭Milked out

Samsung S5 here for 1.5 years now with an otterbox case, no screen cover. been dropped on concrete, steel, into ****e, milk, water and its still going grand. Usual issues of trying to answer it when hands are wet or dirty or if its raining, may get a bluetooth headset but battery could be a problem then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,980 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

I've a fairly new Sony Xperia Z2 or 3 I forget which one I went for, but its the compact model. I think the modern smartphone is very big. The compact is a nice size.
    Anyway the Xperia Z whichever it is has been in my pocked paddling down lots of rivers. It gets soaked and not a bother on it. I had a cheap cover but it cracked, just the cover. I think an otterbox is what I need!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

iPhone 6 with armour case (€10) and a stick on glass/plastic cover to protect their the screen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 533 ✭✭✭Toplink

Any phone that can run evernote on it. That app is a life saver.

Toplink wrote: »

whats evernote if you dont mind me asking ?

Toplink wrote: »
    Looked at that but didn't really like it

Use Genial writing for taking handwritten notes and Google Keep is super for taking photo of somethiing, adding name to it, can then search for it. Great for a page that couldn't be bothered filing away (that can find it again!) but don't want to throw away as may need to look at again sometime.. Can view on phone/PC