Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What are you doing to prepare for our changing climate?

• 07-05-2015 8:45pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭

So with a turbulent century projected for the environment and weather globally, are you taking active measures to prepare for possibly having to adjust your current lifestyle? I suppose the main one will be rising sea levels, and the displacement of millions due to that. That'll be such a strain on the international community. Even locally you have to imagine that the coastline of Ireland in 2100 could be much different that the 32 county beauty we have today. I also know some people at work who are into growing their own veg and that sorta stuff. And I read an interview with some well known scientist on this and he said he (British guy) was "teaching his kids to shoot" to prepare.

More generally should be taking more active measures on a global scale? The recent movement 'Leave it in the Ground' has been gaining traction. Should we here in Ireland seal up the pipes and leave our precious hydrocarbons in the ground, and not contribute to the global temp rise of over 2 degrees?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭Mickey H

I'm getting a car with a sunroof. That way when it gets warm, I can open it and let in some fresh air.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 626 ✭✭✭Massimo Cassagrande

I'm buying a big 4*4 to rise above it all. Doing my bit for my environment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,940 ✭✭✭maxwell smart

I bought a new umbrella and some factor 50. Sorted in either eventuality :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

You're hardly saving energy when you leave the light on in the original post, fella.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,906 ✭✭✭Streetwalker

That video is embarrassing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

I'm going to grow gills and breathe like a fish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,526 ✭✭✭Slicemeister

I've actually being bottling my farts since 2012.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,078 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

I would steer clear of buying a house within at least two hundred metres of the coast, (due to accelerated coastal erosion).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

Even with all things being equal and relative, Ireland as a country contributes sweet feck all towards the destruction of the planet compared to other countries. But we pay through the nose in carbon taxes. It's a scam of the highest order.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I'm doing feck all. Where I'm sitting was underwater, under a glacier, in a rainforest and part of a desert in the past, and it will be again.

Doesn't matter how many lights I leave on or yoghurt pots I throw in the fire.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,017 ✭✭✭johnny osbourne

i'm going to invest everything in these oil-concerns who are waiting for the polar ice to melt so we can go in there and find the oil

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,519 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

This is the same sanctimonious little rag which took huge amounts of money from HSBC and then moans about tax evasion which they're almost certainly involved in. Climate change is a hugely important issue and when this is the only mainstream news outlet with any real interest in the matter, it paints a grim picture to say the least.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

I'll admit this leave it in the ground stuff sounds like a scam. Like the gullible countries would do it (including Ireland) while the big boys laugh as they suck down the diesel. But then how can the international community fairly deal with this, the rich countries and the rest.
    That video is embarrassing

Yeah it's not great. I recommend watching "If we ever meet again" on Youtube. It's a fun beat and she's looking well. Accompany that with some boards-ing and you're away.
    i'm going to invest everything in these oil-concerns who are waiting for the polar ice to melt so we can go in there and find the oil

But you know, in the long term are we not... dooming humanity? :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 237 ✭✭Nucular Arms

Absolutely nothing. The planet is doomed as is the entire universe. Thermodynamics etc, you can't stop it. Also, I'm not entirely convinced humanity is worth preserving. (Or even capable of taking adequate steps to ensure our persistence for that matter)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

We'll just take the roads in until it passes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Also, I'm not entirely convinced humanity is worth preserving.

Why not? Sure we've fuck all else to be doing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭Miall108

Burning my refuse in the back garden. Saves the cost of Wheelie Bins

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭Summer wind

Well every winter I usually eat my own body weight in chocolate just in case we need to hibernate.

Why not? Sure we've fuck all else to be doing.

We're just the universes biggest chronic underachievers I guess. We have such potential and we just endlessly squander it.

If humanity had a parent it would tell us that we were a selfish, lazy waste of space and it would be correct.

We're like the kid in school who could get any points they wanted if they just applied themselves but we're too f**king lazy to try and would rather spend our time knacker drinking behind the football pitches.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,063 ✭✭✭Hitchens

ebola, swine flu, sars etc will have wiped us out long before the climate changes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,973 ✭✭✭Sh1tbag OToole

Sent a load of petrol and 2-stroke oil up in smoke today. Doing my bit to warm up the planet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 341 ✭✭Free Hat

The planet is eventually going to perish, so we should start making plans to find alternatives. I seen a film about this recently, where they sent some people into space to find somewhere similar to earth to live because earth was full of dust and the crops were failing as a result. I think it was called Spaceballs 2.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,970 ✭✭✭6541

Buying a hat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,063 ✭✭✭Hitchens

Free Hat wrote: »
    The planet is eventually going to perish, so we should start making plans to find alternatives. I seen a film about this recently, where they sent some people into space to find somewhere similar to earth to live because earth was full of dust and the crops were failing as a result. I think it was called Spaceballs 2.
    you're mixing it up with that porn film 'Into Stella' ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

I have no concerns about climate change, the most that will happen here is that it'll get windier/sunnier/wetter and at my age the worst will be after my death anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Cardigan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,383 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Guns. Lots of guns.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Ask the suckers my kids. I'll be dead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

We're just the universes biggest chronic underachievers I guess. .
    Not at all, we've overachieved in our quarter of a million years. The dinosaurs had 100million years and they didn't exactly pull up any trees. Well the bigger ones probably did but they didn't burn them for warmth or make garden furniture out of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,981 ✭✭✭KomradeBishop

The only way to prepare is to end all economic growth based on an increased rate of resource usage, basing it primarily on technological production and efficiency increases instead - to enter into something like a steady-state economy.

This won't happen, because as a species, the wider population in any country will tend not to become interested in either learning about or being politically active about such things, until it's already too late and irreparable damage is already happening.

Hell, even when damage is still happening - as is the case with the current economic crisis - people are still largely just indifferent/bored to the idea of becoming knowledgeable or politically active about it.

Not at all, we've overachieved in our quarter of a million years. The dinosaurs had 100million years and they didn't exactly pull up any trees. Well the bigger ones probably did but they didn't burn them for warmth or make garden furniture out of them.

Ah yeah I mean don't get me wrong. We've done good things alright, and we've always had random fluky genius individuals running about painting the sistine chapel and making us all look better, but in my mind we've barely scratched the surface of what we could be capable of if we banded together and really tried to accomplish something great on a cosmic scale.

If we really actually developed the will and the fortitude to end world hunger, prioritise renewable energy or fusion generation to solve the energy crisis, eliminated waste and cut out our predilection for half of the planet just s**tting all over the other half and forcing their children to work in sweat shops to make cheap Penney's clothes for us while selling them a dream of a McDonalds on every corner, perhaps stopped the perpetual state of war on earth that has been in place for the entirety of that quarter million years, and reinvented our political systems to be of real benefit to mankind and a service to her peoples well..

Maybe then we'd have a case. As it stands though we fail to live up to this potential, which I for one would like to believe we really do have, and so we remain the lazy genius of the universe in my book! A solid "must try harder" in the global report card..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 871 ✭✭✭gk5000

The only way to prepare is to end all economic growth based on an increased rate of resource usage, basing it primarily on technological production and efficiency increases instead - to enter into something like a steady-state economy.

This won't happen, because as a species, the wider population in any country will tend not to become interested in either learning about or being politically active about such things, until it's already too late and irreparable damage is already happening.

Hell, even when damage is still happening - as is the case with the current economic crisis - people are still largely just indifferent/bored to the idea of becoming knowledgeable or politically active about it.
    Because climate change is a huge scam.

Lots of comrades (like yourself?) wanting to use it as a stick to beat/control folk with, while they themselve ride high on the hog.

We don't need a green/climate change oligarchy/clergy.

gk5000 wrote: »

Lots of comrades (like yourself?) wanting to use it as a stick to beat/control folk with, while they themselve ride high on the hog.

Thank you for beautifully illustrating my point. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭Adamantium

Absolutely nothing. The planet is doomed as is the entire universe. Thermodynamics etc, you can't stop it. Also, I'm not entirely convinced humanity is worth preserving. (Or even capable of taking adequate steps to ensure our persistence for that matter)

That's an ironic/brilliant post considering your username. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,191 ✭✭✭Eugene Norman

It's perfectly possibly to grow economies without energy growth and to de carbonise over time. Steady state economies are ludicrous.

gk5000 wrote: »

Eh?

It's perfectly possibly to grow economies without energy growth and to de carbonise over time. Steady state economies are ludicrous.
    Arguably, economic growth and energy growth are inextricably tied - and even if tied only by a very small amount, that's still more than enough to cause problems; good writing on it here, from an ex-NASA physicist:
    http://physics.ucsd.edu/do-the-math/2012/04/economist-meets-physicist/

So if you consider economic growth and energy growth as linked, then the laws of thermodynamics (energy growth leading to more waste heat in the atmosphere) dictate that we're going to need to settle into a steady state economy at some stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

Or decking!

Adamantium wrote: »
    That's an ironic/brilliant post considering your username. :D

Its come up a lot recently! The 'how would you survive world war three' and 'nuclear weapons- good or bad?' Threads spring to mind.. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 86 ✭✭GaryTLynch

I think I'll just break out the canoe to get around, like that time when we had the major floods in 2011.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,154 ✭✭✭silverfeather

We recycle what we can. We have a compost bin. We don't use too much heat.

I am against nuclear after having in depth conversations with my brother about it. I once got into a very heated debate for months on that topic on Boards under another account years ago. I decided after that to cool it. MONTHS!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,273 ✭✭✭flas

The climate has always and will always change,it will do more harm then good trying to stop it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

Surprised at how many of ye have fatalistic approaches to it all!

I first became environmental aware in my time as Cloud Strife, working with AVALANCHE. Good times. But now I need something practical, like first aid training or something. Actually I could probably apply for that through work, and get at least a day off to go do the course. Not a bad idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 131 ✭✭Ipro

Free Hat wrote: »
    Interstellar

• Site Banned Posts: 96 ✭✭engineerbrah

Climate change is a hoax.

Why don't you look up on wikileaks the emails that exposes professors manipulating their 'data'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 161 ✭✭Wulfie

It'll be a good green summer.it's only the start of the second week of May .
    Stop flapping your wings , like Chicken Licken.

Don't put away the winter clothes for a few more weeks.

It'll be grand . Chop firewood after storms.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

I have a vegetable patch.
    There's nothing in it but at least I'm prepared

I also live on a hill above notably above sea level so even when the sea does rise I won't get wet.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,188 ✭✭✭DoYouEvenLift

I won't be around in 100 years so zero fuks given

Gonna light a bonfire with lots of plastic bottles and car tyres tonight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,799 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

It's always so depressing to see the amount of ignorant gob****ery on these forums every time the words 'climate change' are mentioned.

People who are genuinely proud to be scientifically illiterate are my least favourite kind of people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,799 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

I won't be around in 100 years so zero fuks given

Gonna light a bonfire with lots of plastic bottles and car tyres tonight

Climate change isn't happening 'in a hundred years' It's happening now. it's not like everything will be grand until 2115 and suddenly climate change will appear. Things will get progressively worse.

It's going to be a hell of a lot worse in a hundred years if people take your pathetic attitude, but you kidding yourself if you don't think you'll suffer directly from the effects of climate change within your own lifetime.