Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wrap it pink!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

Think its a fantastic idea. Will deffo use some

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,667 ✭✭✭Frynge

Surely it will confuse the crows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,531 ✭✭✭High bike

Frynge wrote: »
    Surely it will confuse the crows.
    sure they'r colourblind:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 470 ✭✭joejobrien

Definitely here too. They will the talk of the parish. haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,114 ✭✭✭222233

Thats an excellent idea, best so far me thinks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61 ✭✭waalaa

for every bale of wrap purchased, a donation will be made to the Irish Cancer Society.
    How much of a donation???

A great idea though, hopefully the Irish Cancer Society will benefit as much as Dairygolds marketing department.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 740 ✭✭✭IH784man

Wonder will it keep the crows away to?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,536 ✭✭✭case885

Don't know if herself would be too happy if I wrapped it pink... :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

Even silage bales are going to be gay now:-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,331 ✭✭✭deise08

High bike wrote: »
    sure they'r colourblind:pac:

Sorry to disappoint ya but they're not :-D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

What happens when you end up with a heap of dung after using pink wrap? I've heard enough horror stories about green wrap never mind pink.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,218 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Sam Kade wrote: »
    What happens when you end up with a heap of dung after using pink wrap? I've heard enough horror stories about green wrap never mind pink.
    you try it out and let us know how you get on:) think its a great idea as nearly every person knows someone closse to them who has been touched by cancer

whelan2 wrote: »
    you try it out and let us know how you get on:) think its a great idea as nearly every person knows someone closse to them who has been touched by cancer

If everyone bought 1 roll it'd be a lot of plastic. I hope my local Ag store will stock it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,611 ✭✭✭djmc

Like what do you mean plastic getting mixed up in dung heap

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

Texted manager in local glanbia last night. Says he will try get some in. I'll buy a few rolls any way. Sure as long as it excludes all the air it should be fine?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭mf240

Depends who makes it.

If its anything to do with durapak i wont touch it.

Would like to support the charity though.

How much are they donating per roll sold.

anyone any ifo on how much goes to the irish cancer society and is it more expensive than the normal plastic?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 260 ✭✭rliston

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

going by the dairygold website its 2 euro per roll more than the black. So damn all in the differ

Just to make it feel alittle bit better its basically a tax allowable donation

Just before you jump on your high horse Whelan I'm questioning the product not the cause ;)

Here's some views on green wrap http://farmingforum.co.uk/forums/showthread.php?7705-silage-wrap

You won't have to venture far from here to get more views on it http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056645481

Just before you jump on your high horse Whelan I'm questioning the product not the cause ;)

Here's some views on green wrap http://farmingforum.co.uk/forums/showthread.php?7705-silage-wrap

You won't have to venture far from here to get more views on it http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056645481
    FFS:rolleyes:

keep going wrote: »
    Just to make it feel alittle bit better its basically a tax allowable donation

All charitable donations are tax deductible

if the price of this is only 2 euro dearer than the normal one, would ye think that only 2 euro is going to charity?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 867 ✭✭✭locky76

No they're not, only charities registered with the revenue commissioners...
    Good few GAA clubs after registering, the threshold has to be greater than €250 per annum to qualify.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 867 ✭✭✭locky76

That's the one thing which could scupper this project if the wrap isn't of sufficient quality, hopefully it is!
    I'll be giving it a go anyway...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,891 ✭✭✭Bullocks

if the price of this is only 2 euro dearer than the normal one, would ye think that only 2 euro is going to charity?

The way charities are run i would guess that less than €2 will make it to them . Its good for awareness though

They don't give any information on the amount donated, I'll ask tomorrow in the co op.

locky76 wrote: »
    That's the one thing which could scupper this project if the wrap isn't of sufficient quality, hopefully it is!
    I'll be giving it a go anyway...
    I'll stick with black and donate to the charity directly, everyone wins :)

my dad is a driver for the irish cancer society, goes normally once a week from local area to dublin hospitals , could have 1 person or a car load. Think its a great service .

locky76 wrote: »
    No they're not, only charities registered with the revenue commissioners...
    Good few GAA clubs after registering, the threshold has to be greater than €250 per annum to qualify.

Locky
    Does the €250 relate to the tax break going to the charity if you choose not to claim it and allocate it to them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,275 ✭✭✭orm0nd

Not all,

I asked a DG emplyee to day what amount was actually being passed on & he wasn't able to answer

I do know in some instances that quite a lot of the donation is absorbed in administration costs , in some instances the amount passed on is actually as low as 40%

I am not criticizing this scheme , I think it's an excellent idea & I hope it's a massive success , but before I wrap pink I would need to know the quality of the wrap

I had severe issues with a DG own brand plastic a few years as did a lot of farmers & got very little satisfaction

Personally I intend to make my annual contribution to CC next October and use a wrap that I can trust

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,891 ✭✭✭Bullocks

orm0nd wrote: »
    Not all,

I asked a DG emplyee to day what amount was actually being passed on & he wasn't able to answer

I do know in some instances that quite a lot of the donation is absorbed in administration costs , in some instances the amount passed on is actually as low as 40%

I am not criticizing this scheme , I think it's an excellent idea & I hope it's a massive success , but before I wrap pink I would need to know the quality of the wrap

I had severe issues with a DG own brand plastic a few years as did a lot of farmers & got very little satisfaction

Personally I intend to make my annual contribution to CC next October and use a wrap that I can trust
    You put that alot better than I could and i dont want to speak ill of any charity but let us not forget that giving €2 to a charity isn't half as good as helping out someone local thats sick . Whether its bringing their kids to school or giving them a lift to their hospital appointment or just stopping in for a chat

G wizz lads its just a little bit of a gimmick and a good cause benifits, no need to do a root and branch analysis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 174 ✭✭johndeere3350

Sam Kade wrote:
    Just before you jump on your high horse Whelan I'm questioning the product not the cause

Sam Kade wrote:
    You won't have to venture far from here to get more views on it

Sam Kade wrote:
    Just before you jump on your high horse Whelan I'm questioning the product not the cause

Sam Kade wrote:
    Here's some views on green wrap

Sam Kade wrote:

Wrapped 40k bales in green last year it'd the finest.
    Better than black I'd say.
    If you put ****e into the bale the color plastic won't make a difference

Wrapped 40k bales in green last year it'd the finest.
    Better than black I'd say.
    If you put ****e into the bale the color plastic won't make a difference

That's great news if it works. You wouldn't have to be a scientist to know that if you put in ****e you'll be taking ****e out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭Chiarrai92

So one year on. How did the people who used the pink wrap get on? Would you recommend it to others? Oh and do the crows stay away from them?