Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pneumonia Weanling

• 06-05-2015 7:50pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 223 ✭✭

Hi all.

I'm not very experienced with cattle. I grew up on a farm but haven't done much at it for a while. I have a few cattle now. I Have a bullock with pneumonia. He was stiff and coughing and very dull. He was treated by vet on Monday. Amalyclin or something like that. Milbotyl and some other clear stuff. I though catching it early on that he would be making great strides yesterday. I wasn't overly concerned till the evening. I gave him two more shots of amalyclin since but he's not improving at any great rate. I hear him coughing again this evening.

He never stopped eating and he is on his feet. I feed him meal 4 times a day to keep energy up and he's picking hay and drinking water in the shed. I gave him his third shot of the amalyclin there now. I'll keep and eye on him. I'll have to get vet again If he doesn't pick up OR shows signs of disapproving.

He caught it outside. He was outside all winter but had access to shed. He was wormed 3 weeks ago.

I put rest of cattle in field on CTc powder on Monday to try stop it spreading.

How long can it take to see a good improvement. I know if varies from animal to animal, but could it take a while. Has anyone experienced something similar.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,984 ✭✭✭Miname

It could take a bit but there should be signs of improvement. I wouldn't be thinking alamycin is much use for pneumonia but then again I'm not a vet. I d usually get nuflor or draxin for anything like that .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 283 ✭✭smokey-fitz

I had 2 bullocks that got it about 6 weeks ago after buying them in. One had a temp of over 106 degrees! But they were grand after 3 days of treatment, vet gave me a clear shot of stuff (cant remember the name) to use once and then used betamox once a day for 5 days after. How much meal are you giving him each time? Id only give him 2kgs a day and hay. To much meal might sicken him if he is not used to it..

Edit: Also the hay could be making him cough. Take his temp and that will tell you if he is improving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 259 ✭✭buffalobilly

Could u take temperature normal would be 38.5c or 101.5f
    If it is above 39.5c or 103f I would be getting vet again
    Make sure he has fresh water & good silage or hay another
    Good sign is when gets up does he stretch himself.
    Is he chewing his cud.Keep a eye on him for another week
    Good Luck

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭onyerbikepat

This is 'real pneumonia weather', as they say down this way. Big swings in temperature the last few weeks. I wouldn't give advice on which drugs to use, that's for your vet but try and keep him as comfortable as possible. Is he with another animal? How much meal in total are you giving?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 223 ✭✭dave81

Oh yeah he got something beginning with d. It's not draxxin but something similar -would have to check script. He got two shots of it.

He's getting about 2kg a day. Little and often. He is chewing the cud, drinking etc. He has a heifers with him for company. He'd be miserable on his own. Can't let her back out now. I'm giving her some CtC in case he gives it to her.

If I'm not happy tomorrow PM. I'll call vet. I only have a few cattle and this is two cattle sick in one week. Heifers had a b1 problem and she nearly died. Never saw that before. Some dirty dose. She's flying it now after b1 injections. Steep learning curve for me this week!

Thanks lads.

Hows the bullock doing? Any improvement?

Hi Smokey. Bullock wasn't eating this morning, but he has finally picked up this evening. Looking much better, temperature back normal and pneumonia gone. He's a lot of recovering to do. I'll let him out for a pick in the morning and keep him in at night until weather settles.

Thanks for asking. Hope all is well your end of the country.

Dave

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,316 ✭✭✭tanko

I wouldn't let him out tomorrow at all looking at the forecast. Going to be very wet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 871 ✭✭✭severeoversteer

dave81 wrote: »
    Hi Smokey. Bullock wasn't eating this morning, but he has finally picked up this evening. Looking much better, temperature back normal and pneumonia gone. He's a lot of recovering to do. I'll let him out for a pick in the morning and keep him in at night until weather settles.

Dave
    i wouldn't let him out yet

keep him in bedded shed with plenty straw until his full appetite is back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,345 ✭✭✭Grueller

Oh yeah he got something beginning with d. It's not draxxin but something similar -would have to check script. He got two shots of it.

He's getting about 2kg a day. Little and often. He is chewing the cud, drinking etc. He has a heifers with him for company. He'd be miserable on his own. Can't let her back out now. I'm giving her some CtC in case he gives it to her.

If I'm not happy tomorrow PM. I'll call vet. I only have a few cattle and this is two cattle sick in one week. Heifers had a b1 problem and she nearly died. Never saw that before. Some dirty dose. She's flying it now after b1 injections. Steep learning curve for me this week!

Thanks lads.

Did the heifer go blind with the b1 deficiency? Had one here last year with it. Took a week or so for her to come out of it any bit and three to come back right. Symptoms presented exactly like meningitis.

Dave

Thats good, glad to hear it. Might be better to leave him be for a few more days due to the weather. Do him no harm and you will have more peace of mind.

Wet, mucky and damp here like everywhere else I suppose :P otherwise all good.

Bullock is picking up but slow. I have him back out while the weather is good, but he's under close scrutiny. He's pretty lifeless and lazy still but grazing strongly. I'm hoping being back with his colleagues and a belly full of grass will be beneficial. The rest have all been treated with CTC powder just in case.

Re the b1 problem Grueller, heifer lost some sight but retained most of it. She pretty much picked up hours after the injections and made a rapid recovery. Shes back out with the others and picked back up condition very quickly. I'm watching her like a hawk also. I've never seen such a rapid recovery, considering the state that she was in. I've never seen such a rapid out of the blue detoriation either. Basically no warning signs of illness before it hit. If they start to stagger, and show signs of blindness, twitching on the face, and clear urine - they are the indicators. Vet thinks frost on the grass in the mornings a few weeks ago might have done it, as she did not have any diet chages. B1 is tricky, as it is hard to find anything with a B1 supplement. As I said before, I grew up on a farm with cattle and have seen many things, but nothing like this before.

Hopefully all recovers now and weather settles down.