Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Car crash, need advice

• 06-05-2015 11:28am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 116 ✭✭

My wife had car crash, other person admited liability and need to know what I do next as this is first time anything like this has happened.

My kids all shook up, one with facial injuries but not to bad. Phoned insurance company but didn't know my details, reg, insurance policy etc.. Have phoned solicitor but he not taking calls at moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,022 ✭✭✭skallywag

I'm taking it then that she did not call the guards. Have you been to the hospital with the child? I would be getting that on record. Any witnesses who's details your wife took?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

As there have been injuries, you are obliged to report this to the Gardai. You need to go to the station closest to where the crash occurred, with the full details.

Once you've done that, ring your insurance company to report it and provide them with the details of the other party.

Take the child to the GP at least to ascertain if any extra checks need to be made. Your wife should attend for herself to make sure she's OK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 116 ✭✭soccercrew

skallywag wrote: »
    I'm taking it then that she did not call the guards. Have you been to the hospital with the child? I would be getting that on record. Any witnesses who's details your wife took?

Yes guards called and been at the scene. Other party admitted liability at the scene. 3 witnesses to the crash.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 116 ✭✭soccercrew

seamus wrote: »
    As there have been injuries, you are obliged to report this to the Gardai. You need to go to the station closest to where the crash occurred, with the full details.

Once you've done that, ring your insurance company to report it and provide them with the details of the other party.

Take the child to the GP at least to ascertain if any extra checks need to be made. Your wife should attend for herself to make sure she's OK.

Reported it to insurance company, other party same insurance company. Wondering can I get it took away to get it accessed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,022 ✭✭✭skallywag

soccercrew wrote: »
    Yes guards called and been at the scene. Other party admitted liability at the scene. 3 witnesses to the crash.

OK, well that's your primary concern taken care of then, sounds like you will have little to worry about.

Get the wife and kids to the hospital for a check-up and to get things on record. Then call your insurance company / solicitor etc at your leisure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Wondering can I get it took away to get it accessed?
    Get what taken away? Your car?
    If anyone from the insurance company needs to come out and look at either vehicle they'll sort out a date and time. Your insurance company can advise you on all of this stuff. If you have comprehensive cover you can likely get it towed to a garage and repaired for free.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,859 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

My wife had car crash, other person admited liability and need to know what I do next as this is first time anything like this has happened.

My kids all shook up, one with facial injuries but not to bad. Phoned insurance company but didn't know my details, reg, insurance policy etc.. Have phoned solicitor but he not taking calls at moment.

Insurance details will be on the disc on the windscreen.