Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Does anyone like the Iona Institute?

• 05-05-2015 9:30pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,571 ✭✭✭

I know no one who supports them. I also find them far too conservative and, frankly, Catholic, to see why anyone would (except devout Catholics of course)

I'm not a fan, are you?

Do you like the Iona Institute? 42 votes

Yes
    0%
    No
    100%
    ManachMerrionRed Alertkeano_afcFusemanapplehunterardmachaforce elevenarybvtcw0eolkfDancorTigerbabythokerFormosaevolving_doorspadd b1975hinaultBnB[Deleted User]Stinickerrobman60 42 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

The early stuff wasn't bad.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,768 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manach

No
    So as the OP has asked a question. Might the counter-question be what is their own explicit source of opinion on social matters and what qualifies as too anything is this rather relativistic post-modern society?

In original answer, yes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,526 ✭✭✭Slicemeister

No
    Wasn't she a sister ship to the Jeanie Johnston?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

kneemos wrote: »

then they sold out

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,160 ✭✭✭Huntergonzo

I would have said they're good for comic relief only they probably do influence a certain amount of people, particularly older people (who tend to vote more) and that makes them quite a dangerous organisation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,353 ✭✭✭Cold War Kid

Manach wrote: »
    what qualifies as too anything is this rather relativistic post-modern society?
    I've asked you before and I'll ask it again: wha?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

I kinda do. I'm a sucker for underdogs. I kinda just a little bit hope they win one time (although, just like a school raffle or something, obviously not something that could effect anyone). I feel bad for them. Kinda like I felt bad for Hitler at the end of 'Downfall', I kinda wanted him to win, he looked so sad and defeated. I'd have liked him to just kinda win a quick game of connect four against one of the other lads in the bunker or something to take the edge off things.

So, kinda, is what I'm trying to say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,828 ✭✭✭stimpson

I think they provide analysis on social issues that is badly needed in the current climate. I know their hard work in the media has made it much easier for me to decide which way to vote in the upcoming referendum without having to delve into the issues too deeply myself.

I'll be voting yes obviously.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,362 ✭✭✭K4t

I liked them on facebook. But only so I don't forget about them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 265 ✭✭When the Sun Hits

That would be an ecuminical matter.

Don't they get a bunch of funding from pretty fundamentalist quarters? I've no problem with moderate conservatives, no problem with catholics/christians, but big problem with fundamentalists.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

I'm sure the kids love them.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,441 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

I think their detractors give them far more attention than they're worth. Who needs to spend money on PR and marketing when your detractors do all your advertising for free?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

strobe wrote: »
    Kinda like I felt bad for Hitler at the end of 'Downfall', I kinda wanted him to win, he looked so sad and defeated.
    Hrm.... even those that agree with their policies liken them to Hitler... :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I've never encountered them outside of the internet, and I know a few staunch Catholics. Maybe they just don't have a presence in Donegal, but they seem pretty irrelevant in reality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭tritriagain

I think a good rule of thumb is take on board what David Quinn and or John waters has to say on a topic , analyse it , consider it with a great depth of thought and then vote the opposite way to them. You'll definitely make the right choice 99.99% of the time. The other .01% will probably be the right choice. You've gotta love them.

I think their detractors give them far more attention than they're worth. Who needs to spend money on PR and marketing when your detractors do all your advertising for free?
    They're represented in practically every national and private broadcaster debate on social issues, radio and television. The founder David Quinn propagandises in his Irish Independent column, while protuberant member Breda O'Brien does likewise in the Irish Times. So yeah, hard to avoid them really. Oh and don't forget they are being silenced and suppressed in Irish society....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 397 ✭✭FactCheck

kneemos wrote: »

I dunno, their early stuff were Magdalene Laundries, outlawing divorce and contraception, and the X Case, I'd be more of a fan of their present incarnation, if I was forced to choose.

But fortunately it's unlikely the Iona Institute would want me exercising a choice anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭catallus

K4t wrote: »
    David Quinn propagandises his protuberant member

You see, it's lies like this from the anti-Iona crowd that force neutral reasonable -minded persons to consider what they say in a balanced manner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 919 ✭✭✭Joe prim

I don't like the Iona Institute, but that Quinn fella is a total ride, in a kind of repressed, spoiled priest kind of way, and I totally would, if i was a ghey, which, like, I so totally am not dude.....

Also, there should be an Atari Jaguar Institute option in the poll above, in keeping with our ancient and sacred traditions.

They're represented in practically every national and private broadcaster debate on social issues, radio and television. The founder David Quinn propagandises in his Irish Independent column, while protuberant member Breda O'Brien does likewise in the Irish Times. So yeah, hard to avoid them really. Oh and don't forget they are being silenced and suppressed in Irish society....

Truthfully then, I admit I must be well out of the loop because the only time I ever encounter them is on here when they're being held up for (albeit justifiable) criticism?

I haven't read the paper version of the Independent since it went from broadsheet format to tabloid format (and the content went with it!), and as for the national broadaster, well, satellite television has done away with being limited to the same turgid crap from Donnybrook masquerading as a legitimate source of information and entertainment.

TL:DR - It's much easier to be completely unaware of their existence than it is to choose to torment yourself sitting through a 35 minute youtube video of their latest brain farts.

blue_belt wrote: »
    one would think it was ISIS who were being discussed , such is the vitriol directed towards ( this relatively moderate social conservative lobby group ) them from so called tollerant liberals
    I have more vitriol for Iona than I do for ISIS. As is my right. Also, truly tolerant liberals don't stand for intolerance, which Iona embody.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

I have more vitriol for Iona than I do for ISIS. As is my right. Also, truly tolerant liberals don't stand for intolerance, which Iona embody.

I'll defend the rights of the daft little freaks to make noise any old time. And I'm not paying any fees to the liberal party for my self-given right to do so.

TL:DR - It's much easier to be completely unaware of their existence than it is to choose to torment yourself sitting through a 35 minute youtube video of their latest brain farts.

It's fairly hard to be completely unaware of their existence when they (or rather, their anonymous US donors) have paid for campaigning signs to be affixed to every streetlight in the country.

And suggesting that we just ignore the national broadcaster, radio, newspapers, and political debates on the eve of two referenda isn't very sensible.

I'll defend the rights of the daft little freaks to make noise any old time. And I'm not paying any fees to the liberal party for my self-given right to do so.
    Nobody is suggesting supressing them and their right to say stupid s**t. Except themselves of course.

I have more vitriol for Iona than I do for ISIS.
    Not at all a fan of then, but Iona hasn't gone on rampages of murder, torture and rape to be fair. Perspective.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

Breda O'Brien seems like a nice person. Ludicrously misguided, but pleasant enough. David Quinn, on the other hand, seems deeply unpleasant, sour, mean-spirited and unchristian. If God existed, he'd hate him.

Iona hasn't gone on rampages of murder, torture and rape to be fair. Perspective
    I still find them more reprehensible on a personal level. Isis are evil and hopefully will be ended. But Iona are currently more of a danger to the society I live in. Perspective.

FactCheck wrote: »
    It's fairly hard to be completely unaware of their existence when they (or rather, their anonymous US donors) have paid for campaigning signs to be affixed to every streetlight in the country.

Took a look at those posters actually, no mention of Iona on 'em, at least not on any I saw? Mentions a publishers alright (couldn't make out the phone number, one eye can be a real bummer at times :pac:), and a printers, but no Iona anywhere?

And suggesting that we just ignore the national broadcaster, radio, newspapers, and political debates on the eve of two referenda isn't very sensible.

Ohh it's very sensible, believe me, I find I don't get worked up at all about an issue I've already made up my mind on, so I have no interest in the political peacocking and posturing of the various politically motivated types on either side of what IMO shouldn't even be up for 'debate'.

Ignorance as they say, is indeed bliss :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,850 ✭✭✭FouxDaFaFa

I resent the fact that they refer to themselves as an "Institute", as if they are a centre of great research and learning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,063 ✭✭✭Kiwi in IE

There are 8 people out of the 69 who have so far voted who like them? Seriously?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,278 ✭✭✭Dr. Mantis Toboggan

FouxDaFaFa wrote: »
    I resent the fact that they refer to themselves as an "Institute", as if they are a centre of great research and learning.

An Institute for Cnuts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

any decent John Waters/Iona Institute memes out there?

The name is not on them but the groups in question - Iona, "Mothers and Fathers Matter", Quinn even attended the launch of John Waters' latest vehicle of nonsense - are funded from the same source, they organise and attend the same events, they sit on each others' boards. They call themselves different names to give an illusion of diversity but it is the same very narrow shower of loopers again and again.

[They can also trace their lineage, so to speak, in terms of board members etc, back to the old "Bye Bye Daddy" divorce campaigns, the 2002 referendum to make abortion a) illegal or B) really really illegal, etc etc ad nauseam.]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,378 ✭✭✭BuilderPlumber

Do not like them or any other agenda driven hardliners hiding behind fancy names. But a lot of people must like them because of all the publicity they get. John Waters certainly is a fan. If not a member!

Anyone who views ISIS as preferable to Iona is someone I want to do business with
    Do I have to choose? I'd prefer neither of them existed. I hate both of them, just Iona that bit more as they affect my life more.

Then I have some magic beans you might be interested in

Anyone who views ISIS as preferable to Iona is someone I want to do business with

Anybody who considers ISIS more of a threat to Irish citizens than the ideology which has given us some of the most restrictive divorce laws in the world, restrictions on contraception, homosexuality illegal until 1992, the X case, symphysiotomy, restrictions on cancer treatment for women of childbearing age, Savita, forced caesarian sections, thousands of stolen babies in the Mother and Baby homes, the Magdalen laundries and oh yes, the decades of concealment of child abuse needs to get their outrage monitor checked.

Nobody views ISIS as "preferable" but a shower of lunatics in the Middle East are irrelevant to most Irish people. Good job dragging them into this, though. Ask yourself - if I'm bringing up ISIS to make a favourable comparison with the Iona crew, perhaps there really, really isn't much that can be said in their defence?

"They're not as bad as ISIS" - wow, what a campaign slogan.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 626 ✭✭✭Massimo Cassagrande

Probably just me, but Iona wha??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,910 ✭✭✭Simi

Anybody who considers ISIS more of a threat to Irish citizens than the ideology which has given us some of the most restrictive divorce laws in the world, restrictions on contraception, homosexuality illegal until 1992, the X case, symphysiotomy, restrictions on cancer treatment for women of childbearing age, Savita, forced caesarian sections, thousands of stolen babies in the Mother and Baby homes, the Magdalen laundries and oh yes, the decades of concealment of child abuse needs to get their outrage monitor checked.

Nobody views ISIS as "preferable" but a shower of lunatics in the Middle East are irrelevant to most Irish people. Good job dragging them into this, though. Ask yourself - if I'm bringing up ISIS to make a favourable comparison with the Iona crew, perhaps there really, really isn't much that can be said in their defence?

Well put.

And that's all she wrote folks/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,499 ✭✭✭porsche959

Manach wrote: »
    So as the OP has asked a question. Might the counter-question be what is their own explicit source of opinion on social matters and what qualifies as too anything is this rather relativistic post-modern society?

In original answer, yes.

That might beg some counter-counter questions, along the lines of relativistic compared to what precisely? It could be argued that current societal mores are extremely conservative compared to historic norms.

Probably just me, but Iona wha??

I dunno 'bout you, but Iona Ferrari, it's parked out back beside the Range Rover :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,410 ✭✭✭✭endacl

strobe wrote: »
    I kinda do. I'm a sucker for underdogs. I kinda just a little bit hope they win one time (although, just like a school raffle or something, obviously not something that could effect anyone). I feel bad for them. Kinda like I felt bad for Hitler at the end of 'Downfall', I kinda wanted him to win, he looked so sad and defeated. I'd have liked him to just kinda win a quick game of connect four against one of the other lads in the bunker or something to take the edge off things.

So, kinda, is what I'm trying to say.
    All together now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭bb1234567

Dominoes puts their propaganda leaflets in the pizza menus

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,378 ✭✭✭BuilderPlumber

Clearly, ISIS are far more evil than Iona because of the things they have done. But ISIS have been many years in the making and have been the result of decades of bloody warfare in some of the most unstable and violent nations on earth in recent history.

Iona share many of the same intolerant views although they will try and hide them. John Waters is a fan: enough said!! The Iona Institute is a part of a much larger and more dangerous group of think tanks that transcends just the Catholic agenda to also include hardline rightwing atheist and unionist thought as well. It is an attempt to bring the far right together through the media.

ISIS took many years and many wars to form. This book came out in the 1970s credit to Ayatollah Khomeini who certainly did NOT write it all by himself (it more than likely has nothing got to do with him apart from he being licensed to use it in an Arab experiment to ruin a Persian country: it is more than likely lifted 100% from some Saudi Arabian petrodollar funded think tank from the 1960s or 1970s):

http://www.iranchamber.com/history/rkhomeini/books/velayat_faqeeh.pdf

The arguments are very well made and it is intelligently written. It is designed to get people to see the world injustices of the banking system, monarchies, imperialism, superpowerism, and so on. The whole moral issues are also argued well and there is even a justification backing up the stoning of women. ONLY a Saudi could have written this thing and ONLY a Saudi could fund it. Khomeini would not even have access to this sort of extremism in his own country as it was unheard of there in the 1970s. This document did not kill people in the 1970s but the paranoia of some Saudi nutcase combined with the money hungry aspirations of a poor priest from Iran who accepted money to do this launched decades of trouble. Ironically, it is now the very state that this priest founded, the Islamic Republic of Iran, that is doing most to defeat ISIS!

Iona are trying to do similar. Catholicism, like 1970s Islam, has moderated. The current pope is a relative moderate and even all recent popes (even those considered conservative) have had to be pragmatic with the changes of the world. Moderate Islam in 1970s Iran scared the hell out of the Saudis and thus Iran had to be consumed. Likewise, moderate shifts in Catholicism are being stopped in their tracks by Iona and co. Iona should NOT fool us and we should take note before things are too late.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,761 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

No

Sure with Iona beheading people, burning people alive, burying people alive, destroying archaeological sites going back millennia and killing Christians, it makes Isis not seem too bad when they oppose same sex marriage and abortion.

I may have gotten that the wrong way around.

I have no problem with Iona, but I do love how they raise the hackles for some people.

Take the intolerance, prejudice and extremist religious views of Iona back a few hundred years and they would fit right in with the Spanish Inquisition, which was pretty much Catholicisms version of ISIS.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,234 ✭✭✭Meesared

bb1234567 wrote: »
    Dominoes puts their propaganda leaflets in the pizza menus
    Nonsense, they didn't, they used the same leaflet distribution firms

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,761 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

No
    Kiwi in IE wrote: »
    Take the intolerance, prejudice and extremist religious views of Iona back a few hundred years and they would fit right in with the Spanish Inquisition, which was pretty much Catholicisms version of ISIS.

But history records shows the Spanish inquisition was in fact the most just justice system in Europe at the time.
    The English used propaganda against their Spanish enemies and it is funny how the propaganda is still believed today.
    As the saying goes, the first casualty of war is truth.

RobertKK wrote: »
    But history records shows the Spanish inquisition was in fact the most just justice system in Europe at the time.
    The English used propaganda against their Spanish enemies and it is funny how the propaganda is still believed today.
    As the saying goes, the first casualty of war is truth.

Any links?

Just for whom?