Farming Chit Chat sticks it to six.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,893 ✭✭✭Bullocks

Base price wrote: »
    Have all of ours trained to the bag. Never any problems moving large groups as long as you have a plastic bag :D

Got a nasty kick to my right hand this afternoon while loading sucklers and followers onto the lorry for a neighbour. First, middle and ring finger badly swollen and cut.
    I had to collect an injection for a calf this evening from our vet and when she saw my hand she kindly examined, dressed and taped them up :)

Did you get a shot of penstrep aswell !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,828 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Bullocks wrote: »
    Did you get a shot of penstrep aswell !
    No but she did ask me when I last got a antitet injection.
    Apparently vets can legally treat humans under emergency situations but doctors cannot treat animals in simular situarions.
    Apologies for mispelling as i am trying to type with left hand and cant be arsed to correcct them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭Farrell

No but she did ask me when I last got a antitet injection.
    Apparently vets can legally treat humans under emergency situations but doctors cannot treat animals in simular situarions.
    Apologies for mispelling as i am trying to type with left hand and cant be arsed to correcct them.

Ice for a few days so, hopefully nothing bad.
    On other side least it was your hand & not leg or head

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,701 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Just got the pit covered and the rain had started :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,421 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Have all of ours trained to the bag. Never any problems moving large groups as long as you have a plastic bag :D

Got a nasty kick to my right hand this afternoon while loading sucklers and followers onto the lorry for a neighbour. First, middle and ring finger badly swollen and cut.
    I had to collect an injection for a calf this evening from our vet and when she saw my hand she kindly examined, dressed and taped them up :)

Hope that heals quickly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,457 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

Home tonight :):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

KatyMac wrote: »
    Went looking for a cow that's close to calving. Couldn't find her. Heading back to house to gather more help and discovered her in the shed with a new calf. How smart was that?

l hope she washed the jack and hung back up the ropes after herself!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,621 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Reggie. wrote: »
    Just got the pit covered and the rain had started :D
    Snap!

Its funny the difference a bit of rain makes here. The first cut this year was bigger than both cuts last year even though there was a few extra acres put in as well.

Snap!

Its funny the difference a bit of rain makes here. The first cut this year was bigger than both cuts last year even though there was a few extra acres put in as well.

We took feck all from the pit last winter so we're only topping it off. It was 13 acres we put in. The other 40 acres or so will be baled for silage or haylage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,393 ✭✭✭orm0nd

forecast looking good for next week

orm0nd wrote: »
    forecast looking good for next week

Only the first 3 days of next week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 837 ✭✭✭ABlur

Only the first 3 days of next week

Like the last 2 weeks so, 3 good days, cut hay followed by 4 days of drizzle followed by round bales and wrapper!

Classic

Kovu wrote: »
    75 cattle and 25 sheep stolen in Westmeath :eek:

Yeah near ranglers place. Happened last night. Mix of lim x and CH x. 9 cows and the rest a mix of 10 to 16 months old cattle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,743 ✭✭✭ganmo

I don't like saying it, but they're probably all burgers by now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,497 ✭✭✭rangler1

ganmo wrote: »
    I don't like saying it, but they're probably all burgers by now

The yard is a mile from the road, so once they got in the road gate they'd never be seen

rangler1 wrote: »
    The yard is a mile from the road, so once they got in the road gate they'd never be seen

Was there a few trips made or a few vehicles together ? Thats a fair bit of stock to move without being spotted somewhere

Bullocks wrote: »
    Was there a few trips made or a few vehicles together ? Thats a fair bit of stock to move without being spotted somewhere

They think they have one of the lorries on CCTV going through Tyrrellspass

Good , hope they get someone for it . Horrible thought that the animals you were caring for could be slaughtered any which way , feel sorry for the owner

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,495 ✭✭✭KatW4

Terrible thing to happen. All that work and it's gone thanks to some scumbags who think it's okay to take other people's animals. I hope they're caught.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

How do you pop a hole in one of these
    Resurrect sharpshooter ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,292 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

223 lobotomy.

From the owners facebook....some one must know them.

''We have cctv footage of a lorry and drag trailer (new white scania) and a double decker (white with distinctive white skirting) driving at speed through Tyrrellspass at 2.01am yesterday (Thursday) morning. They may have gone to Mullingar,on to Rochfortbridge or onto the motorway (M6). If anyone knows anything,saw anything or can help please contact us or the Guards in Kilbeggan or Athlone. We can't express enough how devastated we are. We were looking at them on Sunday and saying how lucky we are that all our hard work has given us such beautiful quality,quiet stock. We love our cattle,they are family to us and it feels like the heart has been ripped out of the farm. 83% of our herd is gone''

It was some operation to gather up that amount of cattle. Must have been a right few bodies there that night

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,995 ✭✭✭dzer2

It was some operation to gather up that amount of cattle. Must have been a right few bodies there that night

2 men and a roll of wire will move most stock in this country

dzer2 wrote: »
    2 men and a roll of wire will move most stock in this country

Jaysus I'd like to see that with our limos

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

In the dark too. Ye would wonder would you be better off with real wild yoked that wouldn't come withing 100 yards of you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,995 ✭✭✭dzer2

nieghbour here has the wildest cattle ever bred. If you went in to the field with a white shirt they would be in the next parish before you could blink. He was in hospital last yr and I was looking after his cattle. He asked they we bring them in as it was forecast to lash rain. 10 men couldnt get them out of the field. Myself and the 2 lads went over in the evening with a roll of wire and got them in.

dzer2 wrote: »
    nieghbour here has the wildest cattle ever bred. If you went in to the field with a white shirt they would be in the next parish before you could blink. He was in hospital last yr and I was looking after his cattle. He asked they we bring them in as it was forecast to lash rain. 10 men couldnt get them out of the field. Myself and the 2 lads went over in the evening with a roll of wire and got them in.

The roll of wire don't work here I think they figured that one out already :D