Farming Chit Chat sticks it to six.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭Farrell

CHOPS01 wrote: »
    Confirmation of transfer of the herd number from dad to myself came in the post yesterday.
    Am I a real farmer now !
    Congratulations, now you're officially poor :-P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭TITANIUM.

Confirmation of transfer of the herd number from dad to myself came in the post yesterday.
    Am I a real farmer now !

Goodman, the next blue cards you get will have your own name on them.
    A buddy of mine (who's a very tidy farmer and a good operator) was around the other day and we were giving out about the costs involved in farming these days and he came out with a very funny statement "Jesus Christ, getting a farm is like getting a life sentence". The same fella is stone mad about farming but would never admit it of course.
    Best of luck in the future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 797 ✭✭✭CHOPS01

TITANIUM. wrote: »
    Goodman, the next blue cards you get will have your own name on them.
    A buddy of mine (who's a very tidy farmer and a good operator) was around the other day and we were giving out about the costs involved in farming these days and he came out with a very funny statement "Jesus Christ, getting a farm is like getting a life sentence". The same fella is stone mad about farming but would never admit it of course.
    Best of luck in the future.

As it's small scale but excited about the whole thing. Enjoy doing it especially on a morning like this. Happy stock with the sun shining down.
    Anyway just waiting on my lift to head to the airport for a stag in Edinburgh.
    Bring it on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 734 ✭✭✭longgonesilver

As it's small scale but excited about the whole thing. Enjoy doing it especially on a morning like this. Happy stock with the sun signing down.
    Anyway just waiting on my lift to head to the airport for a stag in Edinburgh.
    Bring it on

You cant go to Edinburgh on a Stag, You are a farmer now with responsibilities:D:D.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,419 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Applied to do a movement there to a farmer who has bought most of my calves this spring, it was refused saying business test result failure in the destination herd . So I assume this means his herd is out of test?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

whelan2 wrote:
    Applied to do a movement there to a farmer who has bought most of my calves this spring, it was refused saying business test result failure in the destination herd . So I assume this means his herd is out of test?

Business rule or business test?

Jesus I'm treating a week old calf for meningitis at the moment, any calves I've ever had experience with it have come out of it quick enough once treated. His brain must be badly effected as his eyes are nearly bursting out of his head. Had the vet to him a few days ago and reckoned that his brain was swollen but he'd come out of it. Anyone got much experience with them when they get it this bad?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,828 ✭✭✭✭Base price

TITANIUM. wrote: »
    Jesus I'm treating a week old calf for meningitis at the moment, any calves I've ever had experience with it have come out of it quick enough once treated. His brain must be badly effected as his eyes are nearly bursting out of his head. Had the vet to him a few days ago and reckoned that his brain was swollen but he'd come out of it. Anyone got much experience with them when they get it this bad?
    Had an angus bull calf here with it a couple of weeks ago but he was nearly a month old. OH threw him into the back of the van and straight to the vet's house that night. His eyes were slightly bulging for 2 or 3 days but he is flying now. I can't tell you what he was prescribed as I haven't got the script from the vet as it was after hours. Script is in the office awating collection or it will get posted with the bill.

Base price wrote: »
    Had an angus bull calf here with it a couple of weeks ago but he was nearly a month old. OH threw him into the back of the van and straight to the vet's house that night. His eyes were slightly bulging for 2 or 3 days but he is flying now. I can't tell you what he was prescribed as I haven't got the script from the vet as it was after hours. Script is in the office awating collection or it will get posted with the bill.

Ya I should have acted quicker with him to be fair. He was put out to a small field near the yard the morning after I calved him and was sucking away grand so I guess I took my eye off the ball with him. I'm injecting him every day with some concoction the vet gave me. I have to milk the cow and tube the baxtard tho. We'll see how he goes I suppose.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,983 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Picked up a solar powered 12v battery charger in aldi for €20, worked today anyway.:D
    Can be plugged into the cigarette lighter or has crocodile clips to go straight on to battery.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

blue5000 wrote: »
    Picked up a solar powered 12v battery charger in aldi for €20, worked today anyway.:D
    Can be plugged into the cigarette lighter or has crocodile clips to go straight on to battery.

Snap :D. Did the same. I said feck it for €20 l'd chance it. Now you or somebody else prob b more knowledgeable on subject.... will it charge all batteries? The 5000 probably has small enough Ah battery l would imagine. What about tractors with bigger Ah?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,744 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Muckit wrote: »
    Snap :D. Did the same. I said feck it for €20 l'd chance it. Now you or somebody else prob b more knowledgeable on subject.... will it charge all batteries? The 5000 probably has small enough Ah battery l would imagine. What about tractors with bigger Ah?
    Must get one. 12v is 12v regardless of size(Ah). It will charge it but just take longer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,744 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Heading out now after the mug of coffee to a long day of injecting copper and black leg, vecoxan,dehorning some calves, change wheel on trailer, load up all then and move to land away from house. Tired thinking about it. Hope I've enough diesel.

Going for a bath now and heading to young lads communion. Will have a pint for ya later. Think the whole communion thing is gone way ott.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,747 ✭✭✭CloughCasey1

Hope ya have enough time in the day!

It's a trickle charger, and as already said 12v is 12v. I was jump starting the 5000 and it hadn't been started for a month. The battery is 10 years old. I set it up around 12 o'clock yesterday and it started at 9pm. Yesterday was a sunny day though. I'd say they could be very handy camping or something like that to charge a phone or laptop with a bit of electronic engineering!

I feel your pain, did in 2 stages this year. I have the first calvers/thin cows and their calves divided from the cows and their calves, so I didn't do them all the one day. Have you any help? Try to put cows with their calves in the same load, cuts down on stress.

whelan2 wrote: »
    Going for a bath now and heading to young lads communion. Will have a pint for ya later. Think the whole communion thing is gone way ott.

Don't forget to light a fag and have it in your hand goin on the bouncy castle after the few pints:D Ye have a good day for it anyway, enjoy yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,726 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

Ugh, I have 35 calves to dehorn in the next few days. Not looking forward to it one bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭Farrell

Ugh, I have 35 calves to dehorn in the next few days. Not looking forward to it one bit.

The hardest bit is thinking about it.
    Once you get stuck in, you'll fly it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,701 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Clear herd test. Thank god

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,397 ✭✭✭davidk1394

Just going through cards for heifers that I'm selling. Just noticed on 1 of the cards it's down as a male instead of female. Another fecking delay

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,726 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

Farrell wrote: »
    The hardest bit is thinking about it.
    Once you get stuck in, you'll fly it

I know ya, after doing 37 with a neighbor the last 2 hours. He'll give me a hand doing mine aswell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,493 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

Second man makes that job so much easier

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭A cow called Daisy

Im sure this has been asked here before and the answer is probably the same, but how long after spraying a field of silage with MCPA should I leave it before mowing etc?

Try a search on Google mcpa+pdf

Is it still ok to use it on grass? CMPP (duplosan) can't be used on grass anymore AFAIK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Doesn't it just go to show with all the bureaucracy there can still be some loose ends.

Contractor with all relevant sprayer courses done got in to spray. Farmer not obliged to have course done in this scenario. May have got contractor to supply spray. Farmer may not even know name of herbicide used and therefore stock withdrawal times. Lets livestock in too soon or cuts silage too early.

Doesn't it just go to show with all the bureaucracy there can still be some loose ends.

Contractor with all relevant sprayer courses done got in to spray. Farmer not obliged to have course done in this scenario. May have got contractor to supply spray. Farmer may not even know name of herbicide used and therefore stock withdrawal times. Lets livestock in too soon or cuts silage too early.
    Was in local store the other day getting round up for were I am reseeding, young lad said he couldnt give me the spray as he hadnt the cert to handle the cans, had to wait for someone to come from their lunch break to give me the cans. Was wondering whats the story wiith the ordinary joe soap getting spray for their garden can they just pick up spray and bring it home ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,621 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Was in local store the other day getting round up for were I am reseeding, young lad said he couldnt give me the spray as he hadnt the cert to handle the cans, had to wait for someone to come from their lunch break to give me the cans. Was wondering whats the story wiith the ordinary joe soap getting spray for their garden can they just pick up spray and bring it home ?
    Yeah, I think it's weaker than what we would be using for spraying and in smaller containers.

You would pay a good bit more for shop bought Roundup to spray an acre than the same from the Agri suppliers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

Yes the 1 litre ones they won't sell the 5 litre ones without relevant paperwork

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,828 ✭✭✭✭Base price

I completed the hand held spraying course 2 months ago but am still waiting for my card/ticket to arrive in the post. I was in the local agri store last week and asked about the regulations for buying a drum (20ltrs) of Roundup. The guy said that all you need is a herd number in order to purchase it but you need someone with a card/ticket to apply it.
    As far as I know joe soap can buy spray for their garden but it is diluted/ready to use and in small volumes250/500mls?