Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mosquito Bite

• 04-05-2015 4:38pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,201 ✭✭✭

NO IDEA WHERE TO PUT THIS if not for here mods feel free to move it!

Anyways, I spent a few days in the south of Spain (returned home yesterday in north of Spain)

Normally mozzys love me and low and behold i got two bites. The thing is one of them on my left shoulder is looking weird! It looks like a bad burn which has bubbled and skin grew over the bubbles of (sorry now). It is still very itchy but i dont want it leaking all over me as it is quite a large bite.

The question i have i suppose, is to scratch or not to scratch?

If i scratch i have no idea how much gunk will come out of it. If I dont scratch i dont know if the skin will stay that way and in time i will have a permanent lumpy burn looking yoke an my shoulder!:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

Its been so long since I was in a tropical climate, completely forgot about these pests.

In response to your question, i'd say scratch it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 892 ✭✭✭Just a little Samba

Scratch the sh!te out of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 245 ✭✭lanomist

Heat a spoon with boiling water and hold it against the bite. Should stop the itching and help the swelling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭dirtyden

If your concerned about an insect bite see a doctor or best yet see a specialist. Some clinics around the country will have some expertise in this.

You might just need anti histamines but its very doubtful anyone here will know and self diagnosis would be unwise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,201 ✭✭✭jamesbondings

i started playing with it, since some of you said scratch it (thanks after hours lol)

its about the size of a five cent coin. and feels like silicon, the bite itself has (as oppossed the puss thype stuff like silicone) is about two inches and is hot and hard to touch. in the silicone substances is raised about a millimeter or 2. very tempted to just hop in the shower and accidentally wash it off!

I will definatley not be putting a boiling spoon of water near it. 1 i dont know if you were joking and 2 i cant trust myself not to scald myself

Im not too worried about it in terms of seeking medical help yet, if it spreads tomorrow or i feel unwell ill go and see a doc.

Jaysus though tis fierce ugly looking and itchy very itchy. The other one on my leg is grand not itchy at all, sometimes it gets slightly itchy when it rubs off the trousers but thats all apart from that i wouldnt even know it was there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 291 ✭✭TheBrinch

Ebola.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,397 ✭✭✭✭ben.schlomo

i started playing with it, since some of you said scratch it (thanks after hours lol)

its about the size of a five cent coin. and feels like silicon, the bite itself has (as oppossed the puss thype stuff like silicone) is about two inches and is hot and hard to touch. in the silicone substances is raised about a millimeter or 2. very tempted to just hop in the shower and accidentally wash it off!

I will definatley not be putting a boiling spoon of water near it. 1 i dont know if you were joking and 2 i cant trust myself not to scald myself

Im not too worried about it in terms of seeking medical help yet, if it spreads tomorrow or i feel unwell ill go and see a doc.

Jaysus though tis fierce ugly looking and itchy very itchy. The other one on my leg is grand not itchy at all, sometimes it gets slightly itchy when it rubs off the trousers but thats all apart from that i wouldnt even know it was there
    Get over it, its just genital warts and nobody here gives a flying funk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

We need a picture before a diagnosis can be made.

Get over it, its just genital warts and nobody here gives a flying funk.

This attempt at humor was useless we all know you can only get genital warts on hands,heads and the other type of heads!

It actual does look like a manky wart though~!

We need a picture before a diagnosis can be made.

not a hope, i know what happens when someone is different around these parts!

After hours would have a field day

Now you're being ridiculous , we're here to help.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,428 ✭✭✭Talib Fiasco

Lies it's a hickey...nothing like a bit or romantic holiday sex with a bit of shoulder knawing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,782 ✭✭✭dmc17

Unclean!

Just post a picture of the actual bite thingy and then we'll decide on the best course of action based on our collective medical incompetency

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,867 ✭✭✭eternal

It'll get infected if you scratch it. I always get bitten and once my leg swelled out and I had to go to the doctor. Don't pick at it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

Thinly veiled i had a holiday thread.

If you call 12 hour bus journey each way to go for 3 days a holiday then i would hate to go on your family holidays!

I do want to scratch it but do not want it infected. Also do not want it spreading as i have a tattoo about 3 cm away from it. If it does even a little im down the docs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

Cut off your arm

It will ease the swelling and stop any infection from spreading

Cut off your arm

It will ease the swelling and stop any infection from spreading

I am left handed and the bite is on my left arm, it will be a messy job but ill do it lol

eternal wrote: »
    It'll get infected if you scratch it. I always get bitten and once my leg swelled out and I had to go to the doctor. Don't pick at it.

No medical advice allowed !!!!!!!.

OP , pick at it and be a man.

Don't pick it. Arsehole.

Do you mind.We tend not to call people arseholes round these parts.

Which parts are those? The parts where you keep picking at something until it gets infected parts? I'll stay away from there so.

Its AH , its tends to be a little light hearted.Relax ,give up the name calling , if I upset you it wasn't intentional.Enjoy the thread .

dont want to get an infection but also want to be a man.....what am i to do!? lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 369 ✭✭tradhead

dont want to get an infection but also want to be a man.....what am i to do!? lol

Don't scratch it!!!!

I had a very similar bite a few weeks ago, and got similarly freaked out! I had about ten other "normal" bites but this one was all bubbly like you say...yeuch.

It was crazy itchy but I had AfterBite (some ammonia-smelling stuff in a kindof pen that you dab on bites) which helped, and then after a few days I forgot about it. And now it's all gone!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Normally mozzys love me and low and behold i got two bites

It's 'lo and behold'... unless you mean they bit you on the nutsack.

That would be low

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭Gerinspain

I have 6 mozzie bites at the moment....little feckers are ferral this year! But I only have the normal run of the mill ones, not the exciting kind that you have. Scratch for all your worth, or don't if you want to keep your arm....then go the Farmacia and get some Cetrizina.

Mod

Please don't give actual medical advice, and OP, see a doctor or a pharmacist rather than ask in feckin After Hours of all places. Don't take any of the advice here because you could end up dead.

Please do continue on with the lighthearted mocking of the OP.

I'll start you off;

HAHA OP I bet that's the only thing that sucked you on holidays.

I of course apologise for my immaturity.

Mod

Please don't give actual medical advice, and OP, see a doctor or a pharmacist rather than ask in feckin After Hours of all places. Don't take any of the advice here because you could end up dead.

I'll start you off;

I was half serious when i said i didnt know where to put it and to move it, the answers in here are far more entertaining than anywhere else on boards (and its the easiest to find since they hacked the site to pieces!)

I was in no way looking for medical advice as if it does get worse ill got the hospital tis only round the corner!

The only advice i would take from here is the bolded out part of your comment!

But please continue in my slagging lol

(and yes, yes it was!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 156 ✭✭Depraved

That doesn't sound like a mosquito bite. The bites leave small itchy lumps on your skin, but they shouldn't blister.

I currently have 6 of the damn things despite covering myself head-to-tow in repellent. Evil feckers.

Mod

I'll start you off;

You , of people should have more sense.Everyone knows well AH advice has never killed anyone.......... recently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

It could be an insect bite, it could be a zombie bite. We can't take any chances, we're going to have to burn you alive, we can't spare the bullets to put you down first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭Magico Gonzalez

An ice pack will calm the swelling and reduce the amount of histamines being released into it. 10 minutes with an ice pack, scratching increases the amount of histamines being released making it itchier.

Bitter experience here, ice pack is your only saviour.

ScumLord wrote: »
    It could be an insect bite, it could be a zombie bite. We can't take any chances, we're going to have to burn you alive, we can't spare the bullets to put you down first.

Flaming torch time ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 245 ✭✭lanomist

You don't put boiling water on it, just the hot spoon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 220 ✭✭JonEBGud

lanomist wrote: »
    You don't put boiling water on it, just the hot spoon.

Anything hot will relieve the itch.