Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What should I do !

• 04-05-2015 1:36pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5

So I have a bit of a problem here and want peoples opinion on what I can do!

The story goes I am living in a rented house,the house has been attempted to be broken into 3 times and broken into twice - caught two guys in the kitchen and one night woke to find a guy in the room.

I had savings four figure sum and entrusted it to my sister for safe keeping, my sister was living in the family home at the time, she met a fella moved out and according to her left the money in a drawer !! (who does that!) but now the money is gone ,nothing got to do with her,by me ringing her and asking for it back- causes her to go into a rant and ends with her saying if I contact her again she'll call the guards.

The blame is being laid on my brother, who is now working in a foreign country- I didn't ask him for the money for a while as I said I'd give time time to get on his feet and get a few bob together - he did promise to send money last christmas which he never did, so my daughter had a lean Christmas.

So couple night ago I get on to said brother and ask for the cash, he does not deny he took the money buts says he didn't take it all (can't understand why he would take it as he's never out of work) but I really need the money now..and he's goes on a mad rant , how I'm the greatest so and so and I done this and that ,yet I left the house when he was a kid 17 years ago, really did not have much to do with him and haven't seen him much since but I'd say it's just a case now he thought he was getting away with it and now I want it back. So now I have the other sister on to me telling me I'm this and that and all because I want my money back.

The thing is I want the money back and they are rambling on about family stuff that has nothing got to do with anything - The Fact is they took my money - I want it back..it's that simple ..I don't want a battle of who done this and who done that 50 years ago.I just want to get this sorted and not have to deal with these people again.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Tough. Ever heard of a bank?

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Not much you can do really if they won't give it back

Gardai. If they say it's a civil matter, Solicitor (might be ott for a grand mind you, but certainly if it's in the higher 4 figure range)

Sure, you will have issues, proof of the amount being one and proof that they took it being the other. I'd record conversations where they concede that they took the money, though a Judge may not be thrilled to see a Claimant relying on that evidence. But might stop them defending the matter anyway and enable you get your order a bit easier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 Mike55555

I suffer with a disability so wouldn't be able to make the bank

Gardai. If they say it's a civil matter, Solicitor (might be ott for a grand mind you, but certainly if it's in the higher 4 figure range)

Sure, you will have issues, proof of the amount being one and proof that they took it being the other. I'd record conversations where they concede that they took the money, though a Judge may not be thrilled to see a Claimant relying on that evidence. But might stop them defending the matter anyway and enable you get your order a bit easier.

I have facebook messages admitting they took the money and I aint getting a cent back

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,185 ✭✭✭Satori Rae

You could try talk to the guards they would say it is a family matter though you could take them to small claims as long as you print out proof of these messages and bring them with you.

You should sadly never trust family with money and even with a disability try use a credit union to keep your savings in safely :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,717 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

A fool and his money is easily parted.

Unfortunately it will cost you more than the value of the cash to get it back.

I'd put a lot of distance, emotionally if not physically, between myself and the thieves trying to put the blame for their dishonesty on me, and I would consider it money well spent to find out how lacking in trustworthiness and decency they are. A hard lesson, well learnt.

Larbre34 wrote: »
    A fool and his money is easily parted.

Unfortunately it will cost you more than the value of the cash to get it back.

Must have a nice family yourself!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Call the local garda station and see what they say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Whatever you do be sure to come back here and keep everyone updated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,204 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Initiate an email conversation with both parties... get it in writing that he / she / they took the money and then go to the guards. Family or not that is a disgraceful act and attitudes equally so... you cant choose your family sadly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

Mike55555 wrote: »
    The thing is I want the money back and they are rambling on about family stuff that has nothing got to do with anything - The Fact is they took my money - I want it back..it's that simple ..I don't want a battle of who done this and who done that 50 years ago.I just want to get this sorted and not have to deal with these people again.

It's not going to get sorted. Not by you, not by your brother or sister and least of all - not by After Hours. Let it go Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,409 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Satori Rae wrote: »
    you could take them to small claims as long as you print out proof of these messages and bring them with you.
    No you couldn't. I'm pretty sure that's Judge Judy you're thinking of. Not the SCC.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,185 ✭✭✭Satori Rae

endacl wrote: »
    No you couldn't. I'm pretty sure that's Judge Judy you're thinking of. Not the SCC.

I thought you could use Small claims for things like that. I have no experience in court proceedings but it can be used to get peoples money back? So wouldn't it be handy to have back up of proof if it is needed then not having it at all?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

Mike55555 wrote: »
    I suffer with a disability so wouldn't be able to make the bank

I'm sorry - and apologies if I'm being ignorant - but what type of disability prevents someone from using a bank?

Genuine question.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,353 ✭✭✭Cold War Kid

Bit late now. The "Tough" looks bad-ass though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

El Weirdo wrote: »
    I'm sorry - and apologies if I'm being ignorant - but what type of disability prevents someone from using a bank?

Genuine question.

No money would be one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 126 ✭✭skinnie

You could do a Home Alone on the burglars, paint cans and glue and feathers and marbles and the like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 Areolar

Start off by getting some new locks on your door.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

Start a kickstarter campaign with a sob story. You'll probably get half a million.