Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Motor Tax, could I get fined?

• 02-05-2015 8:19pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭

My motor tax expired the end of April (on Thursday) I paid it online for 6 months on Motortax.ie but I haven't received the tax disc in the post yet.

I was thinking of doing a bit of shopping tomorrow in Tralee but I'd be running the gauntlet of the Gardai who are all over Killarney due to all the boyracers with the Rally of the Lakes. I have my receipt which I printed off after doing the online tax. I'm afraid if I go out tomorrow I'd get caught and fined for non display of a tax disc. Car is insured and NCT'd etc but I made the mistake of not taxing it a few days sooner but I was just waiting for a few euro to come into the account On Thursday first before I took the hit on it.

I drive a BMW e36 automatic, totally original and unmolested and even though I am about as far from a boyracer as you could get to a guard I'm sure they'd just profile me as a boyracer as I'm my late twenties.

I'm almost afraid to risk it for fear I got pulled because of these eejits acting the maggot all over Killarney this weekend. Knowing my luck they'd fine me if they stopped me, even if I showed them the receipt print-out.

I really wish this rally would get banned as it causes so much trouble every year and drives the guards into overdrive and its the ordinary schmucks here around Killarney that suffer as result of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

Don't Park on the street and bring the receipt/email, guards should wave you on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

The receipt from the online tax shows you're paid up, it should suffice for all but the worst sort of garda. *not legal advice*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,761 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Your problem is really if it's parked on the street and a parking warden spots it and you won't be there to explain it has been paid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Your problem is really if it's parked on the street and a parking warden spots it and you won't be there to explain it has been paid.

And even if you are, it doesn't matter. Non-display of a valid disc is a separate offence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

What about the months grace? is that a thing of the past

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 619 ✭✭✭OUTDOORLASS

Unless it has changed, you used to get a months grace...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Sam Kade wrote: »
    What about the months grace? is that a thing of the past

No such thing has ever existed. Myth. Urban legend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,539 ✭✭✭dobman88

I had a similar problem when I bought my car back in November. I bought the car, my mechanic drove it home, I walked into town and insured it. Had no tax so went up to the Garda station, showed them the email that I'd paid it and they saif I'd be grand. The Garda I spoke to gave me his name and said if I'd any problems to contact him.

I live in killarney too and always found the Gards here easy to deal with if you're straight with them. Pop up tomorrow on the way to Tralee and say it to them. You should be grand then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,786 ✭✭✭slimjimmc

Unless it has changed, you used to get a months grace...
    The month's grace is only in relation to being charged arrears, that's what the confusion and myth originates from. You have one month to pay motor tax without incurring arrears (back tax at a higher rate) but at no time are you permitted to drive or park the car in a public place without tax or a tax disc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,549 ✭✭✭*Kol*

No such thing has ever existed. Myth. Urban legend.

You have until the end of the month following the expiry of your tax to renew it. You won't receive any fines within that month.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,549 ✭✭✭*Kol*

slimjimmc wrote: »
    The month's grace is only in relation to being charged arrears, that's what the confusion and myth originates from. You have one month to pay motor tax without incurring arrears (back tax at a higher rate) but at no time are you permitted to drive or park the car in a public place without tax or a tax disc.

You would be unlucky to get fined. I am sure there is some misfortunate on here who has received a fine within the month after expiry but I would say it's rare.