Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Abberley Court Hotel closes suddenly.

• 01-05-2015 3:07pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,821 ✭✭✭

The Abberley Court Hotel in Tallaght has closed suddenly, after emptying the place of customers and guests.

Statement from their Facebook page:

"It is with very heavy hearts and sadness that we announce The Abberley Court Hotel Dublin and Entourage Nightclub have ceased trading as of midday today. We would like to take this opportunity to thank all of our loyal customers over the past 20+ years. Please be respectful of all our management and staff who have just become unemployed at this difficult time."

Wonder what it's all about.
    The Abberley was always a great oul spot for a drink and a dance and it was one of the nicest hotels I've stayed in, both here and abroad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,278 ✭✭✭Dr. Mantis Toboggan

To the Dublin forum with you, us silage abusers could not care less about what happens up in the big smoke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,126 ✭✭✭Reoil

Damn shame it wasn't the Jackson Court.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,453 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

fussyonion wrote: »
    The Abberley Court Hotel in Tallaght has closed suddenly, after emptying the place of customers and guests.

Statement from their Facebook page:

"It is with very heavy hearts and sadness that we announce The Abberley Court Hotel Dublin and Entourage Nightclub have ceased trading as of midday today. We would like to take this opportunity to thank all of our loyal customers over the past 20+ years. Please be respectful of all our management and staff who have just become unemployed at this difficult time."

Wonder what it's all about.
    The Abberley was always a great oul spot for a drink and a dance and it was one of the nicest hotels I've stayed in, both here and abroad.

Are you joking? I stayed there once when visiting home and it was a dump. The pub is alright, I remember when the nightclub was level 4, not the greatest!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭Specialun

Unless they sell heroin or cocaine then they wont do much business in dublin

*****sniggers****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,782 ✭✭✭Xterminator

stayed there 3 months ago. grand hotel, room was fine, good craic in the pub.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

Ah Jaysus No. Where will go now for the bleedin Furst Communion?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

First place I ever got pissed in when I moved to Dublin.

Jeez.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Nama shut it down

They had staff knock on guests staying there and were kindly asked to vacate immediately. An hour later 70 staff were laid off /dismissed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,238 ✭✭✭Patser

http://campus.ie/surviving-college/abberley-court-nama-shuts-down-prominent-south-dublin-hotel

Seems a bit dramatic, especially at start of a long weekend, arrive at midday, sack staff, tell guests to leave, lock place up.

Patser wrote: »
    http://campus.ie/surviving-college/abberley-court-nama-shuts-down-prominent-south-dublin-hotel

Seems a bit dramatic, especially at start of a long weekend, arrive at midday, sack staff, tell guests to leave, lock place up.

Rediculous considering the bar has a lot of trade including hot lunches and the club is jammers every weekend

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,889 ✭✭✭✭The Moldy Gowl

Obviously more to this story

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,059 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

NAMA will re open it in time, as they did with many other hotels around the country.

It will probably be called the Tallaght Strategy Court.

Very sorry for the staff, not much notice there.. And the guests will have to find somewhere else on a Bank Holiday weekend.

I wonder what will happen to those guests who are out and about, and come back to find the place closed.

Someone knew this was about to happen. Madness there was not notification to anyone.

There was no need to shut it down so it could be put on the market in several months time .could have easily sold it as a going concern and give the staff a chance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,543 ✭✭✭Claude Burgundy

I love the title " southside hotel"...........eh its D24 not D4:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Imagine staying in a hotel and just being thrown out on the street mid stay :eek:

Or a knock on the door if you were in the middle of something else:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Or a knock on the door if you were in the middle of something else:cool:
    Like pressing your slacks?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,059 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Like pressing your slacks?

LOL,

In Tallaght they Iron their Trousers! ahem.

LOL,

In Tallaght they Iron their Trousers! ahem.

Or at least throw the track suit bottoms in the dryer.

OP as you can see, AH isn't the place for this thread.

Please try the appropriate regional forum. Thank you.