Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Suprise the bride

• 30-04-2015 12:31pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭

Hi folks, we're getting married abroad and so far herself has taken care of booking and making the day one which we will enjoy.

I don't mind this at all because im not a big fan of weddings. I would like to surprise her but as she has made all the arrangements/bookings and im finding it hard to think of something original.

Also the face that we have to take packed suitcases with us makes it even harder to surprise her. Ive thought of some nice jewellery which may be easy to hide in the suitcase but that seems to be throwing money at the problem.

Any ideas from the good people of boards or even some brides could tell me something they would like to be done for them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,658 ✭✭✭Milly33

congrats to you sounds like you have a dinger of a Ms to be...

Tough one now, mmmm what does she like!! then give us some kinda of idea to work with

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭ElleEm

Why don't you plan an excursion/ outing/ special dinner for while you are there? Or even plan a spa day at home before going abroad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 203 ✭✭MarieOC

If you're going away just the two of you how about video messages from people back home?

The video messages go down a treat. took part in one for a friends wedding and he shed a few tears, just got everyone to say something small to the happy couple.. You could have this on your phone so no need to carry anything extra

Where are you going too?

Why not contact your hotel and arrange a spa treat or, if she is staying in a separate room the night before, have a champagne breakfast organised her.

Or, tweet Ed Sheeran, see where in the world he is and ask him to serenade her if he's about! (I tweeted him to play at my wedding saying I would pay him with food and booze. No response yet) :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 254 ✭✭An Bhanríon

This is very low key, in a way, but I would have loved this the morning of my wedding...

A letter to tell her why you love her - what made you fall for her, why you want to marry her and why you are the happiest man alive that you will be able to spend the rest of your life with her. You could include photographs and a few nick nacks that remind you of different things.

Of course, maybe you plan to do this already, but, if not, this is where I would begin!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,694 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

The letter is a great idea!

I tried to come up with an idea and ended up making a slideshow with photos I got on the Q.T. from her parents and alternated with pictures of myself. Both of us from babies growing up and ending with one of us together. There was laughter and tears but it was lovely. Had it played on a big screen at the end of the 'speeches'.

Mostly laughter...jesus I was in some awful get-up as a kid!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭Atola

Milly33 wrote: »
    congrats to you sounds like you have a dinger of a Ms to be...

Tough one now, mmmm what does she like!! then give us some kinda of idea to work with

Everything she likes recently seems to be about weddings or getting ready for them/ getting fit etc! Shes really hard to surprise because, in her words she would rather no surprises to change the day itself and the events that she has organised.

We have 2 kids together so maybe something to do with them would be nice?

MarieOC wrote: »
    If you're going away just the two of you how about video messages from people back home?

We're taking friends and family with us

Where are you going too?

Why not contact your hotel and arrange a spa treat or, if she is staying in a separate room the night before, have a champagne breakfast organised her.

Or, tweet Ed Sheeran, see where in the world he is and ask him to serenade her if he's about! (I tweeted him to play at my wedding saying I would pay him with food and booze. No response yet) :)

Lol! I will try to do that! She has a thing for gary barlow (don't ask me why!) so ill have to get my people to contact his people! :D

This is very low key, in a way, but I would have loved this the morning of my wedding...

A letter to tell her why you love her - what made you fall for her, why you want to marry her and why you are the happiest man alive that you will be able to spend the rest of your life with her. You could include photographs and a few nick nacks that remind you of different things.

Of course, maybe you plan to do this already, but, if not, this is where I would begin!

That sounds cool, only thing is im terrible at putting things on paper! Usually for job applications she helps me do it! I used to take all weekend to write one page for my English homework.

The letter is a great idea!

I tried to come up with an idea and ended up making a slideshow with photos I got on the Q.T. from her parents and alternated with pictures of myself. Both of us from babies growing up and ending with one of us together. There was laughter and tears but it was lovely. Had it played on a big screen at the end of the 'speeches'.

Mostly laughter...jesus I was in some awful get-up as a kid!

Her family has kinda done that for her already. I was thinking about getting the kids names tattooed somewhere and keeping it a surprise. Only problem is hiding it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 763 ✭✭✭Pistachios & cream

Atola wrote: »
    That sounds cool, only thing is im terrible at putting things on paper! Usually for job applications she helps me do it! I used to take all weekend to write one page for my English homework.

I think thats an even better reason for you to do this. She knows how much effort you will have put in to it.

Her family has kinda done that for her already. I was thinking about getting the kids names tattooed somewhere and keeping it a surprise. Only problem is hiding it!

I don't think it needs to be that grand a gesture. I think the letter is magnificent idea. It's your words. Pure unadulterated love...in your words.

The letter would be loverly or even just plan something very nice to say for your vows.. You and the kids could try it together come up with something special I am sure she would be weak for that, and it wouldn't be messing with any of her plans.. Something simple is often better haha you could have the kids sing her fav gary barlow song.. we all have our weaknesses barlow isn't bad in fairness, im rick Astley fecking love him

Yes I might have to get old gary involved! Oly thing is if I tell the kids they WILL tell her! lol

Bribe them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,091 ✭✭✭BnB

Everything she likes recently seems to be about weddings or getting ready for them/ getting fit etc! Shes really hard to surprise because, in her words she would rather no surprises to change the day itself and the events that she has organised.

We have 2 kids together so maybe something to do with them would be nice?

I would try if possible not to make it about the kids. Of course the kids are very important to you and her, but this is your special day and you should make the gesture about her.

It doesn't have to a grand expensive gesture. But it must look like you have thought about it and put effort into it. It's not the actual gesture itself that she will appreciate but the fact that you wanted to do something special for her.

I think the idea of the idea of the letter was nice. But don't just write it out on the back of a beermat. Go get some nice paper and a fancy envelope, maybe actually a nice card as well. Then, get it delivered to her room the morning of the wedding with something like a single red rose and maybe a small bit of jewelery.

BnB wrote: »
    I would try if possible not to make it about the kids. Of course the kids are very important to you and her, but this is your special day and you should make the gesture about her.

It doesn't have to a grand expensive gesture. But it must look like you have thought about it and put effort into it. It's not the actual gesture itself that she will appreciate but the fact that you wanted to do something special for her.

I think the idea of the idea of the letter was nice. But don't just write it out on the back of a beermat. Go get some nice paper and a fancy envelope, maybe actually a nice card as well. Then, get it delivered to her room the morning of the wedding with something like a single red rose and maybe a small bit of jewelery.

Yes this is nice, just like my English days tho, do you have an outline as to what to write? It probably shouldn't mirror my speech.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 763 ✭✭✭Pistachios & cream

Yes your speech will be different. That is aimed at a public audience and therefore there are often things you can't say to a whole room that you write in a card.

Think of private moments ye had together. Times you spent together that you remember, funny times, romantic times etc.

Yes this is nice, just like my English days tho, do you have an outline as to what to write? It probably shouldn't mirror my speech.

This is private - just for the two of you - so it will be quite different to the speech. When you first met her, how you felt, what you thought; when you knew you loved her; why you knew you loved her; moments together over the years, etc.

This is just about you and her, for the most part.

Only you can say what you would like to put down.. You should get a piece or paper or even type it out, just say the first few things that come into your head.

Or you could make a list of this things you love about her and being with her, and yer family then work from there...

If you need any help Not with written it, but with lets say forming the letter or getting the English correct, I have lots of spare time if you wanted to email it on...

Really would be lovely to get something like this the morning of the wedding like bnb said maybe with her favourite flower or have the kids pass it on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 254 ✭✭An Bhanríon

Keep a piece of paper and a pen on you at all times (if possible!) and every time something nice comes into your head about your fiancée, write it down. Don't try to write your letter in one go as you will get flustered and won't be able to think! (Or that's how my mind operates anyway!)

Do you have access to a computer which your fiancée doesn't use? You could start a draft now and then come back to it in a week or two and do a bit of work on it every few weeks. That's how I wrote my wedding speech and it was very helpful. I think there was around three months between the first time I wrote it out and the final draft. And there was a big difference between the first and the final versions.

Anyway, no pressure!!! And just to mention, as I had posted on another topic, I was supposed to write something for my husband the morning of our wedding and didn't have the time in the end. He got it for the next Valentine's Day instead! Sometimes with the pressure of a wedding we don't get around to do all the lovely things we wanted to do.

Only you can say what you would like to put down.. You should get a piece or paper or even type it out, just say the first few things that come into your head.

Or you could make a list of this things you love about her and being with her, and yer family then work from there...

If you need any help Not with written it, but with lets say forming the letter or getting the English correct, I have lots of spare time if you wanted to email it on...

Really would be lovely to get something like this the morning of the wedding like bnb said maybe with her favourite flower or have the kids pass it on.

Thanks for your kind offer. I will definitely consider it. :)

Now I have to do this after that kind of support!

Keep a piece of paper and a pen on you at all times (if possible!) and every time something nice comes into your head about your fiancée, write it down. Don't try to write your letter in one go as you will get flustered and won't be able to think! (Or that's how my mind operates anyway!)

Do you have access to a computer which your fiancée doesn't use? You could start a draft now and then come back to it in a week or two and do a bit of work on it every few weeks. That's how I wrote my wedding speech and it was very helpful. I think there was around three months between the first time I wrote it out and the final draft. And there was a big difference between the first and the final versions.

Anyway, no pressure!!! And just to mention, as I had posted on another topic, I was supposed to write something for my husband the morning of our wedding and didn't have the time in the end. He got it for the next Valentine's Day instead! Sometimes with the pressure of a wedding we don't get around to do all the lovely things we wanted to do.

I keep sending myself texts on my phone about a couple of words long for the speech! Words that I can stretch into full stories and id like to say and hope she doesn't go near my phone!

I try that for this letter and see how we go. Id be the same trying to sit down and write it in full would kill me.

well done you have started that is the biggest hurdle over.. You can do it and she will love it