Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Buying a 4x4

• 28-04-2015 10:29pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,870 ✭✭✭✭

I've always had a sof spot for the Nissan Navarra. I'm looking to buy now. Probably an 08 -10 in the years. I've also been looking at the hilux. Is there any problems in these or the navarra's to look out for? The vehicle I'll buy won't be used for heavy hauling. Which is more reliable and better value for money?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,363 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

The Hilux would definitely be more reliable than the Navarra/Pathfinder but will cost more to buy too. The ass really fell out of the pick-up market here once the crash hit back in 2008 so anything newer than that is thin on the ground.

Mitsubishi L200 and Isuzu DMax are worth looking at too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,870 ✭✭✭✭Dtp1979

bazz26 wrote: »
    The Hilux would definitely be more reliable than the Navarra/Pathfinder but will cost more to buy too. The ass really fell out of the pick-up market here once the crash hit back in 2008 so anything newer than that is thin on the ground.

Mitsubishi L200 and Isuzu DMax are worth looking at too.

Thanks. But Navarra and hilux would be my main choices. What problems do navarra's give?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭mothoin

navarras are known to have a weak clutch, when I had one for work, I just found it poor on all counts! uncomfortable cab, not very ergonomic, the steering wheel was the only nice thing

Hilux are much nicer, but much dearer too, if going for one of these don't buy a vigo, they came from thailand and can have heater issues!

If i had the choice mine would be hilux 3.0 d4d

How often should the timing belt be done?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 560 ✭✭✭Flood

Drive a few Navaras before you buy, not the most comfortable.

Flood wrote: »
    Drive a few Navaras before you buy, not the most comfortable.

I have, find them grand. There's actually feck all of them in sale for some reason. I've tried car zone and auto trader. Anywhere else I should try?
    Still pricey enough. Average for an '08 is 10-11K

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,363 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

The recession killed the pick-up market plus the change to co2 based motor tax killed the Navarra.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,676 ✭✭✭kay 9

Navara would be my preference on those yrs. The 06-12 hilux had numerous problems. However, the pre 06 hilux was a bench mark yet to be exceeded. The only thing close in my view is the ford ranger and it's also quite nice to drive and live with. Does it have to be a pick up or are you interested the lc & pajero etc?

kay 9 wrote: »
    Navara would be my preference on those yrs. The 06-12 hilux had numerous problems. However, the pre 06 hilux was a bench mark yet to be exceeded. The only thing close in my view is the ford ranger and it's also quite nice to drive and live with. Does it have to be a pick up or are you interested the lc & pajero etc?
    Ye it's the pickup I'm after.
    The tax has changed on them?