Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What would you do if you found a sum of money?

• 28-04-2015 5:54pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,514 ✭✭✭bee06

Curious to know what people would do in the situation I found myself in leaving work today.

I found 70 euro on the ground and took it to reception so they could try and find the owner. What would you do in the same situation?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

Hand it in to nearest shop, whatever. It's not mine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,609 ✭✭✭irishgirl19

If I were u I would've just left a note at reception with your contact details in case anyone came looking for the money

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

If I found a wallet or a purse with ID id return it, if I found cash on the street id be straight off to Paddy Power, Punchestown started today op

bee06 wrote: »
    Curious to know what people would do in the situation I found myself in leaving work today.

I found 70 euro on the ground and took it to reception so they could try and find the owner. What would you do in the same situation?

same
    they usually put up a "sum of money found" notice then

Found a few bob at a ticket machine once at about 9am on a sunday with nobody in sight and on my way to the airport to fly home. Donated it to charity

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,821 ✭✭✭fussyonion

I'd keep it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Check to make sure nobody was watching then pocket it. I have been on the opposite end a few times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

Stick it in my pocket and keep walking.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,630 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

Depends where and when!

In the middle of the road with no way of identifying who it belongs to, into my pocket.

In a shop/premises, hand it in.

Saying that, I found money recently, and handed it into the receptionist. The guy who lost it went up about an hour later (after the receptionist had left) and there was no record of any money being handed in. Bitch!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭DareGod

Hand it in to the nearest Garda station.

I vaguely remember a thread on here before (where there also was possibly a poll?) and most people said they'd keep the money. A bit of a scummy thing to do, IMO.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

antodeco wrote: »
    I found money recently, and handed it into the receptionist. The guy who lost it went up about an hour later (after the receptionist had left) and there was no record of any money being handed in. Bitch!

How do you know? Did you know the guy who lost it? Did the receptionist call you afterwards to say she stole it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

fussyonion wrote: »
    I'd keep it.

Honest answer here.

Yeah, 70quid. I'd pocket it no bother.

If it was a major, major sum, let's say couple of grand or so, fcuk it, I'd keep that too. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,406 ✭✭✭PirateShampoo

I remember finding a wallet years ago as a child, I very nearly kept it until I seen the Milk tokens in it (Welsh version of Butter vouchers) and being a child brought up in a single parent house hold I knew how ****ty it would of been if my mum had lost the food money for the week. So I took it straight up to the local post office where the owner would of cashed her book in and has luck would have it I bumped into the owner in the shop frantically searching for her lost purse.

I got a pound for my good deed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭Stillhouette

I've had a lost wallet handed in to the Garda station, minus the €260 in it i had for my rent of course. It's a horrible feeling. I would leave a note to reception advising whoever lost it to call me. If it was just money found on the street then I'd keep it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,461 ✭✭✭Bubbaclaus

If it's indoors I'd hand it in. Outside on the ground? Straight in the pocket. That's 2 weeks of dinner for me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

I'd probably end up losing it tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

I'd probably keep in for a few days without spending it, and it nobody came forward looking for it I'd spend most of and put some in the poorbox.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,797 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

Burn it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 edword

have to wonder how stuck for money anyone is who can misplace or lose 70 euro, id keep it and buy something for myself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭LDN_Irish

I found a wallet stacked with cash in Dunnes a couple of years ago and handed it in. I speculated a lot on who might be carrying around a couple of grand and why but I'll never know. The wallet was old fashioned and battered so I think the person was old. I hope they went back for it. I handed a Galaxy S5 in last week in a kids play place. There's no real moral ambiguity to keeping something you've found like that, it's impossible to justify.

I'd keep cash on the street where there's no feasible way of getting it back to the right person.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,630 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

How do you know? Did you know the guy who lost it? Did the receptionist call you afterwards to say she stole it?

Now, admittedly it could have been the person after her. I knew the guy (found out afterwards). He went up to ask for the money and there was no money left/nothing on written down that money was left (its a 24 hour building).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭LDN_Irish

edword wrote: »
    have to wonder how stuck for money anyone is who can misplace or lose 70 euro, id keep it and buy something for myself

Ah anyone can misplace or lose anything. They might have had their mind on how they're going to pay their rent that month or they might have enough cash not to notice, you just wouldn't know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 265 ✭✭When the Sun Hits

Friend of mine found 50 quid in a Supermarket. He kept it, of course. Didn't share it with any of us - dick move IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭Miall108

Wipe my arse with it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,273 ✭✭✭flas

Found a wallet on the top deck of a dublin bus few months back,good bit of money in it, didn't know whether to look for I.d and track person down through facebook or hand it I so handed it in to bus driver, hope he didn't take any of the money out before giving it in. In those situations my mam always says it doesn't matter if no one else finds out you took something, you know and would have to live with it..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 193 ✭✭hagoonabear

Few months ago girl I went to school with put up on Facebook she just found a purse with someone's rent allowance and receipt outside the post office and that it was their own fault for loosing it that she's keeping it.

Real scummy girl btw lots of people started commenting saying right too etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭catallus

Aaargh! This reminds me of that time ten years ago I lost that €50 note I think it was in a carpark.

I still get mad thinking about that. :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 626 ✭✭✭Massimo Cassagrande

The old chinese proverb covers this well - findey keepey, losey weepey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

I've had a lost wallet handed in to the Garda station, minus the €260 in it i had for my rent of course. It's a horrible feeling. I would leave a note to reception advising whoever lost it to call me. If it was just money found on the street then I'd keep it.

That's a real dick move the way they took the cash out before handing it in. Trying to pass off to the gardai as being the good samaritan when in reality they're nothing but a lowlife thief.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Give it to my starving children.

Hand it in, or give it to charity.

If I kept it, I'd just be so bloody worried about karma.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,852 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

That's a real dick move the way they took the cash out before handing it in. Trying to pass off to the gardai as being the good samaritan when in reality they're nothing but a lowlife thief.

More likely someone else took the money and discarded the wallet. It wouldn't make much sense for the party who took the money to then turn up at a Garda station. What would be their motivation?

On a side note:

If I saw someone dropping a €50 note on the ground without realising it, I would go after them and hand it back. I think that over 90% of people would do the same.

This question was asked by researchers and 95% of respondents said they would return it to the owner. But they said that they thought that only about 50% of their fellow citizens would do the same.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

If I found some money in the middle of nowhere where there are no shops or houses around I'd keep it. If I found it near somewhere where it might be possible to hand it in to someone I would do so.

I once saw a woman drop something on the ground. She was in the distance so I couldn't tell what it was and I thought it was some rubbish. Then when I got to the location where she had dropped it I saw it was a big roll of €50 notes. It looked like there was about €1,000 in it. I thought for a split second about putting it in my pocket but instead I ran after the woman and gave it back. She mumbled something which sounded a bit like "thanks" but it was hard to tell.

I dropped a tenner in Supervalu a few months ago. I knew it was the only place I could have dropped it because the money was safely in my jacket pocket which was zipped up. The only time I could have dropped it was when I was getting money out of my pocket to pay for something. When I discovered it was gone, about ten minutes after leaving the supermarket, I went back to see if it was on the floor or had been handed in. It was long gone. Anyone who picks up money off a shop floor and keeps it is a scumbag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

I found €780 years ago in a shopping centre car park. I told the manager and parking attendant and left my name/number. I rang gardai and told them and left my name/number and rang the local radio station and again left my name/number. I put the money in an envelope in the glove box of my car and hoped someone would call.

About 7 or 8 months later I was selling the car and found the envelope, I had totally forgotten about it. I spent it on new wheels for the new car I was buying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Ruu wrote: »
    Hand it in to nearest shop, whatever. It's not mine.
    It isn't the shopkeepers either ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,686 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

If I lost my wallet with money, cards, licence etc, I'd be more than happy to have the wallet returned minus any cash as it would be a major headache replacing licence, cancelling cards etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 793 ✭✭✭LadyAthame

Guards..or the establishment....in the situation of the guards if it's not claimed within a certain time you keep it anyway...then if no one claimed it charity I guess..

look at this guy ...hero

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2643916/Homeless-recovering-meth-addict-living-Salvation-Army-shelter-finds-125K-dropped-security-guard-RETURNS-it.html