Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Best sushi in Dublin

• 28-04-2015 4:38pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 303 ✭✭

My personal favourite, having not tried them all, is Ukiyo on Exchequer Street. Anyone else's favourites?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,661 Mod ✭✭✭✭Faith

Moved from Food & Drink.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 758 ✭✭✭Rakish Paddy

I've never been to Japan, so I'm no sushi expert, but I'm a huge huge fan of Yamamori (any of the branches).

My other favourite is Musashi. There's one on Capel St. and one in the IFSC. Musashi tends to work out as the cheaper option for a takeaway.

I've been hearing good things about a place called Okayu on the North Strand Rd., but I don't think it opens during office hours, when I'd be in that general neck of the woods.

The absolute worst sushi I have ever consumed was at that conveyor belt on the ground floor of the Dundrum shopping centre. Ick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,597 ✭✭✭dan1895

Another one for Musashi. So cheap and such friendly staff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,661 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

Yamamori has awful sushi.

The sushi in Arisu on capel st is not great,
    In kimchi on Parnell st it is OK,
    Banyi in templebar round the corner from the hard rock cafe is good,
    but Musashi is probably the best I've had in Dublin.

Not tried ukiyo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 303 ✭✭Jimmy Rabbitte Snr

Have Musashi booked for this weekend. Can't go wrong by the look of things!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

Musashi is very good. Tani is also great, and delivers. It's been a while since I went to Mitsuba but it was good last time I was there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,905 ✭✭✭Aard

For price:quality ratio, definitely Musashi.

It's been a while since I've been to Yamamori but I remember it being tasty and expensive.

retalivity wrote: »
    Yamamori has awful sushi.

Really? It's a bit on the pricey side, but any meal I have ever had there (and that's quite a few at this stage) was lovely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 391 ✭✭twerg_85

Really? It's a bit on the pricey side, but any meal I have ever had there (and that's quite a few at this stage) was lovely.

Yup, Yamamori sashimi platter is excellent. Expensive though.

Banyi (or whatever it's called) is very nice (based on one visit).

Kokoro on Liffey/Abbey st. does a decent takeaway if looking for somewhere quick for lunch.

F.

twerg_85 wrote: »
    Kokoro on Liffey/Abbey st. does a decent takeaway if looking for somewhere quick for lunch.
    F.

I go there once in a while. I wasn't crazy about some of the fish-based stuff I got there, but the seaweed gunkan is absolutely out of this world. I haven't seen it in any other place yet in Dublin - the only other place I ever saw this stuff for sale was in a sushi place in Riga.

The other place I have heard people rave about is Michie Sushi. There's one hidden away somewhere in Ranelagh, another one in that big ugly Beacon complex in Sandyford and another one in Dun Laoghaire. I had a look at the menu myself and wasn't enticed as a lot of their sushi rolls seemed to contain mayonnaise (*puke*).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,378 ✭✭✭mojesius

Another vote for Musashi. You won't be disappointed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,175 ✭✭✭cosmic

Any thoughts on Michie Sushi in Ranelagh? Contemplating getting takeaway from them this weekend.

cosmic wrote: »
    Any thoughts on Michie Sushi in Ranelagh? Contemplating getting takeaway from them this weekend.

I never thought the menu looked particularly inspiring, and I only ever had a single tofu temaki roll from there that I scabbed off my OH one day after I had already had dinner and it was grand. Herself and several of her friends are big fans of the place in Ranelagh though, and I have generally heard only good stuff about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 495 ✭✭Kathy22

kylith wrote: »
    Musashi is very good. Tani is also great, and delivers. It's been a while since I went to Mitsuba but it was good last time I was there.

Mitsuba closed down a good while ago. It used to be a regular haunt of ours but they kept jacking up the prices.

Not being a sushi snob but having travelled around Japan last summer it is so hard to find the same quality and freshness. We ate in some local places in Japan very cheaply and the Sushi was amazing. There is a Musashi chain over there with a good rep.

Anyway best I have had in Dublin is Musashi and Banyi. I found Banyi a bit more authentic in flavour to what we had in Japan and the staff are lovely. There is some dishes we tried in Japan including Takoyaki, okonomiyaki and grilled oysters and kaiseki cooking that I would love to see on offer in Japanese restaurants over here. Banyi do a pretty exquisite dragon roll.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 12,526 Mod ✭✭✭✭miamee

I'm no expert but myself and a friend do enjoy the odd trip to Zakura on Wexford Street. Always tastes super fresh and tasty :)

Went to Musashi on Friday night. The advice in here was spot on. The sushi was delicious, best I've had in Dublin. The staff there are excellent there too, very very friendly. Definitely somewhere I'll be going again!

Thanks for reporting back OP! Be sure to try out some other places too. Afaik Zakura is owned by the same people who own Musashi.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

Kathy22 wrote: »
    Mitsuba closed down a good while ago. It used to be a regular haunt of ours but they kept jacking up the prices. .
    Ah, that sucks. They did pretty good sushi.
    Not being a sushi snob but having travelled around Japan last summer it is so hard to find the same quality and freshness. We ate in some local places in Japan very cheaply and the Sushi was amazing. There is a Musashi chain over there with a good rep. .
    It's really amazing how cheaply you can get good sushi over there, I have some good (if hazy) memories of nights out in Y100 sushi places, that's only 75cent a plate!

Still can't find Hiroshima okinomiyaki here though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

Anyway best I have had in Dublin is Musashi and Banyi. I found Banyi a bit more authentic in flavour to what we had in Japan and the staff are lovely. There is some dishes we tried in Japan including Takoyaki, okonomiyaki and grilled oysters and kaiseki cooking that I would love to see on offer in Japanese restaurants over here. Banyi do a pretty exquisite dragon roll.

My personal favourites are Musashi and Tani in Terenure. For what it's worth, Tani do make some basic okonomiyaki. They also have a starter of aubergine and tofu with a homemade miso paste that I love. Plus soft shell crab rolls.

I'd also give a mention to Zakura on Wexford St - handy for a sushi grab when in the office

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,501 ✭✭✭lonestargirl

Musashi are now in Sandyford too, across from the Beacon where Aya used to be. Open for takeaway only at the moment but restaurant should be ready in a few weeks. I'm a fan of Miche Sushi but I got food from Musashi on Saturday and I think it was better.

Great to hear more and more sushi restaurants opening up. Maybe we'll eventually be able to get sea-urchin in Dublin!

Aard wrote: »
    Thanks for reporting back OP! Be sure to try out some other places too. Afaik Zakura is owned by the same people who own Musashi.

No problem, the advise was excellent. Some of you guys obviously know your stuff. I'm no expert in sushi, I'm relatively new to it in terms of varying restaurants but it is fast becoming my favourite food for a night out!

dudara wrote: »
    My personal favourites are Musashi and Tani in Terenure. For what it's worth, Tani do make some basic okonomiyaki. They also have a starter of aubergine and tofu with a homemade miso paste that I love. Plus soft shell crab rolls.

I'd also give a mention to Zakura on Wexford St - handy for a sushi grab when in the office

I have never heard of Tani but one to put on the list. I loved the variety of food in Osaka and the street food over there was great including okonomiyaki. I'll have to try it out for taste. Thanks Dudara.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,316 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

They have okonomiyaki on the menu in Okayu takeaway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,329 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

cosmic wrote: »
    It's got good reviews on this thread:
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=78460254

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,116 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

Kokoro Sushi on liffey street is the best. Best sushi and value. Musashi is overrated.

Ah here. Musashi and Kokoro are in different leagues! Who wants their sushi wrapped in plastic and sitting in a fridge for hours?!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,663 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

Haven't eaten in Musashi but have eaten in the Ranelagh and Sandyford Michie Sushi quite a bit. Food there is excellent however as with all sushi in Dublin, quite expensive.

Yep it's pretty expensive here alright. At least twenty quid for sushi for one. Comparable to a restaurant main course, but expensive compared to other cities. Hopefully as the market for sushi grows, prices will come down.

Ah here. Musashi and Kokoro are in different leagues! Who wants their sushi wrapped in plastic and sitting in a fridge for hours?!

Very true!! Kokoro isn't bad at all for a quick feed, but Musashi is a whole other kettle of ball games.

Kokoro isn't even the best sushi place on Liffey St. - There's a spot, called Ichiman, I think, and it's not bad at all. Got one of those Groupon-type deals there and got the chef's selection and it was surprisingly good.

Nah, I've lived in Vancouver so know my sushi and there isn't enough of a step up in quality to justify their prices. Michi is also disgusting as they tried to sell me tinned tuna and salmon sushi in their 33 large set.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,591 ✭✭✭Tristram

Let's be frank. The average standard of sushi (or Japanese food in general) in Ireland is quite poor. I'm sure there are lots of reasons as to why but I don't know them myself. Of the restaurants I've been to in Dublin I feel the least bad giving my hard-earned money to Musashis. In Yamamoris I believe I'd be better served by paying them for permission to prepare my own food, but I don't have enough money to begin with. Incredibly poor value for money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,456 ✭✭✭✭ibarelycare

Another fan of Musashi here :) I've been to both their Capel Street and IFSC restaurants. Capel Street is lovely and intimate and as, others have said, it has a BYOB option for wine (€6 corkage). The IFSC restaurant is much bigger and more modern and would be great for groups of friends. Unfortunately they don't offer BYOB.
    I've been hearing good things about a place called Okayu on the North Strand Rd., but I don't think it opens during office hours, when I'd be in that general neck of the woods.

Had Okayu once when I was living around that area, it's very good quality. I'd never had sushi delivered before and wasn't sure how it would be, but it was lovely and fresh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 567 ✭✭✭Skittlebrau

Not an expert by any means but I did live in Melbourne for a few years which does have a decent Japanese population and plenty of sushi places.

I liked Mushashi (IFSC) the one time I was there.

Yamamori is grand but definitely expensive.

Place I've been to most recently is Fujiyama on O'Connell Street (above Burger King). Very tasty and lovely staff. Decent value too. Have been back a couple of times already.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Michie Sushi I hear from a lot of people as their favourite in Dublin. We ordered it to work a few times and it was very nice. I don't eat meat so can't comment on that.
    Must try kokoro (v cheap) and musashi. Ukiyo was very nice when I ate in there, great. Did some karaoke after. :pac:

Can someone recommend a sushi restaurant where they wont throw me out because I cannot use chopsticks?

I just can't. I've been trying to learn for ten years and I can't, ok?!

Literally every asian restaurant will oblige if you ask for a fork.

Can someone recommend a sushi restaurant where they wont throw me out because I cannot use chopsticks?

I must admit I am no expert in Japanese dining etiquette, but as far as I know it's generally acceptable to eat sushi with your hands rather than chopsticks.

I've heard of eating sushi with one's fingers before. Afaik it'd only be with nigiri. Is it even that common in Japan? The alternative is to practice with chopsticks! It's really not that difficult once you know how to hold them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 828 ✭✭✭Travel is good

Thank you all for the recommendations for Musahi, I tried the Capel St. Branch on Saturday afternoon. It was as you say, sublime! Very good. It was pretty busy ( a good sign) so you might need to wait a while for a table. There was no problem in asking for cutlery. I am only a novice at sushi, so I'm not ashamed to ask for the cutlery. I will be back, I've found my new favourite restaurant.

I've heard of eating sushi with one's fingers before. Afaik it'd only be with nigiri. Is it even that common in Japan? The alternative is to practice with chopsticks! It's really not that difficult once you know how to hold them.

Japanese people from what I experienced over there are very concerned with dining etiquette and cleanliness. I never saw anyone eat with their hands the whole time I was there with the exception of street food which a lot of the time is served with a toothpick or skewer. I am still bad with chopsticks but gave it my all over there and returned home only marginly better :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,834 ✭✭✭Useful.Idiot

anyone have any opinions on J2 Sushi on North Wall Quay? The glass building looks beautiful overlooking the canal and have heard great things about the quality of sushi there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 132 ✭✭CatLou

J2 in my experience - been there in 4 different occasions last year - can be very hit or miss, I don't like the size of the rolls and it's a tad more expensive than other options nearby.
    They once served salad with soggy old leafs (eeeek) and another time the bean pods weren't prepared properly. However they have some interesting sushi combinations and it's very pleasant to eat there on a sunny day.

I know a lot of people who seem to really really like this place, so maybe I'm just a snob or unlucky :P

Never been to J2 but have heard it's very expensive for what you get.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,591 ✭✭✭Tristram

anyone have any opinions on J2 Sushi on North Wall Quay? The glass building looks beautiful overlooking the canal and have heard great things about the quality of sushi there.

One of the few places I've been to that I actually felt compelled to write a letter to complain. I have no idea how they are in business given the outlandish prices and woeful quality. Walk a few minutes up to NCI and get much tastier food for a better price at Musashi.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,456 ✭✭✭✭ibarelycare

Went to Tani in Terenure last night for the first time and was very impressed. I would put it on par with Musashi. Ingredients were so fresh and delicious. Prices are very reasonable too, and they have a BYO policy (€5 per bottle of wine, €1 per bottle of beer).

Was back in Musashi this evening, and I'm still happy to call it the best in Dublin. Emphasis on the "in Dublin". It's still just "good" sushi, not "best ever" sushi or any other superlative. I hope that there's enough of a market developing in Dublin for sushi restaurants to start offering more daring (by Dublin standards) fish/seafood.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,068 ✭✭✭tfak85

Has anyone seen the menu for Dylan Mc Graths new sushi place, opening in Rustic Stone?

Apparently it includes otoro (fatty tuna) which I am extremely excited about.

Otoro was easily the most delicious mouthful of food I've ever had, lucky enough to have spent two great holidays in Japan and would love to go back!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,661 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

Ive seen articles and pics about it online, but cant actually find a sushi menu anywhere.

The actual restaurant menu only has a reference to sushi in a tuna on a stone main dish and a fruit dessert