Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Abuse on the street

• 28-04-2015 9:06am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 322 ✭✭

Apologies Mods if this is not the right place for this, I read the charter and I can't see anywhere better.

My walk to work takes me past the National Concert Hall each morning. 3 times in the last few months I've been verbally abused by a stranger here, twice indirectly and once, today, fairly directly and aggressively. This man clearly has some issues of his own and I don't know if he is singling me out for the abuse or if he does this regularly to other women around Dublin. I don't know if it's ok to give a description of him so I'll refrain for now.

The first time was late last year when he made a comment about how all women are lazy and why they bother getting out of bed is a mystery to him, he didn't say it to me directly but I was the only person in earshot so clearly he was referring to me. I tweeted about it and laughed it off him being some random d*ckhead. The second time was last week when he passed me, looked up at some builders and said "ah that's real man's work", again, a bit weird but whatever. This morning, he turned looked right at me and snarled "lazy f***".

I'm not sure if there's something I should do about this or if there's anything I can do. Would the guards laugh me out of it if I reported my concern? I could be paranoid but I'm a bit worried that the next time he might go beyond comments and actually try to lash out at me. I'm also 6 months pregnant so not in any state to fight back. Changing my walk to work is not really option (again see pregnancy - takes me long enough as it is) and why should I because of this person? I've done nothing wrong here.

Should I just forget him/try to avoid him or report him?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 666 ✭✭✭DeltaWhite

Earphones are your best friend :) I am seriously anti social when it comes to being out and about in town. I wont speak to anyone, I ignore everyone and just concentrate on the music playing in my earphones. There are plenty of nutters in town shouting about the bible and other random tripe. But if you cant hear them then it wont bother you as much.

If you are in fear of your life because of this chap, then take a trip to the local Garda Station in that area, see what they say. Avoid him if at all possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,656 ✭✭✭✭Tokyo

It sounds like it's just somebody with mental issues who will shout at anybody passing by, to be honest. You can let the police know, but it's quite possible that thy are already aware of him. I'd treat it as such and just avoid him on your walk to work in future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,411 ✭✭✭✭woodchuck

It just sounds like a random crazy person to me and that you're not being singled out.

If you want to avoid him though, you don't have to change your whole route, you could just cross over to the other side of the road?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,217 ✭✭✭pookie82

What I'd do is call it in in any case, just so it's on record, and see if he's known to the police. Quite likely he is, and they might do something about it, i.e. have a word with him or move him along or something.

I wouldn't just leave it go. They might do nothing at all but at least you've notified someone.

Does he literally just hang about the street? If he's snarling at you and being verbally abusive (as opposed to just making generic offensive comments that you overhear) I'd report it, no one should have to put up with that from someone they see regularly on their route to work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,077 ✭✭✭Saralee4

and im sure you already know, but just not to make any kind of response even eye contact to him. Just completely ignore him because if you engage with him or retaliate, you wouldn't know how he would react.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

I don't think you should just ignore and pretend it's not happening...I know from experience how deeply unpleasant this kind of thing can be (even if he's just a run of the mill headcase) and how disproportionately upsetting it can be!

I'd pop into the nearest garda station and just let them know about him and the fact that he regularly makes a nuisance of himself, as well as being downright abusive to people. It's just a complaint, so that they have it on record. I'd be amazed if they weren't already aware tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Galway has a few of these charachters. We had a thread on boards about them all!

The Gardaí will be aware of him already but no harm of you want to tell them what you've posted here.

Don't let this stress you out. Simply crossing the road on your route would solve this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 322 ✭✭Dobbit

pookie82 wrote: »
    Does he literally just hang about the street? If he's snarling at you and being verbally abusive (as opposed to just making generic offensive comments that you overhear) I'd report it, no one should have to put up with that from someone they see regularly on their route to work.

He doesn't hang around, he seems to be on his way somewhere as it's always around the same time of the morning I encounter him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 779 ✭✭✭ChannelNo5

Bloody hell that's terrible. what an ar$e!! i walk that way myself but have not encountered him, though as others suggest i'm usually wired for sound. what struck me is that I pass a lot of the girls going to LOTG along that road. I hope he's not doing that to them but probably. if he's doing it to a pregnant lady.

I think there's no harm in going into the garda station and just telling them whats happened. if they already know, then you may get some small comfort in knowing that he's not singling you out. it sounds like mental health issues with this man but if he is frightening you and others, that is not OK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 322 ✭✭Dobbit

ChannelNo5 wrote: »
    Bloody hell that's terrible. what an ar$e!! i walk that way myself but have not encountered him, though as others suggest i'm usually wired for sound. what struck me is that I pass a lot of the girls going to LOTG along that road. I hope he's not doing that to them but probably. if he's doing it to a pregnant lady.

I think there's no harm in going into the garda station and just telling them whats happened. if they already know, then you may get some small comfort in knowing that he's not singling you out. it sounds like mental health issues with this man but if he is frightening you and others, that is not OK.

Thankfully it's usually after the start of school (I usually get to work around 9.30), I would hate to think of him saying stuff like that to young/teenage girls :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 878 ✭✭✭Kurn

Shrug it off, I seem to attract them myself, the crazies, the suggestion of headphones, is probably the best option, eyes forward and he probably wont even start at you, or whip out your phone (at a safe distance) and pretend there is something important on the screen, or funny - and he is not even part of your world. Might seem a bit much, but if it's bothering you that much - that's what I would do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,169 ✭✭✭denhaagenite

I had a drunkard shouting at me at the self service checkout in the Sligo Tesco once, trying to pay for his bottle of Absolut. I was running out the door with him shouting "Why are you being so ignorant??" after me. It's funny now but was quite startling at the time

If it makes you feel better OP, just let the local Gardaí know about the guy. He probably can't help it, and it's certainly not personal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

theres a methadone clinic or something similar on harcourt street just down the road. I used to work around there and you had all sorts of nutters uttering crap everytime you'd walk outdoors, its not just you OP I can promise you that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,948 ✭✭✭Sligo1

I had a drunkard shouting at me at the self service checkout in the Sligo Tesco once, trying to pay for his bottle of Absolut. I was running out the door with him shouting "Why are you being so ignorant??" after me. It's funny now but was quite startling at the time

If it makes you feel better OP, just let the local Gardaí know about the guy. He probably can't help it, and it's certainly not personal.

There are so many of those chaps/chapesses that hang around that tesco arcade!

I've had a similar experience around that area OP, I was just walking down the street minding my own business and this man walked right up to me a screamed "fkn whore" in my face. Got a bit of a shock I must say. I wonder if it could be the same person.

I agree that it's no harm letting the guards know. You shouldn't feel intimidated walking down the street.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,749 ✭✭✭Flippyfloppy

Flying Fox wrote: »
    I've had a similar experience around that area OP, I was just walking down the street minding my own business and this man walked right up to me a screamed "fkn whore" in my face. Got a bit of a shock I must say. I wonder if it could be the same person.

I agree that it's no harm letting the guards know. You shouldn't feel intimidated walking down the street.

Sounds like our guy alright ^^^

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

I would tell the gardai as much for his own protection as anyone elses. He might just target the kind of person who will retaliate one day. There's also no way of knowing what this guy's problem is and if he might turn physical.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,152 ✭✭✭noway12345

Why do they always pick on the people that wont be able to flatten them? Like a 6 month pregnant woman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,162 ✭✭✭CollyFlower

My sister had the same problem, some guy would curse at her in passing, call her a names, it wasn't personal, as he did it to others, .... It may be that he has touretts.

noway12345 wrote: »
    Why do they always pick on the people that wont be able to flatten them? Like a 6 month pregnant woman.

If my then-6 month pregnant sister was any indication, then she could flatten pretty much anyone. Sort of like a rampaging rhino.

OP, though they're probably known to the cops, I would suggest you inform them about it. I'm not fully certain as to what they could do, but it would be good to lodge your complaint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 883 ✭✭✭davmol

I pass by about 5 of these every day walking up talbot street on my lunch.I find them hilarious and never feel threatened.One 70 yr old drunk outside a well known pub always spots me from afar while hes out having a smoke and lets rip with some verbal abuse.I actually start giving it back and the 2 of us have a laugh together.

I woudlnt worry about it and dont be paranoid,the abuse is directed at anyone in their view.