Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is it too late to start using Facebook?

• 26-04-2015 3:59am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 512 ✭✭✭

The whole Facebook thing passed me by (I was very busy), but for the last few months, I've been thinking I'd like to sign up. However, I'm wondering if it's too late.

Will I look like an eejit asking people to join me on Facebook (or whatever the verb is), when they've been on it for 5, 7 years?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

No, it's not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,101 ✭✭✭dickwod1

Yes, its 05:05 go to sleep :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,885 ✭✭✭Optimalprimerib

Considering you are posting this here for people you don't know or give a sh1t about to validate your opinion, you will be well suited to facebook, where it will be people you barely know and don't give a sh1t about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 512 ✭✭✭Asarlai

dickwod1 wrote: »
    Yes, its 05:05 go to sleep :pac:

:) It's only midnight where I am.

...although it is midnight on a Saturday night....:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,590 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Must have been fierce busy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,499 ✭✭✭porsche959

Dude, Facebook is history, totes over. It's all about InstabebogogogoPinTwat these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,590 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Pick your poison with these things.Nobody has time for Boards,Facebook,Twitter and whatever else the kids are down with these days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,745 ✭✭✭Macavity.

Nope, it's certainly not too late. It's not going away anytime soon. I only joined up a year and a half ago, as I generally dislike such things. I've found it to be a valuable tool, as well as a source of anxiety and apprehension in other ways.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 108 ✭✭lickme

Full of attention seekers. I do not want to see your holiday pictures, I do not want people to see pictures of your children or people saying "u okay hun"?

lickme wrote: »
    Full of attention seekers. I do not want to see your holiday pictures, I do not want people to see pictures of your children or people saying "u okay hun"?

Hunreal!

or your cat..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,169 ✭✭✭Wang King

or your cat..

I like when women put up.pictures of their cat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 210 ✭✭Emsloe

Not too late at all. I think most people understand now why plenty of people aren't on it. No desire to be treated to a stream of embellished life stories, 'omg date night with hubby', 'holiday booked', due dates or rustbuckets people have for sale. Kinda jealous you escaped it all so long actually!

Emsloe wrote: »
    Not too late at all. I think most people understand now why plenty of people aren't on it. No desire to be treated to a stream of embellished life stories, 'omg date night with hubby', 'holiday booked', due dates or rustbuckets people have for sale. Kinda jealous you escaped it all so long actually!

U ok hun?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

If you want to join go ahead and do it. Stop worrying about how you'll be perceived by long term members, why should you give a dam?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 210 ✭✭Emsloe

porsche959 wrote: »
    U ok hun?

Just crazy stressed with all the stuff I have going on hun. Ring me later and I'll update you xxxxxxxxxx

<and now everyone we both know on facebook is intrigued and concerned for my welfare all at the same time> Winning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,047 ✭✭✭GerB40

5 or 6 years ago I was already annoyed by the banal shyte I'd see on Facebook when one morning I logged in and saw two posts in succession that read something like this.

"Like this page if you hate cancer" (as if if I didn't like it I somehow liked cancer?!?)

and

"OMG I HAVE LIKE FIVE MINUTES TO GET TO THE BUS AND I BARELY HAVE MY COCO POPS EATEN. SHOULD I RISK TEA OR NOT?".

I think a actually shouted at my computer screen "If you're so fúckin late then get the fúck off Facebook" but that tactic was clearly pointless so within minutes I deactivated my account. These days I hear it takes a few days to deactivate, the sneaky bastards...

Now FB does have its upsides. Easy communication with friends and family all over the world being probably the best thing about it but you will have to wade through things like people telling you what they had for breakfast, sharing far too much information to the public and of course the hypocrites who say things like "PPL TALKING SHÍT BEHIND YOUR BACK, BUT I KNOW THINGS!!!!".

So my two cents is that you should join, if only to see whether it's for you or not. It's very handy for prying into other people's lives (if that's your thing) but you shouldn't feel guilty about that. If people are willing to share every last pointless detail about their lives just for a couple of likes then really they're to blame. But be ready to have your patience tested...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,310 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

I joined for the first time last week. Unreal for perving. OP it's not too late. I've already got 300 friends... Most of whom I've never met!

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭MRnotlob606

Facebook is the place where egotists have open forum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,065 ✭✭✭crazygeryy

I joined for the first time last week. Unreal for perving. OP it's not too late. I've already got 300 friends... Most of whom I've never met!

Unreal for perving.please explain.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,086 ✭✭✭TheBeardedLady

One of my closest friends joined last week and has shared about 10 "If you don't share this photo of this sad-looking child, she will die!" yokes in about 5 days. She'll learn in time. Or not.

In 71 days I'll be in Spain. Counting down the days.

Seriously?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,960 ✭✭✭✭Discodog

Ask a teacher. They tell me that virtually every incident of fighting, bullying etc is caused by comments on facebook.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,089 ✭✭✭✭looksee

There is a lot of garbage on fb. But if you hunt around a bit there are some really good pages where people talk about a common interest and there is a surprising amount of knowledge and experience to follow.

You do not have to have the daily 'I'm having a cuppa' stuff if you do not want. You can filter friends into people you want to hear from and -without them knowing and without having to unfriend them - people you do not want to hear from. I pretty well automatically put all the people who do nothing more than 'share' endless tedious stuff on the 'don't annoy me' list.

I almost never use my personal page, I keep it private and just use it as the starting point for communicating with people and groups that I do want to keep in touch with.

Guave Lime wrote: »
    How about you in follow or u friend people who annoy you.

Couldn't do that hun. xxx.

This is the shïte that annoys me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,717 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Just block content from people who post too much ****e, it's simple and sorts out the rubbish on your timeline.

Also, why accept friend requests from strangers ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,091 ✭✭✭Rubberchikken

no, probably not too late.
    i've never done FB or Twitter or Instagram or ...
    it takes up most of my energy/interest to write thissssssss

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭Lando Griffin

Wang King wrote: »

And Hunter is the family cat.

Looked up that profile. It's a pretty good summary of everything that is wrong with Facebook.

You'll also be pleased to know that Hunter is fine.

Basil3 wrote: »
    Looked up that profile. It's a pretty good summary of everything that is wrong with Facebook.

You'll also be pleased to know that Hunter is fine.

This may have been the perfect response

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,047 ✭✭✭GerB40

I don't mean to sound like a snob but I know I will so fúck it, join Twitter...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,960 ✭✭✭✭Discodog

Some facebook pages & Twitter are very useful :pac:

https://www.facebook.com/GardaCheckpointsGalway

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,065 ✭✭✭crazygeryy

But it does produce some gems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭LDN_Irish

No, not at all.

And FB is a grand way to waste 10 mins a day. If you're friends with people with similar interests who have what you consider a good sense of humour then you'll probably enjoy what they post and share. I have to wonder about people moaning about it as if they haven't actively added/accepted the people they are whinging about as friends.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

Saddest website in the world ever full of people being sad with their sad lives.

Mint Aero wrote: »
    Saddest website in the world ever full of people being sad with their sad lives.

U ok babes?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

U ok babes?

Dont wan tlk bout eh hun xoxoxoxo

^^^*( <3 4 eva.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

I'd go on Myspace if I were you.

Real underground, proper innit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Yes, it's too late for you to start using Facebook.

Hope this helps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,245 ✭✭✭myshirt

You need to get on to Tittygram. That's where all the cool kids are communicating now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭Adamantium

Whenever I hear "hubby", i always imagine a castrated man with the balls in his woman's purse, shoveling icecream and listening to her ****e.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 560 ✭✭✭Flood

Its only too late when you are dead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,353 ✭✭✭Cold War Kid

Why would it be "too late"? :confused:

Also, I get that some people post inane shyte (as opposed to my utterly Shakespearean and Wildean updates) - even people you like, and even when there are all these tools to customise your own Facebook account to filter out most of the crud.

But people giving out about how awful Facebook is - almost as if it's kinda oppressing them or something, yet who are still on it, for years... that, I do not get.

I like seeing people's holidays and kids and nights out and food too, once they're not posted at an absolutely spam-esque rate. I'm a good bit older than a lot of people here too though - I'd say there is some amount of manure on the Facebook pages of many many 18 to 25-year-olds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,407 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Try Facebuke OP. It's newer and owned by Joe Duffy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

Discodog wrote: »
    Ask a teacher. They tell me that virtually every incident of fighting, bullying etc is caused by comments on facebook.
    Cos bullying never happened before facebook?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Stop poking around Facebook then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 919 ✭✭✭Joe prim

Discodog wrote: »

You better tek dat back or well get ye in de yard,biatch!
    Me and me homees,righ ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

"Washing done kid's in bed.watchin xfactor wit a glass of vino. #blessed"

"aw u deserve it hun x"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,353 ✭✭✭Cold War Kid

RayM wrote: »
    "Washing done kid's in bed.watchin xfactor wit a glass of vino. #blessed"

"aw u deserve it hun x"
    I may not be a fan of The X Factor, but never under-estimate the feeling of bliss it gives a woman in her 30s (including this one - exceedingly so) to have all the housework done and to be able to relax in front of [insert TV show/film/website here] with a glass of vino. :pac: