Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

HAPPY St GEORGE'S DAY folks ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

A bank holiday for it would have been nice :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,611 ✭✭✭Valetta

Tally-Ho M'lud.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,657 ✭✭✭somefeen

Bravo old bean! Lets celebrate with some morris dancing and Pim's!!

*this post summarises my entire knowledge of traditional English culture

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

The Mother of Dragons would have sorted him out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,407 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Also World Book Day. And International Pixel-Stained Technopeasant Day.

Its a lot of days today. Better get started!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,841 ✭✭✭lertsnim

Happy 140th birthday to Uemura Shōen

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Arsemageddon

QUIT SKIVING ON THE BLOODY INTERNET AND GET BACK TO WORK!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,193 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

somefeen wrote: »

Let me assist you somewhat. Pimms is traditionally enjoyed while seated on the tailboard of a Range Rover. A proper Range Rover, not one of the Sportvogue Wayne Rooney's Hairdresser's Bathwater ones they also have nowadays.

Morris Dancing is usually the preserve of more rustic folk, and watched by the Pimms-on-the-tailboard mob, just before a hearty game of Dwile Flonking. Ooor-Aaarrr! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,740 ✭✭✭the evasion_kid

You forgot fish n' chips

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Won't someone think of the Lithuanian s?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,556 ✭✭✭the_monkey

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto

jimgoose wrote: »
    Morris Dancing is usually the preserve of more rustic folk, and watched by the Pimms-on-the-tailboard mob, just before a hearty game of Dwile Flonking. Ooor-Aaarrr! :D

Sounds like summit from Kenneth Williams' 'Ballad of the Woggler's Moulie'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭Plazaman

Wut, no parade guv'ner?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,342 ✭✭✭fatknacker

Why does he get a day and celebrated and a flag for killing the rarest animal on earth and I get arrested for kicking the common canine?

Yamanoto wrote: »
    Sounds like summit from Kenneth Williams' 'Ballad of the Woggler's Moulie'.

I assure you, it is very real!

http://www.britishpathe.com/video/dwile-flonking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

Is this the day when Lizzie hands out maundy money and blowjobs to the poor?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭KungPao

Here's a good old English song:

Gotta love it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭dd972

Tried to get over to spend a few days enjoying the craic in Basingstoke or Milton Keynes but the hotels were fully booked...:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,657 ✭✭✭somefeen

You forgot fish n' chips

And a jolly game of cricket with our chums

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

St George, a grand bunch of lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,151 ✭✭✭kupus

Happy Geordie day or is it Mike Ashley out day. Or is that everyday, I can't keep up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,906 ✭✭✭Streetwalker

Nothing to see here move along folks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

You spelled Pimms wrong. :p Speaking of which, I must get some fruit and whip up a jug of Pimms punch.

Cucumber is the secret to a good Pimms.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

for the day thats in it.......

(it is a tad gay isn't it? morris dancing)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86 ✭✭Madame_Diem

Wasn't St George a Palestinian or from the middle east. How did he end up become their Patron St.

He was born in Syria to Greek parents.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭R P McMurphy

It is also the anniversery of Shakespeare's death. Some contest also his birthday

...but the whoreson must be acknowledged! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,325 ✭✭✭✭Dozen Wicked Words

Happy St George's day. Bangers and mash for tea, then off to my local English themed pub tonight to celebrate.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,896 ✭✭✭sabat

I'm gonna celebrate by shouting loudly with my friends outside a chain pub in a sh1thole town centre then waffle about WW2 in an overpriced taxi home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,828 ✭✭✭stimpson

Happy Administrative Professionsls Dsy to all my Administrative friends.

http://corporate.hallmark.com/Holiday/Administrative-Professionals-Day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,041 ✭✭✭who the fug

Apparently it was a big holiday at one time and then fell out of favour , bleeding English never know how to keep a party going

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,166 ✭✭✭Beefy78

LordSutch wrote: »
    To all my English friends, and to all board.ie posters with English connections may I wish you all a very happy St George's day!

http://sd.keepcalm-o-matic.co.uk/i/keep-calm-and-happy-st-georges-day.png

Much obliged, sir.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,797 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

Happy St. Georges day to our nearest neighbours,

the only day you can be proud to be English and not get done for being racist.

Tally ho and by jingo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,056 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

I worked in a factory during college in Dublin in the eighties. Lots of the "hard man" lads had sovereign rings. They'd also consider themselves (armchair) republicans.

On closer inspection I noticed that stamped on their rings was a man on a horse slaying a dragon.

The shock, disbelief and horror when I pointed out what scene was unveiling on their expensive Argus bought gold ring nearly got me killed!:pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,448 ✭✭✭crockholm

To all The English posters on boards,I hope you have a great day and keep on being the brilliant,hard-working,funny,daft as a brush people that has endeared you and your Culture to the World, and remember that "there is a part,of a foreign boards,that is forever England"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

They had a 'St. George's Day' menu at the work canteen today. Mains was chicken curry, veg option vegetarian pizza... *shrugs shoulders* I dunno either!