Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Honeymoon 2016

• 22-04-2015 12:55pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭

I just recently got engaged and we are planning to get married in July 2016. She has already delegated the cars and the honeymoon to me which is right up my street. We are planning on going at the end of July 2015 for approx 2.5 weeks.

I would like to ideally go somewhere to relax for the first 3-5 days, then head somewhere else and then finish up with a couple of nights in New York. I really want to tie the caribbean in somehow and was thinking that a cruise could certainly help us get around for 4-5 days. No idea on Budget, would like to find something for 4-5k though.

If anybody has done something similiar and can advise on agents/locations etc it would be greatly appreciated!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 278 ✭✭Gers_punto

Not long after the honeymoon myself. I wouldn't recommend new york at all I hated it there. Can't exactly say what it was as it was a multitude but I think bad service in our hotel just put me in bad form.

What we did was a week in vegas and a week in new york we chilled out for the first 2 days in vegas and then got out and about to see it and it was amazing altogether herself agrees we should have done the 2 weeks in vegas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,771 ✭✭✭✭fits

Gers_punto wrote: »
    Not long after the honeymoon myself. I wouldn't recommend new york at all I hated it there. Can't exactly say what it was as it was a multitude but I think bad service in our hotel just put me in bad form.

What we did was a week in vegas and a week in new york we chilled out for the first 2 days in vegas and then got out and about to see it and it was amazing altogether herself agrees we should have done the 2 weeks in vegas

And I would think the opposite. Hate Vegas. LOVE New York. Such a fantastic city in my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,175 ✭✭✭angeldelight

A cruise coupled with NY would be amazing - we've done that as a holiday before and had an amazing time. Some cruise lines go from New Jersey and some from Manhattan - we've only ever gone with Royal Caribbean who sail from NJ - fly to Newark, stay in a hotel with a transfer to cruise port then cruise and when you get back to the cruise port you can take car service or shared minibus to NYC. We booked everything separately as it worked out better value but Trailfinders would put together a package for you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,846 ✭✭✭✭Liam McPoyle

dieseldog wrote: »
    I just recently got engaged and we are planning to get married in July 2016. She has already delegated the cars and the honeymoon to me which is right up my street. We are planning on going at the end of July 2015 for approx 2.5 weeks.

I would like to ideally go somewhere to relax for the first 3-5 days, then head somewhere else and then finish up with a couple of nights in New York. I really want to tie the caribbean in somehow and was thinking that a cruise could certainly help us get around for 4-5 days. No idea on Budget, would like to find something for 4-5k though.

If anybody has done something similiar and can advise on agents/locations etc it would be greatly appreciated!

We are going to Vegas for 4 nights, San Francisco for 3 and Cancun for 8 this July, costing €6400 for flights and accommodation, Cancun is an all inclusive resort.

Booked through American Holidays on Dawson St, they were circa €800 cheaper than Trailfinders.

The savings we could get by booking ourselves were marginal especially when factoring in the hassle of booking multiple flights.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,050 ✭✭✭Cosmo Kramer

dieseldog wrote: »

In a similar situation myself. Would like to tie in a US city or two with a trip to the Caribbean (although maybe not a cruise) but it seems as though July is not a great month weather wise for Caribbean holidays?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭dieseldog

Thanks for all the comments.
    Gers_punto wrote: »

I would like to visit New York at least once so I think I'd have to include it when I'm over. I've no interest in Las Vegas!
    We are going to Vegas for 4 nights, San Francisco for 3 and Cancun for 8 this July, costing €6400 for flights and accommodation, Cancun is an all inclusive resort.

Booked through American Holidays on Dawson St, they were circa €800 cheaper than Trailfinders.

The savings we could get by booking ourselves were marginal especially when factoring in the hassle of booking multiple flights.

Cheers for that. Will look into it.
    In a similar situation myself. Would like to tie in a US city or two with a trip to the Caribbean (although maybe not a cruise) but it seems as though July is not a great month weather wise for Caribbean holidays?

Crap.. I better google the weather.
    I like the idea of a cruise due to the area you would cover but it will be price dependant I think.

Did anyone book through northern ireland? Have a friend who recently booked a week in Mexico and 2 weeks in florida at disneyland for £4500. I'd say there's probably no savings to be got.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,846 ✭✭✭✭Liam McPoyle

£4500 is over €6800 at the moment, exchange rate is woeful currently.

I think I read somewhere that July/August is hurricane season in the Caribbean.

£4500 is over €6800 at the moment, exchange rate is woeful currently.

I think I read somewhere that July/August is hurricane season in the Caribbean.

That'll make for an interesting cruise! :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,175 ✭✭✭angeldelight

Technically hurricane season is June - November but July August & September would be peak months. To be honest it's generally not an issue - the cruise ships divert to avoid both the islands affected and the rough seas.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 467 ✭✭etymon

Hey there

I booked our honeymoon / wedding (we are multitasking) in Caribbean via Thomson.co.uk - much much cheaper than all other websites - you just need to book your Aer Lingus etc yourself to Gatwick or Manchester.
    You technically need a British address to book but just use a friend or relative's. I used Irish credit card to pay deposit no problem.

Congrats, I'm July 2016 too :)

Is it bad that I don't intend spending anything near that much on our honeymoon? I'm looking at a 5* in sharm el sheik, 14 nights, all inclusive and on beach for less than 2.5k

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,295 ✭✭✭slingerz

Congrats, I'm July 2016 too :)

Is it bad that I don't intend spending anything near that much on our honeymoon? I'm looking at a 5* in sharm el sheik, 14 nights, all inclusive and on beach for less than 2.5k

Was in Sharm el Sheik a couple of years ago and to be honest, weather is great but your very restricted to your hotel resort i wouldnt advise going outside on to the streets really. That said with it being 5 * i'm sure the resort is very fancy but i think you could find somewhere more stimulating but its all about personal preferences

Thanks, I'll bear that in mind. Island hopping around Greece and visiting the ancient mainland is also a contender.

Himself works abroad and it's not a direct flight home usually 2-3 airports. He hates the thought of going on a long haul journey and losing a day each way sitting on a plane.

I get where he's coming from so keeping it more Europe based for him but somewhere with the highest temperatures for me :)

etymon wrote: »
    Hey there

I booked our honeymoon / wedding (we are multitasking) in Caribbean via Thomson.co.uk - much much cheaper than all other websites - you just need to book your Aer Lingus etc yourself to Gatwick or Manchester.
    You technically need a British address to book but just use a friend or relative's. I used Irish credit card to pay deposit no problem.

Hey, friends of mine during the week actually said they booked through this company also so I will check in with them and see what they can offer.

Himself works abroad and it's not a direct flight home usually 2-3 airports. He hates the thought of going on a long haul journey and losing a day each way sitting on a plane.

Sounds like me. Is he going to continue doing that after getting married?

We are still going long haul for honeymoon though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 392 ✭✭Seanie_H

A girl in work recommended this place to me on Friday and I spent a few hours drooling over itineraries yesterday.

http://www.intrepidtravel.com/

If nothing else, you'll get some great ideas.

We change day-to-day but we're considering a 2 day stopover in Dubai on the way to Nairobi, some safari and trekking followed by a week in a resort down south, maybe Zanzibar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 783 ✭✭✭afkasurfjunkie

Seanie_H wrote: »
    A girl in work recommended this place to me on Friday and I spent a few hours drooling over itineraries yesterday.

http://www.intrepidtravel.com/

If nothing else, you'll get some great ideas.

We change day-to-day but we're considering a 2 day stopover in Dubai on the way to Nairobi, some safari and trekking followed by a week in a resort down south, maybe Zanzibar.

We did a trip to Uganda to see the gorillas in the mountains and then a week in Zanzibar. Booked through trail finders.
    (That's not much use to the op though, sorry)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,380 ✭✭✭.red.

Im married a while now but we did similar. We got married on the 28/12 and flew out on the 30/12
    We flew to new york and spent 3 nights there. We had new years on a boat around the harbour and it was fantastic. A great way to see manhattan all lit up. This is a great night out anyway, regardless of it bein nye or any night.
    After that we flew to Puerto Rico and spent 3 nights in a beach side hotel in San Juan. It was absolutley fantastic. We then took a cruise from here around the carribbean for 7 nights and back into San Juan again for 2, back to New York for 2 nights and then home. A real celtic tiger honeymoon.
    one bit of advise we got from the travel agent, who was a close friend we trusted and coming to the wedding, was to scrimp a little on the new york hotel. No point in anything fancy as youll get up in the morning, have breakfast and head out for the day. We took this advise and what we saved on the cheaper hotel, we spent on upgrading our room on the cruise and got a balcony.
    If going again and looking for something similar id go to new york first and then the cruise. You can go mad in the big city and then chillax on a beach or boat for the rest of the holiday!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 769 ✭✭✭annoyedgal

Thanks, I'll bear that in mind. Island hopping around Greece and visiting the ancient mainland is also a contender.

Have island hopped via Athens twice and would highly recommend it. fantastic food, beautiful weather and beaches, friendly people and great freedom to go between so many different types of islands. highlights were Athens, Milos, Syros and Mykonos.
    personally would choose this over a 5 star all inclusive honeymoon where you can't leave the compound due to poverty or safety issues. just my opinion but I'd find that very restrictive and lacking in a cultural experience.

annoyedgal wrote: »
    personally would choose this over a 5 star all inclusive honeymoon where you can't leave the compound due to poverty or safety issues. just my opinion but I'd find that very restrictive and lacking in a cultural experience.

There are in between options too though. Where you can get the luxury and leave the resort. Places we considered included morocco, turkey, bali, and we are going to malaysia.

fits wrote: »
    Sounds like me. Is he going to continue doing that after getting married?

We are still going long haul for honeymoon though.

Until the construction industry picks up, afraid so :(

Mexico seems to be calling me the last few days and can get all inclusive, 14 days, junior suite for under 3 grand so I may be able to persuade him. No panic on picking somewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 769 ✭✭✭annoyedgal

fits wrote:
    There are in between options too though. Where you can get the luxury and leave the resort. Places we considered included morocco, turkey, bali, and we are going to malaysia.

absolutely, there are loads of places that aren't like that. I was just comparing Greece to the resort in Egypt. We went to vietnam for our honeymoon and had an amazing time. Would recommend it to anyone. Would really love Bali, it's definitely on the list for the future. Heard lots of great things about Sri Lanka also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 793 ✭✭✭jaja321

Currently trying to decide between Mexico and Sri Lanka - both sound so appealing!