Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The shopping basket- overpriced gimmicks for Triathletes

• 21-04-2015 6:45am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,361 ✭✭✭

Iolite, integrated GPS in your OW swim goggles...who is up for a pair at $199? You program in the swim course, and LED will flash green if you are on-course, amber or red for typical Tri-type deviations. (Or you could just lift your head...)

Anyone tried a pair? Anyone got examples of any other Tri gimmick$$$?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭zico10

Kurt Godel wrote: »
    Anyone got examples of any other Tri gimmick$$$?

[IMG]https://lh4.googleusercontent.com/-QeYfghLzXhg/VNeC_78VBzI/AAAAAAAABQI/XUvBImk2Xfc/s640/IMG_0390.jpg" height="480" width="640"[/IMG]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,361 ✭✭✭Kurt Godel

^ I should have just bought the goggles and shut up ;)

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 8,766 Mod ✭✭✭✭mossym

well played zico. well played.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,468 ✭✭✭sconhome

Iolite, integrated GPS in your OW swim goggles...who is up for a pair at $199? You program in the swim course, and LED will flash green if you are on-course, amber or red for typical Tri-type deviations. (Or you could just lift your head...)

I know one or two lads who could do with a pair of these ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,435 ✭✭✭joey100

Isn't everything in triathlon over priced and a bit of a gimmick?? ;)

This gets my vote though, not sure of the point of it, can't leave boxes in transition and just looks awkward, but it is only £110!!!

http://www.triathlonbox.co.uk/triathlonbox-pre-order

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,584 ✭✭✭✭tunney

I can see merit in this if you set waypoints and it guided you from waypoint to way point. However it doesn't. its "are you swimming a straight line".

You can be sure you will see lots of triathlon boxes in Dublin 70.30 used by owners of these goggles who will breaststroke the swim.

My vote for biggest gimmick

http://www.nathansports.com/gear/performance-gear/lock-laces%E2%84%A2

If one learns to tie laces with a non-standard bow its just as quick - and more secure.

Any links to how to use a non standard bow? Don't find the elastic laces that comfortable, saying that I struggle to put a knot in a tie so wouldn't hold out hope.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,359 ✭✭✭peter kern

joey100 wrote: »

This gets my vote though, not sure of the point of it, can't leave boxes in transition and just looks awkward, but it is only £110!!!

ffs i was just about to offer ray 25 euro for his transiton backpack...

http://www.diy.com/departments/strata-110-l-plastic-storage-box/910958_BQ.prd

sheet of foam and a padlock. done. 20% the cost

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,557 ✭✭✭bryangiggsy

Jaysis....only 109 sterling...an absolute bargain!!!

Ah but that's missing the;

##Top mounted individual pockets so that the smaller items are at the top of the box exactly where you need them on race day.
    ##2 x water bottle holder / gel holder for maximum performance accessible at all times for rehydration.
    ##Fully lockable, to secure your valuables during the race, using a coded lock, so that no key can be lost during the race.
    ##By designing strength into the product it is strong enough to sit on anytime.
    ##1 x Divider tray to keep your clothes dry for after your triathlon race.
    ##Drainage capabilities post-race, for ease of cleaning post race.
    ##Designed to fit all popular models of road bike, triathlon bike and mountain bikes.

That's what the extra 80% if for!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭zico10

tunney wrote: »
    My vote for biggest gimmick

http://www.nathansports.com/gear/performance-gear/lock-laces%E2%84%A2

If one learns to tie laces with a non-standard bow its just as quick - and more secure.

I think they're great and at less than €10 they're hardly expensive. I'd have far more confidence in these laces not coming undone than any knot I'd tie myself.

zico10 wrote: »
    I think they're great and at less than €10 they're hardly expensive. I'd have far more confidence in these laces not coming undone than any knot I'd tie myself.

Who/what does that say more about though :)

zico10 wrote: »
    zico when you go the next time to the runhub ask mark for the real ones no knot ,no lock required and great to ajust to your needs before the race .

Who/what does that say more about though :)
    you wanna race him tunny ;-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,468 ✭✭✭sconhome

peter kern wrote: »
    zico when you go the next time to the runhub ask mark for the real ones no knot ,no lock required and great to ajust to your needs before the race .

Xtenex laces

you wanna race him tunny ;-)

Yup no bother. Just need to find a course with lots of turns and junctions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,075 ✭✭✭BTH

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,377 ✭✭✭pgibbo

BTH wrote: »

lol.....I was very tempted earlier but decided not to :D

In my defence I did say earlier
    Isn't everything in triathlon over priced and a bit of a gimmick?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 MJ481

And you lot are why so many people decide not to enter the world of triathlon.
    So many elitest groups mocking the people who can't afford £5000 bikes and £3000 wheels.
    Yes I agree some of the ideas brought out will never make the shop floor. Some however are peoples livelihoods. If you don't like the product, move on.
    Not sure I should ask what you get out of belittling someones blood sweat and tears....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 Triathlonbox

Hi Joey,

I'm the designer and inventor of Triathlonbox. I'd be very keen to know what you would be willing to pay as I'm working very hard juggling this with a full time job and I'm very open to improving my British made (VAT registered - so money is going back to the government). There are 9 different elements to triathlonbox 8 of which are made in the UK helping the economy to be stronger.

The cost I'm aware is £109 which includes free delivery to anywhere in the UK - but I'd be very keen to hear feedback so that I can help my fellow triathletes get to transition ready to race. Hope that helps and I look forward to chatting soon or maybe going shoulder to shoulder at a race sometime soon. I've been racing for eight years now from sprint all the way to Ironman - looking forward to the summer starting so we can all get out racing.

All the Best.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,373 ✭✭✭iwillhtfu

MJ481 wrote: »
    So many elitest groups mocking the people who can't afford £5000 bikes and £3000 wheels.
    Yes I agree some of the ideas brought out will never make the shop floor. Some however are peoples livelihoods. If you don't like the product, move on.
    Not sure I should ask what you get out of belittling someones blood sweat and tears....

So which product did you design?

I'm gonna go ahead and guess the box seeing as how both you and the supposed designer posting below have just set you accounts up and 1 post each.

Anyway my 2c on the box. It fits exactly as described in this thread it's not a requirement and if nothing else it's a bit cumbersome. There are plenty of similar bag versions. The price point is to high to be bought as a gift for someone and I suspect that would be where most sales come from. Also they're not allowed in transition over here perhaps more suited to Iron man or long distance but then the people that would buy this would want the Mdot branded version.

One improvement might be to put a handle a wheels on it similar to a suitcase.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 335 ✭✭JohnBee

This is soooo wrong. Must triathletes I know are on old road bikes, or low range triathlon bikes. Plus, ask anyone advice about starting in triathlon and the response is usually "use and old or borrowed bike and a low-mid range wetsuit".

As for livelihoods? Frankly if someone is depending on a plastic box to pay the mortgage then perhaps they need to wake up and smell the roses.

With all due respect but this thread is about that tri dosn't have to be so expensive to enter and that all you really need is 2 wheels a pair of runners and a surfing wetsuit.

I would suggest that when a 30 euro backpack can do all a 145 euro box can do, it is really not essential to have that box . besides with my backpack i go to races with, i do my shopping and cycle to the pool .

As for livelihoods? Frankly if someone is depending on a plastic box to pay the mortgage then perhaps they need to wake up and smell the roses.[/QUOTE]

i think that is a bit rude at the end of the day nobody is forced to buy the product its a free market and if ther is demand for it fair play.

And to be fair still a much better buy than a BMW or a Porsche...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 335 ✭✭JohnBee

As for livelihoods? Frankly if someone is depending on a plastic box to pay the mortgage then perhaps they need to wake up and smell the roses.

i think that is a bit rude at the end of the day nobody is forced to buy the product its a free market and if ther is demand for it fair play.

And to be fair still a much better buy than a BMW or a Porsche...[/QUOTE]

I wasn't being rude at all. The suggestion from the previous poster was that triathletes are elitist, and that listing products here could affect the livelihoods of people. Thus my statement is not rude at all, if a big company is making a useless device then it wont mean anything to their overall income if the product isn't bought (although the biggies are less likely to produce these types of items). As for hobbyist manufacturers, designing random triathlete equipment, it is correct that they shouldn't be depending on it as a source of income and the post suggesting that we might jeopardize their livelihood is slightly condescending.

Rant over :)

• Subscribers Posts: 19,425 ✭✭✭✭Oryx

I thought this thread was quite the opposite of elitist mocking. Its poking fun at a tendency to spend money on useless gizmos. And when it comes to the box, the manufacturer would do well to listen to honest criticism. To my mind it is a product that fulfils no purpose. Boxes are banned in many ITU and WTC transitions.

someone needs to learn the difference between price and value.

it's easier for a 5000 bike to be labelled overpriced, given the amount, yet not one showed up here. why? because the price reflects the value people put on it.not many here riding 5000 superbikes by the way.

what's listed here is items where the price far outways the percieved value. one of the items listed costs a few euros so your claim it's elitest hardly rings true. there are lots of toys, both cheap and expensive, which will never make the list cause the value is close to the price.

overpriced does not reflect the absolute price, it reflects the difference between the absolute price and the perceived value , and when that gap is big it is usually down to a lack of market knowledge, or an owner/inventor with a self inlfated view of what their product is worth. that or they think anything brought into a specific market should be expensive, as is often the case with tri.

@MJ481, I'm not sure why you think this thread is elitist? If anything people on this thread are trying to save others money and pointing out things they think may be over priced or not have much use for. I'd say if you looked through this whole forum you would see it's not elitist at all. There are threads set up by people who commented on this one around helping people improve their swim and another from a coach offering turbo sessions to people to help structure their training. This combined with all the advice people get when they come in and ask questions, including one lad who nearly had a whole programme designed for him by members here at no cost, shows that this forum is very welcoming to beginners.

@Triathlonbox, There are 2 things about the box I'm unsure of, but they are 2 pretty big things. 1 is the cost, £109 equals around €151. This is a lot of money for what is at the end of the day a plastic box. The main difference between yours and one I could buy in B&Q seems to be the shape, yours will fit over the crossbar of a bike. The water proof section and bottle holders could be useful but a plastic bag in my B&Q box would do the same thing. A sports bag and a dry bag would cost less than a third of the price of your box. And like one poster said I could use the bag then when I'm going to the gym, on the bike, going shopping.

The other thing is that boxes are not allowed in transition (in Ireland anyway, not sure of UK rules). So I don't see how it is any better than a bag.

Fair play on going out and making the box and getting as much as you can from within the uk, but unfortunately I still wouldn't buy one. For €20-€30 I might consider it but at €150, no chance.

The triathlon box is a gimmick and a rip off ... End of !

Seriously we are on the third page and no one has raised Dublin 70.30 as the biggest gimmick

"Here give us a fortune, then we'll let you do a swim we are not sure of yet really, a sh1t route on the bike, and then a run you could do for a fraction of a price in a race that has pedigree and the backing of a club (DCT), but hey you get to tell your friends you are an Ironman ("Did he say he was an ironman??? I thought they were skinny???") and buy an IM branded bed spread."

Even worse value for you. Tango told me that soon you owe me 100 euro for the bet you lost, using aib calculations :)

Seriously we are on the third page and no one has raised Dublin 70.30 as the biggest gimmick

"Here give us a fortune, then we'll let you do a swim we are not sure of yet really, a sh1t route on the bike, and then a run you could do for a fraction of a price in a race that has pedigree and the backing of a club (DCT), but hey you get to tell your friends you are an Ironman ("Did he say he was an ironman??? I thought they were skinny???") and buy an IM branded bed spread."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 708 ✭✭✭ray o

IM branded bed spread."

Deadly! I'm gonna check Amazon right now.

Even worse value for you. Tango told me that soon you owe me 100 euro for the bet you lost, using aib calculations :)

I've engaged insolvency advisors to look into getting advice on a write down of unsecured debts.

Also the race hasn't happened yet...........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

The other thing is that boxes are not allowed in transition (in Ireland anyway, not sure of UK rules). So I don't see how it is any better than a bag.

Fair play on going out and making the box and getting as much as you can from within the uk, but unfortunately I still wouldn't buy one. For €20-€30 I might consider it but at €150, no chance.

Not sure how legit they are within the rules, but I've seen plenty of people with small crates in transition at tris here.

I get the feeling you're starting to warm to this Dublin 70.3

Not sure how legit they are within the rules, but I've seen plenty of people with small crates in transition at tris here.

Not in any of the national series race you wouldn't any boxes bags are stripped from transition by the marshalls once transition closes.

You may have seen some prior to closing of transition.

I've engaged insolvency advisors to look into getting advice on a write down of unsecured debts.

Also the race hasn't happened yet...........

Also there may be an escape clause on the fact that this more than likely won't be a 70.3 get your tape measure out ;)

iwillhtfu wrote: »
    Not in any of the national series race you wouldn't any boxes bags are stripped from transition by the marshalls once transition closes.

RK's national series is a different NS to the one here.

mossym wrote: »
    RK's national series is a different NS to the one here.

Ah yeah didn't see the location. ;)

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

iwillhtfu wrote: »

RK is in the UK...so rules may be different there. They can even have non-wetsuit swims in the UK rules. Crazy stuff altogether.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

They can even have non-wetsuit swims in the UK rules. Crazy stuff altogether.
    I did a race last summer where the water temperature was technically too warm for a wetsuit legal sprint distance race under BTF rules (water was 22.5c) but the organisers made everyone wear them anyway because "elf'n'safety"...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 214 ✭✭ToTriOrNot

I did a race last summer where the water temperature was technically too warm for a wetsuit legal sprint distance race under BTF rules (water was 22.5c) but the organisers made everyone wear them anyway because "elf'n'safety"...

A wetsuit at 22.5C???? bloody hell, you SHOULDN'T be wearing one for health and safety!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 595 ✭✭✭rooneyjm

http://www.cepcompression.com/products/recovery-plus/recovery-pro-tights.html

What about compression tights for post training recovery. Fact or fiction?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 708 ✭✭✭ray o

rooneyjm wrote: »
    http://www.cepcompression.com/products/recovery-plus/recovery-pro-tights.html

What about compression tights for post training recovery. Fact or fiction?

Fiction. All you need is a decent post workout meal with a good blend of protein and carbs. Steak and chips should do it. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 595 ✭✭✭rooneyjm

ray o wrote: »
    Fiction. All you need is a decent post workout meal with a good blend of protein and carbs. Steak and chips should do it. :)

Yeah but the man in the shop said they definitely work?