Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Scumbags and First Communion.

• 21-04-2015 6:12am
    Site Banned Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭

Two identical recent courtcases outline the way some charming citizens regard the ritual of kids communion as a chance for boozing ,fighting and acting the scut.

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/man-ran-over-post-mistress-after-aggro-at-communion-31158355.html

There was another case where a woman was at a communion party in a house and attacked a Garda who was dealing with a separate matter outside,but I can't find the link for that.Anyway,between stretch hummers,overpriced outfits and some parents getting rat arsed at the "parties" is it not high time to do away with the whole outdated ritual?

The same scumbag behaviour happened at a BBQ on many sunny Summers day.

I know.....lets do away with the sun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,074 ✭✭✭pmasterson95

Tbh if we round up and exterminate the scumbags people will be upset.

You get brawls and stabbings and injuries at birthday parties, Christmas dinners, weddings...whenever people gather and there is alcohol involved.

Blaming Communions is possibly missing the reason.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,421 ✭✭✭major bill

''reversed over her''

what a knacker bastard he is, who'd be a prison guard having to deal with this scumbag on a daily basis

• Site Banned Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭Ralf and Florian

TheTorment wrote: »

BBQs are just having the craic.Communion is all about some religious ritual that no one knows the meaning of anymore where kids are dressed up in what look like wedding outfits.In fairness it just seems to have degenerated over the years into a meaingless charade where families either try to show off their wealth or drink themselves stupid.

BBQs are just having the craic.Communion is all about some religious ritual that no one knows the meaning of anymore where kids are dressed up in what look like wedding outfits.

I thought the violence was the issue for you in your first post, not the costumes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,379 ✭✭✭CarrickMcJoe

And Jeremy Kyle would be out of a job...

Nothing as bad as seeing adults sloshed in a pub on what is supposed to be the child's day. All they get to do is sit in the corner eating crisps for the day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,065 ✭✭✭crazygeryy

What sickens me is parents who think it's OK to spend the day in the pub after the communion with kids running every where while they get pissed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,380 ✭✭✭haveringchick

Two identical recent courtcases outline the way some charming citizens regard the ritual of kids communion as a chance for boozing ,fighting and acting the scut.

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/man-ran-over-post-mistress-after-aggro-at-communion-31158355.html

There was another case where a woman was at a communion party in a house and attacked a Garda who was dealing with a separate matter outside,but I can't find the link for that.Anyway,between stretch hummers,overpriced outfits and some parents getting rat arsed at the "parties" is it not high time to do away with the whole outdated ritual?

What you need to do is write to:
    Pope Francis
    The Vatican
    Rome
    Italy
    and tell him to stop the Sacrament of First Eucharist as observed by over 1 billion Catholics because you don't like drunken scumbags in hummers.
    You don'. Mind drunken scumbags in hummers at :
    Birthdays
    Hens
    Stage
    Wedding anniversaries
    Funerals
    Work leaving dos
    Dens
    Just communions.
    I'd say it's reasonable enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

Nothing as bad as seeing adults sloshed in a pub on what is supposed to be the child's day. All they get to do is sit in the corner eating crisps for the day.
    crazygeryy wrote: »
    What sickens me is parents who think it's OK to spend the day in the pub after the communion with kids running every where while they get pissed.

Wait, are the kids sat in the corner eating crisps all day, or running everywhere?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭conorhal

BBQs are just having the craic.Communion is all about some religious ritual that no one knows the meaning of anymore where kids are dressed up in what look like wedding outfits.In fairness it just seems to have degenerated over the years into a meaingless charade where families either try to show off their wealth or drink themselves stupid.

When I made my communion in the 80's, I did so in a second hand suit handed down from my cousin who'd made his communion the year before, it was a family affair with relatives in attendence and we wen't to a steak resteraunt (an unheard of treat) afterwards and then back to the house for some tea and cake with the grandparents, I don't remember a drop of alcohol being touched.

When did kids parties and communions become an excuse to binge drink? And you know what, it's not just the 'usual suspects', plenty of middle class and country parents are at this craic too. What a fine example to set.
    We really have developed disfunctional relationship with alcohol in the country and it's happened over the last 20yrs.

While not a fan of the current government the best thing theyve done is remove social welfare bonuses for communion.Its mostly going on drink and wasteful extravagance like pink limos and over the top dresses.If it was truly religious event they woulden't need any of that malarkey.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

What you need to do is write to:
    Pope Francis
    The Vatican
    Rome
    Italy
    and tell him to stop the Sacrament of First Eucharist as observed by over 1 billion Catholics because you don't like drunken scumbags in hummers.
    You don'. Mind drunken scumbags in hummers at :
    Birthdays
    Hens
    Stage
    Wedding anniversaries
    Funerals
    Work leaving dos
    Dens
    Just communions.
    I'd say it's reasonable enough.

Why would include another state and its city in his address?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

TheTorment wrote: »

You get brawls and stabbings and injuries at birthday parties, Christmas dinners, weddings...whenever people gather and there is alcohol involved.

Blaming Communions is possibly missing the reason.
    I thought the violence was the issue for you in your first post, not the costumes?

So the OP gives himself a high five as he's unearthed a plausible excuse to set yet another scumbag thread on its way to sea.

Then it gets fatally torpedoed, a minute or two into its maiden voyage.

Back to the drawing board.

anncoates wrote: »
    So the OP gives himself a high five as he's unearthed a plausible excuse to set yet another scumbag thread on its way to sea.

Then it gets fatally torpedoed, a minute or two into its maiden voyage.

Back to the drawing board.

Thats what you think.I haven't even started.:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,844 ✭✭✭Banjoxed

Not having stretch Hummers and slabs of Budweiser at First Communions makes the Baby Jesus cry.

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcS8Vi3UkO-Jh--rd1d4FqAnhYulG4YGJM3gnySdPHstiqX-cgza0A

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQ3BWelqhE3Diwjpd1m4rbVffEk0D0_31Z_zm9InchCX4gjh3FUhQ

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcS8Vi3UkO-Jh--rd1d4FqAnhYulG4YGJM3gnySdPHstiqX-cgza0A

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQ3BWelqhE3Diwjpd1m4rbVffEk0D0_31Z_zm9InchCX4gjh3FUhQ

One could find pics from the www of ridiculous and ott costumes at many celebrations, not limited to Communions.

Along with examples of drunken brawling and violence.

The cause of the drunken brawling and violence is not not the costumes. It usually is the drink.

The goalposts seem to be moving around in this one.

One could find pics from the www of ridiculous and ott costumes at many celebrations, not limited to Communions.

The cause of the drunken brawling and violence is not not the costumes. It usually is the drink.

Is drink really necessary at a kids celebration in the first place?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 565 ✭✭✭Taxburden carrier

Should really be called First and Last Communion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,530 ✭✭✭dub_skav

I've never been attacked by a beer or a glass of wine. The cause of the violence is always people

Is it really necessary to post up pictures of kids?

Regrettable collateral damage in the outrage wars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,895 ✭✭✭✭machiavellianme

I particularly like the picture of the judges gavel. Adds a lot to this story.

dub_skav wrote: »
    I've never been attacked by a beer or a glass of wine. The cause of the violence is always people

Ah the old 'guns don't kill people, people do' argument. While technically true, they do make it a hell of a lot easier, just as alcohol makes it a hell of a lot more likely.
    People in this country get really tetchy if you critisise their alcohol consumption, it's like taking a toy off a stroppy toddler after he's belted his sister with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Is communion still part of the school curriculum in Ireland, or something that is now done by religious families in their own time?

jester77 wrote: »
    Is communion still part of the school curriculum in Ireland, or something that is now done by religious families in their own time?

The former as far as I know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

jester77 wrote: »

Unfortunately the children are still being brainwashed in schools funded by the taxpayer

vicwatson wrote: »
    Unfortunately the children are still being brainwashed in schools funded by the taxpayer

Well it doesn't seem to be taking judging by all the communion afters carry on. But then I've always suspected that the the Irish were always far more about the golden calf then the hippie dude.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,760 ✭✭✭Effects

Is it not high time to do away with the whole outdated ritual?

How is dressing seven year olds up in wedding dresses and promising them to Jesus outdated?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,530 ✭✭✭dub_skav

conorhal wrote: »
    Ah the old 'guns don't kill people, people do' argument. While technically true, they do make it a hell of a lot easier, just as alcohol makes it a hell of a lot more likely.
    People in this country get really tetchy if you critisise their alcohol consumption, it's like taking a toy off a stroppy toddler after he's belted his sister with it.

Actually, it's more like taking a toy off a perfectly well-behaved child who has done nothing wrong because a spoiled brat has hit somebody with a similar toy.
    I only get tetchy with people who spout nonsense.

A beer is not like chekhov's gun, the vast majority of people who drink can and do imbibe sensible amounts of alcohol and do not start fights.
    Fights are started by scumbags (from all social and economic strata), whether they have consumed alcohol or not.

Now, on topic, binge drinking at a child's event is wholly inappropriate, but the kind of person who would drink to excess and start a fight n front of children is the kind of person who would start a fight over a parking space while entirely sober.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,569 ✭✭✭Hoop66

Would it be possile to have a new term, Scummunion, for where the participants don't meet OP's strict criteria for being allowed to have a drink?

I particularly like the picture of the judges gavel. Adds a lot to this story.

The address is quite good too: Dulled Court.

Sounds like a imaginary dystopic street from a Morrissey tune.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,380 ✭✭✭haveringchick

anncoates wrote: »
    The address is quite good too: Dulled Court.

Sounds like a imaginary dystopic street from a Morrissey tune.

"Oh how I loathed Dulled Court
    That carbunkle, that wart
    On the rain drenched face
    Of my Salford childhood"
    Or even
    "Dulled Court
    The skips and the litter
    Byt don't listen to me
    Im lonely and bitter"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,827 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

Scumbags can and will be scummy whatever the occasion. Never ones to deviate from type, they'll never surprise you by being respectable or pleasant, you could set your watch to the behavioural traits of your average common or garden scumbag. There are only three certainties in life; death, taxes and scumbags making c*nts of themselves at every opportunity.

Glazers Out!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

What exactly is the OP giving out about this fine morning?
    Is it religion? Or drinking? Or kids? Or tacky coloured cars?
    Or is it just the usual regurgitated drivel?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,074 ✭✭✭pmasterson95

No anti church

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 679 ✭✭✭Lt J.R. Bell

What a surprise, another predictable church bashing thread

If you and your pals feel that the sacrament of Holy Communion is outdated, then don't elect your children to take it up. The day can be very simple if people wanted it to be. No hummers or fancy clothes, school uniform even

There was little of this behaviour 20 years ago. Holy Communion is not to blame, nor are Christians, Weddings, Funerals

It does not matter what the day is, you just can not buy class. These knackers would do this at any event

Did you give much thought to the thread?

PAVEE Point maybe, but the rest of civilisation? Nah

No, it was an attempt to bash the church. Why else would you ignore the fact that behaviour like that would happen any other time of the year.

And Jeremy Kyle would be out of a job...

Never mind Jermey Kyle

Joe Duffy, and those late night radio hosts on Classic Hits Fm (Niall Boylan) and Fm103

Should really be called First and Last Communion.

Well, considering they will receive the Eucharist at Confirmation.......

Try harder

vicwatson wrote: »

Are they? Really?

By the looks of it, the behaviour of teens now a days is far from Christian.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,614 ✭✭✭Nollog

I think after hours should just be linked to the atheist forum there's been so many of these threads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,012 ✭✭✭eamonnq

No, some people could find that really upsetting (or boring).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

mikom wrote: »
    Those Protestants Catholics, up to no good as usual.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

Scumbags will be scumbags. My husband passed by a scummy neighbours house on his way home from work yesterday evening and overheard some huge fat guy boasting about how he beat some fella up at the weekend. Come to think of it, they've a gang of kids, so at least 1 of theirs will be making Communion next month. Should be fun, again. Funny how some people with no jobs can afford stretch limos for their kids Communion. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,065 ✭✭✭crazygeryy

mikom wrote: »

I wonder what the 7 krishnas did : )