Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What is wrong with people

• 19-04-2015 7:39am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,692 ✭✭✭

I guess I'm just writing this to see what people think.
    On Friday 17th April...just about 17:45 outside Shamrock Rovers stadium I along with 100s seen a car stopped in the traffic...hazard lights on and fellow drivers beeping at the car and arms waving as if the lady who was driving it had just stopped for fun. I pulled my van into the hard shoulder were I might add I got beeped as the cars couldn't travel up the hard shoulder!! and went over to her where she was visable upset and her hands shaking as she was holding rosary beads tried to reassure her, I eventually pushed her car into the hard shoulder (on my own) and rang her breakdown service who were luckily in the area. The sickening thing was she was there about 20 minutes in rush hour traffic and not 1 person had offered to stop and ask was she ok, or what was wrong or to offer any assistance, I find this totally crazy.
    For the people who drove by yes the people who blew their horn and waved their arms....and watched a harmless lady in her late 60's upset I'm sure you all slept well that night but please bear in mind that could have been a family member of yours..mother, father, daughter, or son and wouldn't it be nice to know someone took 5 minutes out to offer assistance.
    Rant over.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,411 ✭✭✭ABajaninCork

Well done to you for being nice to the poor lady. And you're right. Nobody seems to have either patience nor manners any more. Sad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,004 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

What was wrong with the poor woman? People can be become awful selfish bollockses once they're behind a wheel. Dunno why.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,692 ✭✭✭Payton

Sorry I should have said..the clutch was gone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,891 ✭✭✭Bullocks

Fair play to you , people don't give a **** anymore , more interested in Facebook or some crap to care about other real people these days

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Every single one of those people were on life or death missions of mercy where every second counts and this stupid old woman purposefully delayed them by not being mechanically minded enough to know her clutch was on the way out.

And you helped her?!! You're as bad as she is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,692 ✭✭✭Payton

Every single one of those people were on life or death missions of mercy where every second counts and this stupid old woman purposefully delayed them by not being mechanically minded enough to know her clutch was on the way out.

Well since she was elderly and obviously not mechanically minded I'm sure that was high on her priority list.
    Maybe your right and I should join the other likeminded people who just made her more nervous and unsettled. As and from tomorrow I'll order a louder horn for the car and build up my arm muscles not to take someone's tyre off if they needed it but to scold them for causing me a 2 minute delay from not checking who liked my post on Facebook as to why I'm stuck on this road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭mhackett102

this stupid old woman purposefully delayed them by not being mechanically minded enough to know her clutch was on the way out.

I certainly hope this is a joke or something. Not everyone is as mechanically minded as others. A similar incident happened my own mother last month, she also panicked but she put on her hazards and cars were able to go around her. Thankfully someone approached her and helped her push the car aside.

Fair play to the OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭pred racer

Fair play OP.

TBH ive stopped stopping to help people, after a couple of instances of them driving off without even saying thanks after I changed their wheel.
    and one where the womans husband arrived and gave me a bunch of attitude.
    (i had flagged her down as her back wheel was about to fall off only 1 stud holding it on, stole a couple of studs from other wheels, all sorted then hubby arrives, giving me grief for annoying his wife!!!)

so now if its an elderly person, fine.
    the rest of ye can fcuk off and fix it yerselves;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 329 ✭✭BlatentCheek

Fair Play OP. I always try to help people myself.

A lot of people turn into selfish aggressive pricks when they feel safe and cocooned from the outside world in their cars.

I had some gimp in a 4X4 practically tell me to F-off when I asked him to tow some aul' lad up the final stretch of a hill in snow. The 4X4 was on the flat so he could have done it no bother.

In my own experience the most likely people to stop and help if your broken down beside the road are lads with vans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,095 ✭✭✭Rubberchikken

Fair play op and i agree, don't know what the matter is with some people but they'd be like that anywhere imo. Behind the wheel of a car you'd think they were all in a hurry to save humanity;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

Payton wrote: »
    I guess I'm just writing this to see what people think.
    On Friday 17th April...just about 17:45 outside Shamrock Rovers stadium I along with 100s seen a car stopped in the traffic...hazard lights on and fellow drivers beeping at the car and arms waving as if the lady who was driving it had just stopped for fun. I pulled my van into the hard shoulder were I might add I got beeped as the cars couldn't travel up the hard shoulder!! and went over to her where she was visable upset and her hands shaking as she was holding rosary beads tried to reassure her, I eventually pushed her car into the hard shoulder (on my own) and rang her breakdown service who were luckily in the area. The sickening thing was she was there about 20 minutes in rush hour traffic and not 1 person had offered to stop and ask was she ok, or what was wrong or to offer any assistance, I find this totally crazy.
    For the people who drove by yes the people who blew their horn and waved their arms....and watched a harmless lady in her late 60's upset I'm sure you all slept well that night but please bear in mind that could have been a family member of yours..mother, father, daughter, or son and wouldn't it be nice to know someone took 5 minutes out to offer assistance.
    Rant over.

Wonderful! Here, read this! I found out people on that route that day were actually getting annoyed at the fact they were being slightly delayed from the cars which pulled in to assist my now Late Loving Dad.; getting annoyed when my Mom was trying to flag down passing motorists to assist her & our family friend who was driving my Dad to this doctors when 999 told them to pull in straight-away and administer CPR until an Ambulance arrived.

I always pull over where I can; always turn my bike around if needed to enquire if assistance is needed ,even if it's just the use of my phone if I see someone needs assistance.

You'll meet them all out there though,
    Serious Well Done to you :)
    kerry4sam

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,266 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

Same happened to me one day on the rock road in Blackrock/Booterstown, the part where it's two lanes and a bus lane.

Same problem too with the clutch, I was in the outside lane, and it about 7.50 in the morning so pretty busy.

I hoped out to push the car out of the way but the cars behind me just started undertaking me and driving in the bus lane too. I couldn't get a free run to the path. Next thing I know some guy is helping me push the car out of the way and so pretty much forcing the cars behind to stop.

Once we got it off the road I turned around and he was already on his bike cycling away!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

I'm confused. She prayed , yet God didnt fixed the clutch? It's almost as if its a pointless exercise that, if anything, got in the way of her thinking of a better course of action.

On a serious note, its slightly worrying that there are drivers sharing the road with us that when something goes wrong, praying seems to be the only thing they can think of. Doesn't bode well for a proper emergency situation.

To be fair to other drivers , they've probably come across similar situations where it was just some eejit on the phone or looking for something. I've seen it happen where the person gets the hump with people beeping at them, disturbing their phone call they had to make and there was no where to park, then pull up on to the kerb or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,352 ✭✭✭alias no.9

I'm confused. She prayed , yet God didnt fixed the clutch? It's almost as if its a pointless exercise that, if anything, got in the way of her thinking of a better course of action.

On a serious note, its slightly worrying that there are drivers sharing the road with us that when something goes wrong, praying seems to be the only thing they can think of. Doesn't bode well for a proper emergency situation.

To be fair to other drivers , they've probably come across similar situations where it was just some eejit on the phone or looking for something. I've seen it happen where the person gets the hump with people beeping at them, disturbing their phone call they had to make and there was no where to park, then pull up on to the kerb or something.

In her mind the OP came on a mission from God and certainly helped her out of her immediate distress though I'm sure the OP would have stopped, prayers or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Only in Ireland would someone start praying rather than ring the AA or equivalent. /facepalm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,922 ✭✭✭dashcamdanny

Good for you OP. I wish there was more like you among us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,490 ✭✭✭stefanovich

There was a guy on the side of the dual carriageway waving his phone around and holding a set of jumper cables. He wanted me to stop. This would mean pointing the car in the wrong direction on the hard shoulder. Seemed too dangerous and I'd already had the lead disconnect from the battery on the motorway causing all the lights to go. I was too frazzled to care or help.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 866 ✭✭✭renofan

Payton wrote: »
    I guess I'm just writing this to see what people think.....Rant over.

Fair play to you. I'd the same experience coming out of Dundrum Town Centre on Christmas Eve. A fella was broken down on the roundabout as you come out by the Tesco filling station. People blowing their horns etc. I stopped to help (flat battery) but he'd the car flooded from trying to start it and as it was a heavy car and an uphill incline we couldn't push it out of the way. Not one other person stopped to help and they could clearly see.

So in the end he phoned recovery and insisted I go on my way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,216 ✭✭✭✭listermint

There was a guy on the side of the dual carriageway waving his phone around and holding a set of jumper cables. He wanted me to stop. This would mean pointing the car in the wrong direction on the hard shoulder. Seemed too dangerous and I'd already had the lead disconnect from the battery on the motorway causing all the lights to go. I was too frazzled to care or help.

You need a BMW only poor people have batteries in the front.

Are you poor ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,490 ✭✭✭stefanovich

listermint wrote: »
    You need a BMW only poor people have batteries in the front.

Are you poor ?
    Not particularly :P Anyways, maybe the other driver had the battery in the back like me and that was the reason for me pointing in the wrong direction?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,266 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

My take is that Payton is an Angel sent from Heaven :eek:

This incident is proof of an all mighty being :eek::eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭MarkAnthony

Well done OP.

One of the issues here (other than people are dicks) is the overuse of hazard warning lights here. Some people seem to think they mean 'I'm parked'.

One example I came across recently was being a bit bold, waiting for the wife at departures at Dublin airport. Sneeky thing to do is join at the back and slowly creep up so when the guards come round you're in a different spot. Fooling anyone, probably not but what did 50% of the cars have on, waiting there, that's right the fecking hazards on.

FFS WHY?! It's well lit, cars are parked there, its slow moving anyway because of the pedestrians. Why have you got your hazards on when it's counter productive to do so? The only answer can be that it's habit.

Now given people are that stupid I can imagine they were stupid enough to assume ya wan had stopped there for the craic. People are morons. Again fair play OP.