Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hyundai the new best built car in the world?

• 14-04-2015 1:43pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,244 ✭✭✭

The mother is changing cars in the next couple of weeks and the mechanic keeps advising her that hyundai has overtaking the likes of toyota in terms of reliability. Any opinions on this?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭Pov06

Not a big fan of them myself. Maybe they're better now but there's a reason why 10 years ago there were lots of Hyundai Accents driving about and now in the last couple of years I haven't seen a single one on the roads...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭magentis

Nah.
    Drove a 3 month old i40 thought it was a horrible car.
    Give me an avensis any day and im no toyota fan.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,361 ✭✭✭Boskowski

Don't know reviews on the i40 for example are pretty poor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

The 100 most reliable cars in the UK
    www.reliabilityindex.com/top-100

Hyundai Getz comes in on 8 so pretty good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,938 ✭✭✭galljga1

Pov06 wrote: »
    Not a big fan of them myself. Maybe they're better now but there's a reason why 10 years ago there were lots of Hyundai Accents driving about and now in the last couple of years I haven't seen a single one on the roads...

I had a Hyundai accent for 7 years after buying it as a two year old. Trouble free until the final 6 months. Even then, it was minor trouble. Also had a lantra at around the same time for 8 years from 2 year old. Same experience. I sold it to my neighbour who drove it for another couple of years problem free.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

The father and sister both have Ceeds, both new and old models which are effectively Hyundais and neither has been particularly trouble free. I'd go as far as saying the new model in particular is a turd on wheels.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭mynamejeff

breaks on them prone to failure
    , im afraid electrical system is very delicate too

I thought they were supposed to be a decent enough brand, in terms of reliability?

Is the Santa Fe (07ish) not supposed to be fairly bullet proof?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,569 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

mynamejeff wrote: »
    breaks on them prone to failure
    , im afraid electrical system is very delicate too

What are the specific causes of brake problems and what are the common electrical issues?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭mynamejeff

not a mechanic but i know people who drive i30s and i40s and reports are common , supposed to be to do with the quality of the parts.
    gear box very light
    repeatedly blowing bulbs and fault lights when there is no fault.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,699 ✭✭✭goochy

whatever about reliability ford have been the best mainstream brand for about 15 yrs now fiesta focus mondeo s max galaxy transit all brill

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭corglass

Echo echo
    echo echo
    echo echo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

Hyundai must be one of the most overrated cars at the moment. They are ok but don't deserve half the praise they get. My parents had two santa fes and an ix-35 and they often give problems most were small but it's not like they are anymore reliable than any of the other main brands even though many go on how they are far superior to anything on the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

Dunno ... always feels like the gearstick and pedals are attached to elastic bands in those Hyundais

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 585 ✭✭✭ShaunieVW

goochy wrote: »

Can't say we had the same experiences, the 1.8 petrol engine in the mondeos are horrendously unreliable, almost as bad as the 1.4 mk4 golf. Fiestas rust away and my sisters 2/3 year old s max's DPF is fecked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

Pov06 wrote: »

Maybe that's because they stopped selling the accent around ten years ago?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,569 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

Maybe that's because they stopped selling the accent around ten years ago?
    Don't be ridiculous. Shur VW stopped making the Lupo 10 years ago and I'm falling over the things here. Lupos everywhere. EVERYWHERE!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,023 ✭✭✭Barr

My Dad had a 2002 Santa Fe Diesel , got it with 35k miles and sold it with over 200k miles on the clock.

The car never gave bother. The auto box was still running fine in it as well.

ShaunieVW wrote: »
    Can't say we had the same experiences, the 1.8 petrol engine in the mondeos are horrendously unreliable, almost as bad as the 1.4 mk4 golf. Fiestas rust away and my sisters 2/3 year old s max's DPF is fecked.

What is the issues with the 1.8 Mondeo engine ? Just wondering as we are looking at a 2008/2009 Mazda 6 atm and think they share the same engine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭visual

1.8 ford petrol engine is an oil burner piston rings valves swirl flaps are a ticking time bomb

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Leonard Hofstadter

Barr wrote: »
    What is the issues with the 1.8 Mondeo engine ? Just wondering as we are looking at a 2008/2009 Mazda 6 atm and think they share the same engine.

Oil burning should have been well sorted by that stage - it's only the older models that have the problem (early Mk3 Mondeos are a disaster).

Phew that is a relief , looking for a petrol car and the Mazda 6 ticked all the boxes. Glad to hear any engine trouble has been sorted in that engine :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 314 ✭✭Darraghmh91.

Can't see this being too true now to be honest
    The mechanic Probly had s Hyundai for sale haha
    I had to laugh when I was lookin through the threads the next thread down was
    "Hyundai not startin" haha though it was funny but before I get slated I know it can happen to any car about not startin even toyotas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

Not a fan of the newer stuff or the older stuff from Hyundai and Kia. The Optima is a nice enough car, wouldn't spend my own money on one though.

Good friend of mine works for a main dealer, so I don't buy the whole "super reliable" phrase that some people harp on about either.

166man wrote: »
    Good friend of mine works for a main dealer, so I don't buy the whole "super reliable" phrase that some people harp on about either.

i spent a few years in a hyundai main dealers too. i think working in a main dealers for a particular marque is a jaundiced opinion to begin with though, as you are only going to see the worst of the brand, it won't leave you in a position to make an un-biased opinion. any all of the good cars, never cross you path. now i know in business there is a phrase something like, "you're only as good as your last unhappy customer" and we must bare that in mind.

i have to admit, there are a few things that spring to mind, looking back; high pressure pumps and injector problems in the mk1 santa fe's
    rear suspensions drop links in the mk2 santa fe's
    subframe bushings and second gear synchro (diesel) in the trajets
    but otherwise not much, you might see a door actuator go in an accent or a getz or again, excessive wear in suspension components but nothing mad. the cars as a brand certainly weren't epically ****.

i can remember out of a 2 year stint, i'd say less that 10 vehicles that arrived on tow trucks and only 1 head gasket failure job and that was in a reasonably busy dealership. their petrol stuff in the pre "i" generation were very robust, if a little unrefined. i mean there's nothing on that list that would really leave you sweating tbh. they were also a great bunch of lads for warranty, they were very open to goodwill gestures for cars out of warranty by either time or mileage and i literally don't think i ever seen an item turned down for replacement while in warranty.

i just think as a brand they are good. they are making decent products for a decent price and if the only things people can find against them are that the interior isn't soft touch and the diet of the companies directors, then they really should be offered a chance.

bit of a rant, but look, if you had injector trouble in a VW diesel, they would tell you it's bad fuel and charge you for the privilege, for example and our 141 fiat is now on it's 3rd trip back to the ****ing dealer, so no brand are really innocent of defect.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,885 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hellrazer

i spent a few years in a hyundai main dealers too. i think working in a main dealers for a particular marque is a jaundiced opinion to begin with though, as you are only going to see the worst of the brand, it won't leave you in a position to make an un-biased opinion. any all of the good cars, never cross you path. now i know in business there is a phrase something like, "you're only as good as your last unhappy customer" and we must bare that in mind.

Youre dead right.Working in a dealer you really only see the worst in a brand.The ones that don't give trouble you only see back for regular servicing.
    But its the same with online reviews. Most people that post in online motor forums etc very rarely just join a forum to say "yeah its a great car.No issues" Its usually to moan about the car or find a solution to a problem.

i have to admit, there are a few things that spring to mind, looking back; high pressure pumps and injector problems in the mk1 santa fe's
    rear suspensions drop links in the mk2 santa fe's
    subframe bushings and second gear synchro (diesel) in the trajets
    but otherwise not much, you might see a door actuator go in an accent or a getz or again, excessive wear in suspension components but nothing mad. the cars as a brand certainly weren't epically ****.

Oh I remember all those especially the Tragedy with the 2nd gear synchro.They made the mistake of giving unlimited 5 years warranty to all customers and we had a couple of taxi drivers that went through 5 or 6 gearboxes.
    i can remember out of a 2 year stint, i'd say less that 10 vehicles that arrived on tow trucks and only 1 head gasket failure job and that was in a reasonably busy dealership. their petrol stuff in the pre "i" generation were very robust, if a little unrefined. i mean there's nothing on that list that would really leave you sweating tbh. they were also a great bunch of lads for warranty, they were very open to goodwill gestures for cars out of warranty by either time or mileage and i literally don't think i ever seen an item turned down for replacement while in warranty.

Yeah those older engines were bullet proof.They never gave a days bother especially the Lantras and accents.The 2.0 diesel santa fe was as reliable as anything.
    bit of a rant, but look, if you had injector trouble in a VW diesel, they would tell you it's bad fuel and charge you for the privilege, for example and our 141 fiat is now on it's 3rd trip back to the ****ing dealer, so no brand are really innocent of defect.

I can never understand the love of some German marques to be honest.They are a lot less reliable than they used to be.And some of their engines and boxes are pure ****e. But people love em and theyre selling by the bucket load.
    Id take a Hyundai or Kia over some better known models anyday.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,255 ✭✭✭Yawns

ShaunieVW wrote: »
    my sisters 2/3 year old s max's DPF is fecked.

Not trying to be smart but usually the cause of DPF failure is the driver. A lot of people went diesel cos it was cheaper at the pump and use the car for school runs most of the time with feck all decent drives in between.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,378 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

Yawns wrote:
    Not trying to be smart but usually the cause of DPF failure is the driver. A lot of people went diesel cos it was cheaper at the pump and use the car for school runs most of the time with feck all decent drives in between.

Not trying to be smart either but isn't doing school runs a valid use for a car as opposed to insisting that you must do a mandatory minimum mileage.

Also the golden rule for these threads is that the marque's reputation hinges solely on a single persons problem with a specific car.

I'll make an exception for noughties Renault meganes where window regulators always fail.

Bpmull wrote: »
    .... My parents had two santa fes and an ix-35 .....

Your parents seem to have gone through an extraordinary amount of vehicles... Don't they keep them very long?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,216 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Not trying to be smart either but isn't doing school runs a valid use for a car as opposed to insisting that you must do a mandatory minimum mileage.

Also the golden rule for these threads is that the marque's reputation hinges solely on a single persons problem with a specific car.

I'll make an exception for noughties Renault meganes where window regulators always fail.

No certain cars are for certain application's. Driving a diesel for short stints in the city is idiotic . mug's game.

listermint wrote: »
    No certain cars are for certain application's. Driving a diesel for short stints in the city is idiotic . mug's game.

I agree with your sentiment but many people go to a dealers every few years and change their car, as the market in Ireland changed the only real option for many was/is a diesel. Petrol Mondeo, Insignia etc were largely non existent for a while. So too Rav4, Sante Fe etc and the dealers/salesmen were not pointing this out to the potential buyers :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Very hard to get petrol full size mpvs too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,532 ✭✭✭JohnBoy26

Hyundai must be one of the most overrated cars at the moment. They are ok but don't deserve half the praise they get. My parents had two santa fes and an ix-35 and they often give problems most were small but it's not like they are anymore reliable than any of the other main brands even though many go on how they are far superior to anything on the road.

That award surely must go to vw. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,532 ✭✭✭JohnBoy26

Hyundai make good cars these days. However how can they be the new "best built cars in the world" when there was no such thing as "the best built cars in the world" to begin with :p

JohnBoy26 wrote: »

You just went there!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 194 ✭✭a postere

Hyundai do an excellent 5 year warranty too, far better than most, they've come on in leaps and bounds in the last few years.
    I'd buy a Hyundai over VAGi anyday of the week and then some.
    Also Toyotas of the last few years are not near as reliable as they used to be.
    I go by specific model now, rather than make.
    That's a far better guide to getting a good car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,656 ✭✭✭✭road_high

This. There seems to be a cohort of motorists/sheep that have flocked to them. Even chatted to a few and they were almost at pains to tell me they'd saved a few grand buying an I30 which is "just as good as a Golf"! Ah no... Sit in an I30 and then a golf and you'll see the difference immediately. They feel tinny, plasticy and not near as substantial. The focus feels better too. They're not cheap either. If it was me spending my hard earned I'd be trying to get as good a deal as possible on a new golf or focus even if it meant an extra few grand. Money well spent imho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭Nonoperational

Barr wrote: »

The Mazda 6 1.8 Petrol is an extremely reliable car.

road_high wrote: »
    This. There seems to be a cohort of motorists/sheep that have flocked to them. Even chatted to a few and they were almost at pains to tell me they'd saved a few grand buying an I30 which is "just as good as a Golf"! Ah no... Sit in an I30 and then a golf and you'll see the difference immediately. They feel tinny, plasticy and not near as substantial. The focus feels better too. They're not cheap either. If it was me spending my hard earned I'd be trying to get as good a deal as possible on a new golf or focus even if it meant an extra few grand. Money well spent imho.

in fairness, the sheep are buying the VW's. when did the golf become the benchmark of "good" anyway? they are hardly exceptional at anything. not saying the i30 is, but if the golf didn't have a soft touch interior, what would people talk about?

Augeo wrote: »
    Your parents seem to have gone through an extraordinary amount of vehicles... Don't they keep them very long?

Yep they are not as bad now but they have the octavia 3 years now and that's probably the longest they've had a car for since I was born. Normally every 2 years max. They were going to change the octy but my brother is learning to drive so no point in him ruining a brand new car :) it's not really my mother but my dad gets a terrible itch to change once something gets to about a year old he's far worse than even me :)

JohnBoy26 wrote: »

I'm not going to start arguing it out. As I wasnt a vw fanboi before I got my golf and I'm not now but I don't consider them to be over rated although some models can be quite expensive especially secondhand but they hold their value well so I suppose you get it back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,519 ✭✭✭Oafley Jones

in fairness, the sheep are buying the VW's. when did the golf become the benchmark of "good" anyway? they are hardly exceptional at anything. not saying the i30 is, but if the golf didn't have a soft touch interior, what would people talk about?

A lot of their reputation come from the amount of bought reviews and positive stories in the press. Take a look at the comedy of Autoexpress and their VW content. As for reliability; WhatCar/Warranty Direct survey had VW languishing in 27th place in this years reliability index. The group as a whole did really poorly, with Skoda having an excellent showing. Hyundai was in 9th. They've never been great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,876 ✭✭✭The J Stands for Jay

road_high wrote: »

I learned to drive in an 02 polo and then did the test in a 00 accent. There's no comparison. Tue gearstick and the accent was flimsy and bendy, you'd nearly be guessing what gear you were going into. The nasty plastic interior and strange pedals. The accent was very reliable though. It was in the family for over 10 years and the only problem I recall it having was the front window stopped working.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭nc19

mynamejeff wrote:
    not a mechanic but i know people who drive i30s and i40s and reports are common , supposed to be to do with the quality of the parts. gear box very light repeatedly blowing bulbs and fault lights when there is no fault.

Well I am a mechanic and I can honestly say I don't remember seeing a single i30 or i40 in for bulbs in the last 5 years or any other problems for that matter.

Servicing and consumables are about it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,157 ✭✭✭redlead

A lot of their reputation come from the amount of bought reviews and positive stories in the press. Take a look at the comedy of Autoexpress and their VW content. As for reliability; WhatCar/Warranty Direct survey had VW languishing in 27th place in this years reliability index. The group as a whole did really poorly, with Skoda having an excellent showing. Hyundai was in 9th. They've never been great.

My Passat is 8 years old now and literally nothing has ever needed to be done on it bar tyre change and basic servicing. I do a fair bit of mileage too so I would say that that is testimant to their reputation. I haven't had other cars to compare it too but it's been more reliable than any cars my dad has had. Laguna was a piece of junk. Mondeo pretty good to be fair but needed a few things done it. Vectra was the same. I'd definitely opt for a VAG car again just based on my own good experience with them. The new Superb coming out looks a cracking car.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 194 ✭✭a postere

Hyundai are Ireland's fastest growing car brand, and not without good reason.
    I'm glad we now have alternatives to some the the rip off gangster merchants that have VAG and Toyota dealerships, and their piss poor warranties for new cars in this day and age.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,656 ✭✭✭✭road_high

The warranty and servicing deals are a huge attraction

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

Surely the award for most overrated cars in terms of the number of cars on the road, has to go to Toyota? Honestly, in this day and age, the Avensis, Corolla, Yaris etc have nothing appealing whatsoever. I just can't see the reason to buy them, other than an expensive marketing campaign.

I have driven Hyundais, some of the newer ones, didn't like them. And as mentioned a good friend of mine works for a main dealer Hyundai garage, so it's interestign hearing from his point of view too. They have no doubt come on leaps and bounds in recent years, I just don't like them, and can't ever see myself warming to them.