Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

BGT 2015

• 11-04-2015 7:37pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,844 ✭✭✭✭

Just started tonight, is anyone watching? A couple of great acts so far, including a roller skating brother and sister act and a free jumper that sounded Northern Irish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,179 ✭✭✭✭fr336

What the hell was that dog?!?!?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,004 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

fr336 wrote: »
    What the hell was that dog?!?!?!

Ventriloquism, magic, i don't know but it was amazing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,844 ✭✭✭✭somesoldiers

Polyglot dog, wow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,461 ✭✭✭Queen-Mise

That was great with the talking and singing dog. Really enjoyed the possessed dog attacking Ant (or was it Dec. )

And the choir were excellent also.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,340 ✭✭✭deco nate

hynesie08 wrote: »
    Ventriloquism, magic, i don't know but it was amazing.
    He was using his foot at the bottom of the stand to control the mouth movement, fake tail on the dog connected to the table.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭United Chester Men

That was ridiculous with the dog. Once people realise how fake it is how could you sell that as an act.

Thought it was a serious overreaction to the choir also.

"Talent" drying up.

Missed the sob story. Assume it was a big one

His sister went on before him, 4 no's.. Q him coming on and blowing them away! Have to say it looked like a pre recorded song and mimeing to me.

Yeah, too right..... how ridiculous is a ventriloquist act.................................. well done judges......... not like you let someone through already doing exact same thing with a fake dog.

Patronising. We are all thinking the same here..................

Yeah, too right..... how ridiculous is a ventriloquist act.................................. well done judges......... not like you let someone through already doing exact same thing with a fake dog.
    The dog was real....

deco nate wrote: »
    The dog was real....

Its just essentially ventriloquism using a dogs body. The dog is attached to the table and does nothing but sit there. Their is a small muzzle which runs down the "fake tail" and he uses a foot board to open, close the mouth. The dog may as well be fake as the dog does nothing. And the ventriloquists mouth movement when "the dog is speaking" is very bad for a puppeteer. The guy was clearly headhunted off youtube like 90% of acts on the show are.

Did you see my post about the dog above? I already explained how it was done.

So apparently Simon Cowell was not only aware of the act before hand (the dog ) but he has seen him live. Lots of negative comments about it all over twitter. One girl posted a blog she done when seeing the dog on stage a while back. Worth a read.

http://www.unleashed.org.au/community/forum/topic.php?t=6980

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,021 ✭✭✭bopper

Ah here when a feckin dog with a mouthpiece get's hyped up like it's the act of the century you know the show is seriously running out of steam. The dog just sat on a stool and the guy wasn't even a good ventriloquist.

bopper wrote: »
    Ah here when a feckin dog with a mouthpiece get's hyped up like it's the act of the century you know the show is seriously running out of steam. The dog just sat on a stool and the guy wasn't even a good ventriloquist.

It is edited scripted nonsense! Even the comments they make are edited! Just watch it again. At one stage Amanda non moving face stated during the choir act I think how great it was. The crowd were cheering behind her like it was a comic act. You can see all the buzzers still unpressed EXCEPT Simon Cowells who was sitting there smirking with his buzzer pressed and the X on. It then cuts to the stage and wo and behold, the crowd aren't cheering, just seemingly enjoying the performance, whilst Cowells button is NOT pressed!! The audience editing where they plant cameras to "unaware" audience members who make remarks on the acts is also cringeworthy as it is clear they are playing to the cameras and are microphoned up!

But yeah, the dog act getting a standing ovation and a bloody Leona Lewis music background finale was a joke! Cowell knows full well of that act and has seen him before, think he had him flown in for neice/nephew party yet he acts completely shocked when its muzzle starts moving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,883 ✭✭✭MelanieC

bopper wrote: »

Yeah,it's supposed to be showcasing "talent". Anyone can strap a mouthpiece on a dog & say stuff,where's the skill in that? As you say,the guy didn't even attempt to speak without his lips moving & he also didn't have "the dog" say anything of interest or context. So it wasn't even an act. Yet other ventriloquists get buzzed immediately even though it's the same thing. Pathetic.

On tonights episode, a "talented whale" purposely challenges himself to complete the record time for a whale out of water

In fairness, that girl was brilliant, put a kind of show behind that with some music and that is very watchable.

Speaking of watchable, Alicia is very watchable in that dress!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭coats

That sword kid was on the Toy Show!!!

coats wrote: »

I would imagine it is another case of headhunting by the producers, the format which "discovers" majority of the acts that get through. Even that "golden buzzer" guy is well known in gig circles. He is art of a Maroon 5 tribute band who are well acclaimed so it is very unlikely Cowell hadn't heard of him before.

Nice one, couldn't remember where we'd seen her

Yeah, an audience full of kids, not to mention your own toddlers and you feel the need to speak about your marriage problems to get some sympathy ............................

Yet she has a great voice..

Nothing spectacular by any stretch. No charisma and was just uncomfortable and pointless bringing up marriage problems to win votes.

Now he was good!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,973 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

That kid was fan-****ing-tastic!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 197 ✭✭2Bints1Joe

Ty couldn't think where I saw her before.

lightening, lightening....

Eh?

Anyone interested how that guy done that trick, it is a standard non skillful trick that can be bought in any joke shop!

Here is how he done it.....

I do like it though, owing to its simplicity but he is far from a talented " magician!"

https://www.youtube.com/watch?t=170&v=TrbjalE-jtA

Well this is a new low for Simon...

Jaysus that old lady choir were brutal too much moving about or something didnt fit right. Much better act up now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,725 ✭✭✭Kauto0709

What the feck was the story with that dog??

Kauto0709 wrote: »
    It has the ability to hypnotise people , even cooler than a singing dog, where do they find them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,987 ✭✭✭mikeym

Kauto0709 wrote: »

http://www.mirror.co.uk/tv/tv-news/britains-talent-simon-cowell-being-5584421
    Britain's Got Talent viewers have taken to Twitter outraged at a dog act (for the second week in a row)

Earlier in the week the BGT boss had to hit back at claims last episode's 'talking dog' act was cruel.

This week pooch loving Cowell appeared to fall under the spell of a hypnotic hound.

Cowell, who is regularly photographed with his dogs Squiddly and Diddly, came face-to-face with Krystyna Lennon and her magical dog Princess.

Simon Cowell pretended to be hypnotised just for show.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,557 Mod ✭✭✭✭yerwanthere123

Baffled by tonight's episode. Do they really expect the viewers to believe the hypnodog act. I mean, really?

Otherwise a good episode. Love the dance act and the choir at the very end.

Hope this father sons group are good, or will Simon say to lose the dad?

The one thing that pees me off is that they get the singer's to go to a studio and record it then Dub it over the 'live' audition.
    And pass it off as real.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,883 ✭✭✭MelanieC

The one thing that pees me off is that they get the singer's to go to a studio and record it then Dub it over the 'live' audition.
    And pass it off as real.

Is that true?? How do you know?

Read it in a newspaper, next time you see a singer you'll notice it

It's ment to be live yet it sounds perfect?

Watch any of the singer's back on youtube

In the auditions, not the finals

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭ShazGV

Really enjoyed the trampolining man tonight, slapstick but still skillful!

Is it just me or was that just like the act that won it a couple of years ago??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭ShazGV

Very, very similar. And yet they go down the whole 'we've never seen this before!!!' route.

This lady about to sing is very familiar for some reason.

Edit: Just looked her up, she has 2 cds, was in the Les Mis film (granted, as part of the ensemble) & she was nominated for an Olivier Award in 2004! http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Alison_Jiear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,821 ✭✭✭fussyonion

Anyone else really loving Stephen Mulhern on BGMT?!
    I think he's hilarious.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 25,386 Mod ✭✭✭✭Loughc

fussyonion wrote: »
    Anyone else really loving Stephen Mulhern on BGMT?!
    I think he's hilarious.

He is hilarious although I found BGMT very repetitive this year, after three weeks it felt like I was watching the same episode over and over.

Live shows starting tonight, looking forward to them :)

Wtf is Alesha wearing?? 😕

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,198 ✭✭✭buckfasterer

Anyone else find this act kinda uncomfortable to watch? They're a bit close if you know what i mean......
    Yep, gotcha!