Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Poll, two tone ae111 levin paint

• 10-04-2015 11:49pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 338 ✭✭

I think a poll may make sense! Thoughts out of these 4 options?

8RC2lkS.jpg

zD9ZRvC.jpg

RizP0wJ.jpg

aU84e8U.jpg

Poll two tone ae111 levin options? 56 votes

pic 1
    0%
    pic 2
    12%
    ndCianRyanbrembo26MatthewjohnDr.RieuxPops_20Darraghmh91. 7 votes
    pic 3
    71%
    KNSdamo86Dordh3000Alanstrainorba_barabusxFROSTY GxTherapyBoyUnknownSpeciesBlack_Knight(F.L.) AnderswotzgoingonbladebrewDoctorStrangeSkylineheadYbFocusmorrittyElbowfitzeyboy.Daniel S 40 votes
    pic 4
    16%
    PlugChris_HeilongChuck_NorrisFoxhole NormanDed_ZebraExcaliburRisenmayotapower pantsStereoSound 9 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,617 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

pic 3
    2 all the way. It blends so much better between light and dark.

• Moderators Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭Black_Knight

pic 3
    Be confident in knowing, whatever you choose, it'll end up looking shíte when the number plate is put on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

pic 4
    I picked 3 by mistake and can't change :pac:

It should be 2 :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

pic 3
    yeah, 2 for sure. the indentation along the door is setting it up for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,617 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

pic 3
    Looking again, 1&3 are too top heavy with white, pic 4 is too bottom heavy. Number 2 is just right.

It's also a real nod to the original cars. To me it's a matter of taste, those who need to know and who will understand will pick it out straight away.

The rest will lament the lack of a viper stripe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 338 ✭✭m-i-m-m-

Be confident in knowing, whatever you choose, it'll end up looking shíte when the number plate is put on.

Haha, ya... feck it might not bother doing it now :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

pic 3
    m-i-m-m- wrote: »
    Haha, ya... feck it might not bother doing it now :pac:

noooooooooooo!

your original idea was a fantastic one. an idea to do something relatively unique to a car that in this country is usually modded to look the exact same as the next one. as BA says, it's a real link back to the cars roots and a very tasteful idea, it would certainly compliment the car and option 2 really has gotten the proportions right.

the reason option 1 and 3 look bad imo is because the solidity is broken around the fog light area, cluttering up the look and the side of the car also gets very busy with essentially three stripes (including the indentation).

the already existing indentation in the door and the opportunistic use of it's location are what is making options 2 and 4 look so much cleaner. i'd imagine it would look awesome from behind too. it again keeps the ae86 style by just leaving the top leading edge of the bumper white.

edit: looks like the original has the stripe below the indentation in the door actually. but yours still looks class with option 2 :P

11454-AE86%20Corolla%20Levin%20(19).jpg

noooooooooooo!\

I was joking! Ha :)

But great points... 2 seems the right option.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

I think this is the best one so far (from old thread)
    Quick p/s of another angle with my old wheels. Thoughts?

wev6H8Y.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 225 ✭✭Copa Mundial

pic 3
    Voted for 2 but 3 wouldn't be bad either :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Where's the none option?

Not a fan? The none option is not and option! :D

colm_mcm wrote: »
    I think this is the best one so far (from old thread)

Updated with new sill line, any thoughts?

NAp6Zsf.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,569 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

Updated with new sill line, any thoughts?

is that "2" from a different angle? If so I don't think it works as well from that angle. Between 4 and 2 for me. Wrap/vinyl or spray?

Edit - I think your photo shopping left you down on the bumper in the new "rear with stripe". Stripe too thick compared to space. If you can get the same proportion as in the original pic 2 then it will look better IMHO. Tricky - 2cm could make a big difference!

is that "2" from a different angle? If so I don't think it works as well from that angle. Between 4 and 2 for me. Wrap/vinyl or spray?

Edit - I think your photo shopping left you down on the bumper in the new "rear with stripe". Stripe too thick compared to space. If you can get the same proportion as in the original pic 2 then it will look better IMHO. Tricky - 2cm could make a big difference!

Tis "2" from a different angle alright... the photoshop is sloppy (most of them are!) But I just threw it together to get a general idea. 3am and a few beers and the photoshop skills get a bit lazy :pac I know what you mean about the proportion... the plan is it will be equal alright

Oh... and wrap. Cheaper, can change my mind and take it off if I wish, or am selling the car, plus will protect the paint under the vinyl till that point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Try it without the stripe, then vinyl the stripe on if you need it.

You can't really un-paint it afterwards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

pic 3
    2 all the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 592 ✭✭✭JC01

pic 3
    Defiantly option 2, very cool idea by the way, will really stand out from the countless White levins about the place.

You'll hardly put a plate on the front with that done though will you? As said it could ruin the look altogether

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭power pants

pic 4
    dont think he has a choice about the reg plate :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

pic 4
    There's a lot of love for option 2 out there!! 3 all the way for me and keep in mind I don't have an opinion, I just have facts.:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 592 ✭✭✭JC01

pic 3

With a car that looks that impeccably clean at the front he does :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,973 ✭✭✭✭joujoujou
    Unregistered Users

pic 3
    Pic 2, definately. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,974 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

pic 4
    I voted 3 but think the black line should be thicker, it looks too small in all the pictures, would look better if it were like the AE86 one.

JC01 wrote: »
    You'll hardly put a plate on the front with that done though will you? As said it could ruin the look altogether
    JC01 wrote: »
    With a car that looks that impeccably clean at the front he does :D

What could ya do really though!?

Ded_Zebra wrote: »
    There's a lot of love for option 2 out there!! 3 all the way for me and keep in mind I don't have an opinion, I just have facts.:p

L057non.jpg

Cheers for all the opinions and help lads, much appreciated;)
    So... this is basically what it's going to look like hopefully.

GFxDWBo.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,569 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

What could ya do really though!?
    The old "I've put my reg plate in the window because I would dearly like to be pulled over for further scrutiny at the next checkpoint" craic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭power pants

pic 4
    id just explain to the guard that pulls you over.

I think having a front reg plate will spoil the appearance of my car. Therefore, I have removed it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 314 ✭✭Darraghmh91.

pic 2
    I think number 1 is the best .. It's the proper ae86 design but either 1 or 2 will look lovly either way

Just picked it up a hour or two ago... very happy with the result. Will get a better pic soon when I have the chance. Not to everyone's taste, but at least she's a bit different now :)

Sv7QOvF.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

pic 3
    Unreal! Looks fantastic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 314 ✭✭Darraghmh91.

pic 2
    Looks very well man fair play I'd say your over the moon with that
    Give me a shout some time if your around tomorrow mate is love to see it

Unreal! Looks fantastic.

They did a good job in fairness, will be able to have a better look at it tomorrow, for now though... happy out :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

That looks the absolute knees bees! I'm no Toyota fan at all, but feck, that is one cool looking motor...!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,607 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Ovbzdm9.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 Hartey

sweet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭Hachiko

looks good, nice job

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,973 ✭✭✭✭joujoujou
    Unregistered Users

pic 3
    Well done! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 225 ✭✭Copa Mundial