Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

hypothetically Situation Domestic Abuse

• 05-04-2015 12:00am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭

So hypothetically, if i heard my renting next door neighbours having a serious domestic, with the girlfriend letting out spine chilling screams, and i decided to call the guards anonymously, can i be brought as a witness in court? Hypothetically

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,411 ✭✭✭ABajaninCork

AFAIK - No. Unless you really want to go.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

Yes. But the likelihood is extremely remote. I'm talking about the Gardaí arriving and finding a body kind of remote.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭cruais

Yes. But the likelihood is extremely remote. I'm talking about the Gardaí arriving and finding a body kind of remote.

Quite shocked that they arrived within 10 mins of the alleged call ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 529 ✭✭✭snor

Well done for hypothetically making that call Cruais. It may not have been possible for the girlfriend to get out or to the phone to call for help.

Hopefully now that the guards are involved, she can gt out of the situation. Hopefully she got a good member of AGS who will give her all the information she needs to protect herself and get out of this dangerous situation.

Hopefully, she will be very thankful to you some day - allegedly of course.:)

snor wrote: »
    Well done for hypothetically making that call Cruais. It may not have been possible for the girlfriend to get out or to the phone to call for help.

Hopefully now that the guards are involved, she can gt out of the situation. Hopefully she got a good member of AGS who will give her all the information she needs to protect herself and get out of this dangerous situation.

Hopefully, she will be very thankful to you some day - allegedly of course.:)

Im hoping so too. With the 12 members of the gardai kicking the front door in.... im hoping he allegedly got what was coming for him

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

I wouldn't count on it. Domestic incidents rarely amount to much. Injured party generally fails to go through with anything. Sometimes they'll go as far as getting a safety order but that's about it.

Edit: But you did the right thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,938 ✭✭✭galljga1

Yeah, well done, hypothetically. Too much crap is ignored.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 529 ✭✭✭snor

cruais wrote: »
    Im hoping so too. With the 12 members of the gardai kicking the front door in.... im hoping he allegedly got what was coming for him

Sounds like this guy and his history with this lady is know to AGS.

So I think they have moved out. I saw a new older guy locking up the house so am relieved that I hopefully do not have to hear anything horrible like that again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭MarkAnthony

cruais wrote: »
    So I think they have moved out. I saw a new older guy locking up the house so am relieved that I hopefully do not have to hear anything horrible like that again.

Did you check that the patio doesn't look like it's been moved recently?