Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Forum Category Reorganisation

• 01-04-2015 12:07pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,656 ✭✭✭✭

Hey all,

As you might already be aware from the recent feedback thread, Boards is currently in the process of reorganising the way each category is structured, including the forums beneath. The existing structure is over ten years old now, and has become far too cluttered and difficult to navigate for any newcomers to the site.

As such, Boards will be rolling out a new category system, with the various forums structured underneath in a category that has been deemed more suitable for the forum in question. And Farming & Forestry will b eone of those affected by the reshuffle.

After discussion with Boards office and admin, they have decided that Farming & Forestry will be moved to the REC category, specifically:

eebf35k.jpg

...the outcome of discussion being that due to the current nature of Farming & Forestry in Ireland, that it's more suited to the 'Hobby' category than the 'Business category, with other related forums.

This hasn't been set in stone yet, though it's about to be rolled out fairly shortly, so we'd like to get your opinion in this.

Regards,
    F&F Mod Team

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,090 ✭✭✭AntrimGlens

Ah you nearly had me there Mike, sure Farming and Forestry is just Magic and Illusion. 1st April and all that....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,765 ✭✭✭White Clover

mike_ie wrote: »
    Hey all,

As you might already be aware from the recent feedback thread, Boards is currently in the process of reorganising the way each category is structured, including the forums beneath. The existing structure is over ten years old now, and has become far too cluttered and difficult to navigate for any newcomers to the site.

As such, Boards will be rolling out a new category system, with the various forums structured underneath in a category that has been deemed more suitable for the forum in question. And Farming & Forestry will b eone of those affected by the reshuffle.

After discussion with Boards office and admin, they have decided that Farming & Forestry will be moved to the REC category, specifically:

eebf35k.jpg

...the outcome of discussion being that due to the current nature of Farming & Forestry in Ireland, that it's more suited to the 'Hobby' category than the 'Business category, with other related forums.

This hasn't been set in stone yet, though it's about to be rolled out fairly shortly, so we'd like to get your opinion in this.

Regards,
    F&F Mod Team

very good mike !!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,907 ✭✭✭✭Kristopherus

Very original, Mike !!!!! Well done on the day thats in it !!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,571 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

Hey folks, yeah I know the day that's in it (bad timing, Mike) but this is related to Dav's recent post in the Feedback forum about streamlining the site and making things easier to find. The Soc category isn't really a good fit for F&F - we believe that Rec is more suitable. F&F is the embodiment of hard work, the great outdoors, and just enjoying your job. That signposted to us that Rec is a better category to use (and will make content easier to find for new site members). It will be on the same level as Gardening, Angling and other great outdoor activities, so all people who love fresh air and the great outdoors can find all their favourite forums in one place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Mr E wrote: »
    Hey folks, yeah I know the day that's in it (bad timing, Mike) but this is related to Dav's recent post in the Feedback forum about streamlining the site and making things easier to find. The Soc category isn't really a good fit for F&F - we believe that Rec is more suitable. F&F is the embodiment of hard work, the great outdoors, and just enjoying your job. That signposted to us that Rec is a better category to use (and will make content easier to find for new site members). It will be on the same level as Gardening, Angling and other great outdoor activities, so all people who love fresh air and the great outdoors can find all their favourite forums in one place.

Are we that much of an embarrassment? Was the f&f forum not hard enough to find where it was? The only reason I found it was a link from another website altogether. Hobbies? Ffs. In the business forum imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

What critea are they using to call it a hobby?
    What other hobby would discuss turnover tax implications etc

It has as much business been lumped in with hobbys it would in under science

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,041 Mod ✭✭✭✭greysides

I think that F&F should go into either the Science or Biz categories.

If you read the journal the buzz words seen to be agri-economics and agribusiness. To put F&F into the business category is to recognise that it is becoming much more business like and professional. As a primary industry the sector is the back bone of the Irish economy and deserves to be given its rightful recognition.

If that isn't accepted then consideration should be given to incorporating it into the science category. If you look at the other elements currently in there...biology, engineering, health sciences, weather, zoology.... you can see that farming involves bits of all of those and a cross-pollination between them could be helpful to all.

The only section of F&F that should go into the Hobbies category is the Small Holding subforum.

The aim of argument, or of discussion, should not be victory, but progress. Joseph Joubert

The ultimate purpose of debate is not to produce consensus. It's to promote critical thinking.

Adam Grant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 262 ✭✭Longford Leader

Maybe you should get somebody that actually understands that farming is a business in helping to organize the new layout because whoever in boards thinks its a hobby might want to spend a few days on a farm instead of just sitting behind a pc.:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,656 ✭✭✭✭Tokyo

ganmo wrote: »
    What critea are they using to call it a hobby?
    What other hobby would discuss turnover tax implications etc

It has as much business been lumped in with hobbys it would in under science
    Maybe you should get somebody that actually understands that farming is a business in helping to organize the new layout because whoever in boards thinks its a hobby might want to spend a few days on a farm instead of just sitting behind a pc.:mad:

Apologies for the timing - it was something I felt needed to be discussed as these changes are to be implemented in the upcoming month, and I didn't even think of the date in question until after I had posted. My apologies for that.

I've only been privvy to the discussions in the CMods forum so far, but from what I gather, part of the issue is that while there are a few professional farmers out there, most posters in F&F work what are considered proper full time jobs, and engage in farming in the evenings and at weekends, when time allows. As such, the BIZ CMods have argued that it's not appropriate to bundle Farming & Forestry in with other business categories, and it seems that admin are in agreement.

The SOC category has been a catch-all in the past for stray froums, and many of those, not just Farming & Forestry, are being redistributed into more appropriate categories as part of this upcoming reorganisation. While I'm not entirely happy with the decision myself, at the moment, Rec > Hobbies is seem to be the best fit for it in terms of it being seen as a leisure activity, or engaging in an outdoor pasttime. WE could put forward the argument that SCIENCE might also be suitable, if that's what people want, but I feel that it would be even more out of place there.

I'm happy to open a poll in this thread, if people have suggestions for a better fit for F&F.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

agriculture contributes alot to Irelands economy it is definitely not a hobby and to put it the recreational section is definitely not on.

Just because posters are part time farming does not mean they don't treat there farming operation like a business

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

just because its a business that most people do outside of normal office hours excludes it from the business section?

i reckon the biz mods think we're a rowdy bunch ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,718 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Hey all,

eebf35k.jpg

Regards,
    F&F Mod Team

Got me there :o
    I was proper fuming by the time I was at the bottom of your post !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 574 ✭✭✭ZETOR_IS_BETTER

Having thought about this for a few moments, its probably right to move it to the hobby section. When you think about the majority of farming sectors are a hobby. The dairy lads will probably knock a few more years out of it before europe regulates them into a hobby sector to bring emissions into check. See the jounal where eu wants to cuts the herd numbers by up to 35%!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

343780.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Mr E wrote: »
    Apologies for the timing - it was something I felt needed to be discussed as these changes are to be implemented in the upcoming month, and I didn't even think of the date in question until after I had posted. My apologies for that.

I've only been privvy to the discussions in the CMods forum so far, but from what I gather, part of the issue is that while there are a few professional farmers out there, most posters in F&F work what are considered proper full time jobs, and engage in farming in the evenings and at weekends, when time allows. As such, the BIZ CMods have argued that it's not appropriate to bundle Farming & Forestry in with other business categories, and it seems that admin are in agreement.

The SOC category has been a catch-all in the past for stray froums, and many of those, not just Farming & Forestry, are being redistributed into more appropriate categories as part of this upcoming reorganisation. While I'm not entirely happy with the decision myself, at the moment, Rec > Hobbies is seem to be the best fit for it in terms of it being seen as a leisure activity, or engaging in an outdoor pasttime. WE could put forward the argument that SCIENCE might also be suitable, if that's what people want, but I feel that it would be even more out of place there.

I'm happy to open a poll in this thread, if people have suggestions for a better fit for F&F.
    Leaving the date out of it (classic, btw:P), hobbies?

HOBBIES????

Is military going into hobbies too, as it also is outdoors?

Also, Conspiracy Theories can also be counted as a hobby.

Biz, lads and lassies.

BIZ!!!

Single biggest employer in rural Ireland being classed as a hobby?

*shakes head despondently*

Just looked at Biz and this came up in the categories..

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=861

State benefits.

State Benefits gets its own Biz forum and F&F gets shunted into Hobbies?

Jaysus, lads...

It has to be an April fools:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,546 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Well folks it seems this is for real. Dropped a pm to a few cat mods and then to dav himself.

It looks legit or at least in the pipeline.
    Can't see the point of it myself but the head guru's seem to think this is the only way forward.
    Bloody ridiculous if you ask me :mad: :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,554 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

Sure naturally enough hobbys is where someone would look for a farming forum, well done boards!! I expect traffic in here to treble within a fortnight of the change. I'm off now to play with the cows :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 643 ✭✭✭Geniass

I hope there's an update along the lines of *cough* yeah, April fools, erm, nearly had ye going there. LOLZ

Seriously, F&F is required in the BIZ section.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,975 ✭✭✭Connemara Farmer

Politics for the win ;) Probably more in farming than in actual politics!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,980 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

What does REC stand for?

Perhaps RECTUM...... Yeah stick us up there B-)

Put it in with "Beer guts and receding hairlines" :)
    Or, for those in the horrors of lambing, "Zombie Survival"

All the motoring sections are already in Rec. and I suppose there are (marginally) worse places than beside "Food & Drink"

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    Put it in with "Beer guts and receding hairlines" :)
    Or, for those in the horrors of lambing, "Zombie Survival"

All the motoring sections are already in Rec. and I suppose there are (marginally) worse places than beside "Food & Drink"

Good spot we got, right between knitting and magic, so there will be good crossover traffic...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,457 ✭✭✭✭Base price

I can imagine the response of the misinformed AH posters when they see F&F in the Hobbies section. It will give them the all ammunition they want.
    They will have right auld time jumping on the bandwagon and beating the "free subsidy money" drum yet again :(

Ridiculous and insulting to classify F&F as a Hobby :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

Base price wrote: »
    I can imagine the response of the misinformed AH posters when they see F&F in the Hobbies section. It will give them the all ammunition they want.
    They will have right auld time jumping on the bandwagon and beating the "free subsidy money" drum yet again :(

What's the point sounds like their mind is made up on this one

Ah, shor Base, they will be able to log on and see how much SFP their neighbour is getting anyway, won't have to come to F&F for ammunition.
    The last time the info was on-line, a chap I know asked me to show him how to look up his brothers payments, because the brother owed him money for something, and this way he knew when the brother was bullshjtting him....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,326 ✭✭✭Farmer Pudsey

This is brilliant it is something I suspected for ages. Boards mods have in general the same atttitude as public servants. When I started reading this thread first I taught yes April Fools Day.

Then I saw Mr E entry. Is E for Egit ( irish for idiot not an E Git as in git with an eclipse http://eclipse.org/egit/). It is no wonder we had failure in regulation during the noughties. Now I understand why eight houses burst into flames in Kildare yesterday because across Ireland we do Administration very badly. And when it fails it decides to regulate even more, which adds costs to ordinary business and workers. Example the new building regulation.

So we are not posh enough for the business section where we have State Benefits, Bargin Alerts and Coupons & Living Frugally. Of course it is not Business it is a Biz section. No place there for small business, sole traders or farmers.

Looking below Mr Egit will you tell me exactly where we fit in, after Facial Hair and before Fashion. Now I do agree that some lads that buy cattle should be in the gambling section and I like Mustard with bacon so that might be a fit for any ovine farmers. also we have had some interaction earlier with the Animal and Pet section. OR MAYBE A SUBSECTION OFF ZOMBIE SURVIVAL

Rec
    After Hours
    All Things Retro
    Animals & Pet Issues
    Beer Guts & Receding Hairlines
    Christmas
    Clearasil & Hormones
    Collectibles & Antiques
    Cool Vids & Pics & Links
    Facial Hair & Hats
    Fashion & Appearance
    Food & Drink
    Gambling
    Geocaching
    Gift & Festivity & Party Ideas
    Health & Fitness
    Home & Garden
    Humour
    Legends of the Boards
    Lifehacking
    Models
    Motoring
    Mustard
    Nature & Bird Watching
    Paranormal
    Poker (Link)
    Puzzles & Quizzes
    Sleeping & Dreaming
    Smoking
    Sunshine, Lollipops & Rainbows
    The Nocturnal Forum
    Travel
    Zombie Survival

However may I suggest that we put it in the Sport section most suckler farmers are good at Pro wrestling calves, as well as that we have equestrian in it, Strenght and Strenght sports and after all cricket is played in a field.

Really Mr Egit I hope this is an April Fools joke but it would not suprise me if it was not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,457 ✭✭✭✭Base price

I think we all agree that F&F does not belong in the Hobby section.
    The Biz C'Mods don't appear to consider us good enough for their section.

Simple solution - A new, stand alone Farming & Forestry category with associated sub categories :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,216 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Wasn't it said before that farming and forestry was one of the most popular forums. Can't believe its being put in hobbies

I think we all agree that F&F does not belong in the Hobby section.
    The Biz C'Mods don't appear to consider us good enough for their section.

Simple solution - A new, stand alone Farming & Forestry category with associated sub categories :D
    The last time i checked, we were the 5th busiest forum on Boards.

So we probably are busier than the entire Biz section put together.

Seeing as we have our own mods and Cmods, a fifth section of F&F on Biz would be warranted, imo.

I would love to get a breakdown of the 'logic' that decided the best place for F&F should be between Angling and Knitting.

Only for knowing the two mods posting on here from elsewhere on site, i would say it's a windup.

The last time i checked, we were the 5th busiest forum on Boards.

So we probably are busier than the entire Biz section put together.

Seeing as we have our own mods and Cmods, a fifth section of F&F on Biz would be warranted, imo.

I would love to get a breakdown of the 'logic' that decided the best place for F&F should be between Angling and Knitting.

Only for knowing the two mods posting on here from elsewhere on site, i would say it's a windup.

I think it is a windup as well and Mr E( ( I hope not for Egit) is part of the windup.

It's a bit like when asking someone offering you drugs if they are a cop they have to tell you* - same with April 1st gags. If they continue on with the ruse after they have been called on it, then it's just a lie.

* sorry pedants, Put the keyboard down. I know this isn't true. :p

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,041 Mod ✭✭✭✭greysides

I think there will be other ramifications of the re-organisation. As the size of different categories will change there will be a change in the assignment of CMods. Some categories will gain, some may lose. Not sure how Mods themselves will be affected but if some forums are amalgamated then there will be Mods looking for new duties.

The aim of argument, or of discussion, should not be victory, but progress. Joseph Joubert

The ultimate purpose of debate is not to produce consensus. It's to promote critical thinking.

Adam Grant

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

whelan2 wrote: »
    Wasn't it said before that farming and forestry was one of the most popular forums. Can't believe its being put in hobbies

While I only mainly read it and not post much.....deos it really make any difference???
    As in when someone goes looking for it and type it into the search bar won't the forum still come up....as imo that's how most find it!!

Is this not a lot of fuss about a relatively minor issue??
    Unless rules etc are different???

* it was beyond patronising though the whole outdoor enjoyment speal though :pac:

greysides wrote: »
    I think there will be other RAMifications of the re-organisation.

I see what you did there.

Not your issue I know. But this one needs a rethink. I'd be hard pressed to take any other forum and deliberately recategorise and cause more offence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭onyerbikepat

Sure naturally enough hobbys is where someone would look for a farming forum, well done boards!! I expect traffic in here to treble within a fortnight of the change. I'm off now to play with the cows :rolleyes:

was-that-sarcasm.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

Hobbies..and Pro Wrestling is under 'Sports'.

Geniass wrote: »
    II'd be hard pressed to take any other forum and deliberately recategorise and cause more offence.

There's been a major fracas over Chess, whether it belongs in Sports or Hobbies...............

Adam Grant

was-that-sarcasm.jpg

Dark sarcasm in a bottle, Teacher, Teacher leave those (seeing as how it the day that is in in it no more milk quota's) tits alone

I think there will be other ramifications of the re-organisation. As the size of different categories will change there will be a change in the assignment of CMods. Some categories will gain, some may lose. Not sure how Mods themselves will be affected but if some forums are amalgamated then there will be Mods looking for new duties.
    NNNNOOOOOOOOO.....

The last thing Boards needs in mods on the loose around forums.

Shirley some can be re-homed:p

I'm off now to play with the cows :rolleyes:

I sure hope you don't have sheep.............

Adam Grant

There's been a major fracas over Chess, whether it belongs in Sports or Hobbies...............

Along with snooker they can be reclassified under Drunken Pursuits.

NNNNOOOOOOOOO.....

The last thing Boards needs in mods on the loose around forums.

Shirley some can be re-homed:p

Feral mods :eek:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,797 ✭✭✭Kevin McCloud

I sure hope you don't have sheep.............

And a pair of wellingtons :pac:

Federal mods........... roving Sheriffs....??? Might work.

Adam Grant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,817 ✭✭✭✭The Hill Billy

Afaik, it is not being regarded as a hobby. There is no 'Hobby' category. It is being placed in the new 'Rec & Hobbies' category. Probably due to a lot of the discussions having a recreational element to them.

It will still be the Farming & Forestry forum regardless of what category it is placed in. I'd also imagine that any move should not impact new members finding the forum. Sure who would have thought to look for it under Soc to begin with?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 750 ✭✭✭Farmer

eebf35k.jpg

Classic!
    Beside the magic and illusion category...or should that be magic and delusion.
    Now, did anyone see me knitting needles?

You start off with 2 or 3, and if they're not neutered, there'll be hundreds by this time next year:eek:

I have the budizzer

Sure who would have thought to look for it under Soc to begin with?

Now that it's up for reclassification now's the time to get it finally right.

BTW, I'm speaking as an accountant, not a farmer.