Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cattle Breaking In as opposed to out

• 31-03-2015 3:01pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 174 ✭✭

A neighbours cattle keep breaking in a eating grass and pulling down fences. This happens each year? How would ye deal with it?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,090 ✭✭✭AP2014

newholland wrote: »
    A neighbours cattle keep breaking in a eating grass and pulling down fences. This happens each year? How would ye deal with it?

Better fences or shoot one!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 174 ✭✭newholland

AP2014 wrote: »
    Better fences or shoot one!

Problem is his cattle are knocking ditches from other side our side is fenced properly our cattle never get out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,741 ✭✭✭CloughCasey1

Problem is his cattle are knocking ditches from other side our side is fenced properly our cattle never get out

Connect up electric fence on his side of the steaks...failing that connect fence to mains.

I guess a good electric fence or mains for the few days you know his cattle are there, stick down a couple pigtails. Quick job and hope they get a shock or two.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭farmerjj

Have a word with him about it, and if they're still breaking in call the Dvo. Or you could put barb wire up on the bounds ditch, bit of a pain though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,741 ✭✭✭CloughCasey1

I guess a good electric fence or mains for the few days you know his cattle are there, stick down a couple pigtails. Quick job and hope they get a shock or two.

Great minds!!

He does not put his cattle in and there is zero point in talking to him. It is winter time when all the damage is done.

If I do this he will Earth fence but connecting it the rest of his farm.

He does not put his cattle in and there is zero point in talking to him. It is winter time when all the damage is done.

Feckin bad neighbours, they are like a rash on the balls, no getting rid of them. Blessed in my neck of the country to have a few good ones, although like myself some wouldn't be the greatest fencers in the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭epfff

Do not leave the gates open out to the road
    But take them down and bring them home with you for winter for security you know they could be stolen

epfff wrote: »
    But take them down and bring them home with you for winter for security you know they could be stolen

Does not work either as cattle are usually on the road and will wander in. This guy is a clown

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,512 ✭✭✭runawaybishop

epfff wrote: »

In the hope the neighbours cattle will wander out onto a road? Ah ya, that'd teach him. Might even injure or kill someone as well and my wouldn't his face be red. Mind you there's a good chance you'd be liable yourself. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭Mad4simmental

Your going to haveto bite the bullet and put up a good 4 row barbed wire fence and be done with it. Had to do the same here and it's never been a problem since.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

If he gets any SFP or whatever it's called this year, report him and hit him where it hurts. One section clearly states.

https://www.agriculture.gov.ie/media/migration/farmingschemesandpayments/singlepaymentsscheme/2013/2013SPSTandC180413.pdf
    For land to be eligible, a number of further conditions have to be complied with, namely:

1. The land must be used and managed by the applicant. If the applicant is not the owner of
    the land, the applicant must have the permission of the owner of the land to use and
    manage the land. The land must be suitable for and compatible with the farming
    enterprise;
    2. There must be independent and suitable access for animals and/or machinery. Independent
    access means access by public or private roadway or by a defined right of way. Access over
    adjoining landowners land, or over land which is subject to a lease or rental agreement to
    another person, is not acceptable;
    3. There must be appropriate fencing for the farming enterprise. Appropriate fencing means
    stockproof fencing that will control the applicant’s animals and also the neighbouring
    farmer’s animals.
    In mountain/hill areas this generally means sheep fencing;

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,489 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

I feel ur pain happened to me for 1 winter ,a daily occurrence I kept hunting them back,putting up fence and there back again cause they'd no grass.sick of phoning neighbour and any time I got him usual speil and list of execuses.got so pissed off once instead of hunting them back I rounded them up and put them into a pen in my yard.he rang 3 days later wondering if I'd seen them .told him I had them penned up and ready for collection .he wasn't impressed as I wouldn't let them back through my land and over the ditch so he had to borrow someone else's box and collect them.i politely informed him if it happens again he be getting a fencing bill from frs and cattle would be penned up if they come in again.they haven't broke in since

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

mahoney_j wrote: »
    I feel ur pain happened to me for 1 winter ,a daily occurrence I kept hunting them back,putting up fence and there back again cause they'd no grass.sick of phoning neighbour and any time I got him usual speil and list of execuses.got so pissed off once instead of hunting them back I rounded them up and put them into a pen in my yard.he rang 3 days later wondering if I'd seen them .told him I had them penned up and ready for collection .he wasn't impressed as I wouldn't let them back through my land and over the ditch so he had to borrow someone else's box and collect them.i politely informed him if it happens again he be getting a fencing bill from frs and cattle would be penned up if they come in again.they haven't broke in since

Our heifers were breaking out in out farm for a good week and the land owner didn't bother in the slightest.
    said they head back over ditch the minute dawn came.
    Needless to say we fenced the whole bounds when we found out.
    Yr can't have heifers breaking out. Ruins them for life

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,719 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

I think many of us have suffered this type of neighbour from time to time..

I wouldn't recommend somne of the ideas being thrown about.. LEave gates open / intentionally leave it so cattle get to the road.. Apart from the obvious responsibility how would you live with it if someone got killed by hitting one of these animals on the road.. there's no high moral ground on that one.

Connecting fence to mains ? Why not just shoot the cattle, its the same thing as cattle coming on contact with mains voltage will likely be electrocuted, they have much lower tolerances for current than we have. Why kill the animals, its hardly their fault. Have you ever seen electrocuted cattle ?? I've seen a dozen killed, where they are in contact with each other the power passes along and kills the next its an awful sight and suggesting it is just barbaric !

Tallk to the farmer, no matter how unpleasant it has to be the first step. Then at least you've started on the right line..

I think after that start contacting the department, report the cattle. I know of a case locally where the cattle were reported and subsequently impounded, it cost a pretty penny to have them released and transport fees were also incurred - the problem was sorted pronto !!

Go talk to this guy, maybe bring another neighbor along to see if an agreement can be reached.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

_Brian wrote: »

I think after that start contacting the department, report the cattle. I know of a case locally where the cattle were reported and subsequently impounded, it cost a pretty penny to have them released and transport fees were also incurred - the problem was sorted pronto !!
    Ring up the neighbour next time they're in and ask for the dvo and pound ph no. He might cop on quick enough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭cjpm

Feckin bad neighbours, they are like a rash on the balls, no getting rid.....

It's the 21st century, there's bound to be a cure, so there is no need for you to suffer in silence, your local STD clinic probably has seen it before

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 795 ✭✭✭degetme

ganmo wrote: »
    Ring up the neighbour next time they're in and ask for the dvo and pound ph no. He might cop on quick enough

Have a bad egg beside us and would like to go down this route as above but i know we would have silage bales/fert bags cut in revenage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭kingstown

Exact same problem here and I feel your pain, its some pain in the balls having to deal with that carry on.

Like the guys in the other thread about part time farming,  I also farm p/time and its a real pain to get up to go to work or come home from work to find 20 or 25 bullocks or more recently 70 or 80 ewes and their lambs in your boundary fields

This has been ongoing for years with this family, two unmarried brothers who are experts on everything, read the Farmers journal cover to cover and have copies going back 20+ years stacked up..(must be for reference!!!)

They farm from the kitchen table and know everything. Now the older brother is gone a little odd any doesn't talk to anyone.  

I have had his cattle in many times over the years and one occasion in May 2013 after we were after sorting cattle out and getting his back out, he told they would be fencing the bounds fence in the back end of the year! What do you say you that

Last year he started ripping out the fallen trees with a track machine and now half the ****e he dragged out is 10 metres out in the his field and the ditch is in some mess. Did one field got tired and  left it there. 

He now has let some land to his nephew who has sheep and they are in and out every day since St Patricks day.

Last Friday morning @ 7.15am I lost it and rang the nephew and told him I didnt want his sheep in anymore and to fence the bloody bounds ditch, he replied it wasnt his problem the ditch was so bad that and running a electric fence along wouldnt help.

Again what could I say.. no point in upsetting myself so I hung up the phone and went to work trying not to think of the mess the sheep were making of the fence. Came home that evening and he had 3 pallets tied with bailing twine put at my side of the fence against my stakes and barbed wire. Nothing at his side to hold them. Jeasus it cracked me up

I work over a hours drive away and knowing my stock is where they should be is very important, I cant be doing with this crap anymore.

Neighbours on the other two sides are perfect a sparrow would get through from either side..

Sorry for venting......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 492 ✭✭The Cuban

Sounds like the Langer of a nephew didn't fall too far from the nest either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭mf240

When it stays happing its annoying we all can have an odd one get out but some lads are a disaster.

One eldely bachelor fella has cattle on the road and breaking out a nice bit.
    I do give out to him an odd time and hes slowly improving. Im wearing him down :D
    No real harm in him just a pure messer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 206 ✭✭ford 5600

mf240 wrote: »
    When it stays happing its annoying we all can have an odd one get out but some lads are a disaster.

One eldely bachelor fella has cattle on the road and breaking out a nice bit.
    I do give out to him an odd time and hes slowly improving. Im wearing him down :D
    No real harm in him just a pure messer.

I think you still have fair old road ahead of you !:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭Western Pomise

Is terribly annoying to have this happening with any livestock,from a legal perspective the best way to deal with animals 'breaking in' repeatedly is to pen them,take their tag nos(even if you know well who owns them).....then contact the gardai...you might be waiting but get them to come and see them penned,then get them pounded and let Gardai contact their owner(if the owner is a 'tricky' character.
    Makes it more difficult for him to 'let' his animals break in again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭farmerjj

Why not ring the IFA, "surely" they can help.

farmerjj wrote: »
    Why not ring the IFA, "surely" they can help.

Lol thats the April fools joke

your a funny man farmer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,984 ✭✭✭Miname

Is terribly annoying to have this happening with any livestock,from a legal perspective the best way to deal with animals 'breaking in' repeatedly is to pen them,take their tag nos(even if you know well who owns them).....then contact the gardai...you might be waiting but get them to come and see them penned,then get them pounded and let Gardai contact their owner(if the owner is a 'tricky' character.
    Makes it more difficult for him to 'let' his animals break in again.

There's a lad up the road from me at the same messing. Guards keep putting them onto my ground and keep contacting me about them every time they are on the road. Where do the department stand on penning other people's stock on your own farm

Well any update on how the whole thing panned out op. Friend if mine is having similar problems and doesn`t know what to do

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,732 ✭✭✭Capercaillie

My elderly neighbour's cattle broke into my field before Christmas. He gave out to me and told me to fix my fence. He was moving cattle on the road at the time!