Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Will I be viewed as a raging homosexual?

• 27-03-2015 9:49pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,102 ✭✭✭

If I buy an mx5 ?

Is there a (non-exotica) convertible that will keep me on the straight and narrow?

I remember years ago when I showed my Dad a photo of my French girlfriend. He sniggered and said "well at least now we know you're not gay, son". In fairness I'd gone through a lengthy drought before I met her, but it was still a bit harsh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Yes. Give it to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,569 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

efb wrote: »
    Yes. Give it to me.
    Fabulous, first reply is a double entendre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

An mx5 is a drivers car, I wouldn't be too worried about the opinions of people that don't know that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,047 ✭✭✭Truckermal

MX-5 is very manly would love one new one is savage cabbage. .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,974 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

MX5s have gained more respect in recent years than they used to have, they are rear wheel drive and fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,189 ✭✭✭PADRAIC.M

I was expecting a post about about a Hyundai coupe so your safe enough!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 456 ✭✭NotCominBack

Are you a hairdresser op?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,934 ✭✭✭Renegade Mechanic

Get that MX5.
    Shoe in some superlights.
    Nail on that chrome basket some have on the boot.
    Straighten up the air intake.

Off ye go :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭moleyv

** Insert Ted Mosby Red cowboy boots "pulling them off" joke here **

Also, get a trailer to match. They're the deadliest things going with a matched trailer :D

MX5
    trailer85.jpg

Mini
    3771037685_48fa26fa91.jpg

Mustang :o
    4015060669_4e1df09837.jpg

670x377Image.jpg?p=111107_01:36

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,560 ✭✭✭porsche boy

Ignore the haters, get it, drive it, love it. Besides do you really care what 'others' think?

colm_mcm wrote: »
    670x377Image.jpg?p=111107_01:36

Ah, that's the stuff. I've mighty notions of buying another jeep and lobbing the front off, making it identical to the rest of the tow jeep and making some form of camper/secure trailer out of it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,794 ✭✭✭Jesus.

Get that MX5.
    Shoe in some superlights. :D

A very brief first glance at that & I thought you'd asked the OP something about highlights!

Ah, that's the stuff. I've mighty notions of buying another jeep and lobbing the front off, making it identical to the rest of the tow jeep and making some form of camper/secure trailer out of it.

We used to have one made out of the back of a transit (70s type)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,102 ✭✭✭Roger Mellie Man on the Telly

Are you a hairdresser op?

No. I'm practically bald if that's relevant?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 456 ✭✭NotCominBack

Also, get a trailer to match. They're the deadliest things going with a matched trailer :D

MX5
    trailer85.jpg

Mini
    3771037685_48fa26fa91.jpg

Mustang :o
    4015060669_4e1df09837.jpg

Do they come in Pink?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

Buy the mx5 weld the diff and head up the mountains.
    What hair dressers owns a 2 seat roadsters that will inevitably ruin their hair and spends more time going sideways than straight

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,207 ✭✭✭EazyD

One of my uncles was like that with my 5. "Oh that's a Barbie car, wouldn't be seen dead in it". Convinced him to have a 5 minute spin with me, old fecker nearly pulled the door grip off he was holding on to it that much. Needless to say his opinion has changed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

EazyD wrote: »
    One of my uncles was like that with my 5. "Oh that's a Barbie car, wouldn't be seen dead in it". Convinced him to have a 5 minute spin with me, old fecker nearly pulled the door grip off he was holding on to it that much. Needless to say his opinion has changed.

Let me guess he probably drove some soulless diesel Toyota or vw

Skoda Octavia.....lolz

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,607 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Skoda Octavia.....lolz

And there ya go :pac:

Theres a guy out from where i live that has three of them, two hardtops and a soft top, so they must be fun! I'd love a go in one to be honest

That depends, if you want to be seen as a raging homosexual, there are much better options available than this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,130 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

Will you be viewed as a raging homosexual?

If you have issues with your self-confidence or doubts about your sexuality - talk to a counsellor, don't blame it on your car!

And there ya go :pac:

Theres a guy out from where i live that has three of them, two hardtops and a soft top, so they must be fun! I'd love a go in one to be honest

If there's a summer meet this year I'd be more than happy to take you for a spin. Will have new Teins on it by then too!!

You are trying to pick up guys already?

HarHar, dirtier mind than me sir

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭gallag

You won't look full on ghram Norton gay like an audi TT owner but you will definitely look a bit curious and down for trying some freaky sh1t!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Who cares what people think.

Most people drive soulless ecoboxes on the advice of equally clueless people who pretend to know what the are talking about.

If the car makes you happy go for it.

When I was in Fas, a lad their was telling us about one of his freinds, who bought an RX8 write off, and put the rotary engine and box into an MX5.

Dunno wether true or not, even if the engine would very easily fit, space wise, but that would have been one rapid little MX5 :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,855 ✭✭✭nd

i'm in love with my soulless ecobox but agree with Supergurrier :)

When I was in Fas, a lad their was telling us about one of his freinds, who bought an RX8 write off, and put the rotary engine and box into an MX5.

Dunno wether true or not, even if the engine would very easily fit, space wise, but that would have been one rapid little MX5 :eek:

It's more than likely BS tbh, I've heard of 13B swaps (which cost mega bucks) but never of the Renesis swap. *Plus FI route would net you same gains at a fraction of the cost so little point in doing so.

It's more than likely BS tbh, I've heard of 13B swaps (which cost mega bucks) but never of the Renesis swap.

Yeah, this was Waterford in 2007 so the habit of using camera phones on everything wasn't fully prolific yet. Hard to know but I did lean to your side.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,329 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

No matter what you buy you'll get the piss taken out of you by your mates. It's up to you to ignore it or laugh at them.
    I'd love any 2 seater convertible

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

You'll be viewed as a complete mincing shirt-lifter who knows a proper little roadster when he sees one. Drive on!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭RandomAccess

Is there a (non-exotica) convertible that will keep me on the straight and narrow?

S2000 would be the answer to that, but then performance Honda's don't have a particularly wholesome image here for the most part.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,560 ✭✭✭porsche boy

......there are much better options available than this.

Name a more fun handling 2 seater RWD car that can be had for less then a grand.....

Suzuki cappuccino?

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Suzuki cappuccino?

For less than a K?

*speaking of cappuccinos this one is highly desirable:

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=MPabW9JVxgU

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,234 ✭✭✭neilled

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,026 ✭✭✭serious3

Had a 91 eunos roadster a long time ago, savage little car loved it to bits but the ex got it in the divorce. An absolute riot to drive, that Mazda twin cam motor loves to be screamed! Go get a good mk1 they are being viewed as a sensible classic these days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,200 ✭✭✭Arbiter of Good Taste

At the risk of sounding boring, OP, I have back problems and 10 minutes in an MX 5 had me back to the physio and on anti inflammatories and painkillers for a month. Worst seats I've ever been in.

Nice for a drive, but I would be careful if you are going to spend long periods of time in it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,988 ✭✭✭jacksie66

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,035 ✭✭✭goz83

At the risk of sounding boring, OP, I have back problems and 10 minutes in an MX 5 had me back to the physio and on anti inflammatories and painkillers for a month. Worst seats I've ever been in.

Nice for a drive, but I would be careful if you are going to spend long periods of time in it

Ah damn. Bad back here too. Would love to have an mx5 for a while. Maybe i will have the seats beefed up when im able to buy one. Lovin the trailer ideas earlier in the thread too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,509 ✭✭✭Donnelly117

If I can pull off a Mini Cooper S, followed by a BMW z4 I think you can pull off an mx5 :D

Unfortunately as someone mentioned above, I've done my back and haven't been able to drive the BMW for a month :mad: Its not so much the seats are bad, but my god it's low and has a tiny door gap!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

Will I be viewed as a raging homosexual? If I buy an mx5 ?

Nah, they'll think you're a quiet pillow biting homosexual.

The raging homosexuals buy Audi TDIs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭OldmanMondeo

My 70 year old Dad drives an MX5, if he was a "raging homosexual" I wouldn't be here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 221 ✭✭robbiew

Well op, did you get the mx5 in the end ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,102 ✭✭✭Roger Mellie Man on the Telly

No.
    I bought an R53 Mini for some unknown reason. It whines a lot. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 640 ✭✭✭Tony Beetroot

wheel bearing maybe