Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

vrt

• 25-03-2015 5:26am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 989 ✭✭✭

Easily confused so go nice and basic please.

Long story short. I needed transport recently in the uk. Paid £400 for a tested car and under the new tax law I taxed it. Car was registered at families address but in my name. The car would make a great runaround but I'm wondering as it's on English plates how difficult is it to transfer to Irish.

i do still have an English address and bank account as well as Irish would that complicate things?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

http://www.revenue.ie/en/tax/vrt/leaflets/tax-relief-transfer-residence.html

This only works if you were resident in the UK long enough, and are moving to ireland. Otherwise you pay VRT.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 989 ✭✭✭piperh

colm_mcm wrote: »
    http://www.revenue.ie/en/tax/vrt/leaflets/tax-relief-transfer-residence.html

This only works if you were resident in the UK long enough, and are moving to ireland. Otherwise you pay VRT.

Thanks i'll take a look, I live in Ireland but travel and stay in the uk at least once a month. I figured as I live here I'd have to vrt it but wondered if for £400 it'd be worth it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

You wouldn't qualify for exemption. You need to look at prices of comparible cars here. The price of a ferry, whether you actually need this car in ireland, and how easy/practical selling the car in the UK would be.

What car is it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

piperh wrote: »
    Easily confused so go nice and basic please.

Long story short. I needed transport recently in the uk. Paid £400 for a tested car and under the new tax law I taxed it. Car was registered at families address but in my name. The car would make a great runaround but I'm wondering as it's on English plates how difficult is it to transfer to Irish.

i do still have an English address and bank account as well as Irish would that complicate things?

I don't want to alarm you but have you disclosed to the insurer that you don't live permanently in the UK or at the address you have used to insure the car. If not, I suspect your insurance is voidable on their part. You may also have an issue re the v5c although I don't think that is an offence. I also commute between the two countries and found it impossible to maintain separately registered cars in each jurisdiction (as a practical matter, I could not deal with the insurance issue).

Marcusm wrote: »
    I don't want to alarm you but have you disclosed to the insurer that you don't live permanently in the UK or at the address you have used to insure the car. If not, I suspect your insurance is voidable on their part. You may also have an issue re the v5c although I don't think that is an offence. I also commute between the two countries and found it impossible to maintain separately registered cars in each jurisdiction (as a practical matter, I could not deal with the insurance issue).

Yes the insurance are aware that I live in Ireland but do still have an address and interests in the uk. it is taxed and insured in the uk at the moment.

colm_mcm wrote: »
    You wouldn't qualify for exemption. You need to look at prices of comparible cars here. The price of a ferry, whether you actually need this car in ireland, and how easy/practical selling the car in the UK would be.

What car is it?

Thanks. Not sure to be honest it is. Suppose it depends on how much it will cost.

It is a 1.4, 99 Corsa, in decent condition and easy enough on petrol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,837 ✭✭✭Markcheese

piperh wrote: »
    Thanks. Not sure to be honest it is. Suppose it depends on how much it will cost.

It is a 1.4, 99 Corsa, in decent condition and easy enough on petrol.

If you have somewhere to park it in the uk- leave it there and fly back and forth - it probably doesn't cost much to tax-insure and MOT.

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 477 ✭✭arthur daly

With the Vrt at 400 ferry 200 plus fuel etc your looking maybe 800 in total which yould by one here no problem.
    Put the car up on eBay get what you can and put it into something here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,000 ✭✭✭Saint Sonner

Say someone was staying in south a good bit but was travelling between north and south and worked in south.

The car has still NI plates but the person had the vehicle for a year or two before they even started working in the south.

How much would the fine be if they were prosecuted for not changing their plates? (Obviously they should just change their plates as it won't cost anything but hypothetically speaking)

Time to come clean:

I live in Northern Ireland but I work in Dublin. All my income is earned in ROI as an employee.

I split my time between Home and Dublin (where I rent a flat so I can stay over to save on travelling all the time)

I don't stay 5 nights a week here - sometimes I would stay possibly 3 nights some weeks depending on work I might not stay at all. I keep track of my days in the year that I stay in Dublin and based on this I'll probably be in Dublin 130-140 nights in the year with the rest spent in Northern Ireland.

Do I have to change my UK Reg to a Southern Reg - It won't cost anything I believe as I owned the car a long time before I started working in Dublin but I don't want the hassle of doing it if I don't have to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭pred racer

I have a friend in this same situation, I don't know about importing a car to the ROI but he never has any issues driving his NI car while he's down here.

Good to know there's others out there.

To be honest I was stopped outside the flat i rent at 8am on the way to work one morning. (I think someone may have given information on me)

I told them the situation and argued with them and told them that I had been keeping track of my days in NI and ROI - all they would say is that doesn't matter and I was saying well what are the rules then?

They just kept saying it doesn't matter that your living up there because your working and living down here. I was saying I spend majority of my time in NI!

At the finish up he said he would let me go as I was late for work - he said he was giving me a warning and that I have to get the Reg changed ASAP.

I just agreed so I could just get off to work!!! No paper work changed hands but I'm sure has all the details he needs.

But now I still don't know what to do!

• Site Banned Posts: 118 ✭✭browniepoints

There is from memory some group of ROI /NI with UK reg who protest somewhere on the net as they get caught with this border issue live in the North and work in the South

I gather if one of them get stopped with ROI customs the others race to the location to help out as the extra numbers of witness to legal travesty slow down the ROI customs quick theft and grab

If they make the car ROI plate they get problems they cant easily insure as they are not ROI resident
    If they make car NI where they live they get it from customs including seizing and impounding of cars and worse dragged into courts accused of all sorts .

Under EU rights for worker to travel and work there is probably case to take the ROI government to court for breach of EU treaties with this kind of harassment of migratory EU worker .

Denmark has similar issues no VRT on German cars and high VRT on danish cars
    These days many danish work live in Germany and commute to work in Danemark

Worth looking there to see what the latest is there as the ROI government tends to follow their lead.

A 1999 car hardly worth the price and problems to import but it can be hard to find a the same good 1999 car so might be worth the trouble .Your call on that .

wWhen we have cinderalla types with private jets not paying Millions in tax with staying outside ROI for so many days of the year the Customs can only get the small fry like you

I would stand your ground say all the facts if you live mostly in NI then your not breaking any law.Just cause you agreed to the change doesn't mean you have to follow through .Anyway its a €400car so Customs have already spent the profits talking to you .Storm in tea cup talk to others who been there done that and told the customs to take a hike and won their rights to drive thier NI car and especially to be found resistance types from Balbriggan to Dundalk to Newry who float the border region .

Jed .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,699 ✭✭✭goochy

I agree with the guards making life difficult for plp driving nordie regs down south . See it even in cork - no time for plp who want the best of both worlds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,953 ✭✭✭aujopimur

I think the minimum VRT on old yokes is €720.

goochy wrote: »

Your not very well informed on the subject if you think it's the guards that are giving me hassle! :o

There is from memory some group of ROI /NI with UK reg who protest somewhere on the net as they get caught with this border issue live in the North and work in the South

I gather if one of them get stopped with ROI customs the others race to the location to help out as the extra numbers of witness to legal travesty slow down the ROI customs quick theft and grab

If they make the car ROI plate they get problems they cant easily insure as they are not ROI resident
    If they make car NI where they live they get it from customs including seizing and impounding of cars and worse dragged into courts accused of all sorts .

Under EU rights for worker to travel and work there is probably case to take the ROI government to court for breach of EU treaties with this kind of harassment of migratory EU worker .

Denmark has similar issues no VRT on German cars and high VRT on danish cars
    These days many danish work live in Germany and commute to work in Danemark

Worth looking there to see what the latest is there as the ROI government tends to follow their lead.

A 1999 car hardly worth the price and problems to import but it can be hard to find a the same good 1999 car so might be worth the trouble .Your call on that .

wWhen we have cinderalla types with private jets not paying Millions in tax with staying outside ROI for so many days of the year the Customs can only get the small fry like you

I would stand your ground say all the facts if you live mostly in NI then your not breaking any law.Just cause you agreed to the change doesn't mean you have to follow through .Anyway its a €400car so Customs have already spent the profits talking to you .Storm in tea cup talk to others who been there done that and told the customs to take a hike and won their rights to drive thier NI car and especially to be found resistance types from Balbriggan to Dundalk to Newry who float the border region .

Jed .

Thanks for all the advice on this - I looked into the situation before I was stopped and I had contented myself that I was within the rules but now I'm worried that if they return some morning that they will take the car from me!

Is there any way of preventing this like contacting someone for clearance?

• Site Banned Posts: 118 ✭✭browniepoints

I assume you asking if they can take your car . Yes is the reply to that
    .can they keep your car .Yes is the reply to that.
    Can they try to fine you .Yes
    Can they lie and fabricate evidence that isnt true so the fine sticks. Yes

Why can they do all that
    The customs isnt like the Garda where the Garda often have to show proof you did wrong before they can arrest you and drag you to court the customs are the opposite .Customs can say your guilty now show your innocent .Even if the customs are proved wrong in court which rarerly happens they can still then look for costs for impounding the car .

its rigged in favour of the customs

However customs is money making racket and a 99 car worth €400 on good day isnt gonna make them lots of brownie points with the boss . Chances are any attempt to fine you will come unstuck as it looks like your not breaking any of the rules .The big risk is some customs guy wants to gain some cudos with his mates he might fabricate some lies and then the fine might stick .
    The fine is 20% of the estimated value of car so they estimate car is worth €2000 so fine could be €200 is what i understand the fine is .However they still might want the VRT €750 or whatever rate it is they chose VRT rate as well on top as if they impound car and it stays past certain time period i can be deemed to be imported

I would just ignore them they probaly know they are in the wrong and acting from a incorrect tip off have done their trip and might just let the thing fall between the crack .They want the real meat the big Mercs and BMW they can confiscate and auction off to pay thier wages .

there are many other minor factors to consider so sent you a PM but for €400 car the chances are largest they just swing past some day steal the car and you go buy another €400 NI car and repeat this and maybe couple of years later they steal that car.

Jed