Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

jalex disperal sale

• 21-03-2015 11:17pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 97 ✭✭

Seen add on donedeal of mills in the north sell there herd seem to have all savage cows anyone now how they got on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 802 ✭✭✭oldsmokey

QA1 wrote: »
    Seen add on donedeal of mills in the north sell there herd seem to have all savage cows anyone now how they got on
    what???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 858 ✭✭✭tismesoitis

All i heard was a top price of €4100 for the mother of "Eddie rocket".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,090 ✭✭✭AntrimGlens

Averaged £1750 top cow was £4k and heifer was £3k.
    Heard no more than that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,127 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,313 ✭✭✭TITANIUM.

ya seen that on snap chat alright.
    twould be some spin for me but I must make the journey some day.
    it's some operation they have going in fairness.
    I didn't think you'd be interested in those type of cows Patsy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,127 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

TITANIUM. wrote: »
    ya seen that on snap chat alright.
    twould be some spin for me but I must make the journey some day.
    it's some operation they have going in fairness.
    I didn't think you'd be interested in those type of cows Patsy?

Too far for me too. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,447 ✭✭✭Never wrestle with pigs

It's gas, lads go up there from the south and pay huge money for them but wouldn't pay the same money to a lad down the road who actually breed these heifers. Fair play to him, it's some operation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭charolais0153

Would the heifers have red cards as such and be worthless to kill as cows?
    Fine setup even if i wouldnt like the heifers he has, a good 4 and a half hours though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,123 ✭✭✭Who2

Would the heifers have red cards as such and be worthless to kill as cows?
    Fine setup even if i wouldnt like the heifers he has, a good 4 and a half hours though

A lot of them are southern heifers, a good share come from the West, I’ve had the misfortune to try bidding against him a couple of times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,221 ✭✭✭davidk1394

Who2 wrote: »
    A lot of them are southern heifers, a good share come from the West, I’ve had the misfortune to try bidding against him a couple of times.

Bidding on machinery or stock ? His supposed to be a total C###t when bidding for machinery

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,891 ✭✭✭Bullocks

davidk1394 wrote: »
    Bidding on machinery or stock ? His supposed to be a total C###t when bidding for machinery

In what way ? I suppose he can afford to go more money on stuff he wants

davidk1394 wrote: »

Stock, nothing came cheap in those instances to either me or him, he usually got them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,021 ✭✭✭squinn2912

Those heifers look wedged with meal I’d say you’d have a nice vet bill with them calving. Wouldn’t go near them no matter how nice they look. Same guys must be coming back and paying the big money for them.
    Makes me think of a time I went to the chemist for painkillers. I got whatever I was advised to get and the box came to £5. My mother, a nurse, went through me and told me I’d have as good if I’d spent the 20p on paracetamol. Maybe I’m raving

squinn2912 wrote: »
    Those heifers look wedged with meal I’d say you’d have a nice vet bill with them calving. Wouldn’t go near them no matter how nice they look. Same guys must be coming back and paying the big money for them.
    Makes me think of a time I went to the chemist for painkillers. I got whatever I was advised to get and the box came to £5. My mother, a nurse, went through me and told me I’d have as good if I’d spent the 20p on paracetamol. Maybe I’m raving

I don’t think they are stuffed with meal but they are 600 kg plus a lot of the time pre bulling so they do come warm looking.

Who2 wrote: »
    I don’t think they are stuffed with meal but they are 600 kg plus a lot of the time pre bulling so they do come warm looking.

What do you mean warm?
    I don’t get it they must be 2 yo at bulling. Would you let a heifer grow into 600kgs before bulling her?

What do you mean warm?
    I don’t get it they must be 2 yo at bulling. Would you let a heifer grow into 600kgs before bulling her?

I wouldn’t but lads go mad for 800kg springers with a bit of colour, he follows the money, you can’t blame him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 148 ✭✭blonde10

Anyone ever buy off him,if so would they calve naturally or are you looking at c-section...serious stock for sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭charolais0153

blonde10 wrote: »
    Anyone ever buy off him,if so would they calve naturally or are you looking at c-section...serious stock for sure.

Id sya at least 90%would calf naturally

I know a few lads who bought of him and most had no hassle. Your always going to get the lads that will talk them down on the one heifer they bought but the majority had no issues. In fairness to him he buys super stock and while some make exceptional prices if bidding; anything he sells face to face has its margin and he doesn’t seem to completely ride lads either.

In fairness I know a few that bought jeeps off him and found him 100%,So can't comment really,and isnt buying any Springer buying a pig in bag,does he deliver should someone go up with a cheque book in the arse pocket ..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,147 ✭✭✭Sheep breeder

In fairness I know a few that bought jeeps off him and found him 100%,So can't comment really,and isnt buying any Springer buying a pig in bag,does he deliver should someone go up with a cheque book in the arse pocket ..

Would they not have to be export tested and would they be on red cards as uk imports and devalued when there sold again.

Jeeps or springers??

Springers

A lot of his springers are southern cattle

I suppose the type of heifers they are,even worse case scenario and things went tits up they would carry alot of weight and finish well..anybody have any inside to the bulls he uses, are they all British,if so where can you look up there proofs to see what there like...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,345 ✭✭✭Grueller

I suppose the type of heifers they are,even worse case scenario and things went tits up they would carry alot of weight and finish well..anybody have any inside to the bulls he uses, are they all British,if so where can you look up there proofs to see what there like...

Think the ad said limousins EBY and Ewdenvale Ivor. Both easy calving limousins. Both on the Dovea catalogue.

Are they all calving around the same time of the year,or is there spring calvers aswell..I'm thinking il make the trip to see what he's about..

Says 200 were put on a programme to calve in October. Those heifers could be going for £1500 I think it’s insanity buying off him but obviously plenty are.

Why would you say that..I've seen springers goin for more here in the south.

I don’t see where the profit is in them. I don’t know anyone who bought from him but I’ve been told before they’re packed. Add 200 on in euro it’s the best part of 2grand. That should go a long way to buying 2 springers. You seem sure they’d work and I’d be more than happy to be wrong and see you do well on them.

I agree,is there any value in springers? but he seems to be buying the best heifers so in theory they should breed quality..
    The Springer you'd buy for 1k in my opinion wouldn't be up for much,but then again could breed as nice a calf as any..
    Some of the special sales I've been at people go crazy bidding on in-calf heifers..

I agree,is there any value in springers? but he seems to be buying the best heifers so in theory they should breed quality..
    The Springer you'd buy for 1k in my opinion wouldn't be up for much,but then again could breed as nice a calf as any..
    Some of the special sales I've been at people go crazy bidding on in-calf heifers..

Yea that’s my point. I’d go to 1200 if buying a springer. Or a bulling heifer at 900

• Closed Accounts Posts: 851 ✭✭✭Pidae.m

Yea that’s my point. I’d go to 1200 if buying a springer. Or a bulling heifer at 900

That's a good point. If I look at my best 5 cows they certainly weren't the 5 best heifers I bought to bull. Point been if you spend bonkers money it doesn't gaurantee s h I t.

How do you know in theory that they turn out to be good milkers and breeders and make good cows. Could be big forced fancy looking heifers.

That’s exactly what I think. Pushed like hell idcsay it’d be no fun calving then. We rarely keep the fancy ones for cows very often they can’t calve, no good on feet, no milk or no lasting ability. I’d rather know what I’m keeping. Our best cows are big framy ones that have lots of milk. At least I thought that. I weighed a few of them last week and was amazed to see several cows around 780-800kgs. There’s a wee angus one at 14 years and 600 kgs with last years calf 30 kgs below the best of the big cows’ calves. Now you’d be a long time sourcing her at this sale. How many of those heifers will get to 10 let alone 14?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 1,916 Mod ✭✭✭✭Albert Johnson

I think the short answer to that question is that you don't know until after the fact. A combination of physical traits, statistical information based on back breeding and previous experience can help to form an opinion but luck also plays a part imo. Some lads can't see beyond physical traits and go stone mad for big tanks of heifers at the expense of everything else. Having a good name is also a help, once your established some lads will buy them almost solely because they were dear and therefore must be the real thing.

Genetics play a major role in how stock preform as does luck to a lesser degree. I know of a lad locally that bought two springers before Xmas off a local part time farmer who hand picks nice slips in local marts, bulls them and sells as springers close to calving. They'd be as genuine as stock could be and yet the first one calved a dead calf while the second one developed stomach ulcers and wasn't expected to survive last I heard. Neither of them would have been overly expensive but just weren't a lucky purchase.

As regards genetics a neighbour who would be a top class stockman had 2 full sister Shorthorn cows and served them both to the same Limousin bull a good few years ago. They both had a red Limousin heifer calf the following spring, two nice calves and physically almost identical. In relation to temperament however they were like chalk and cheese, one was totally feral and the other like a lamb. The wild one was sold and did laps of the ring like a racehorse when at the mart. The docile one was retained as a replacement and remained as quiet as a mouse until culled due to age.