Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Vw jetta hard to fill with diesel

• 21-03-2015 12:58pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭

hi all i bought a vw jetta 2009 tdi a few weeks ago and its a nightmare to fill with fuel... it keeps cutting out as the fuel is restricted from making its way down into the tank its like the air in the tank cant escape anyone know where the blockage may be or is it something else

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 477 ✭✭arthur daly

Try a different angle when putting the nozzle in could be going in to far either

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Probably shoving the nozzle in too far. Diesel probably splashing off the neck back into the nozzle and knocking off the pump

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Pull nozzle out a bit to help airflow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭daithi55

have tried it every sort of way with no luck

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

Are you taking the cap off?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭bulleyes

Is it a particular petrol station?

I cant fill up for the same reaon in topaz stations!!! Dont ask me why but the guy behind the counter says it happens with certain cars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,904 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Left of field answer here.

Who owned the car before you and did they use a drop of the green in her?

I watched an oul lad jam expanding mesh down the fuel entry point of his citroen xantia. I asked him what he was doing - "makes it next to impossible for the customs to get the diesel out of her".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭magentis

Whats expanding mesh?

Dont fuel tanks have a breather hose?
    Maybe thats blocked?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,569 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

magentis wrote: »
    Whats expanding mesh?

It's like it's got teeth down there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,219 ✭✭✭pablo128

mfceiling wrote: »
    Left of field answer here.

Who owned the car before you and did they use a drop of the green in her?

I watched an oul lad jam expanding mesh down the fuel entry point of his citroen xantia. I asked him what he was doing - "makes it next to impossible for the customs to get the diesel out of her".

I'd love to see him standing there watching as the customs get a sample from his fuel filter housing!:pac:

It's like it's got teeth down there.

Lol!
    Thats the first thing i thought of when i saw people talking about angle of insertion:D

ive filled in three different stations and had the same bother in all of them i presume there is an air valve of some sort blocked

i said id ask in the motoring section but it seems ive posted in the fecking comedy section lol

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 7,730 Mod ✭✭✭✭delly

I had the same thing with an 07 focus, always filling in topaz station. Changed angles and how much the nozzle went in, but always cut out. Never solved it, but managed to live with it by loosening the grip on the trigger. A slower fill up, but didn't cut out.

delly wrote: »
    I had the same thing with an 07 focus, always filling in topaz station. Changed angles and how much the nozzle went in, but always cut out. Never solved it, but managed to live with it by loosening the grip on the trigger. A slower fill up, but didn't cut out.

i do a lot of mileage im drove mad filling it lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,430 ✭✭✭bladespin

pablo128 wrote:
    I'd love to see him standing there watching as the customs get a sample from his fuel filter housing!

Very unlikely they would even attempt to tow a car to a garage to do this without anything to warrant it.

MasteryDarts Ireland - Master your game!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,219 ✭✭✭pablo128

bladespin wrote: »
    Very unlikely they would even attempt to tow a car to a garage to do this without anything to warrant it.

They have been known to do it on the side of the road, if they cant get a sample from the tank or suspect there's a false tank.
    https://www.google.ie/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=5&cad=rja&uact=8&ved=0CD0QFjAE&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.dtdirl.com%2Fforums%2Fshowthread.php%3Ft%3D81052&ei=b6cOVY2ULon7Uu63gIgO&usg=AFQjCNEjdcOjA6S-IbWV5xf-YB3bo2GuAg

Have a read of this thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Had a Subaru that was the very same. There was a breather pipe kinked almost closed. It led to a kind of expansion tank and fume filter housing up under the wheel arch. Mind you , that was a petrol, so had even less of an air gap around the nozzle.

pablo128 wrote:
    They have been known to do it on the side of the road, if they cant get a sample from the tank or suspect there's a false tank.

It would be a huge risk leaving themselves open to all sorts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

It would be a huge risk leaving themselves open to all sorts.
    Customs can do as they please.
    They will order the Gardaí to assist them if needs be.

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    They will order the Gardaí to assist them if needs be.

Not disputing that but they are also responsible for their actions, if they go disassembling a fuel filter on the side of the road and something later goes wrong with the car they could have a liability, I doubt one of their inspectors would risk that so it would more than likely be a garage job, most civvies wouldn't want the hassle paperwork involved in that unless absolutely convinced.
    Also I've driven diesel cars and jeeps for years and been through literally dozens of dipping points without even being tested, they're usually only interested in the bigger fish.

On topic again, had a 99 Golf that had an exceptionally narrow filler (no idea why), if you weren't exactly right the pump would cut out over and over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

They have more power then the guards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Just let the nozzle rest as it enters the neck of the tank. Don't be holding it up or anything, keep the pressure downward.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 477 ✭✭arthur daly

Not disputing that but they are also responsible for their actions, if they go disassembling a fuel filter on the side of the road and something later goes wrong with the car they could have a liability, I doubt one of their inspectors would risk that so it would more than likely be a garage job, most civvies wouldn't want the hassle paperwork involved in that unless absolutely convinced.
    Also I've driven diesel cars and jeeps for years and been through literally dozens of dipping points without even being tested, they're usually only interested in the bigger fish.

On topic again, had a 99 Golf that had an exceptionally narrow filler (no idea why), if you weren't exactly right the pump would cut out over and over.

What's bigger fish,green diesel is the the same regardless if it's a tiny engine or big

If they can't get a sample from the tank they will be suspicious and take it a step further and can and do take samples from the engine bay.

It's kind of like saying garda won't raid drug houses because there might not be anything there and would be libl for any damage etc.
    They dip thousands of cars and will know particular models are easy to dip or not and will act accordingly
    People who know little about cars do be under the assumption a car could be damaged from taking fuel from a filter housing,

What's bigger fish,green diesel is the the same regardless if it's a tiny engine or big

Any customs checks I've gone through were usually only interested in hauliers, lorries and large vans, I've never seen a car being checked, just my experience.
    If they can't get a sample from the tank they will be suspicious and take it a step further and can and do take samples from the engine bay.

It's kind of like saying garda won't raid drug houses because there might not be anything there and would be libl for any damage etc.
    It may raise suspicions and they may act on them, I'm not suggesting otherwise but they would look at the pros and cons first.
    It's nothing like saying a garda won't raid a drug house for fear of liability.
    They won't just randomly raid a house though as they would certainly be wary of repercussions.

They dip thousands of cars and will know particular models are easy to dip or not and will act accordingly
    I'm sure they do but they're not professional mechanics either and don't pretend to be.
    People who know little about cars do be under the assumption a car could be damaged from taking fuel from a filter housing,
    I've seen a 'competent' mechanic break a bleeder on the base of filter, I'm sure the same could happen someone not qualified, I've also seen threaded screws many times, are you saying they could not possibly do something like that?
    If they threaded a screw on my filter housing I wouldn't be comfortable driving the car (I'll confess to doing so myself in the past and know what happens) - so that would mean repairs, car rental etc, if they take their job seriously (I know they do) then they wouldn't be too happy chancing that.

Anyhoo, it's just an opinion, it's also feck all to do with the OP's original question anyway.