Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is it legal to........

• 20-03-2015 11:44am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭

smash your neighbours dog in the head with a shovel.

The noisy little b****x needs to go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭bop1977

Yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,934 ✭✭✭Renegade Mechanic

Quite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

Dogs bark, get over it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

Depends on whether you're doing it for political reasons or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,210 ✭✭✭nelly17

Are they sectarian barks?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,409 ✭✭✭✭endacl

I dunno....

It would qualify as both wackin' and attackin'....

You do seem uniquely qualified.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 189 ✭✭Chijj

Why don't you offer to bring the dog out for a walk in the evening, killing two birds with one stone that the dog will be too tired to bark and invariably people called whacker are generally overweight so you could lose a few pounds too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,772 ✭✭✭✭Whispered

Sounds like a problem with an inconsiderate ass of a neighbour rather than the dogs fault. That dog goes they'll just replace it with another and allow the same thing to happen.

Contact your local dog warden for advice.

Yes it is illegal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Whispered wrote: »
    Sounds like a problem with an inconsiderate ass of a neighbour rather than the dogs fault. That dog goes they'll just replace it with another and allow the same thing to happen.

Yes it is illegal.

dog warden will do nothing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

anna080 wrote: »
    Dogs bark, get over it.
    Exactly

My dog has a has a habit of barking non stop for about half an hour every morning at about half 9. I got a complaint from Hyacinth Bucket next door over it but she shut up when I reminded her that her cats buried shyte in my flower beds last summer and destroyed all my plants

Some people have so little going on in their lives that they complain over the slightest thing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,578 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Hit the neighbours for not being responsible for their dog.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,611 ✭✭✭Valetta

Chijj wrote: »
    Why don't you offer to bring the dog out for a walk in the evening, killing two birds with one stone that the dog will be too tired to bark and invariably people called whacker are generally overweight so you could lose a few pounds too.

Just replacing one dastardly deed with another.

Wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭Magico Gonzalez

Hopefully someone pishes in your coffee this morning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,526 ✭✭✭Slicemeister

Is it a plastic or timber handled shovel?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭conorhal

Exactly

My dog has a has a habit of barking non stop for about half an hour every morning at about half 9. I got a complaint from Hyacinth Bucket next door over it but she shut up when I reminded her that her cats buried shyte in my flower beds last summer and destroyed all my plants

Some people have so little going on in their lives that they complain over the slightest thing

Well if you know that, keep the bloody dog in the house between half 9 and 10 so. Inconsiderate dog owners are the worst.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,169 ✭✭✭Wang King

Neighbour has 4 bishon dogs, takes 2 for a quick walk, then comes back to take the other 2 for a walk, pretending its the same 2 dogs all the time . They bark incessantly as they are left cooped up in the living room most of the day... Have definitely felt like throwing some poisoned sausages in there once or twice I will admit
    She's a council tenant, so i suppose there may be some regulations she's flaunting, must look into it

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭The Diabolical Monocle

Buy some dog treats ..
    When it stops barking throw it a treat and some attention.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,371 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

Dogs bark, get over it.

Dogs should not engage in excessive barking, and if they do it is likely because they lack sufficient stimulation and exercise. Lazy owners who shove their dog into the garden and ignore them are the problem, of course the dogs gets bored and nuts.

A well walked dog won't have the mental or physical energy for excessive barking.

There are far more bad dog owners than there are bad dogs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 147 ✭✭Jon_459

Exactly

Complain over slightest thing!

I get to sleep late at weekends - the last thing I need is a dog howling at nothing for half an hour.
    If you can't keep it quiet, keep the damn thing indoors where it won't disturb anyone!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Try here 1850 715 815

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,799 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

Jon_459 wrote: »
    Complain over slightest thing!

I get to sleep late at weekends - the last thing I need is a dog howling at nothing for half an hour.
    If you can't keep it quiet, keep the damn thing indoors where it won't disturb anyone!
    It's practice for when you have kids.... or when your prostate starts to play up, whichever comes first

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

As a general rule, if your question starts "Is it legal to....." It's probably safer to just not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,807 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

Dogs bark, get over it.
    Not if their heads are smashed in with a shovel...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Cruelty to animals is wrong.

Kill the owner.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,261 ✭✭✭Baron Kurtz

Nodin wrote: »
    Cruelty to animals is wrong.

Kill the owner.

Kill Wacker with a shovel. Kill the owner with a shovel. Give the pooch to me.

That seems a fair and balanced solution to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

God no. What you can do is secretly let the dog out, then run it over with your car and sue the owner.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,797 ✭✭✭Kevin McCloud

Dogs should be banned from housing estates, if people want a pet buy a goldfish.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 277 ✭✭BBJBIG

Animals are Innocent.
    It's people that are the problem. Oireland is jam packed with Kunts.
    So, instead of harming the poor Dog, figure out how to foooooook the Neighbour in the ass.
    And, I don't mean the Ghey way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Dogs should be banned from housing estates, if people want a pet buy a goldfish.
    A city isn't really a good environment for a dog. But people are blind to the fact their breeding deformities into dogs so they look cute, so it's not surprising they can't see that being locked up each day with a hour or two of daily exercise isn't really a great life for a long range predator like a dog.

How the fuck are you going to get a lead on a goldfish to bring it for a walk?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,797 ✭✭✭Kevin McCloud

You could use this

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,357 ✭✭✭Littlekittylou

Where do you live whacker?:)What is your address?:)

You could use this

Ye'd have to let him have a sniff around though. Ye know what they're like.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,357 ✭✭✭Littlekittylou

FOR ANYONE WHO NEEDS TO STOP A DOG BARKING!

CHEW TOYS!
    Dogs cannot bark when they have a chew toy in their mouths.

EXERCISE!

Dogs who are well exercised rarely over bark.

DON'T LEAVE YOUR DOG ALONE FOR LONG PERIODS!

Dogs left alone are bored and also become extra sensitive to stimulus. The number one reason dogs get over emotional and crabby is being alone and under stimulated for long periods. Then any slight noise sets them off.

TEACH YOUR DOG THE QUIET COMMAND!

THE TELLINGTON TOUCH!
    It works it's a therapeutic ear massage also petting the chest.

dog warden will do nothing

No, but if the OP wants to go down a legal route to have the dog removed its the best place to start. you want a record of trying to sort it out, he will also advise the next steps. Plus a knock on the door from the warden might be enough to sort it out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

Dogs bark, get over it.

Humans smash dogs with blunt instruments.

Get over it.

Yes it is illegal.

Its illegal to ram a pitch fork up their ass though.

ScumLord wrote: »
    A city isn't really a good environment for a dog. But people are blind to the fact their breeding deformities into dogs so they look cute, so it's not surprising they can't see that being locked up each day with a hour or two of daily exercise isn't really a great life for a long range predator like a dog.

People can't seem to pick a breed that's suited to their lifestyle either. Single? Work long hours? Live in an apartment? Grand, buy an alaskan malamute!

That's what one of my neighbours did, bought a dog bred to haul sleds across the artic and then left it to howl all day on a balcony. That's like sticking a shark in a fishbowl or an eagle in a birdcage.
    To make matters worse the apartments I live in face another block of apartments, so the mutt’s incessant barking echoed back and forth causing the stupid animal to think another dog is backing back at it, which seems to trigger a further frenzy of barked replies until the dog finally barked itself out.

I thank God every day that it only took a month before the owner was told to 'get rid or get out'.

Is it a plastic or timber handled shovel?

Its a proper manly shovel. Timber handled.

Buy some dog treats ..
    When it stops barking throw it a treat and some attention.

I know the dog treats I'll give him.

A kick in the bollix.

Its illegal to ram a pitch fork up their ass though.

Probably, but understandable. Because of the ignorant fool the dog is suffering, you're suffering and probably countless other people. Really annoys me :mad:

It's a total pain in the swiss roll. and there's little need or excuse for it.

Where do you live whacker?:)What is your address?:)

I live in dublin 7

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭UCDVet

Dogs bark, get over it.

I hate when people say this. It's provably not true. Dogs can trivially be trained not to bark.

It's laziness, plain and simple. Most of the time, the dog will only bark when left alone - IE the *owner* of said dog doesn't have to deal with it. So, why spend the time training their dog? Surely, they're meant to bark!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,521 ✭✭✭Shred

Dogs bark, yes. However as a previous dog owner I always ensured to be considerate to others and not leave my dog out barking for 30 minutes/1 hour at a time at all hours unlike my ignorant fúck of a neighbour. They also happen to have two cats who shít all over my garden where my kid plays. Cúnts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,219 ✭✭✭pablo128

A workmate used to work as a postman back in Poland. I asked him one day about getting attacked by dogs. His reply with a smirk was 'Pepper spray'. The post office over there supply the posties with it. He said it was great crack. After a week on a new road, he would start walking up and could see all the dogs scarpering!

So get yourself some pepper spray and hose the b@stard right in the snout, is my advice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,174 ✭✭✭RhubarbCrumble

I live in a small estate. My neighbour has two alsatians and they're driving the whole estate insane. They bark morning, noon and night and just never stop. Basically he just has them for breeding. They're locked up in a tiny run all day and all night. He never takes them walking, and I mean NEVER, that's not an exaggeration. He's at work all day, but his wife is at home so she knows how bad they are.

A number of us in the estate have discussed it and we contacted the local warden AND local SPCA. We were told that as long as he's feeding them and they're not being cruelly treated, then nothing can be done. We pointed out that they ARE being cruelly treated because they're in a tiny run and never get out. They recently broke down the side gate and one of them actually jumped the wall when one of the neighbours children was walking to school. The child in question is twelve, but was absolutely terrified (being honest, I would be too).

A couple of the neighbours have approached the owner and have been told where to go.

The house is rented and the landlord was contacted, but he doesn't live in the same county and basically once the rent is being paid he couldn't care less.

I live in a small estate. My neighbour has two alsatians and they're driving the whole estate insane. They bark morning, noon and night and just never stop. Basically he just has them for breeding. They're locked up in a tiny run all day and all night. He never takes them walking, and I mean NEVER, that's not an exaggeration. He's at work all day, but his wife is at home so she knows how bad they are.

A number of us in the estate have discussed it and we contacted the local warden AND local SPCA. We were told that as long as he's feeding them and they're not being cruelly treated, then nothing can be done. We pointed out that they ARE being cruelly treated because they're in a tiny run and never get out. They recently broke down the side gate and one of them actually jumped the wall when one of the neighbours children was walking to school. The child in question is twelve, but was absolutely terrified (being honest, I would be too).

A couple of the neighbours have approached the owner and have been told where to go.

The house is rented and the landlord was contacted, but he doesn't live in the same county and basically once the rent is being paid he couldn't care less.

The only real option for you I'm afraid is to go legal and sue him for noise nuisance. The court can order him to get rid of the dogs and award costs against him. That would soften his cough.

Section 25 of the Control of Dogs Act 1986 deals with nuisance by barking dogs. If you don’t get a satisfactory response from the dog owner, you may complain to the District Court, using the form prescribed under the Control of Dogs Act. These forms are available from local authorities.
    The court may make an order requiring the occupier of the premises in which the dog is kept to abate the nuisance by exercising due control over a dog. The court may limit the number of dogs that can be kept on a premises or may direct that a dog be delivered to a dog warden to be dealt with as unwanted.

http://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/environment/environmental_protection/noise_regulations.html

Sometimes there is only one way to deal with unreasonable people, but you will need to gather evidence, audio and video and keep a journal of the disturbances along with your neighbours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,665 ✭✭✭Tin Foil Hat

Get yourself a sheep. Then claim the dog is worrying the sheep. Then shoot the fukker. Don't forget your farmers cap.

Afterwards, you can eat the sheep.