Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Good gym trainers (shoes)

• 18-03-2015 8:05am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 227 ✭✭

Hey folks,

Just looking for some guidance here...

Been training for a good while now, doing the usual 4 day split, and I'm about to get back into squatting. The reason I'm getting back into it was because I developed piriformis syndrome from poor form on my squatting and from bad posture aswell.

I'm looking to get a good set of runners for foot stabilising whilst squatting. Personally I dont want to buy the weightlifting shoes that everyone seems to be wearing these days...especially when they are training arms or chest?!? and I'm not going near the latest fashion trend of nike free runs!

Can anyone recommend a decent shoe? I like the asics range but they seem extremely chunky looking.

Any advice would be great folks thanks a mill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,694 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

If it's foot stability you want, a weightlifting show would be your friend regardless of whether others wear during upper body workouts.

If that doesn't float your boat, then just get something with a flat sole and as little cushioning as possible. But they won't be as stable as weightlifting shoes, imho.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,898 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

I've always used Converse Chuck Taylor runner boots for squats. I even take the insole out and never tie the laces. I suppose I should just buy the shoe and not the boot.

Any flat cheap runner will do, the less cushioning the better.

they/them/theirs

And so on, and so on …. - Slavoj Žižek

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,050 ✭✭✭EmcD123

Weightlifting shoes are awesome though and make a big difference when youre squatting but i wouldnt squat in asics,they roll you onto your toes too much. Wear something flat as others have said if youre not going to get weightlifting shoes.
    Pennneys have a pretty good range ,thats what i was using up until recently

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

....I want a good set of runners to stabilise my foot when squatting, but I don't want the shoes designed to do EXACTLY that?

Just buy the damn shoes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,900 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

Runners, especially those like Asics, are designed to provide cushioning when running. Basically the opposite to what you are looking for.

Converse or other dense, flat soled shoes will be much better, and cheap. Vibrams or other thin soles also fit the goal, in a way.

Weightlifting shoes will give you the most support stability. Hands down the best option. Not sure why you want to avoid them tbh.
    Who cares what other people do whilst wearing them. I often have my lifting shoes on when doing pull ups. Some might sneer at that, but I don't care. I was simply squatting before hand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 227 ✭✭ADO

Ok I'm sold....I'll get the weighting shoes, only reason I didn't want to get them also was because if I'm doing lunges or running o. The treadmill I'd have to change, I suppose it was more of an Inconvieneance then anything...

So which ones do you guys recommend to get?
    Are they all the same or is there anything I need to watch out for?

ADO wrote: »
    Ok I'm sold....I'll get the weighting shoes, only reason I didn't want to get them also was because if I'm doing lunges or running o. The treadmill I'd have to change, I suppose it was more of an Inconvieneance then anything...

I only use mine for back and front squatting. I'll leave them on if it doesn't matter what's on my feet for the rest of the workout. If it does, I change. It's not a massive inconvenience.

I can't fault the Power Perfects...

..and I thought it was impossible to change someone's mind online :eek:

If you can afford the top of the line Adidas, do it: http://www.d8fitness.com/store/foot-wear/adi-power-weightlifting-shoes/

If it's a bit of a stretch, the powerlifts are perfectly good:http://www.d8fitness.com/store/foot-wear/powerlift-2-blackwhitered/

Any shoe in the gym will be a compromise on some level.

You probably have a pair of shoes you already run in right? So use those for that.

BUT having said all that, if you wanted an all around shoe, and have decent core stability and ankle movement, the reebok nanos are hard to beat: http://www.reebok.ie/nano_4.0?cm_mmc=ReebokSEM_Google-_-Crossfit-B-EXACT-_-Shoes-CrossFit_Nano-X-General-_-reebok%20nano&cm_mmca1=IE&cm_mmca2=Exact

Best option?

Adipowers + Nanos

...if you feel like dropping €300 :)

Those reebok have that dreadful word of crossfit in them so I'd rather burn them!! ������

Thanks for the advice lads I really appreciate it.

I'll spend about €100-€120 on the weightlifting shoes and just use them on leg day and for when I'm deadlifting.

I'll get a pair of slim shoes (not chunky ones) for the other days.

Thanks again for the help folks!

Hanley wrote: »
    If it's a bit of a stretch, the powerlifts are perfectly good:http://www.d8fitness.com/store/foot-wear/powerlift-2-blackwhitered/

I got these a bit cheaper direct from adidas.

They're a grand shoe for me. A hell of a difference from wearing my saucony running shoes while lifting.

Otherwise reebok crossfit and inov8 do good all round shoes, but for 70 odd quid I'd just buy the lifting shoes. There's a reason people wear them.

Edit: And I use them for all lifting. They make a difference. Don't write them off because you think only posers wear them. You've already written off a fantastic range of shoe because of a name on them which just boggles the mind.

Those reebok have that dreadful word of crossfit in them so I'd rather burn them!! ������

Thanks for the advice lads I really appreciate it.

I'll spend about €100-€120 on the weightlifting shoes and just use them on leg day and for when I'm deadlifting.

I'll get a pair of slim shoes (not chunky ones) for the other days.

Thanks again for the help folks!

I've about 7 pairs of nano's at this stage and love everyone of them. Watch your mouth.

...seriously tho - who cares if they say CF on em.

It's not like they're gonna sneak into your room in the middle of the night and force feed you Kool aid.

They'll be fine for lunges.
    Don't run on squat day.
    Power Perfects or Powerlifts should be fine in that case.

Don't deadlift in them though.
    That's a silly reason tbh.

I have Reebok's original CF lifting shoe. Does exactly what it says on the tin.

I don't even Crossfit though, sshhh, lolz

Mellor wrote: »

Don't deadlift in them though.

How come?

How come?

Elevated heel pitches weight forward a bit and moves knee position putting less stress onto glutes/hamstrings.

People get a bit TOO overexcited about the difference imo, but since it's such a simple thing to change I don't see why you wouldn't :)

Hanley wrote: »
    Elevated heel pitches weight forward a bit and moves knee position putting less stress onto glutes/hamstrings.

People get a bit TOO overexcited about the difference imo, but since it's such a simple thing to change I don't see why you wouldn't :)

Oh wow, OK, my deadlifts massively improved when I moved to the powerlifts but I was coming from a fairly chunky running shoe so is that the only reason?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,434 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

How come?

Because you don't want to have your ankle tilting forward unnaturally while deadlifting. Weightlifting shoes make it harder (slightly but still) to establish the position you want when deadlifting. You want as vertical a shin as possible with your hips and back ideally set and want to push the ground away through your heels through the movement. Your barefeet or socks make the most sense when Deadlifting, or a very flat sole with little cushion.

To the OP: I may change too and from my Nanos and Adidias Weightlifting shoes during a workout or go barefoot for a very heavy Deadlift set. It's not a big deal.

Only joking about the crossfit lads....Jaysus! lol!

But thanks again to everyone for the replies!

I'll give the socks a go so.

Sorry for hijacking your thread OP :)

How come?
    Changes lift mechanics as Hanley described.
    It's also going to raise your hips, turning it into a slight defecit deadlift.
    Major issue? Nope.
    Easily avoidable? Yup.

Also, in before Clarence deadlifting in shoes.

Oh wow, OK, my deadlifts massively improved when I moved to the powerlifts but I was coming from a fairly chunky running shoe so is that the only reason?
    chunky soft runners < solid lifting shoes < thin flat soles < socks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,390 ✭✭✭Stench Blossoms

Mellor wrote: »
    chunky soft runners < solid lifting shoes < thin flat soles < socks

Converse all the way if the gym doesn't allow you to DL in socks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,410 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Socks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

I don't crossfit but some of that Reebok crossfit stuff is pretty nice and easily accessible to buy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 664 ✭✭✭Yer Aul One

I don't crossfit but some of that Reebok crossfit stuff is pretty nice and easily accessible to buy

I don't play for Man United but sometimes I wear their shirts

Converse all the way if the gym doesn't allow you to DL in socks.

Converse for everything except deadlifts. Then it's socks for deadlifts.

Nothing looks as hardcore as a man in converse chuck Taylor's, denim shorts and a wife beater in te gym.

they/them/theirs

Brian? wrote: »
    Nothing looks as hardcore as a man in converse chuck Taylor's, denim shorts and a wife beater in te gym.

Pity you painted a picture of Tobias...

As long as you don't shower in the shorts, it's hard core.

they/them/theirs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,390 ✭✭✭Stench Blossoms

My sister is a nevernude.

Literally, dozens!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,818 ✭✭✭Inspector Coptoor

Weightlifting shoes for squatting of all kinds and olympic lifts.
    Vibram Fivefingers for Deadlifting and general gym work.

Weightlifting shoes for squatting of all kinds and olympic lifts.
    Vibram Fivefingers for Deadlifting and general gym work.

I forgot about the Fivefingers! I actually used those for a while. The problem I had was the 5 minutes it took to put on before every session. I must dig them out, found them pretty good for squatting. Still socks for deadlifts though.

they/them/theirs