Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

So how was everyone's Paddys Day?

• 18-03-2015 5:01am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 317 ✭✭

Mine was spent on a bus in Thailand for 12 hours travelling from Bangkok to Chiang Mai. Didn't have a drop of beer and had terrible homesickness for the first time of my trip!

Well jealous of some of ye who are probably still on the session! Not so jealous of those of you who have to work through the hangover. Did I miss much? You all have a good Paddy's Day?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,847 ✭✭✭✭Shannon757

Mass-Parade-pub.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53 ✭✭Vernonymous

The parade is fun :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Tangatagamadda Chaddabinga Bonga Bungo

Mine involved whiskey, sodomy, ham sandwiches and fighting so not all that different to every other Tuesday I live on our Emerald Isle. :cool:

Or, I did my drinking at the weekend so I could actually wake today without feeling like sh!t.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭Buona Fortuna

Mine involved whiskey, sodomy, ham sandwiches and fighting so not all that different to every other Tuesday I live on our Emerald Isle. :cool:

Or, I did my drinking at the weekend so I could actually wake today without feeling like sh!t.

Are you sore for work?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,799 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

Went to the parade with the kids

Went for a pint with my brother

Scenes missing

I have a sore head and my wife's mad at me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,694 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

Park with the family - gym - House of Cards

Win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Tangatagamadda Chaddabinga Bonga Bungo

Are you sore for work?

Just my knuckles from fighting so much. :cool:

That may be a lie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

Told some yank to be a man and order a pint of Guinness not a glass.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,172 ✭✭✭Ghost Buster

Went to the parade with one kid to watch the other one take part. Watched in horror as the mini skirted double denim tango orangey slappers and their knuckle dragging Red Bull swigging agressive sperm donors doubled in population and added a edgy element to the day. Gotta love Longford.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,556 ✭✭✭the_monkey

A few sore heads this morning I'd say...

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 4,034 Mod ✭✭✭✭Planet X

I read on Twatter that there was some kerfuffle with the Tallaght Luas stop and the Garda Schikkilony has to close it or something?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,191 ✭✭✭Eugene Norman

Planet X wrote: »
    I read on Twatter that there was some kerfuffle with the Tallaght Luas stop and the Garda Schikkilony has to close it or something?

It was closed for a while for sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,163 ✭✭✭Shrap

Missed the small-town parade for the first time in 16 years cos none of the kids wanted to go. In fact, had to carefully time NOT getting stuck in traffic waiting for parade whilst collecting eldest from party night on the other side of town. Move over Mum :(

In fairness, I could nearly tell you the exact number plates of the vintage tractors in this parade at this stage. Yearly highlight is the squad car heading it up with the lights flashing and the siren blipping at the kids.....oh, and the hunt, complete with beagle pack :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭cloud493

Went the parade with the young un
    Came back and got burritos
    Watched tv
    Went out for a run
    Bed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

roro1990 wrote: »
    Mine was spent on a bus in Thailand for 12 hours travelling from Bangkok to Chiang Mai. Didn't have a drop of beer

So,regardless of the day that was in it,your telling me you embarked on a 12 hour bus trip in Thailand and never had the foresight or wherewithal to bring a bag of cans??Jesus man, if your gonna travel, at least do it fu@king properly :mad:
    Back to the question at hand,my St Patrick's day was a fairly uneventful affair, lots of fighting, whiskey and a bit of sodomy along with various other hi-jinks.Just a normal Tuesday, as the fellow with the long name above mentioned.Hope the homesickness has passed man,enjoy Thailand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

It was ****... Worked all day, was racing to tesco to grab some beer after, but was met with a closed door...

Worked all day, tired, sober. So yeah, ****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

Got home from work and promptly fell asleep for 2 hours. Fantastic :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 585 ✭✭✭Crumpets

Went to the local parade, came home and spent the day in bed. Overdid it on Monday night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭AndonHandon

Went to a few pubs, ended up with a group of Aussies and Americans which lead to shots and slagging about which nationality were the best drinkers. Great Craic!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Waiting for Bismarck to come on and tell us he climbed Mont Blanc before sitting down to a breakfast of granola with a selection of intercontinental nuts in llama's milk and the juice of Dom João oranges squeezed on the banks of the River Tejo

Then off to work for a 16 hour day of high powered meetings but taking time out to de-stress by completing a marathon after a lunch break of olive and organic artichoke paninis and herbal tea crafted by Tibetan monks.

Then home via the gym for a meal of hand picked cabbage and oak smoked bacon washed down with a 330ml bottle of O'Biddy's Ballinasloe Brewed & Bottled Paddy Bullshít Green Craft Semi Wheat Organic Mild Ale .

For the day that was in it like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,248 ✭✭✭kstand

I see the usual thing of gangs of teenage scumbags caused loads of problems yesterday in the capital. The sooner justice Singapore style is introduced for young vermin aged between 12 and 18 the better. Antisocial behaviour - 6 lashes of the ratan on the bare. Violence - 12 lashes. Boys and girls, no distinction. It's the only thing young filth like that understand. You could rest assured that things would improve greatly after the first few recipients got their dose and weren't able to sit down for a week or two afterwards.

Lapin wrote: »
    Waiting for Bismarck to come on and tell us he climbed Mont Blanc before sitting down to a breakfast of granola with a selection of intercontinental nuts in llama's milk and the juice of Dom João oranges squeezed on the banks of the River Tejo

Then off to work for a 16 hour day of high powered meetings but taking time out to de-stress by completing a marathon after a lunch break of olive and organic artichoke paninis and herbal tea crafted by Tibetan monks.

Then home via the gym for a meal of hand picked cabbage and oak smoked bacon washed down with a 330ml bottle of O'Biddy's Ballinasloe Brewed & Bottled Paddy Bullshít Green Craft Semi Wheat Organic Mild Ale .

Best.
    Post.
    Ever.

Crying with laughter here.

:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 911 ✭✭✭Flying Abruptly

First time not in Ireland for Paddys Day so no day off. Had to put up with colleagues trying to make me show them some Irish dancing and sing the "Paddys Day song"!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,986 ✭✭✭philstar

^^^^^^^^^^

and whats the Paddys Day song???

philstar wrote: »
    ^^^^^^^^^^

and whats the Paddys Day song???

There is none.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,986 ✭✭✭philstar

^^^^^^^^^^^^

well did you dance for them??

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 14,723 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dcully

Went for a 60k cycle yesterday morning was a great morning for it,then relaxed infront of the tv for a bit before heading to Newbridge to get some grub with wife and kids.
    We thought we would leave it until after 3pm to avoid the crowds from the parade etc,after a small bit of shopping in whitewater shopping center we went to Gourmet Burger and were greeted with running battles of gangs of teenagers in the street outside.
    We saw atleast 3 young lads with bloody faces,poor security guards running allover the place to try and restore order as it was in the shopping center surrounding area.
    Absolutely shocking stuff right outside the window from where we were sitting with our 3 kids @ 4pm in the day.
    At one stage there must of been close to 100 teens gathered in a few large groups,it was inevitable something was going to happen.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Another excellent Paddys Day. Not a single snake in sight.

philstar wrote: »
    ^^^^^^^^^^^^

well did you dance for them??

Not a chance

Lapin wrote: »

Haha nice one :pac:
    Bismarck is OK though, my favourite troll of late.If you look past the bullsh1t and sh1tehawkery he's actually quite entertaining, be mindful of that.

For sure , this is all in good humour.

Anyway my Paddys day - boring as usual.

I worked as usual , went home played with my kid, had some dinner, watched some Breaking Bad and had one can of Guinness ... yum ..

Then I finished Stephen King's IT and was grieving for a bit - if you read it you'll know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Won €50 after putting €1 into a slot machine was one highlight of my day :pac:

Drank a rake of beer, "working from home" this morning i.e. Still in bed dying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

Did nothing til half 2 then bang, we got slaughtered. Must have done 400 covers between then and 9 when it started to calm down

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

^^^^^^^^^^

wha :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 264 ✭✭TheChosenOne_

Not great at all. Paddy's day is always poor when it's in the middle of the week and not the weekend. I just watched the parade and went home to watch the football. No alcohol no pubs.

Monday was my St.Patrick's day though. Still recovering from it now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

My son was born yesterday so I said id better hang around for that, or else my OH would have murdered me today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,816 ✭✭✭Calibos

fryup wrote: »
    ^^^^^^^^^^

Think he's speaking restaurantese.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 498 ✭✭Mallagio

Went to the world's greatest parade in Clondalkin.... Where the masses witnessed 2 lorries pass them and went away bemused. What the hell was going on there was anyones guess.

Holsten laters followed by Netflix.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41 Pie and Mash

Tummy bug which caused me to go a tad green.......

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Haha nice one :pac:
    Bismarck is OK though, my favourite troll of late.If you look past the bullsh1t and sh1tehawkery he's actually quite entertaining, be mindful of that.

Oh I fully agree.

But I couldn't resist. :D

fryup wrote: »
    ^^^^^^^^^^

No confusion here,fleet admiral obviously works in a restaraunt when he's not sailing the high seas.Cover=meal.

My son was born yesterday so I said id better hang around for that, or else my OH would have murdered me today.

Congratulations Darragh,nice shooting

Macavity. wrote: »
    Got kicked out at half twelve because I dropped two pints and a bottle. A disgrace.

What did you do for the rest of the day?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,406 ✭✭✭Korat

I had no alcohol and had a great day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 981 ✭✭✭Stojkovic

roro1990 wrote: »
    Mine was spent on a bus in Thailand for 12 hours travelling from Bangkok to Chiang Mai. Didn't have a drop of beer and had terrible homesickness for the first time of my trip!
    Stayed on couch all day.
    Never go out on Paddys Day, carnage.

Would rather be in Chiang Mai again but not the bus journey.

Say hello to my kids will ye.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,122 ✭✭✭BeerWolf

Slept in, had a good long sleep.