Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Spen20 - slower runner DQ'ed or not DQ'ed? Nobody knows.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,742 ✭✭✭ultraman1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,148 ✭✭✭rom

Her recent half time was 15:10 per mile. Looks like she went out too fast or was telling a little lie regarding her pace. To put it in context she would have been 3rd last in Ballycotton 10 (2500 people took part on the day) this year with only a M80 runner and club mate who was running with him after her. The way the organizer dealt with it was a poor reflection on them.

For a small low key 20M race it would be hard to have support for this period of time. I know of one person in Cork who kicks up a fuss if anything is cleaned up or taken down before they finish when they may be the last person by 20 or 25 mins. A bit rich to expect the 100+ volunteers to sit on their hands during this time when every effort has been make to keep them safe and the route staying open until they finish.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

The other side of the story from the race organiser/ marshall:
    http://www.athleticsweekly.com/featured/race-organiser-responds-spen-20-saga-19639/

Without independent witnesses of the conversation you can't be sure what was actually said, but I'd have more confidence in the marshals version of what he said. For a start I'd be 100% that he didn't say "itz", "ppl" or refer to her as "u".

I guess they do actually both give the same account of what happened, it's just that with her txtspk and then leaving the race in a huff but claiming that she was kicked out makes her out to be the victim when that isn't really what happened.

robinph wrote: »
    The other side of the story from the race organiser/ marshall:
    http://www.athleticsweekly.com/featured/race-organiser-responds-spen-20-saga-19639/

Without independent witnesses of the conversation you can't be sure what was actually said, but I'd have more confidence in the marshals version of what he said. For a start I'd be 100% that he didn't say "itz", "ppl" or refer to her as "u".

I guess they do actually both give the same account of what happened, it's just that with her txtspk and then leaving the race in a huff but claiming that she was kicked out makes her out to be the victim when that isn't really what happened.

Very similar to the lady I know. Complains when everyone else has finished 25 before her and the route is kept open. Some of the cleanup of water stations etc may be taking place but every steward would still be in place that she would need till she finished. Reminds me of a certain guy complaining that DCM wouldn't keep the route open for him after taking like 11 hours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,864 ✭✭✭✭average_runner

rom wrote: »
    Very similar to the lady I know. Complains when everyone else has finished 25 before her and the route is kept open. Some of the cleanup of water stations etc may be taking place but every steward would still be in place that she would need till she finished. Reminds me of a certain guy complaining that DCM wouldn't keep the route open for him after taking like 11 hours.

Course needs to specify a cut off time when advertising a race, otherwise it should be open till the last runner

DCM has a cutoff. Race I was talking about didn't. The course stayed opened until all finished and all required stewards in place but if there is 5 people in the last water station then 4 of them can clean up if there in only one person left to come through for example. However this person expects they are all waiting for them which is a bit rich rather that getting a start on the cleanup. Respect works both ways.

Of course it works both ways and a lot of respect to stewards. I was just saying races should have cut offs to protect themselves.

According to fb there is a run for Netty 5k on Saturday. Organizers messed up. They make a statement to that effect. Move on. There are about 600 going to the 5k according to fb. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

Her recent half time was 15:10 per mile. Looks like she went out too fast or was telling a little lie regarding her pace. To put it in context she would have been 3rd last in Ballycotton 10 (2500 people took part on the day) this year with only a M80 runner and club mate who was running with him after her. The way the organizer dealt with it was a poor reflection on them.

according to her own tweets, she had done the 1.4 miles at around 14 min/mile. she had said she was doing 12 min/mile.

https://twitter.com/300miles1year/status/577752916662087680

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭groovyg

That kind of sh1t would put people off volunteering and helping out at events, especially if their names are going to be dragged through the mud on social media. She walked back to the start and got a refund which is pretty decent. Its funny to read that AKW article,
    she had no response in relation to the the Chairmans version of events.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,356 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Just for the record that marshal was not me. I would have pulled her after 9 minutes elapsed!:)

Had to laugh at this one: "Shocked to hear of a runner taken off the course at 1.5 mile into a 20 mile race just because of initial slow pac."

Yes, because it was Netty's plan all along. To finish like a steam train!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,697 ✭✭✭Chivito550

Hasn't seemed to occur to her that 14 minute mileing is not running, and is barely jogging, and she should use this as motivation to train harder and smarter, rather than acting the boll0x on social media, and flaunting her participation medals around for all to see.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40 Zatopek

Since when is 14 minute miles considered running?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,468 ✭✭✭sconhome

http://womensrunninguk.co.uk/events/spen-20-race-organiser-speaks-out/

When you read the statement from the race director it definitely puts the whole sceal into persepctive. He sounded very reasonable and she used it as an excuse to toss the toys out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,065 ✭✭✭dublin runner

Maybe she was using it as a progression 'run'? Start off at 14 minute walking pace before upping the ante and storming home with a blistering 13 minute last mile at a brisk walk?

In my opinion she was taken off a bit early but people do take massive liberties regarding cut-offs. Not fair on the organisers and stewards.

This is just it. What enjoyment, sense of achievement at all do people get from this crap 12-14 minute miling? If they do get it then get it in their own time, not in a race. The race organizers should put up signs about this. All race organizers across all races. Starting at 5 k right up to 26 miles.

storming home with a blistering 13 minute last mile

In my opinion she was taken off a bit early but people do take massive liberties regarding cut-offs. Not fair on the organisers and stewards.

As far as I can read, she wasn't taken off, RD explained that volunteers would be leaving the course and she stopped herself, turned around and fecked off.

Love the progression run explanation though, I must remember that :D

Chivito550 wrote: »
    Hasn't seemed to occur to her that 14 minute mileing is not running, and is barely jogging, and she should use this as motivation to train harder and smarter, rather than acting the boll0x on social media, and flaunting her participation medals around for all to see.

Some people love attention though, wouldn't count it as walking either !!!

AKW wrote: »

When you read the statement from the race director it definitely puts the whole sceal into persepctive. He sounded very reasonable and she used it as an excuse to toss the toys out.

Sweet divine ! one of the comments under the article is this thisgirlcan wrote
    After seeing the disgusting comments from the VC of your club, I would be ashamed and hope that you have not put runners off ever taking part as they are not as fast as your 'elitist' runners! A 12 minute mile is the same as a 6 minute mile! - #thisgirlcan

My favourite bit:

"She told me that she is an experienced runner and has completed among other long distance races a marathon in six hours."

Chivito550 wrote: »
    My favourite bit:

"She told me that she is an experienced runner and has completed among other long distance races a marathon in six hours."

don't forget the Ultra...

http://www.whiteroseultra.co.uk/results-2013.html

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

But looks like she would have only been half an hour behind the people doing the double distance route that day, so wouldn't really be much of an ask marshalling wise after 12 hours of marshalling. Being 3 hours after the previous finisher in her race that day, if there wasn't the other event on, is too much to ask of any race organiser to cater for just for the sake of two people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

12 hours for 30 miles? Bloody hell.

A baby would crawl that in any given day!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭DubOnHoliday

Still, it just sounds like a little miscommunication got out of control. Happens on boards every day :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Ososlo

walshb wrote: »
    This is just it. What enjoyment, sense of achievement at all do people get from this crap 12-14 minute miling? If they do get it then get it in their own time, not in a race. The race organizers should put up signs about this. All race organizers across all races. Starting at 5 k right up to 26 miles.

I did my first race in 12:30min/mile pace and I think it's the only race I've done that I'm proud of and I thought it was a great achievement :)
    I do agree with cutoffs though. If the rules are made clear beforehand then anyone who choses to disregard that rule and run to a pace they know won't get them home in time deserves to be told to get off the course. It's very unfair on the organisers. If she is that experienced a racer she'll have read the rules prior to the race and be familiar that such rules exist.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

My dad and his club used to marshal a pretty big race in Dublin. They soon got fed up being out there all day waiting for stragglers who clearly had no athletic ability that any good will in volunteering quickly dried up.

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2997349/Charity-runner-46-forced-quit-20-mile-race-just-1-4miles-marshals-told-slow-not-wait-finish.html

A comment on that page:
    "More to the story than has been reported I am afraid to say. The runner in question was running 15 minute miles from the start, was offered an early start but chose not to. Was spoken to around the 1.5 mile mark telling her that she would not make the cut off at 10 miles and she chose to turn around and call it quits and she received a refund."

This is all I need to know about her.

Ososlo wrote: »
    I did my first race in 12:30min/mile pace and I think it's the only race I've done that I'm proud of and I thought it was a great achievement :)
    I do agree with cutoffs though. If the rules are made clear beforehand then anyone who choses to disregard that rule and run to a pace they know won't get them home in time deserves to be told to get off the course. It's very unfair on the organisers. If she is that experienced a racer she'll have read the rules prior to the race and be familiar that such rules exist.

Your first race. Netty is a seasoned pro!

walshb wrote: »
    Your first race. Netty is a seasoned pro!

As a season pro, is she open to drugs testing ?:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 174 ✭✭Vito Andolini

If there was ever a runner that needed a dose of speed we've found her!

I am sure they could find something in her system that has her that drowsy!

If there was ever a runner that needed a dose of speed we've found her!

It would be a right cruel ba$£Ard to ban her from PEDs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,693 ✭✭✭Thud

Don't forget the 42mins and she pipped Ria Bright in a sprint finish, that's a solid 25min mile pace she was doing there

http://www.whiteroseultra.co.uk/results-2013.html

You have some serious agenda bringing up drugs in athletics all the time. There is doping in every sport. Football, rugby and tennis you'd probably find are even worse than athletics if their federations dug a little deeper. Doping follows where the money is I'm afraid. Far more financial rewards in those sports.

Almost as bad as the case where a fat acceptance activist "runs" a 12 hour plus marathon...

Tried reading it, but only got about a quarter the way through before giving up. Pure muck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,201 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

But she did a lot of training! 20 weeks, 370 miles!

The hardest part was probably keeping her weight up while doing all that training.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

Pherekydes wrote: »
    But she did a lot of training! 20 weeks, 370 miles!

The hardest part was probably keeping her weight up while doing all that training.

25 minute bathroom break at 2 miles. I'd say she did a lot of carb-loading before the race ;)

Also did anyone else notice where she said she started right at the front 'one of the first over the startline':rolleyes: what a selfish individual.....

She claims she
    is a trained researcher, three-time National Champion dancer (and marathoner!) Author of the blog DancesWithFat.org and the book Fat: The Owner’s Manual, she is a leading activist in the Health at Every Size and Size Acceptance movements. Ragen is frequently sought out as a speaker to address general audiences as well as medical and public health professionals on the topics of Health at Every Size, body image, eating disorders, and wellness care and public health messaging for people of size.

The woman is morbidely obese and she is promoting it as healthy and ok:rolleyes: the comments are interesting to read not everyone buys into her BS, low grade con artist is pretty apt description of her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,238 ✭✭✭Abhainn

I say bring back the sponsored walks. They were big in the 70's and 80's.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

next up she's training for an ironman, here's her blog https://ironfatblog.wordpress.com/blog/

Quote: "Running a marathon is no better or worse than watching a Netflix marathon. This gets even more complicated when athletes toss around comments about health as if health is entirely within our control"......

I think Netty has used her quota of oxygen at this stage!

Firedance wrote: »
    next up she's training for an ironman, here's her blog https://ironfatblog.wordpress.com/blog/

Ahhh that has to be a joke !! there is no way she'll finish an IM, they've cut off times for IMs. If it takes her 12hrs to do a marathon then it will take her more than 24hrs to do the IM. She even has a blogpost titled What If I lose weight doing my IM andl she's pretty clear she won't be doing that.

I'd give her around a 1 in 3 chance of making it through the swim (2:20 is generous and I've seen some bigger people who were solid swimmers) but that even if she does she will be pulled out on the first hour of the bike when it becomes clear that she can't get anywhere near the speed required.

Give her a speedboat for the swim, a motorbike for the bike and a horse for the run and I reckon she'd still be pulled out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

it's a 70.3 ironman event
    8 hours to cycle 80k and 6.5 hours to walk 21k
    looks like a lot of people last year took more than 16 hours

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,968 ✭✭✭aquinn

Firedance wrote: »

Quote: "Running a marathon is no better or worse than watching a Netflix marathon. This gets even more complicated when athletes toss around comments about health as if health is entirely within our control"......

F OFF, she didn't!