Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

mcdonalds vs burger king

• 16-03-2015 2:06am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,434 ✭✭✭

I'd like this settled AHers . Ive recently had a few burger kings, having eaten mcdonalds for years due to proximity and a lack of burger king in the area, but now there's both on my doorstep. still undecided as to which is better.

mcdonalds seems the more publicised and noteworthy brand, and i like a good big Mac and mcnuggets. Burger king have a lovely smoky taste to their burgers that MD sorely lacks, but the fries are bland and measly and their whoppers unremarkable, but still fairly enjoyable.

Which is better? 130 votes

McDonalds
    0% 0 votes
    Burger King
    100% 130 votes

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,797 ✭✭✭Kevin McCloud

They are both shite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,383 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Only one way to settle this...

FIIIIIGHT!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,827 ✭✭✭bpb101

burger king is a lot dearer and not as good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,414 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Two cheeks of the one arse in my crude opinion OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,383 ✭✭✭✭gammygils

Burger King for me. At least they have vinegar for their shltty little chips

Both places are massively overrated though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,383 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

gammygils wrote: »
    Burger King for me. At least they have vinegar for their shltty little chips

Both places are massively overrated though

Don't think they are 'rated'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,619 ✭✭✭LaVail

Hopefully US chain Five Guys will be better when they get here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,805 ✭✭✭Rothmans

Supermacs!

Ah no, but if I was to choose between McDonald's and Burger King, Burger King would lose because their burgers are sh!te to be fair.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,499 ✭✭✭porsche959

54379322.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,414 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,271 ✭✭✭TireeTerror

I cannot believe you actually eat the chicken nuggets! Ever since they first aired that Jamie Oliver show where he showed how they are made, Ive never eaten another one. Just google "pink slime" or youtube it and prepare to rid yourself of the vilest form of food technology,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,079 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

I'm well aware of how disgusting both establishments are, but nothing beats McDs when you're stoned

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 156 ✭✭Depraved

I'm not a fan of either. But the last time I went into a Burger King, the entire staff didn't speak English. They got my order wrong twice, and then served my cold food.

(This was in Ireland)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,893 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

I cannot believe you actually eat the chicken nuggets! Ever since they first aired that Jamie Oliver show where he showed how they are made, Ive never eaten another one. Just google "pink slime" or youtube it and prepare to rid yourself of the vilest form of food technology,

They're not made with that in Ireland. In fact, I don't think they're made with that in the US either anymore either. Anyway, nothing wrong with mechanically recovered meat. Waste not want not :)

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,663 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

Neither. In/Out Burger FTW!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,926 ✭✭✭Grab All Association

McDonalds is one of the biggest buyers of Irish Bord Bia quality assured traceable beef. It's bacon comes from Dew Valley in Thurles. http://www.bordbia.ie

Supermacs and Burger King in the past have bought their beef from Rangeland food (I think Burger King stopped buying beef in Ireland when Rangeland was found to have sold horse meat) as do a lot of small takeaway business throughout the country.
    http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/rangeland-foods-the-source-of-supermacs-beef-burgers-583639.html

I don't doubt Supermacs sells 100% Irish beef but its not Bord Bia Quality Assured and I will always pick McDonalds over Supermacs.

Its funny listening to the GAA heads and those ugly public sector workers (the ones who look like they're chewing a wasp) in and around Thurles and Nenagh going on about how McDonalds doesn't use real meat. McDonalds food is all fake.

They all objected to a McDonalds drive-thru in Thurles with the excuse it wasn't Irish nor real food yet were delighted when McDonalds gave Dew Valley the contract later that year.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,105 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

IMO Burger King's burgers are better than McDonalds - the Whopper is definitely superior to the Big Mac but MaccyDs do nicer fries and have a wider menu to BK. Also their outlets look more modern than BKs and they advertise their product better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭SepTomBer

Burger King is my bet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,799 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

If there was a burger king in my town, I would weigh about 40 stone.

I hate McDonalds, it tastes like nothing, but the Burgers at Burgerking actually taste nice and the have actual chips instead of those little wirey yokes at McDonalds.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 138 ✭✭foleypio

I like to eat s***

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53 ✭✭Vernonymous

Burger King makes good tasting burger..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,556 ✭✭✭the_monkey

Jesus Christ !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,529 ✭✭✭recyclebin

But the pink slime tastes so good.

Nothing is pretty about meat processing anyway.

Have you ever seen an animal killed and then butchered and said it was a pretty sight.

recyclebin wrote: »
    But the pink slime tastes so good.

Nothing is pretty about meat processing anyway.

Have you ever seen an animal killed and then butchered and said it was a pretty sight.
    Feck the animals, Have you ever seen a carrot getting brutally yanked out of the ground, waterboarded, its skin is then peeled off before it gets machete'd into tiny pieces and boiled alive.

Talk about brutality...

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

One thing I love about Burger King, is the way they research locations. Put'em up where there's a busy McDonalds. let them do the research :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,236 ✭✭✭Dr. Kenneth Noisewater

Burger King all day long.

McDonald's makes me hungrier.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭cloud493

Burger king.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,878 ✭✭✭heroics

Do like the BK burgers but hate the BK chips. Generally will go to McDonalds over BK if there is the option.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭hollster2

I prefer big macs to burger king but chicken Royale in burger king to mc Donald's ones lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭mad muffin

Hungry Jacks!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Never eat anywhere that has a menu above your head, and you'll live a long and prosperous life.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Never eat anywhere that has a menu above your head, and you'll live a long and prosperous life.

You read that in a chinese take away with the menu taped to the counter, didnt ya?

:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

KFC FTW

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 5,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭G_R

Poll added for you OP.

And Burger King is obviously the superior choice here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,136 ✭✭✭JohnnyChimpo

McD's all the way, double cheeseburger has some pretty solid macros, and is delicious. WOuldn't eat much else from there though

I dunno, I've heard Spock loved a good Burrito...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭fergus1001

Burger king all the way

But Eddie rockets is above them again :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

White Castle!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 360 ✭✭ConstantJoe

They're both rubbish.

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,183 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

Not if you get shot in the face. Then you're dead, and probably died hungry. :D

• Site Banned Posts: 2,922 ✭✭✭Egginacup

I'm well aware of how disgusting both establishments are, but nothing beats McDs when you're stoned

Wouldn't a better burger beat Mcdonald's when you're stoned?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

BK don't have anything to match a Quarter Pounder. That being said, I try to avoid both.

• Site Banned Posts: 2,922 ✭✭✭Egginacup

They're both shit and I would eat them about once a year and immediately regret it as I feel drugged and sluggish afterwards. But BK's Whopper is definitely superior the the Big Mac as it has what appears to be real onion, lettuce and tomato.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

What type of freezer do McDonald's use to cook their food?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭BizzyC

Both are pretty terrible, but when there's no other option has to be XL Bacon Double all the way...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,038 ✭✭✭✭PopePalpatine

The Chicken Tendercrisp is simply godly. The biggest problems I have with BK are that they don't provide pepper and charge you 40c extra for cheese on a Chicken Royale.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

What type of freezer do McDonald's use to cook their food?

I have tried cooking food with freezers, it doesn't work no matter what freezer you use.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,063 ✭✭✭Greenmachine

c_man wrote: »
    BK don't have anything to match a Quarter Pounder. That being said, I try to avoid both.

Have you ever even eaten in burger king?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

I like burgers, and for me personally there isn't much between a flame-grilled BK quarter-pounder and a MacDonald's equivalent. But I tend to avoid both in favour of the local chipper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,583 ✭✭✭marcbrophy

One thing I love about Burger King, is the way they research locations. Put'em up where there's a busy McDonalds. let them do the research :)

So it's not just a coincidence in Limerick then?

http://goo.gl/maps/z9xOz

Are you tell me that BK planned this??? :eek: