Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

So who goes to a St Patrick's day parade

• 15-03-2015 11:45am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,546 ✭✭✭✭

Don't bother myself. Was in plenty in my time but no interest in them in my older years.

What about you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭Farrell

Reggie. wrote: »
    Don't bother myself. Was in plenty in my time but no interest in them in my older years.

What about you?

Parents always brought us to Longford when we were younger, we'll be at the local one come Tuesday with himself on my shoulder.
    Sure we'll all come away Tuesday saying it was s...e & go back again next year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,676 ✭✭✭kay 9

Have zero interest in them. I'm sure herself will want me to go though. Be happier mucking out a shed tbh lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,546 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Farrell wrote: »
    Parents always brought us to Longford when we were younger, we'll be at the local one come Tuesday with himself on my shoulder.
    Sure we'll all come away Tuesday saying it was s...e & go back again next year

Its nearly a tradition at this stage :D

kay 9 wrote: »
    Have zero interest in them. I'm sure herself will want me to go though. Be happier mucking out a shed tbh lol

My grandfather use to put the fertiliser out on the Meadows when he got us all off to the parade, then out for a few well earned scoops that night

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,489 ✭✭✭sh1tstirrer

Last time I went to a parade in my local town I blinked and missed it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

Mrs Frazz will take kids I went once but not again pure dung.

I'm off to Dublin for the Rugby Schools Final as my alma mater are trying to make history by winning their first. If they win I mightn't be seen for some time

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

I'm off to Dublin for the Rugby Schools Final as my alma mater are trying to make history by winning their first. If they win I mightn't be seen for some time

God help the young ones in coppers on paddys nighg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,041 ✭✭✭who the fug

Could be some mighy hangovers in that area, as the reform school down the road are in Limerick

Don't worry we are just around the corner

I recall being in Sachs hotel on Morehampton road once with everyone within 2 miles scattered. For those who never frequented it, if you were a young lad looking for a model with a few miles in the clock it was a great spot

Any way a lady approached one if my mates to tell him he was the most gorgeous thing she'd clapped eyes on tonight to which he replied "I'm afraid I can't return the compliment "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭A cow called Daisy

Probably not bother going to parade. Can't see point in watching some of locals driving their new tractors c/w mowers/balers/whatever or lads with new trucks driving through town as happened at one I at few years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 752 ✭✭✭micraX

I'm driving an old massey in the skerries one:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,975 ✭✭✭Connemara Farmer

kay 9 wrote: »

Same as that, or any of a list of other jobs! Bah Humbug :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

I recall being in Sachs hotel on Morehampton road once with everyone within 2 miles scattered. For those who never frequented it, if you were a young lad looking for a model with a few miles in the clock it was a great spot

Any way a lady approached one if my mates to tell him he was the most gorgeous thing she'd clapped eyes on tonight to which he replied "I'm afraid I can't return the compliment "
    That brings back memories, not many of them good:pac:

Did he not give her 'the charity dance'?:D

I will probably end up at 2, herself and the kids will be at 3 with the kids marching in those. I'll avoid the evening one and try to be in by 7 for a quiet glass of wine with herself(before the divorce proceedings start again)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

That reminds me of the night 2 mates went home with a 'native' irish' women.
    Dog rough. On kilkemny of all places

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,718 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Nope.
    Even the kids are bored with it and they have both opted not to walk/dance with their clubs (thank god).

Looking for something else to do as a day out but feck else on.

Might trek up side of a wee mountain, titanic exhibition or maybe ulster transport and folk museum. Decision pending but it won't involve watching a string of trucks and tractors nor the pub for the afternoon.

Family day so no work being done either !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,081 ✭✭✭td5man

10 yo Daughter just said parades are sh1te.
    "She'd rather be at home feeding calves."

td5man wrote: »
    10 yo Daughter just said parades are sh1te.
    "She'd rather be at home feeding calves."

Train her well, I've a 10 yo boy :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,081 ✭✭✭td5man

Train her well, I've a 10 yo boy :)

I know she was eyeing him up the last day. 😄

td5man wrote: »
    I know she was eyeing him up the last day. 😄

Good Lookin chap like his auld fella, clever too!!

_Brian wrote: »
    Nope.
    Even the kids are bored with it and they have both opted not to walk/dance with their clubs (thank god).

Looking for something else to do as a day out but feck else on.

Might trek up side of a wee mountain, titanic exhibition or maybe ulster transport and folk museum. Decision pending but it won't involve watching a string of trucks and tractors nor the pub for the afternoon.

Family day so no work being done either !
    You've always the sport

Good Lookin chap like his auld fella, clever too!!

Wouldn't go that far :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Bodacious

Same as that, or any of a list of other jobs! Bah Humbug :D

Same crack every year .. Noise sirens and generally nothing that interests me

Farrell wrote: »
    You've always the sport

You only live once, kids are only young once.
    Damn well going to make te best we can of both.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭SepTomBer

I dont go for that thing now. Except when I'm with my parents

An they grow up so bloody fast

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,141 ✭✭✭RightTurnClyde

A few years back the local knackery man ( who was very fond of the gargle) was having a very busy March. Local parade kicked off, anyway and the knackery man found himself in the tailend of the parade with his jeep and 4 cows in the trailer. Skuttered, he proceeded to drive up the town, blowing the horn because of the delay, with 16 legs sticking out of the top of trailer...and a fine stench with it.
    Needless to say, there were a lot of crying kids and upset mummies that day.

(The man was a real character, was sent into a shed by a farmer to shoot a downed cow one day. Shot the wrong cow. Real 'The Unbelieveables' stuff. )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48 CowMeister

You live everyday, you only die once. That's the way I say it anyway.

A few years back the local knackery man ( who was very fond of the gargle) was having a very busy March. Local parade kicked off, anyway and the knackery man found himself in the tailend of the parade with his jeep and 4 cows in the trailer. Skuttered, he proceeded to drive up the town, blowing the horn because of the delay, with 16 legs sticking out of the top of trailer...and a fine stench with it.
    Needless to say, there were a lot of crying kids and upset mummies that day.

(The man was a real character, was sent into a shed by a farmer to shoot a downed cow one day. Shot the wrong cow. Real 'The Unbelieveables' stuff. )

That must be true, you couldn't make it up:). Classic

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,489 ✭✭✭sh1tstirrer

CowMeister wrote: »
    You live everyday, you only die once. That's the way I say it anyway.
    Also children are always young until they are adults.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,810 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Have never ever watched a parade from the 'outside', have always been in one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 307 ✭✭oxjkqg

The whos got the biggest and best low loader competition down my way

oxjkqg wrote: »
    The whos got the biggest and best low loader competition down my way

What about the shiniest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 760 ✭✭✭CHOPS01

Testing with the old fella this morning. Went grand. So bit of lunch now and of to local parade then with the kids.
    A slightly different Paddys day what with the testing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭C0N0R

Was trying to get the auld lad to head into the parade so I could drop into the pub and have a lift home for milking, no go!

C0N0R wrote: »
    Was trying to get the auld lad to head into the parade so I could drop into the pub and have a lift home for milking, no go!

Chancer:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,554 ✭✭✭visatorro

C0N0R wrote:

he'd have some job dragging you outta pub when you get the first few into ya!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭C0N0R

visatorro wrote: »
    he'd have some job dragging you outta pub when you get the first few into ya!!

Be like a nervous heifer in the parlour for the first time. Might have to quieten me with a shake of nuts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,041 ✭✭✭who the fug

Well done

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,582 ✭✭✭Jb1989

In the truck run in the parades in Cavan/Monaghan today. Great buzz out with all the people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,216 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

watching the parades there on the telly, some serious work went into some of the floats, fair play

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,803 ✭✭✭Bleating Lamb

Some excellent looking floats on the news alright,brought a very disappointed young man home from our local parade,there was no tractor in it.

I wonder what happens to the floats afterwards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,326 ✭✭✭Farmer Pudsey

We went to the parade in Dublin this year. Quality of the artistic floats was superb. However the parade was quite short. It started at 12.30 and was finished at 1.45. I taught it was quite short

Watched it in the RTE player as we thought the same. I thought maybe tey had cut out some if it. Serious effort made though, the floats must cost serious money too.

Hiding the recession :D

Had a funeral today so didn't get too far.
    Headed to Whelans wee county and hit the beach for a few hours. Was real nice.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 875 ✭✭✭f140

I find parades fierce boring. after about 5 minutes im tired of watching them. the pace just isn't going fast enough for me. steam rallies and the like are my cup of tea where I can walk around at my own pace and see the stuff rather than just staying on one position and being forced to watch 10 awful things for 1 good thing

Had a funeral today so didn't get too far.
    Headed to Whelans wee county and hit the beach for a few hours. Was real nice.

Taking your life in your hands up in that bandit country

*runs for cover*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,495 ✭✭✭KatW4

Hadn't been to a parade in a few years as I lived in London but I'm back now so went to the one in our town. It was small and pretty boring but nice to go to again. It's amazing what you miss when you're abroad.